Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction
For those not familiar with the Galactic Encounters universe this book is essential in introducing you to the history and origins of the TTA and other elements to the universe.
Published 3 months ago by jim pickens

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Rules, Universe Info, but Poor Artwork
The TTA Handbook, "Local Space 2200 AD" arrived today, and I thought I'd share some first impressions. Firstly it's a roughly 15cm by 23cm softcover book, the same dimesions as the TTA RPG. It has a pleasant CGI generated cover, and is about half the width of the TTA RPG book.

I had been lead to believe that it was just going to contain the new material from...
Published on December 1, 2006 by David Schneider


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Rules, Universe Info, but Poor Artwork, December 1, 2006
By 
David Schneider (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
The TTA Handbook, "Local Space 2200 AD" arrived today, and I thought I'd share some first impressions. Firstly it's a roughly 15cm by 23cm softcover book, the same dimesions as the TTA RPG. It has a pleasant CGI generated cover, and is about half the width of the TTA RPG book.

I had been lead to believe that it was just going to contain the new material from the TTA RPG, without all the Rules and game stuff, however there has been some work done on this title to make it more than just that. For example, rather that give us a cut and paste of the History section from the RPG and Spacecraft, a more streamlined introduction has made for an easier read. It also omits the intro by Cowley to be found at the front of the TTA RPG. The book reproduces all race and stellar system information on the Proximans, Alphans and Humans, anatomically correct pictures as well. It also reproduces other parts of the RPG's new info such as the descriptions of Corporations and the Mektech robots created by Cowley.

New material appears in this book, which is to say some of the old material which originally appeared in "Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD", and which did not appear in the new "Spacecraft 2100 - 2200 AD". The Skybase and Nomad entries appear here, as do several of the unknown object entries (though one is reproduced from the TTA RPG). While I was really pleased to see these entries, I was also really disappointed to see them in this book. The reason for this is that it reproduces almost all of the poorly copied artwork from the RPG book.

All of the starship and unknown object illustrations must have been large, colour, CGI artwork. This has been shrunk down to fit the small format of the book, and turned into generally bad black and white pictures. The CGI artwork of the various planets, in particular, does not fare well in this process. With the exception of the skybase, NOMAD and some Unknown Object pictures, all the artwork is reproduced from the TTA RPG. They really should have saved the unknown objects for an artwork book, because they are not displayed to advantage here at all. It's also a sad fact that the proofreading issues that have plagued this series crop up again. Unknown Wreck: Sol, for example, has a sadly garbled paragraph that detracts from the writeup significantly.

This book is not a game supplement, and it's definately not an artwork book. Instead it is more of an expansion to the TTA universe background for people who don't want to buy the TTA RPG for the same information. If you want the fantastic pictures that Cowley's original books contained, this book is not for you. If you want a supplement for the Roleplaying Game, this book is not for you. If you want more detail on the TTA Universe, and don't want to buy the RPG, then this might be for you. Perhaps.

Essentially a repackaging of the new information from the TTA RPG, potential buyers would do well to click on the Amazon link to that product, and read the reviews submitted there. Once you've done that you should be in a position to decide if you want to purchase this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Local Space - not good, May 19, 2007
By 
Bear "Bear" (Vernon, British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
It almost seems like this book was cobbled together, with bits and pieces from the other books and even role playing games.

Here are some things that i found very uninspired:

The Alpha Centaurians look alot like elves

The Proximans look like a cross between chimps and dwarves

They seem to spend an inordinate amount of time on the reproductive

habits of both species

Entire sections of diologue have been lifted, word for word, from the

original series.

There are numerous spelling and grammatical errors.

The world of the TTA seems to bear a striking similarity to the Shadowrun RPG.

- The megacorporations seem to be in almost total control.

- There are a few privilaged elite, and the remainder are poor and at the corps & governments mercy.

- Corps and governments seem to be in a constant state of conflict.

- The government seems to have little or no control.

- Crime seems to be rabid and uncontrolled.

I know it sounds like ranting, but I was expecting alot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the fact, March 11, 2007
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
This book has been written solely as a resource for the TTA RPG and repeats much of the history within the TTA RPG.

It gives just enough new material to make it interesting and its graphics are exceptional but these are its ONLY good points
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
For those not familiar with the Galactic Encounters universe this book is essential in introducing you to the history and origins of the TTA and other elements to the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars reprint of a better book, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
this book is a repent of the book Spacecraft 2000-2100 AD by Stewart Cowley the Arthur and originator of the series. I was delighted to note that a different company now has the publishing rights, and I hope will do a better job with the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Local Space 2200AD, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
Aside from the fact it wasn't immediately clear that it would be a smaller soft back version, the book dovetailed into the books I already had nicely. I've had the TTA themed books from the first addition since I was a boy and only rediscovered them among my belongings and when I discovered other authors had carried on the theme and built up more history to the theme I was immediately determined to increase my collection for purely nostalgic reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
There's nothing in the description to let the buyer know this but it's all text with none of the illustrations. For this whole series the story is just a formality thrown in so that the illustrations can be showcased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Local Space 2200AD, July 16, 2010
By 
Walter J. Killough, Jr. (Tryon, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
Short on illustration. Appears to be a primer for a role-playing game. Not exactly what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars local space, September 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
An excellent expansion of the Terran Trade Authority universe. Includes a wide span of back ground information, primarily focussed on the Alphan and proximian species. Less usefull for a techinical orintated reader, but firsrt class for a social , historical and biological background. Overal, well worth a look if you have read any of the other TTA books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing !!!!, July 5, 2007
This review is from: Local Space 2200 AD (Paperback)
This book was a major and expensive disappointment!
No colourfull pictures as in the TTA series from the seventies.
An absolutly redicoulous story about the different species in space.This book is only good for the role-playing gamers that this producer has recently introduced.But i do not see the connection to those wonderfull picture books series of the seventies.
Some say that the " Galactic Encounter " series are " non-canonical" . Well,they are far more canonical than this "Local Space 2200 " book.I gave it one star,but actually it deserves no stars at all.I hope that the next book called " Capital Ships" is going to be much much better!It will have to be,if it is going to make up for this " Local Space 2200 " disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Local Space 2200 AD
Local Space 2200 AD by Jeffrey Lilly (Paperback - October 26, 2006)
$19.99 $14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.