Customer Reviews


976 Reviews
5 star:
 (614)
4 star:
 (189)
3 star:
 (76)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


179 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Cordless Mouse You Will Ever Need
Logitech's V220 is ergonomically designed and has soft rubber grips on both sides. It uses one AA battery, which is nice, you don't have to scour the planet trying to find the right battery to use. The tilt wheel is large, making it easy to operate. The left and right mouse buttons operate smoothly. There is a battery warning LED which is green if the battery is good...
Published on September 28, 2007 by L. Maynard

versus
153 of 175 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally a good mouse - One fatal flaw
I used the V220 mouse in XP, Vista and Linux. All three systems recognized and installed the mouse in a few seconds. The mouse is a slightly small however the contours make it feel very comfortable in your hand. Response was smooth and the buttons and trackball have very nice feel while in use. So you wonder why I only gave it 3 stars. This is the problem. After some use...
Published on November 15, 2008 by Neo Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

179 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Cordless Mouse You Will Ever Need, September 28, 2007
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Logitech's V220 is ergonomically designed and has soft rubber grips on both sides. It uses one AA battery, which is nice, you don't have to scour the planet trying to find the right battery to use. The tilt wheel is large, making it easy to operate. The left and right mouse buttons operate smoothly. There is a battery warning LED which is green if the battery is good and turns red when the battery is low. This is a great feature. Another thing I love about this product is the off/on switch on the bottom of the mouse. If you are going to be typing or reading for a while and won't be needing to use the mouse, you can simply turn it off and save battery life. The receiver slides into the bottom of the mouse and is designed to turn off the mouse when you slide it in and turn on the mouse when you slide it out.

The only complaint I have is the instruction pamphlet could have been a little clearer about which way to install the battery. The diagram shows the stud of the positive end of the battery going first into the mouse but it has a very small (-) sign on the end with a small (+) side on the other end. A quick glance leads you to put the positive end first just by how the drawing looks.

I purchased a bargain store brand cordless mouse that was much smaller, had a tiny tilt wheel with an automatic shut off that allows the battery to run down for several minutes before shutting off. The Logitech V220, for the same price, puts the bargain brands to shame. It's the only cordless notebook mouse you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


168 of 180 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Nano, but not bad, October 8, 2007
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 0:27 Mins

Just playing around with my first ever video review, so please bear with me.

The V220 is a pretty good mouse considering the price tag. It's compact and rugged looking, with rubber pads at the sides for a good grip.

It only needs one AA battery (Note: the diagram is misleading with regard to the way to put in the battery. You should see the + side when you're closing the top)

You can use it for desktops as well as laptops.

There's storage space for the receiver at the bottom, and once you click it into place, the mouse automatically shuts off.

The ridged rubber wheel is the noisy variety, and goes click, click, click, all the way home.

It comes with no software, but gives you a link to the website where you can get a download to make the mouse do tricks. After the download, you can scroll from side to side, click and roll to zoom, and if you give it a shove, it can even roll over and play dead.

It has a warning light to tell you when your battery needs changing.

It doesn't come with a case or pouch, but looks like it can handle going commando just fine.

In summary, it's a good mouse, but not a great mouse - and well worth the price.

Amanda Richards, October 9, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparable to Microsoft 4000. Well-built and improved over older models., October 15, 2007
By 
almosthappy (San Diego, CA, California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I use my Thinkpad laptop quite a lot, so a reliable wireless mouse that's both low-maintenance and comfortable is very important to me. I have used an older model of Logitech wireless notebook mouse before and frankly I was not too impressed. Compared the said older model with my Microsoft Wireless Notebook Optical Mouse 4000, which has been my mouse of choice for almost a year now, the older Logitech model came up short on a few design considerations. First, the general feel of key presses: Microsoft mouse buttons are very responsive and be clearly depressed with a comfortable amount of pressure; the older Logitech on the other hand felt ambiguous at times - user doesn't know for sure if a button has been depressed. Secondly, the USB RF connector on the Logitech is always loose when reattached to the mouse when not in use, resulting in pre-mature power-drain. Luckily, LogitechV220 has been re-vamped to address just these issues. Now I use my trustworthy Microsoft 4000 and the Logitech V220 almost interchably and not even noticing the difference a lot of the times. And I believe that's a good thing, a well-built mouse should be unobtrusive and becomes almost a natural extension of the computing environment - something that's so natural users don't even realize its presence. In this regard, Logitech V220 has done a tremendous job to up their previous effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 175 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally a good mouse - One fatal flaw, November 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used the V220 mouse in XP, Vista and Linux. All three systems recognized and installed the mouse in a few seconds. The mouse is a slightly small however the contours make it feel very comfortable in your hand. Response was smooth and the buttons and trackball have very nice feel while in use. So you wonder why I only gave it 3 stars. This is the problem. After some use the mouse causes my all of browser windows to scroll to the bottom. As soon as the mouse is over the browser window it immediately goes to the bottom of the page.This happens both in Firefox and Explorer. The only solution I have found is to turn off the mouse for a few seconds.

The software from Logitech is bloated and of little practical value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logitech V220 Cordless Optical Mouse for Notebooks, February 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought two of these at Christmas time, one as a gift for my wife for her Dell 4100 desktop PC and the other for my IBM ThinkPad laptop computer. We have struggled with a couple wired mice over the years and had enough of the dust balls invading the mice. The Logitech V220 had numerous good reviews and the price was reasonable, especially with free Amazon shipping. They arrived soon after ordering and were put into service on Christmas day. Installation was plug and play for the receiver into a USB port. There is a download available for adding additional features. The mouse can be configured for various buttons. The mice came with an alkaline AA battery for each. Some of the reviews indicated battery life of up to 6 months. One of the mice lasted about one month. The other is still working 2 months later. I was curious about the current consumption as a retired electrical engineer and was able to measure the current on each. It turned out the current draw was identical for the two so I concluded the supplied batteries were not equal when purchased new. The mouse draws about 100uA static and about 14mA when in use. If the USB receiver is piggybacked onto the mouse when not in use the mouse is shut off completely, it appears. The performance is great, no problems. The Dell desktop has the USB ports in the back and I was concerned that the location might affect the wireless path but it turned out it worked fine. I would recommend this unit to all. There is no need to spend more on laser units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Laptop owners stay away from this one., July 9, 2010
I usually don't write negative reviews, but the frustration from this mouse has added some extra motivation for me.

In the beginning everything was great, it worked wonderfully and seemed to serve its purpose very well. After a few months I starrted noticing some tracking problems, but quickly put it aside as a failing battery. After replacing the battery I still had problems, until one day it just stopped working.

Through some deduction I realized that problem is not with the mouse, but with the large clunky usb drive. The size, much larger than newer models, is such that it will get bumped occasionally, many times without notice.

The usb drive is so cheaply made ( as evidence I took it apart only to find a thin copper plate secured by a couple pieces of scotch tape tape) that even the occasional nudge will destroy this excessively fragile device. This is a problem. For desktop users, it may never be an issue, but for laptop owners there are better options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Mouse For Basic Needs, October 1, 2007
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a nice mouse for the price. Let's take a look from the top and see if it is for you.

Packaging: This is trivial, but so many of these plastic packaged products require a chainsaw to open. That's not the case with this one.

Setup: This model (and the V320) do not come with an installation CD with the Set Point software. In order to utilize all of the features of the mouse, you need to download the software from Logitech's web site. The file is just under 60 Mb so allow a few minutes for download. The installation took about 10 minutes on my laptop. Everything is straightforward, just make sure you allow about 20 minutes total.

Usage: This mouse has some nice features. The on/off switch is automatic based on whether the USB adapter is docked or not. You can also turn it off manually. Tracking is very precise, and it has a couple of extras on the scroll wheel. If you push down on the scroll wheel, you get a magnifying glass and can then use the scroll wheel to zoom in and out. The scroll wheel also tilts left and right for horizontal scrolling. If you hover over the Logitech icon, you get a reading on the battery life in the mouse. The only thing I would like to see different is for the mouse itself to be a little bit larger. If you have larger hands, this may be an issue (consider the V320 instead).

Conclusion: If you are only looking for a basic mouse, this should do the trick. You will not find any added features for controlling media players or gaming. If those are your needs, you should consider an alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars V220 not the same, April 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The current version 4/2009 of the Logitech V220 mouse does not have the same accurate function as the version I purchased about three years ago. It does not release from left button functions and is often slow to move the cursor when not used for a few minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your money on this outdated product, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The USB stick is huge, do not buy, You can get a mouse with a MICRO-USB WIRELESS ADAPTER for the SAME PRICE. This usb adapter is from like 2004 seriously, that thing is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working great, August 15, 2007
I purchased the Logitech V220 notebook mouse a few weeks after buying my new notebook for college. I'm pleased with its performance so far; I've had it about one month.

The battery life is listed at 6 months, with regular usage. The mouse includes a useful on/off feature, however, which is manual or automatically done by inserting the USB receiver in the bottom of the mouse.
I was happy that the mouse included a AA battery, despite not listing this on the packaging. The battery life light, located on top, glows green for just a few seconds after turning the mouse on. Another useful feature, which I appreciate.

For ergonomics, know that this mouse is rather small, due to it being a notebook mouse. Dimensions are roughly 2.5-3 inches long, 1.5-2 inches wide, 1 inch tall. It fits my hand well, and I'm 6 feet tall with larger sized hands. The clicks are responsive, as is the scroll wheel, both forward/backward and side-to-side.

Software for the mouse can be obtained from [..]. The software (Logitech Setpoint) allows customization a bit further, such as mouse speed, left/right click settings, middle click settings, among other features.

Overall a great mouse, very accurate and with long lasting battery life (afaict).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.