Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty recipes! and no fuss ingredients!
I have made the whoopie pies, the hamburger casserole, the pumpkin bread, and a few more items. They have all turned out delicious! This book has recipes that use ingredients that are found around most homes, as the Amish use what they have. You won't have to go buy any fancy spices and spend a fortune only to use a pinch and throw it away. If you are looking for budget...
Published 23 months ago by Scott D. Miller

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
I read the preview of this book available via the "Look Inside" option and saw the positive reviews, it seemed ok, so I bought it. Really the only good thing about this book is the baking section and the little snippets of stories from the author's novels (which I have not read). The snippets reminded me of the Anne of Green Gables books and the recipes included...
Published 10 months ago by Augustina


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty recipes! and no fuss ingredients!, October 28, 2012
By 
I have made the whoopie pies, the hamburger casserole, the pumpkin bread, and a few more items. They have all turned out delicious! This book has recipes that use ingredients that are found around most homes, as the Amish use what they have. You won't have to go buy any fancy spices and spend a fortune only to use a pinch and throw it away. If you are looking for budget friendly, traditional cooking, this is for you. Highly recommend this book. I got it from the local library and am thinking of buying a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COOK BOOK, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A GOOD VARIETY OF AMISH COOKING.MOST OF THE RECIPES ARE EASY TO MAKE IF YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS AS WRITTEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I love this cook book., May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like all the old recipes like my mom and grandma made. I can now make them just like they did so long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cookbook, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love using the many recipes found in this book. Lots of recipes use ingredients already on hand. Tasty and delicious meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lizzie's Amish Cookbook: Favorite Recipes from Three Generations of..., February 8, 2013
By 
Mary Lloyd (Sears`, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WOW, I have thoroughly enjoyed this cookbook, and have shared it with my Amish friend. We've been using recipes from it, and have been so happy with the results! Upon receipt, it was like new, and it was received before I expected it. Great all around transaction and product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, November 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lizzie's Amish Cookbook: Favorite Recipes from Three Generations of Amish Cooks (Kindle Edition)
I read the preview of this book available via the "Look Inside" option and saw the positive reviews, it seemed ok, so I bought it. Really the only good thing about this book is the baking section and the little snippets of stories from the author's novels (which I have not read). The snippets reminded me of the Anne of Green Gables books and the recipes included in the preview were basic, old fashioned, and entirely from scratch. Once I read the full book, I was really dissappointed in how many of the recipes used processed foods. Her cheese dip uses American Cheese. The Crispy Chicken recipe uses Cornflakes. Her casseroles use Cream of Mushroom soup. And some of the recipes are just bad, she fries chicken in butter?? Butter will burn and smoke up your whole kitchen! Some aspects of this book remind me of something that would make a "first cookbook" kind of gift for a young adult, but with some of the cooking techniques in the book just outright wrong, I am not even so sure of that.

I really like the idea of the book, but the execution fell flat. When I buy a cookbook that says "from 3 generations of Amish" I expect things to be made from scratch, not from processed garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homemade goodness, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lizzie's Amish Cookbook: Favorite Recipes from Three Generations of Amish Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Love the book. I have made several things from it already and the food turns out great every time. Homemade goodness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, Simple to Make Recipes, August 15, 2013
By 
Heather (James Creek, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lizzie's Amish Cookbook: Favorite Recipes from Three Generations of Amish Cooks (Kindle Edition)
I have tried a few of the recipes included in this book and they have been easy to make with ingredients I already had on hand. I'm sure I will continue to use this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to follow, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have already tried some of the recipes, which are easy to follow and very yummy!! Also love the books by this same writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love the recipes, July 13, 2014
This review is from: Lizzie's Amish Cookbook: Favorite Recipes from Three Generations of Amish Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Simple recipes, easy to follow. No special ingredients needed. Everything I needed for recipes, I had in my pantry. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.