Buy Used
$3.61
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Lizzie Logan Gets Married Hardcover – June 1, 1997


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$12.80 $0.01

"Hit and Miss" by Derrick Jeter and Paul Mantell
Inspired by Derek Jeter’s own life, this middle grade novel is about what it takes to be a champion on and off the field. See more
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 10 years
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing; 1st edition (June 1, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0689810660
  • ISBN-13: 978-0689810664
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.5 x 8.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,456,502 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 2-4?Third-grader Heather is friends with Lizzie Logan, a fifth grader who has an unconventional way of doing things. When Heather gets a wart on her finger, Lizzie "cures" it with mushrooms. When a neighbor puts up a bat house to attract bats, a terrified Heather decides to wear her father's football helmet everywhere. She won't take it off, even at school (which is a little far-fetched). Lizzie's mother is getting remarried and Lizzie's help in planning the wedding forms the rest of the story. While the reading level is geared for third graders, the humor would appeal to younger children. Unbelievable characters and an insignificant plot line fail to raise this effort beyond the mediocre.?Janet M. Bair, Trumbull Library, CT
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

Gr. 2^-4. Lizzie Logan's mom is getting married, but Lizzie feels that she is just as important a member of the wedding as the bride. According to Lizzie, her friend Heather is also going to walk down the aisle--and play a violin solo, though Heather has yet to take her first lesson. The book is at its best--and funniest--when it plays within the realm of real kids' experiences. But occasionally the humor goes over the top, as when Heather insists on wearing a football helmet at all times because she is afraid of bats (the flying kind). Lighthearted chapter-book fare for larger collections. Ilene Cooper

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0%
4 star
100%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By A Customer on March 26, 2000
Format: School & Library Binding
I am in the fifth grade and I really liked reading this book, it is about Lizzie who is so bossy and likes to be in control of everything, she reminds me of a girl in my school. Some parts are really funny. I recommend this book for grade 3 to 5, it is very easy to read and you will not be able to put it down, you will want to read the whole book in one day.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A 10-year old reader on July 14, 2001
Format: Hardcover
I really liked this book. My favorite part was when Heather wanted to wear her dads football helmet because she was scared of bats. Bootsie cured Heather, Heather did not want to wear the helmet, not even to the wedding. Lizzie wore it instead because she decorated it for Heather and thought it looked to nice not to be worn. I would recommend this book to other kids.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Eileen Spinelli is no stranger to the Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers list. Since her debut in 1991 with Somebody Loves You, Mr. Hatch, an IRA/CBC Children's Choice book and Christopher Award winner, she has gone on to author numerous picture books, poetry collections, and chapter books, including the best-selling When Mama Comes Home Tonight, and the critically acclaimed Sophie's Masterpiece. Eileen lives in West Chester, Pennsylvania.