Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent explanation of this esoteric method., April 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on the subject. It covers the subject in detail. I work in a quantitative group of a large financial institution. My boss asked me recently to make a presentation on logistic regression, a subject I knew nothing about at the time.
Thanks to this book, I was able to develop the knowledge and expertise in this esoteric statistical method to make a descent presentation to my group. I was also able to develop basic logistic regression models in Excel.
Personally, unlike many of my colleagues (Russians with formidable backgrounds in math) I don't have an advanced knowledge in math or statistic. The book reviewed and taught me what I needed to know to grasp logistic regression. This included an excellent review of logarithms and partial derivatives.
If you are interested to learn this subject, and you need the equivalent of a most user friendly "Logistic Regression for Dummies" this is the book for you.
By the way, logistic regression is not so well known today outside of academic and quantitatively oriented circle. But, after studying it, I feel like it will take over linear regression big time. It is such a superior method to analyze situations associated with human behavior and human choices. Whether you are a psychologist, social scientist, or developer of financial products you will sooner or later have to grasp logistic regression because your counterparts and competitors will. And, in the statistical evaluation of decision-making, linear regression just can't compete with logistic regression. This book will help you catch the logistic regression wave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good explanation, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I bought this publication mainly so I could understand how logistic regression coefficients are derived. It does a good job of explaining this topic. It is short and not really a book - just a bunch of papers bound together, so the price is a little steep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick intro (as advertised), October 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
Well written and easy to understand. In an hour or 2, you can get a quick grasp on this subject. Considering the cost of textbooks nowadays this is sort of a good place to start if you are in a logistic regression class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro, July 6, 2009
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This book is a good, quick introduction that will allow you to jump right into logistic regression. I found Pampel's writing to be comprehensible and quite suitable for anyone with a good working knowledge of regular linear regression.

All in all, you could do far worse if you need a basic overview into LR. Think of this as a good book to let you know what you need to know. It'd also make a good reference if you need a primer on logs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What it says: primer, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This slim book provides a meaningful introduction to the concepts of logistic regression: what it is, where it outshines linear regression, significance of results, and more. But since this is aimed at users of statistical packages (STATA, SPSS, etc.), it doesn't go into the computational details of parameter estimation or much else beyond hand-calculator levels.

The appendix on logarithms should tell you that this doesn't aim at readers comfortable with (or in need of) a peek under the covers at how things actually work. So decide what your goals are. If you want to gain confidence in meaningful use and interpretation of canned packages, this could be very helpful. But, if you're more a tool-maker than tool-user, this could be disappointing.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction o the methods and applications, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I cam from a social science background, but have delved into statistics and modeling enough to know my way around. This book does a great job of straddling the divide between technical description and narrative explanation. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a deeper look into logistic regression after they have read up on the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 22, 2011
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I knew logisitic regression was the method to analyze my data but had no idea how to go about it. I am happy I found this booklet. In a few hours I was able to acquire the essence of logisitc regression and feel reasonable confident that I was running my analysis correctly. Really impressive how clear the explanations are. The examples are very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Complete Description of Logistic Regression, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
As the author of Advanced Regression in Excel and Practical and Clear Graduate Statistics in Excel, this booklet is well worth the money if you want a complete description of logistic regression. This booklet covers every type and actually is understandable (if you spend the time). Definitely a good book on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Logistic Regression: A Primer (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences)
$19.00 $16.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.