Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic Country Record
The intent is fully realized: a loving tribute to one of the greatest country songwriters, headed by a superb country artist and supported by one of the most impressive all-star casts ever assembled. The result is not only a tribute to classic country music itself, but perhaps the best introduction possible to one of the treasures of classic country music.
Jamey...
Published 23 months ago by Tom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm a huge fan of JJ but this album just didn't work for me
I have been a long time fan of Jamey since the early days of his career. I was excited of his "new release" and didn't blink when ordering. I have listened many times and just can't get into it. Oh well! I can't wait for his real NEW Release!!!
Published 14 months ago by Lauren Drouillard


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic Country Record, October 26, 2012
By 
The intent is fully realized: a loving tribute to one of the greatest country songwriters, headed by a superb country artist and supported by one of the most impressive all-star casts ever assembled. The result is not only a tribute to classic country music itself, but perhaps the best introduction possible to one of the treasures of classic country music.
Jamey Johnson lives the songs of Hank Cochran so honestly, one would think he wrote them himself. He displays the great difference between singing a song and channeling the emotion, and every guest artist on the album matches Johnson's depth and nuance.
Not everyone can listen to decades old recordings of original artists and consider them anything but a piece of history. The greatness of this album is that Jamey Johnson and cohorts bring these fantastic songs to a new audience, and in doing so make them sound not merely new, but timeless.
For my money, this is one of the best albums of the year of any genre. My highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The music from my Texas roots, October 19, 2012
This is the country music I grew up with, listening to my sisters and Daddy singing together. Country/Western music today is barely a shadow of the beauty and heartache of these songs, thank you Jamey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received this cd yesterday after waiting what seemed like forever. This is so unbelievably wonderful. True country. Takes you back to real country music not this pop so called country music. I can count on one hand the country artists that are true country artists today and Jamey is for sure country. Wouldnt expect anything less from Jamey. Definitely think i will be listening to this one over and over again! This is so worth the purchase!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely One of the Best CDs of 2012, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With an all-star cast of legends on board, Jamey brings to life some of the best songs from Cochran's catalog, including some of his lesser known material. Willie and Merle are both extremely strong vocally and, of course, King George knocks one out of the park with "The Eagle" (certainly not a conventional choice given Strait has taken a number of Cochran's songs to the top ten over his career).

If you're interested in discovering or rediscovering some of the most important songs in the genre's history, this album is the ticket. I can only hope that Jamey will continue to write, cover and collaborate on this level for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now This Is Country, October 28, 2012
Hank Cochran is one of the finest songwriters the country genre has ever known, there is no doubt about that. This album from Jamey Johnson is a tribute in the purest sense of the word and should be listened to by anyone who appreciates true country music. As a matter of fact, if anyone wants to know exactly WHAT pure country music is they should listen to this album. This is the kind of country I heard growing up when my dad would play albums from Waylon, Willie, Kris, Merle and so on. The fact that we get to hear Willie, Kris and Merle here is just a bonus as Jamey Johnson has as pure a country voice as there is.

When I turn on country radio these days I have to wonder just how we got so far away from music like this so fast. I'm not saying there isn't some good music still being made, but it's now a rarity to find someone making an album like this that is cut from the old school country music cloth. I found myself smiling as every new track came out of my speakers as I remembered just how good a steel guitar and a raspy voice could sound.

The bottom line on this one is buy it, it's a perfect tribute to one of the greatest songwriters around and it's a perfect primer for anyone who thinks country music is what they're playing on the radio today. Thank you Jamey Johnson for keeping the flame alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks to all those associated with this project, October 18, 2012
By 
Marvin Mckee "tallyho" (Tallahassee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like many, I first became aware of Hank Cochran through his wonderful songs performed by the great Patsy Cline. Having grown up in the rock generation of the late sixties and seventies, I remember several conversations with friends about the great songwriters. Dylan, Lennon, Young would all immediately be brought up but i would always say "Don't forget about Hank Cochran", which would usually draw quizzical looks. After rattling off several of the classic Hank-Patsy songs, friends would say "One guy wrote ALL those?". I was especially happy to see the Hank revival in the early 90's with several of the emerging alt-country bands covering Hank songs. From Ray Price and Buck Owens to Hazeldine and American Paint, Hank has always been there (a true favorite of mine is the Hazeldine cover of It's Only Love - surprised that song didn't show up here). As for this tribute, wow! The magnitude of this all star cast exemplifies the admiration, appreciation and love the true bloods of Americana music have for an amazing person and songwriter, the likes of which we will probably never see again. Thanks to Jamey Johnson, the wonderful musicians on this CD, the production staff (all top notch) but most of all thanks to Hank Cochran for leaving us a lifetime of songs that will live on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jamey Johnson is VERY underated and under played on the radio. Not a pretty boy but the music is what counts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great to hear all these songs and the singers once again! Play it often and help them sing! Thanks for Leon and Kris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, November 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living For A Song: A Tribute To Hank Cochran (MP3 Music)
Great album with a bunch of classic songs. Jamey has a very unique voice, he does not sound like anyone else in country music today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if?, October 28, 2012
By 
tom haney (West Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Remember when Outlaws and Waylon and Willie revived real country music when it had gone down the crapper?
What if fans of Jamey Johnson who still hadn't figured out how he was different from Taylor Swift and Jason Aldean and
Tim Mcgraw and, yes, even Blake and his wife, listened to this and GOT IT?
Suddenly pop artists who are capable of doing the real thing like Lee Ann and Martina and Trace started doing real country again.
Then curious listeners suddenly discovered Dale Watson and James Hand and Roger Wallace and Billy Joe Shaver and Wayne Hancock and
Amber Digby and Georgette Jones and Leona and Ron Williams.
Suddenly real country is back!
God bless Jamey Johnson. I wonder how long Nashville will put up with him. He's the real deal in a phony baloney town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.