Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Beach House Storm Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin TransparentGGWin  Amazon Echo Fire HD 6 Kindle Voyage The Walking Dead\ Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Locke: Consort of Fower Parts
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Locke: Consort of Fower Parts Import, Original recording remastered

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Original recording remastered, February 8, 2000
"Please retry"
$59.90 $207.13

1. Ste I in d: Fant
2. Ste I in d: Courante
3. Ste I in d: Ayre
4. Ste I in d: Saraband
5. Ste II in d-D: Fant
6. Ste II in d-D: Courante
7. Ste II in d-D: Ayre
8. Ste II in d-D: Saraband
9. Ste III in F: Fant
10. Ste III in F: Courante
11. Ste III in F: Ayre
12. Ste III in F: Saraband
13. Ste IV in F: Fant
14. Ste IV in F: Courante
15. Ste IV in F: Ayre
16. Ste IV in F: Saraband
17. Ste V in g: Fant
18. Ste V in g: Courante
19. Ste V in g: Ayre
20. Ste V in g: Saraband
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 8, 2000)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Astree
  • ASIN: B00004R7PC
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #912,454 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Reviewer on December 2, 2007
Wonder of wonders, there are three complete recordings of these "string quartets" by the little-known English 17th C composer Matthew Locke, performed by Hesperion XX, Fretwork, and Phantasm ensembles. All three are well worth hearing. Just as performances of Schubert's "Death and the Maiden" quartet by various ensembles are interestingly different, these three CDs of Locke all have their strong points.

The most "polished" of the three is that of the English ensemble Fretwork, whose entire career together has been dedicated to this specific repertoire. Fretwork's strengths are its unity of technique (the definition of ensemble) and its resonant oak-barrel-chardonnay tone. Hesperion XX, led by the great gamba virtuoso Jordi Savall, has less unity and, on this CD, less polish. Some attacks could be tighter, some chords could be more exact. But there are strengths in this performance also, a bolder interpretation, a fearless attitude toward Locke's deliberate dissonances, a fiercer interaction between bow and string. The performance by Phantasm lies right in the middle and would be my third choice. I've reviewed both Fretwork and Phantasm elsewhere. Any of the three would be excellent additions to a music-lover's collection.

If you are completely unfamiliar with the viola da gamba and its repertoire, you might want to do a little research beyond the scope of this review. The most salient differences between the gambas and the violin/viola/cello family are the larger number of strings and the presence of frets like those on a guitar. Hence the name of the ensemble Fretwork. Gamba consorts were especially popular in Renaissance England, and the most impressive repertoire of the instrument comes from English composers like Locke, Jenkins, Mico, and Lawes. Their quartets, quintets, and sextets for gambas have a musical and emotional sophistication not rivaled until the works of Mozart more than a hundred years later.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By OM on August 25, 2011
Superb recording and performance of Tye's lovely works. Savall and Hesperion XX are always an excellent combination. Deeply musical, moving, and timeless works. Highest recommendation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category