Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Pulp with no Tongue in Cheek
Mr Sniegoski has done a wonderful job in recreating the pulp novels of old. Its all treated with the respect these stories and characters deserve. No Silliness is excused simply because its a supposed to be "pulp".

I loved the character of Lobster Johnson in the Mignola stories, but here Sniegoski uses the elements to create something I feel is even better than...
Published on August 26, 2009 by Thomas A. Boatwright

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from BOOTLEG MAGAZINE
Mike Mignola's appropriation of Lobster Johnson, a man believed to be a real life vigilante crime fighter that was fictionalized in pulp novels and Mexican horror films, into his world of colorful characters like Hellboy and Abe Sapien seems right at home. Little is known about the crime fighter called The Lobster except that between 1932 and 1938 a hundred or more crime...
Published on August 3, 2009 by avenue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Pulp with no Tongue in Cheek, August 26, 2009
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Mr Sniegoski has done a wonderful job in recreating the pulp novels of old. Its all treated with the respect these stories and characters deserve. No Silliness is excused simply because its a supposed to be "pulp".

I loved the character of Lobster Johnson in the Mignola stories, but here Sniegoski uses the elements to create something I feel is even better than what we've been given so far. The world of the Lobster seem so much more real even with ancient demons and terrible monsters. We're given glimpse at The Lobster's previous fight against simple hoods and gangsters, but it's changing into a more wonderous dangerous place. Things don't die or even stay dead quite like they used to.

Along with the pulp adventure, we're also given a look at the depression era. Through the eyes of Jake Hurley we travel amongst the down trodden in soup kitchens and hobo jungles. Jake is a former police officer and the newest recruit in the Lobster's fight against evil. With Jake see no only what it took be part of a pulp adventure team, but also what it took to survive a very real and very sad time in our history.

The Satan Factory has all the best elements of pulp novels and comic books but never treats them like kid stuff. For being both fun and grim all at once I cant recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from BOOTLEG MAGAZINE, August 3, 2009
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Mike Mignola's appropriation of Lobster Johnson, a man believed to be a real life vigilante crime fighter that was fictionalized in pulp novels and Mexican horror films, into his world of colorful characters like Hellboy and Abe Sapien seems right at home. Little is known about the crime fighter called The Lobster except that between 1932 and 1938 a hundred or more crime figures, Axis spies and saboteurs were found murdered and left with a claw burned into their foreheads in and around New York City and Chicago. In Mignola's world The Lobster is still fighting crime with a heavy dose of the occult and the fantastic in the stories. First brought to life in the graphic novel The Iron Prometheus Lobster Johnson is given the literary treatment in Thomas E. Sniegowski's The Satan Factory.

This story takes place as the world is on the verge of the Second World War. The Lobster has a team of helpers, and the newest - Hurley, is a framed and disgraced police officer. His addition to the crew will help them take down a ruthless crime lord, Rocco "The Devil" Fazzina whose personal doctor, Jonas Chapel, has returned to New York City with a weapon that will help him rule the city. Chapel was on the lam from Fazzina in Mexico, fearing for his life after performing emergency surgery on Fazzina's cousin and causing him to die. In Mexico, Chapel came upon a powerful witch and a cursed skeleton that allows him the power to make humans into monsters. Chapel offers this weapon to Fazzina for leniency.

Sniegoski's writing is forceful and sparse, a tight fit for the nature of the story. The short novel is a fun mix of crime fiction and macabre monster storytelling. And while Sniegowsli delivers heavily on the crime figures and monsters he goes light on The Lobster. Nonetheless, it's a quick and entertaining read. The title character is a definite fit for Mignola's universe and the world of The Lobster is a deep well. There's a seemingly endless amount of stories that can be told utilizing The Lobster, his history and ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, lots of action, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
I was already a fan of Lobster Johnson. This book does a great job tapping into the pulp action genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Sniegoski Greatness!!, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A pulp adventure! Fun, if a bit pre-cast characters, if you are into whatever the hell they are calling the genre now or loved old hero serials, this is a must read for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real Lobster Johnson fan, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book. Great pulp era story, really moves along. L.J. is my favorite character from the Hellboy series. Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Mignola's creation by why of the mind of Tom Sniegoski., February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Lobster Johnson (more commonly referred to as just "The Lobster") is a supporting character from Mike Mignola's Hellboy comics. He has hadhis own solo comic adventures on a couple of occasions, and very little information has been revealed about the character. Like the old 1930s pulp hero the Shadow, the Lobster works through a network of agents who do much of the leg work in his war against crime.
Anyone looking for more info about the Lobster himself, guess again. Even without illustrations, the man is never described or referred to as appearing without his goggles to hide his identity. The extent of his abilities and skills, and his background, are still a tightly held secret in the mind of Mignola himself.
Having said that, a great deal of this story is artfully told through the eyes of the Lobster's agent Jack Hurley, a wrongfully disgraced former police officer who is now one of the countless unfortunates on the streets of New York during the height of the Great Depression. You get a real feel for the period, including the impression that the more things change, the more things stay the same. Kudos to Sniegoski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Pulp action!, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory is a thrilling pulp story with redemption and justice entwined. You will not learn more about Lobster Johnson, but the supporting characters both heroes and villains will draw you in. The plot takes place during the great depression and I was impressed with the description of a Hooverville shantytown and the daily struggle through the eyes of Jake Hurley a new addition to the Lobster's sidekicks. The foreshadowing of future events is beautifully laid out and you will feel the dread as events unfold. As the plot unwraps brief flashback events from the distant past influence the future like they do in the Hellboy series.The supernatural has its role in the plot and you easily realize that the Lobster and his comrades are horribly outmatched but like any good pulp story they always have one last trick to pull out of their sleeves. A great adventure that you can cheer the Lobster's struggle against mobsters and monsters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is My Kind of Pulp Mayhem!, March 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Want lots of blood-drenched violence, monsters, and an inscrutable hero with a crew of well-meaning henchmen? This is your book, then. Fast moving and a fantastic nod to the pulps of the 30s and 40s, our hero, Lobster Johnson, is pretty much a secondary character in his own book. The narrative mostly involves the unwitting dope who becomes the villain, and our main source of concern is for The Lobster's most recent recruit, Jake Hurley. It all ties together, though, and I had a great time reading this book.

I'd never read any of the comics Lobster Johnson appears in, though I am familiar with Mike Mignola and his Hellboy/BPRD worlds; I've read some of those trades. I dig his little universe, and will definitely seek out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pulp action with a horror twist!, November 7, 2009
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
This was a fun read - with just the right mix of pulp purple prose, stoic hero, and supernatural horror. I look forward to more prose outings from The Lobster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, September 12, 2009
By 
Brian C. Petery (The Night, The City.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory (Paperback)
Two-fisted action fun!

If you're expecting some world changing event, extended introspection, or for the main characters to go insane forget it. The Lobster is a Cinematic Action Hero. He's bit grim, but that's to be expected in a never ending crusade for Justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory
Lobster Johnson: The Satan Factory by Tom Sniegoski (Paperback - July 21, 2009)
$12.95 $11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.