Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How integrated design works with planning
The house of your dreams needn't be unaffordable: integrated design and construction methods can help in the planning process and can result in much savings, and LIVING HOMES: INTEGRATED DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION is the perfect guide to that process. Chapters cover everything from calculating energy usage and efficiency to considering water supply and waste system options,...
Published on April 26, 2006 by D. Donovan, Editor/Sr. Reviewer

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars K. Wilson
Touches on a variety of "green" living homes. Not too many specifics on each type of construction. Good for an overview of options available. Not for the builder who has a particular form of construction already in mind.Good for starting the research process of green living.
Published on March 9, 2006 by Kristin D. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars K. Wilson, March 9, 2006
Touches on a variety of "green" living homes. Not too many specifics on each type of construction. Good for an overview of options available. Not for the builder who has a particular form of construction already in mind.Good for starting the research process of green living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking for Slipform (slip form) stone masonry info?, November 2, 2005
By 
Greg C (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
While the author is a knowledgeable on the subject, if you are looking for a book that covers the topic in greater detail then check out Tomm Stanley's book "Stone House: A Guide to Self-Building With Slipforms". The material is covered in greater detail and in a well thought out manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How integrated design works with planning, April 26, 2006
The house of your dreams needn't be unaffordable: integrated design and construction methods can help in the planning process and can result in much savings, and LIVING HOMES: INTEGRATED DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION is the perfect guide to that process. Chapters cover everything from calculating energy usage and efficiency to considering water supply and waste system options, bonding walls, and more. Black and white photos throughout reinforce instructions on how to cut construction costs along the way. LIVING HOMES deserves ongoing recommendation as an excellent choice for any who would pay attention to cost-efficient design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The down and dirty on alternative home building, July 18, 2007
By 
T. S. Conner (Taylors, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most of the housing being built today is shoddy. Volume homebuilding corporations breeze into town, rape the land, slap up substandard cardboard-quality "houses" on postage stamp-sized lots and charge hundreds of thousands of dollars per unit. Many of these contractors get run out of the state, change their corporate name and then move on the next urban sprawl boom.

If you're sick and tired of seeing beehive neighborhoods spring up in your town with siding walls you can put your fist through, do yourself a favor and take this crash course on alternative homebuilding. This book will give you an excellent starting place to learn about how you can build your own high quality, inexpensive home with low environmental impact.

There is a lot of detail in this book on the methods presented. The "butt and pass" log home building chapter alone is worth 20 times the cost of the book. You won't easily find that information anywhere else outside of taking a log home building class from the Log Home Builders Association in Monroe, Washington, which is the only place I know of that teaches that method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the greatest books ever written on design..., February 20, 2009
I have pored through many, any books on design, and I have spent the past seven years or so researching and planning the home that I will one day build in Alaska. This home will be mostly made of earth, will stay warm 11 months of the year without any sort of exogenous heating source, will grow massive amounts of food indoors, will be very very inexpensive to build, and will just generally be pretty awesome.

This book is one of the best and most useful titles on home design that I have ever come across. It deals with a huge variety of topics, and is packed full of wisdom and intelligent building concepts. I ordered it specifically because it has a step-by-step on how to build a Russian stove, but there are many, many more topics contained within.

My favorite books on design include The One Straw Revolution, Permaculture: A Designer's Manual, Passive Solar Homes, How to Grow More Vegetables, A Pattern Language, Natural Capitalism, Shelter, Earthships, Cradle to Cradle, and now this. It has been a gem of a discovery. If you are interested in design and in building your own incredible home, this book would be a fantastic investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gold mine of construction specifics, June 6, 2005
Most would-be home builders believe a dream house would cost a fortune to construct from scratch: that isn't true, maintains author Elpel, who built his dream house with his wife. The planning of such a home is the key - and is the key to Living Homes: Integrated Design & Construction. Chapters cover energy efficiency concerns, home construction basics, and water supply and management with an eye to revealing how design and construction can work together to fit into both a budget and a dream plan. From strawbale walls to interior finishing, Living Homes provides a gold mine of construction specifics for any neophyte builder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful information, January 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition (Paperback)
Living Homes has provided me with entertainment and information I was seeking. I am planning on building a new house and this book gave me a lot of information to think about. I like the energy efficiency that the book promotes and it gives a lot of ideas to think about when planning an energy efficient home. Stone masonry fireplaces for heat was a subject that I wanted to explore and the book has some information on it. It also describes many different types of heating systems involving heating water in a floor and solar heaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good practical guide for green do-it-yourselfers, September 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the few books that I've come across about alternative building methods that is truly catered towards how to build it yourself on a budget. He doesn't cover every possible green building technology, but he covers the ones he knows and has worked with in great detail, including step by step instructions, pictures, a recount of which methods and materials have worked well and which haven't, and ideas about what he would consider doing differently in the future. I've read it cover to cover and will certainly use it as a reference during the planning and building phases of our future home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for the owner builder, September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition (Paperback)
Fantastic resource for the owner builder. This guy answered so many of my questions. Sections on slipform is very thorough. Thank you Tom Elpel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starting point, November 26, 2010
By 
J. Dermeyer (Airs Above the Ground) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition (Paperback)
Lots of good information. Nice as a reference point for projects and also good to just pick up and read sections here and there for inspiration, motivation, and encouragement. Perhaps not as many diagrams and drawings as I hoped for, but there are still plenty. Really should be included as the starting point in your library of sustainable living and alternative building. Lots more books referenced in this book (and authored by Elpel), all of which should be added to your collection. The author is well-spoken and the book is well-written. Elpel has a very mature attitude and a focus that encompasses much more than his own immediate and personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition
Living Homes: Stone Masonry, Log and Strawbale Construction, 6th Edition by Thomas J. Elpel (Paperback - November 24, 2010)
$30.00 $22.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.