Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Liza Fans
This "Concert for Television" from 1972 has been beautifully restored, in a DVD package that has lots of extras, and will delight all of Liza's fans, as well as those who admire choreographer/director Bob Fosse. Liza's natural sensuality fits into Fosse's unique (and difficult to master) choreography as if she was born to dance it, and she is one of the best interpreters...
Published on April 1, 2006 by Alejandra Vernon

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liza on her own - H E R own....
It took her a long time to emerge from the long shadows of Mama, but in 1972 she came into her OWN and made history with the film Cabaret, a live performance at the Olympia in Paris and this TV-show:-)

It took some awards, but seeing this in 2006 - I must say that some of the things have dated badly.... The choreography on I Gotcha, Ring Them Bells(alarmingly...
Published on April 11, 2006 by Henning Sebastian Jahre


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Liza Fans, April 1, 2006
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
This "Concert for Television" from 1972 has been beautifully restored, in a DVD package that has lots of extras, and will delight all of Liza's fans, as well as those who admire choreographer/director Bob Fosse. Liza's natural sensuality fits into Fosse's unique (and difficult to master) choreography as if she was born to dance it, and she is one of the best interpreters of his work, which is no easy feat. Liza is fantastic in this concert, with her one-of-a-kind talent shining in every number. With 4 (Halston) costume changes, the show has sections of solo "spotlight" songs, and several production numbers where she is joined by some superb backup dancers, who unfortunately have not been given credit...my only other complaint is that with the running time of 1 hour, one wants more of this terrific multi award winning show! Those who enjoy this concert will also like the 1992 concert with Charles Aznavour at the Palais des Congres available on DVD.

The songs are:
1: "Yes," from the Kander & Ebb show "70, Girls, 70."
2: "God Bless the Child," a marvelous take on the Billie Holiday classic.
3: "Say Liza," a novelty John Kander number and the show's title song.
4: "It Was a Good Time," a touching song where Liza gets to use her acting talent.
5: "I Gottcha," the first of 3 production numbers, with Liza in a red micro mini.
6: "Son of a Preacher Man."
7: "Ring Them Bells" is very amusing with Liza having to travel to Europe to meet the boy next door.
8: "Bye Bye Blackbird," the standout number for choreography, staging and performance. Liza dazzles in black velvet!
9: "You've Let Yourself Go," Charles Aznavour's mature love song, and few can sing Aznavour like Liza.
10: "My Mammy," wonderful!
11: "Cabaret" medley ("Wilkommen," "Married," "Money," "Maybe this Time," "Cabaret"). What can you say...Liza IS Sally Bowles!
12: Curtain calls and titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Liza have waited a long time for this one..., March 1, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
Not seen since its initial airing in September, 1972, fans of Liza Minnelli have waited patiently for over 30 years to have this show released on DVD. The recording has never gone out of print for good reason -- it was Liza's first landmark live solo performance that was put to vinyl and by 1972, she had honed her talents and worked out her material and it all came together in an extraordinary achievement under the amazing hand of director Bob Fosse. Kander & Ebb, Fosse and Minnelli all had quite a time of it in 1972 with triumphs on film, television and the theatre.

I've only seen clips of the show over the years and look forward to sitting down and seeing it as those lucky enough in the audience did. Shot on film for a unique and different approach to the traditional variety or musical show, it's more like a movie of a concert than a TV special.

Grab this one right away...lest it disappear from the shelves for another 30 years!

UPDATE: I saw the show in Los Angeles on 03/23/06 at a screening with Liza herself, sponsored by the TV Academy, and it's truly amazing. I've had the album for years so I know every song, but to actually see the show as it was intended added a whole new layer and dimension. In the discussion panel afterwards (featuring Minnelli and the producers), they said, and rightly so, after the years of bad headlines and drama played out in the public, putting this out points the press back in the direction of what they should be talking about -- the singular and stunning talent that is Liza.

Run don't walk...and see what real talent is all about. This is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular historical document about Liza that SHOULD NOT be returned!, April 14, 2006
By 
David Kusumoto (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
Rather than review the fantastic material in this wonderful "time capsule," I want to add a few comments about the technical quality of this DVD.

In nearly all of the extras, especially the panel discussion that's worth the price of the DVD itself, you're looking at contemporary digital video.

However, in the restoration of "Liza with a "Z" -- the 1972 program itself -- it must be noted that the video quality isn't up to the quality of the audio.

In fairness, this video restoration was based on raw material that was originally captured on 16 millimeter film. This is the kind of lower grade film stock shown in schools and small auditoriums. And small TV screens.

When you blow up 16-millimeter film stock (rather than standard 35-millimeter), you'll sometimes get, depending upon the size of your display screen -- a fuzzy, off-and-on, "out of focus" appearance.

This is most apparent in close-ups of Liza's face. The colors are brilliant, the sound is wonderful, the production is spectacular -- but this show was not intended for big-screen projection screens now available at electronics stores in the 21st century.

The intermittent fuzziness is more noticeable watching "Liza with a "Z" on a 32-inch TV screen vs. your computer.

One can only imagine the horrific problems that must have emerged during the restoration of this important historical document. That we're able to view anything at all with no degradation in color or sound is a miracle.

So to that end, customers -- be advised that this package is still, in my view, worth every penny. But given the 16mm film stock upon which the restoration is based -- do not expect the same image quality with which you're accustomed to seeing with contemporary films on standard DVDs.

More than anything, "Liza with a "Z" has a "lost and suddenly rediscovered" quality that's out-of-this-world. Be patient with it. After the first few minutes, you'll get used to the off-and-on fuzziness -- and before you know it, you'll be transported to a time and a place that reminds us what a sensation Liza Minnelli became, especially from 1972 to 1989, when it seemed she was destined to become an icon, placed on the short list of the greatest entertainers in history.

She might still get there with the release of this important DVD, and I'm optimistic she will.

In sum, "Liza with a "Z" obliterates the trashy tabloid stories which have chased Liza Minnelli's life during the past decade. And when you're done watching this show -- and all of its fabulous extras -- you're left with the indisputable fact that Minnelli remains a unique talent that transcends adversity. Everyone associated with its restoration should be applauded.

At some point -- it belongs in the Smithsonian AND at the Museum of Radio and Television for future generations to enjoy -- for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm So Ecstatic That Even Heaven Can Wait..., April 14, 2006
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
This DVD/CD combination of Liza's infamous 1972 "concert for television" (as Liza herself recently referred to it) is unequivocally Liza at her zenith. I have never seen her move, strut, dance and sing to such perfection in all the years I've been watching her. She worked her little ol' tushie off; and it shows--practically literally as well as figuratively, but that's neither here nor there! (SMILE)

Bob Fosse was also at his best for staging this show. The music by Kander and Ebb is sublime. There's so much electricity here the whole concert is hot to the touch! I love the moments when you see Liza dancing with all the others while wearing the white gloves during "Bye Bye Blackbird;" the show-stopping "Ring Them Bells" which has a strong vaudevillian flavor here; and the next to the last song, "My Mammy" is not just touching and nostalgic; it is perhaps the most definitive performance since Jolson himself sang it. Personally, I have always been a fan of vaudeville; and there's a strong current of that running through the entire show. Yes, the show was so state of the art at the time, with Liza's risqu? costumes and all--but the nostalgia and the vaudeville flavors make it a universally appealing performance. The trademark Cabaret medley at the end of Liza's concert is equally thrilling. Encore!

The extras are plentiful and make this a very good product. You get, as you may already know from reading above, Liza's performance at the 2005 GLAAD Awards and footage of Liza at the 2005 Toronto Film Festival. The complete A&E biography of Liza is here, too! AWESOME!!!!!

Of course, fans who rushed to buy this may have noticed that, at least for most of the first issued CDs, the first note is missing from the CD. Do not fear! In fact, take a lemon and turn it into lemonade. Why not keep the CD instead of returning it? After all, you'll eventually have a collectible in the CD itself since obviously the CD will be re-manufactured to include the first note. (That was a surprise to me; why this mistake? Four and three-quarter stars for that error.)

All in all, this instant classic DVD/CD combination would have to appeal to any fan of top notch theater, not just Liza's core fan base. With Liza, Fosse, Kander and Ebb, all the stars were in the right place at the right time to produce an unforgettable legendary concert. Even if you've never seen Liza Minnelli perform you owe it to yourself to get this for sublime entertainment. God bless you, Liza; what a gift we have in you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liza Rings Them Bells!, July 18, 2006
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
Liza Minnelli amazes and dazzles in this television special. She is absolutely wonderful. She is playful, artistic, dramatic, comedic, gracious, spirited, and sensual. Her rendition of "Mammy" (NOT referring to Judy Garland!!) still sends chills up and down my spine whenever I hear it. This gal can sing and dance up a storm. One reviewer was highly critical of her as a person, which I felt was extremely unfair. She had her share of "issues," as many celebrities do. These problems have nothing to do with her performance in this special.

If the reviewer had watched the A&E biography of her, he would have been aware of some of her other artistic accomplishments. For example, the Broadway show CHICAGO was about to close because Gwen Verdon took ill. Liza stepped in and saved the day, garnering great reviews for her performance. She has won 3 Tony awards, an emmy, a grammy, and an Oscar.

But getting back to the review of "Liza With a Z": So what if maybe she lipsynched a few numbers? Could you dance like that and be able to sing at the same time? It was still HER vice, for crying out loud.

I would not call myself a Liza fanatic by any means. I do admire her and belive she is a tremendous talent, as is clearly evident int his special. She has a very commanding stage presence and is a top-notch entertainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liza with a BANG!, February 1, 2006
This dvd should be viewed in masterclasses as a spectacular and unmatchable show that reveals what a immensly talented lady Liza is. I cant wait until i receive this, truly a gem of a collaboration between Minnelli, Bob Fosse, Halston, Fred Ebb,and John Kander. A piece of American showbusiness history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S FINALLY HERE!!, February 2, 2006
By 
John T. Borek "Johny B." (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this T.V. special when I was a Sophomore in high school and 30 years later in New York at the Museum of Television and Radio and remembered every bit of it as if I saw it yesterday. What an amazing performance it is. For years I have been lookng for a copy of this "must have" and had to settle for only the sound track to live off of and now it will be here soon. Don't even think twice about it, but get it as soon as you can and you will watch it over and over again. Think Ms. Minnelli's a joke, you won't after seeing this, trust me. Her dancing is SPECTACULAR, her singing is incredible and Fosse's choreography is spellbinding. In a word -- WOW!!! You'll NEVER think of Liza in the same way after seeing this wonderful gem. Thanks to Liza, who owns the rights to this, for putting it out there and letting the world see it for the first time since it's only showing on T.V. back in 1972.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoorah!, May 10, 2006
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
"Liza with a "Z" - A Concert for Television" is simply one of many reasons for owning this excellent set: the extras and full-length soundtrack CD are worth the price of admission alone.

The show itself is a testament to the power of Liza Minnelli both as a singer (she really outdoes herself on numbers such as "God Bless The Child" and "My Mammy") and as a dancer ("Ring Them Bells" is perhaps one of the most entertaining and exciting routines I've ever seen, on DVD or otherwise...). The sense of excitement and theatricality is palpable - even with the (understabdably) lip-synched numbers, and the staging by Bob Fosse is slick, stylish, pared-back and... well, very Fosse indeed. It's so refreshing to see a young Liza in action outside of "The Judy Garland Show" and "Cabaret", you really do need to sit down and watch this concert to understand fully why she was and is such a big deal.

The Biography documentary about Liza's life is excellent - a 90-minute ride through the high and low points with, surprisingly, more input from Liza herself than from any other contributor - and the contributor's list reads like a Who's Who and Who's Left of Broadway Royalty - Chita Rivera, Kander and Ebb, Billy Stritch, Liz Smith and others all come together, not to pay saccarine lip service to a showbiz legend, but to illustrate and share their memories and takes on the life of Liza Minnelli. It's riveting stuff.

Other wonderful surprises come in the shape of the audio CD album of the concert, Liza's dramatic and dynamic performance at the 2005 GLAAD awards (she has It more now than ever, it would seem...) and the cut "Mein Herr" sequence from the actual concert are all fascinating clips of Liza at her most entertaining.

Ausio-video quality for the main feature is superb - remastered to within an inch of perfection, the crystal clarity of the visuals is matched by the sharp, balanced stereo sound. One for any fan of broadway, live performance or just plain old-fashioned showmanship, "Liza with a "Z" - A Concert for Television" is an absolute must-have.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Liza With aZ" Changed My Mind!, February 5, 2006
It was supposed to be a hot date, between two sailors, who were bored stiff with what the naval base had to offer. And payday was a few days away so even if Virginia Beach sounded like the appropriate venue, we were not about to hit the beach broke. Since both our roomates were out we decided we were just gonna watch television and have a beer, and go from there. What happened was it was "Liza With A Z"'s premiere airing. I was not too keen about a made for television concert. And Liza Minnelli, I thought she was boring. Guess what? I did not even finish my beer! I was flabbergasted! I had to watch her every move and subtle difference. I was convinced right then that she is the best. There's nothing like "Liza With A Z" and I am looking forward to owning it on DVD. Maybe one of these days, someone will discover "Baryshnikov on Broadway" in someone's trunk! Hello, Liza!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Masterpiece!!!, May 18, 2006
By 
Gerald M. Reeves (El Cajon, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Liza With A "Z" (DVD)
Good Lord, how did she do it? This is one of the most amazing performances in the history of theater, movies or television. Thank Heaven it has been restored so we can see it again and again and again. This is definitely Liza at the top of her game; Bob Fosse on top of his. Combine that with the great Kander and Ebb music and you've got a musical treasure right there on your shelf. Looking as cool as a seasoned pro, and dressed in some amazing Halston creations, Liza delivers an hour of great entertainment packed with sizzling emotion, cleverly times humor and outstanding movement. If you saw it in 1972, rush out and buy it again. If you'e never seen it, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Liza With A "Z"
Liza With A "Z" by Bob Fosse (DVD - 2006)
$29.99 $6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.