Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lane & Kent Are Back With 22 More Episodes!
The Man of Steel and the First Lady of Metropolis swoop into a 2nd super season of action, comedy and romance with Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Second Season! Developed by Deborah Joy LeVine (Dawson's Creek) and a brilliant staff of series writers including Hilary J. Bader (Superman: The Animated Series), Lois & Clark takes the Man of Steel...
Published on November 11, 2005 by Servo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Packaging destroys satisfaction
I bought season 1 a while ago, and decided I wanted to watch more, so I ordered season 2. Honestly, I've been too busy to watch these episodes all the way through the season, but I was extremely dissatisfied with the packaging. What ever idiot decided to stack DVDs on a single spindle should be fired. This or the cardboard sleeves I've seen with other multi-disc packaging...
Published 17 months ago by C. Oberly


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lane & Kent Are Back With 22 More Episodes!, November 11, 2005
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
The Man of Steel and the First Lady of Metropolis swoop into a 2nd super season of action, comedy and romance with Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Second Season! Developed by Deborah Joy LeVine (Dawson's Creek) and a brilliant staff of series writers including Hilary J. Bader (Superman: The Animated Series), Lois & Clark takes the Man of Steel on his most exciting and challenging adventure of all - rivalry & romance (and later marriage) with Lois Lane!

Changes this season include Justin Whalin (Dungeons & Dragons) taking over the role of Jimmy Olsen, and the international criminal organization Intergang taking over the late (not for long) Lex Luthor's bid for control of Metropolis and plans to kill Superman. Celebrities galore guest star as the various members of Intergang, comic-book villains, and do-gooders. Most notably, gorgeous Farrah Forke (Wings) as Deputy D.A. Mayson Drake, who provides competition for Lois when she shows an interest in Clark. To both Lois & Clark's surprise, Mayson is attracted to Clark, and not at all crazy about Superman.

Episodes include:
23. Madame Ex
Anti-Superman sentiment sweeps through Metropolis thanks to the Planet's new staff pyschologist - Lex Luthor's crafty ex, who has masterminded a Lois Lane double and plans to exact revenge on her and the superhero. Emma Samms (Dynasty), and Denise Crosby (Star Trek: TNG) guest star.

24. Wall of Sound
Lois and Clark vie for a coveted journalism award, while each races to be the first to track down the menacing Sound Man, a high-tech madman whose misuse of sonic vibrations brings Superman to his knees.

25. The Source
An electronics-firm whistle-blower leaks information to Lois about faulty parts, implicating his whiz-kid boss. Then reports of her source's murder surface. Tim Grimm (Reasonable Doubts) and Peter Scolari (Bosom Buddies) guest star.

26. The Prankster
A romeo with a warped sense of humor is out to even the score with Lois for sending him to prison years ago. Bronson Pinchot (Perfect Strangers) guest stars.

27. Church of Metropolis
An international gang equipped with smart bombs infiltrates the South Side, where Lois's uncle runs a cafe that's targeted by thugs trying to drive him out of business. Peter Boyle (Everybody Loves Raymond), Farrah Forke (Wings), Dick Miller (Gremlins), and Bruce Weitz (Hill Street Blues) guest star. Trivia: Bruce Weitz was the voice of crime boss Bruno Manheim in Superman: The Animated Series.

28. Operation Blackout
A reportedly dead former classmate of Lois's turns up in Metropolis with plans to hijack a military satellite, but first he creates a diversion by paralyzing the city with a blackout. Charles Rocket (SNL, Flying Blind) and J.T. Walsh (Backdraft) guest star.

29. That Old Gang of Mine
Al Capone (William Devane), John Dillinger (Robert Clohessy), Bonnie and Clyde (Joseph Gian and Amy Hathaway) return from the dead by the hands of a scientist. They start a crime wave in Metropolis and when one of them shoots Clark, he needs to fake his own death to protect his identity. [Loved Teri Hatcher's performance as Lois reacting to Clark getting shot, and also later when he turns up alive. Clark tries to "disappear" to do his Superman thing, but Lois (so thrilled he's alive) is like "Ohhh no...I'm not letting you out of my sight!" Great scenes.]

30. A Bolt From the Blue
Metropolis's second superhero, Resplendent Man, is born when Superman and a suicidal man that he attempts to save are struck by lightning giving the man superpowers. Cindy Williams (Laverne & Shirley), Leslie Jordan (Boston Legal, Will & Grace), and Denise Crosby guest star.

31. Season's Greedings
George and Weezie, er the Toyman and his secretary ruin Christmas for holiday shoppers driven to buy the toy sensation of the season, his Atomic Space Rats - which contain a chemical that turns everyone greedy. Sherman Hemsley & Isabel Sanford (The Jeffersons), and Dick Van Patten (Eight Is Enough) guest star.

32. Metallo
Superman meets his match in Lucy Lane's boyfriend Johnny Corben, a kryptonite-powered cyborg created by the hands of two scientists who once worked for Lexcorp. Scott Valentine (Family Ties) guest stars.

33. Chi of Steel
Lois and Clark's probe into the theft of Perry White's savings leads to a search for a powerful ninja master whose strength seems to equal that of Superman. Brian Doyle Murray (Yes, Dear), James Hong (Big Trouble in Little China) guest star.

34. The Eyes Have It
Superman is blinded by an evil ophthalmologist (David Bowe) who's already killed a scientist to get his hands on a light-beam device that gives him control over the world. Gerrit Graham (Parker Lewis Can't Lose) and Farrah Forke guest star.

35. The Phoenix
Lex Luthor (John Shea) rises from the dead, having lost his millions but not his desire for Lois--or his wish to kill Superman by getting his hands on some kryptonite. Tony Jay (The Hunchback of Notre Dame) and Denise Crosby guest star.

36. Top Copy
A telegenic temptress (Raquel Welch), who threatens to expose Clark Kent as Superman uses her TV celebrity as a cover to hide her identity as an Intergang assassin. Robert Culp (I, Spy) guest stars.

37. Return of the Prankster
The Prankster (Bronson Pinchot) breaks out of jail with a plot to kidnap the President and to paralyze Metropolis with a fearsome light beam that temporarily freezes victims. Rick Overton (Groundhog Day) and Harold Gould (Rhoda) guest star.

38. Lucky Leon
Sparks fly as Lois and Clark finally go out on a date--but the afterglow is interrupted by a murder investigation and the search for nuclear warheads. John Kapelos, Robert Culp, and Mark Rolston (Rush Hour) guest star.

39. Resurrection
As Clark mourns the loss of a friend, Lois discovers a man being buried alive at the cemetary--which leads the reporters to a trio of "resurrected" convicts. Jim Pirri (Union Square) and Curtis Armstrong (Moonlighting) guest star.

40. Tempus Fugitive
Aided by H.G. Wells' time machine, Clark and Lois go back to the year 1966 in Smallville--to rescue the infant Superman from a futuristic villain. Terry Kiser and Lane Davies (Whoops!) guest star.

41. Target: Jimmy Olsen!
Jimmy Olsen becomes the unwitting subject of a rogue doctor conducting top-secret mind-control tests to create assassins who kill on command. Michelle Phillips (Knots Landing), Charles Napier (The Blues Brothers), and Jim Pirri guest star.

42. Individual Responsibility
Perry White is kidnapped by Intergang operatives, but it looks like he won't be getting any help from Superman, whose exposure to a mysterious red kryptonite renders him apathetic. Bruce Campbell (The Adventures of Brisco County Jr.) and Barbara Bosson (Murder One) guest star.

43. Whine, Whine, Whine
Clark has had his fill of Metropolis after he's snubbed by Lois for his inability to commit, and after Superman is sued by a litigious rock-star wannabe (Jason Carter). Kay Lenz (Reasonable Doubts) and Jim Pirri guest star.

44. And the Answer Is...
A jewelry-store heir finds evidence of Clark's true identity and threatens to expose him as Superman unless Clark steals a cache of diamonds--and then kills Lois Lane. Maurice Godin (Cafe Americain) and Tony Jay guest star.

Lois & Clark - The Complete Second Season is a 1012 min. 6-disc set, which features all 22 episodes from the 1994-1995 season in full frame (1.33:1) picture, and Dolby Surround stereo sound, English, Spanish and French subtitles, and closed captioning. The super extras include commentary on "Season's Greedings" by actor Dean Cain, who also wrote the episode; "Lois & Clark: Secrets of Season 2": A look at the new show direction and other significant changes Lois & Clark Underwent during its sophomore season, including interviews with cast and crew; "Marveling Metropolis: The Fans of Lois & Clark": About the relationship between the fans, cast and creative minds of the show, including a humorous Q&A between fans and Dean Cain, and interviews with various cast and crew as well as members of the FOLC (Friends of Lois & Clark) fan group.

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman Season 2 DVD is coming in January 2006., October 19, 2005
By 
Porfie "Porfie Jr. Medina" (Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman is my favorite show of all time. The show was on for four seasons from 1993-1997. What made this show so special was the great chemistry Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher had on screen along with a great supporting cast. I was a huge fan watching the first episode in the fall of 1993 (I was 16 years old) and never missed an episode. When the last episode aired in 1997 (I was 20 years old) I was sad because like so many other reviewers I grew up with this show and it was a huge part of my life. I remember every Sunday night I would look so forward to seeing Lois & Clark. Me and my best friend Maria would talk about the show the next day and say how we had so many similarities to these characters. I am so happy that that the fans are finally getting a DVD release of all four seasons of Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman. This show means so much to so many people because it was a good show that lasted longer than anyone ever imagined it would. Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman Season 2 DVD set will be released January 17th, 2006.

Below are The Bonus features on the DVD set
-Lois & Clark: Secrets of Season 2
-Marketing Metropolis: The Fans of Lois & Clark
-Commentary os "Seasons Greedings" by Dean Cain

Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman Season 2 Episode List

23: Madame Ex
24: Wall of Sound
25: The Source
26: The Prankster
27: Church of Metropolis
28: Operation Blackout
29: That Old Gang of Mine
30: A Bolt from the Blue
31: Season's Greedings
32: Metallo
33: Chi of Steel
34: The Eyes Have It
35: The Phoenix
36: Top Copy
37: Return of the Prankster
38: Lucky Leon
39: Resurrection
40: Tempus Fugitive
41: Target: Jimmy Olsen!
42: Individual Responsibility
43: Whine, Whine, Whine
44: And the Answer Is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FoLC are happy!, October 19, 2005
By 
Heidi Anne Heiner (SurLaLune Fairy Tales.com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 of Lois and Clark was one of the best seasons of the series. (It didn't really jump the shark until Lois ate those frogs in season 3.) Lois still doesn't know Clark's secret, but unfortunately Lex Luthor has disappeared as a regular nemesis. However, Lois and Clark's relationship, the real impetus of the series, heats up. Overall, the villains aren't quite as campy as the following seasons. This is the one that left everyone cliffhanging for the summer over what Lois was planning when she took off those glasses. Would she say "yes" to his proposal? Had she figured out his secret? Hopefully we won't have to wait as long for Season 3 to be released to DVD.

This second season release will supposedly have features on Lois and Clark's fans, special commentary from Dean Cain on "Season Greedings" the episode he directed, and more behind the scenes of the season.

Here's a list of Season 2's episodes:

23. Madame Ex

24. Wall of Sound

25. The Source

26. The Prankster

27. Church of Metropolis

28. Operation Blackout

29. That Old Gang of Mine

30. A Bolt from the Blue

31. Season's Greedings

32. Metallo

33. Chi of Steel

34. The Eyes Have It

35. The Phoenix

36. Top Copy

37. Return of the Prankster

38. Lucky Leon

39. Resurrection

40. Tempus Fugitive

41. Target: Jimmy Olsen!

42. Individual Responsibility

43. Whine, Whine, Whine

44. And the Answer Is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait!, October 23, 2005
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
I'm still not over my high of having Season 1 of Lois and Clark on DVD! Now with Season 2 being released just days before my birthday, I couldn't have asked for a better gift! Season 2 of Lois & Clark is without a doubt worth buying! It's basically impossible for me to pick a personal favorite out of the 4 seasons this show was on the air, but this season definitely has some of the best episodes! Tempus Fugitive, Lucky Leon, The Phoenix, Whine Whine Whine, And The Answer Is, That Old Gang of Mine, Season's Greedings ... oh I could go on! Finally getting to see Lois fall for Clark was what made season 2 so amazing and of course that was just the icing on the cake. I literally cannot wait for January 17th. I think the extras will be great, I'm really looking forward to hearing Dean's commentary on the first episode he wrote and of course I also can't wait to see my fellow FoLCs being interviewed!! Now we just have to hope the WB doesn't drop the ball and that they plan to release seasons 3 and 4 by the end of 2006! If you're reading this, chances are you're already a fan so buy this set, I know you won't be disappointed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical episodes to a new plot, March 9, 2006
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
I had to wait for several long weeks to recieve the most awaited DVD pack from the United States...

As same as for the First Season, Warner didn't share Lois and Clark with the rest of the world : the Daily Planet won't show up in France, which is kind of weird because French subtitles are the second ones available, just after English... There are fans over here, please don't forget us!

Anyway, discovering Lois and Clark again with the original soundtrack is a new adventure for us (in France, actors record new voices over the original ones). THANK YOU to Warner Home Video that didn't protect its DVDs from being played in Zone 2 machines!

Anyway, the second season begins quite weakly, with few creative plots and no interesting evolution between our two (three) heroes. Fortunately, the apparition of Mayson Drake and then Dan Scardino brings the two friends to ask themself questions about their relationship.

New vilains try to replace Lex Luthor, but he has to come back from death to kick them with their I'm-a-bad-guy laughs.

The end of the season is delightful : Lois and Clark in love, and maybe a secret revealed...

Conclusion : new characters, new plot, new visual effects, new adventures...

I love it!

PS: This is the first time I write a review in English, please do not judge me!

Can I ask you a question? Why are there so often vilains speaking French in American serials? (episode 14 'Top copy': "Qui ne voudrait pas ça?", "Tu parles Français?" "Un peu")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second best - I think not!, June 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
While many critics of this series claim that after the second series it was went down hill obviously watched a different show to what I watched! This is pure all round entertainment. The love affair of Lois and Vlark is hotter than ever!! With rivals thrown in jealousy is arrif, Clark feels dejected after the stumbling of their relationship at the end of season one and decides to take action with his love life breaking free (supposedly) of his fair maiden's bonds he looks for love in the arms of Mayson the DA. An interesting character summed up in Lois' words 'pushy' she is a determined gal and she wants Clark. Fallen in love already unbeknowedst to Clark, she is all out for him even if it means fighting Lois. However it is her eventual untimely demise that leads to further friction - Clark sulks Lois feels rejected oh dear...

Stage left Dan Scardino - call me Dan - a creepy 2nd rate love struck romeo. He wants Lois and Clark feels threatened but he does nothing Lois acts and regrets follow. He loves her she loves him when's it gonna happen??? A finale that ties up these questions only to 'pop' another it will leave you in the edge of your seat and begging for release... But you have to wait until season three for any sense of closure.

A great buy an everlasting classic - Hatcher is the ultimate Lane she is in control but vulnerable, needy but independent, loving but distant. She is the modern woman and she knows it! Deborah Joy Levine said she put Lois' name first because she wore the trousers and as I don't doubt their wardrobe choices I don't doubt that for a second - girl power.

Drool over Kent/Cain and laugh out loud at the hilarity of the comic genius of Peri and Lois, the loving nature of Clark will have you near to tears. No more. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun season from the romantic adventures of Lois and Clark, January 31, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Warning: Spoilers in review!

Season Two was both very similar to Season One and very different. It was different in that the show underwent some very significant cast changes. It was same in that the romantic chemistry between Lois and Clark continued to be very much at the fore front. In fact, as in Season One, the major concern in the show was the progress of their romance.

Going into Season Two, ABC decided that the show needed more of a family slant. They therefore had the show remove Tracy Scoggins, who had played the ultra sensual Catherine 'Cat' Grant in Season One, from the cast. Her hypersexual mode of behavior and dress was seen as nonconducive to creating the proper family atmosphere. My own feeling is that her character was never successfully integrated into the show and therefore her absence was not a great loss. I was more troubled by the decision to replace Michael Landes as Jimmy Olsen. The reasoning was that Landes and Dean Cain were too similar as physical types. They didn't look exactly alike, but both were tall, lean, and dark-haired. They could plausibly have passed for brothers. Nonetheless, I liked Landes and the place he occupied in the first season. Justin Whalin, who was stockier, had lighter hair, a much fuller face, and seemed to be slightly shorter, replaced him. Under no circumstances could he have been mistaken for Dean Cain's brother. While I didn't feel that Landes's dismissal from the show was justified, Whalin also did a fine job as Olsen, though all in all I think the two did an equally good job in the role. The third major cast change was the departure of John Shea from the show as a full time cast member. Watchers of the show will recall that he died at the end of the Season One finale. He was brought back briefly in Season Two, sans hair, and made a few additional appearances in the show later. But for all practical purposes, Shea was gone. The threatening presence of Lex Luthor was replaced by the crime syndicate Intergang.

But the romance was the thing. The original model for LOIS AND CLARK was always the romantic comedies of classic Hollywood. The show owed more to the interplay between Nick and Nora Charles than to any superhero show. The previous TV show that most accurately captures its spirit was MOONLIGHTING. There is no question that Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain had tremendous onscreen chemistry. They were not merely a devastatingly gorgeous couple; they were a wonderfully fun to watch. The season saw a gradual alteration in their relationship. Season One had ended with Clark first declaring his love for Lois, only to have her reject it, only then to have her return his advances after he had decided that their being together was perhaps not a good idea. In Season Two, however, the heart, as Robert Frost put it, began to cloud the mind, and Clark eventually summoned up the courage to ask Lois out on a date, and Lois summoned up the courage to accept. Their romance saw a few bumps towards the end of the season, but Season Two ended with Clark on bended knee, an engagement ring in his hand, awaiting Lois's response to his proposal. The one truly irritating moment in the season was unquestionably the words "To be continued . . . " that concluded the finale.

As in Season One, the romance between Lois and Clark always too precedent over Superman's crime fighting adventures. Nonetheless, the individual crises were a bit more compelling this year. There were several compelling adventures. My favorite--and the romantic highlight of the year--was the episode "Tempus Fugitive," in which H. G. Wells in his time machine enables a criminal from the future to return in time to a point where he can undo Superman and prevent the future utopia that resulted from the union of Superman and Lois Lane. The criminal, Tempus, played with great gusto by Lane Davies, reveals to Lois just who Superman really is. Much of the episode deals with Lois's intense anger at Clark/Superman for not having been honest with her and asking him how she could ever come to trust him again. Meanwhile they frustrate Tempus in his goal of undoing Utopia and Wells returns them to their own time to the point at which they will not remember what had just happened, telling them that it wasn't yet the right time for Lois to learn about Clark (implying that there would come such a time in the future). The episode was so successful that both Wells and Tempus would make additional appearances on the show, Tempus several times.

So, the second season of the show came to an end, this time with the cliffhanger of what Lois was going to say to Clark. Makes you wish that the next set in the series was being released sooner rather than later, doesn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sophomore season thats as good as the first.., November 30, 2009
By 
R. Bush (Moscow, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman Season Two is a very good sophomore season. They were still looking for their exact stride, but were getting closer to the mark. We saw the exit of Tracy Scoggins as Cat Grant, Michael Landesas the first Jimmy Olsen, and John Shea as Lex Luthor. Personally, I liked the old Jimmy and the Cat Grant character but the networks said that Michael Landes looked to much like Dean Cain and the Cat Grant character was to adult for the time slot. What are the fans to do? But never fear, Jimmy was back with Justin Wallin who did an admiral job at being the bearer of bad news over and over and over... But enough about what they changed, what stayed the same? Dean Cain makes a great Clark Kent and an acceptable Superman (I will always look to Christopher Reeves for the ultimate Superman- You will believe a man can Fly). Teri Hatcher puts out an excellent showing as one of the best Lois Lanes EVER, not a cigarette chomping witch and not a push-over, but a confident self-assured career women. K Callen and Eddie Jones are back as the Kents. Lane Smith is back as the Elvis loving Perry White.
In this season, there are some terrific moments and some stellar episodes. Ending with one of the best cliffhanger episodes for fun television, "And the Answer is....". Don't miss the christmas special "Seasons Greetings" or the entrance of William Wallace Webster Waldecker (say that 3 times fast). Then of corse there is the 2 Prankster episodes that are alot of fun. We see the introduction of Intergang, a criminal empire that will be a thorn in Lois's and Superman's side on and off for the next 2 seasons. We also get to meet Tempest and HG Wells in season 2. While I didn't much like the creators interoperation of HG Wells, I did like the Tempest character. He makes several repeat performances in season 3 and 4. There are secrets, exposures, near misses and all of the things that made this series Great TV.
The DVD set is packed in much the same way as the first season. The annoying double overlay disks are here- and if you are like me you will be replacing them with the slimline cases so that your disks will not get scratched at the expense of the episode guide. There were several special features and interviews, both archival and new, for the fans and some even by the fans. Hope you enjoy the season as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Clark, What Else Can You Do?", June 13, 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Season two picks up in the aftermath of Lex Luthor's (guest star John Shea) death. Even though the villain has been unmasked, the citizens of Metropolis seem upset with Superman (Dean Cain). Even more unsettling is the idea that Lex might not be dead.

But Lex plays a minor role this season. Intergang has moved into town in their disguise as CostMart and are attempting to take over the city. But that's not all investigative reporters Lois Lane (Teri Hatcher) and Clark Kent have to face this year. There's the Prankster, an evil mastermind who wants to incorporate Lois into his criminal pranks. A whistleblower is in danger when he discovers faulty products have been used. Gangsters come back to life and start wrecking havoc on the city leading to Clark Kent's death. A toy maker figures out a way to bottle greed and sell it to kids and adults right before Christmas. Superman is sued by someone whose life he has saved. And Jimmy Olsen (Justin Whalin) becomes a trained assassin.

But since this is the romantic comedy take on the mythology, all this plays out against the backdrop of the building romance between Lois and Clark. There are complications with love interests for each of them. Clark struggles with maintaining his two identities and keeping them secret. All this leads up to a cliffhanger aimed squarely at their relationship.

And, best of all, it is fun. The Christmas episode is the only clunker in the 22 episodes presented here. Instead, we get cases that not only present decent mysteries but also find ways to challenge Superman. It can't be easy to create new ways to put all the characters in danger each week. (Although I do have to wonder if anyone in Metropolis checks for traffic before crossing the street.)

And the romance is played perfectly. Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain have perfect chemistry for the part. They make it believable. And their flirty dialogue is always fun if not downright funny.

This set contains all 22 episodes from the season in full frame and stereo sound. Extras are limited to an audio commentary on "Season's Greedings" by star and episode writer Dean Cain. There are also two fetaurettes, one of the fans of the show and one on season two.

The emphasis may be on the romance, but there is still plenty of action and superhero to please everyone. This really is an entertaining show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, October 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2 (DVD)
Lois & Clark was my favorite TV show at the time. The 2nd season has definitely stood the test of time. The chemistry between Teri and Dean is still fun watch. It doesn't hurt that they are both hot, then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman: Season 2
$29.98 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.