Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


268 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman , Superwoman Equals SUPERSHOW
Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman The First Season is a FIVE STAR show if I ever saw one.

This show has a completely new take on the beginnings of the Characters. It is creative in a way that I believe would make Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster proud. I believe this because I have the distinction of having Parents that not only went to School with...
Published on June 18, 2005 by Lauren H. Lavine

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The episodes are great but. . . .
The dvds are not. First of all the way they're packaged (with one dvd on top of another) practically guarantees you're going to scratch at least one. And second, every dvd has a 'special features' menu when the special features are only on discs one and six. Why put a menu on a dvd if there's nothing there? Wouldn't it be a better idea to have menus for the individual...
Published on June 27, 2005 by A. Hodges


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

268 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman , Superwoman Equals SUPERSHOW, June 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman The First Season is a FIVE STAR show if I ever saw one.

This show has a completely new take on the beginnings of the Characters. It is creative in a way that I believe would make Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster proud. I believe this because I have the distinction of having Parents that not only went to School with both of the creators, but were their friends and were there when Joe and Jerry first came up with the idea of Superman. I have grown up with all sorts of stories of how Superman came to be in the first place. My Father's brother was in Art class with Joe and Jerry and witnessed the very first sketches of the man of steel. Therefore my feelings of this new and innovative creation are very personal.

Given this information, I must say that Lois and Clark are absolutely fabulous. The set designs and costuming ring very true to the original as well as adding it's own mark. It is done in a way that will sustain a certain timelessness. The use of the 1940's and the current times combined together are ingenious. This was a very clever way of giving the show a look and feel that will last forever.

The stories may not follow the exact history of the original Superman, but nonetheless are so very creative that they make you want to watch every episode because of it's freshness. They are exciting, humorous, and romantic making the show enjoyable to watch. The sexual tension between Lois and Clark not only makes one root for them to get together, but also encourages us to not to miss a single episode.

Dean Cain is the perfect Clark Kent/Superman and adds a down to earth quality that everyone can relate to. He is not only very handsome and charming, but extremely talented and adds an innocence to the character that has not been seen before.

Teri Hatcher as Lois Lane adds a completely new spin to the character. She is not only talented in her own right, but is classy, sassy, sexy, intelligent and very much her own woman. She adds all these qualities to Lois and still has the ability to show a certain underlined vulnerability at the same time.

The qualities in both of these people make them the perfect match. There in lies the magic and success. The secret to any good show is not only the strength of the story telling but the main characters as well. They must be solid not only as individuals but have chemistry between them. Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman has it all.

When one adds up all these factors, it gives the show a freshness that doesn't take anything away from the original. On the contrary it adds a uniqueness that makes the show a classic in it's own right that will definitely stand the test of time.

In conclusion, I not only recommend you buying this season but suggest that you get the other three for it only gets better each year. My only regret is that the show didn't last longer than four years.

Here is the First Season Line Up:

1: Pilot - "Equals Two Episodes"
2: Strange Visitor
3: Neverending Battle
4: I'm Looking Through You
5: Requiem for a Superhero
6: I've Got A Crush On You
7: Smart Kids
8: The Green, Green Glow of Home
9: Man of Steel Bars
10: Pheromone, My Lovely
11: Honeymoon in Metropolis
12: All Shook Up
13: Witness
14: Illusions of Grandeur
15: The Ides of Metropolis
16: The Foundling
17: The Rival
18: Vatman
19: Fly Hard
20: Barbarians at the Planet
21: The House of Luthor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


220 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman is the best!, July 17, 2004
By 
Porfie Medina "Porfie Jr. Medina" (Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman is my favorite show of all time. The show was on for four seasons from 1993-1997. What made this show so special was the great chemistry Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher had on screen along with a great supporting cast. I was a huge fan watching the first episode in the fall of 1993 (I was 16 years old) and never missed an episode. When the last episode aired in 1997 (I was 20 years old) I was sad because like so many other reviewers I grew up with this show and it was a huge part of my life. I remember every Sunday night I would look so forward to seeing Lois & Clark. Me and my best friend Maria would talk about the show the next day and say how we had so many similarities to these characters. I feel that the fans deserve a DVD release of all four seasons of Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman. This show means so much to so many people because it was a good show that lasted longer than anyone ever imagined it would. What gets me is some tv shows being released on DVD now days didn't even do half as good as Lois & Clark or last more than one season, and yet they seem to get released. I encourage all of the fans to write to Warner Bros. and/or voice your opinion and write your reviews on the show here on amazon. Remember it's the wheel that squeaks that gets the oil. Below is a complete episode list of the first Season of Lois & Clark in hopes that the first season will see a DVD release soon.
Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman
Season 1 Episode List
1: "Pilot"
2: "Strange Visitor"
3: "Neverending Battle"
4: "I'm Looking Through You"
5: "Requiem for a Superhero"
6: "I've Got A Crush On You"
7: "Smart Kids"
8: "The Green, Green Glow of Home"
9: "Man of Steel Bars"
10: "Pheromone, My Lovely"
11: "Honeymoon in Metropolis"
12: "All Shook Up"
13: "Witness"
14: "Illusions of Grandeur"
15: "The Ides of Metropolis"
16: "The Foundling"
17: "The Rival"
18: "Vatman"
19: "Fly Hard"
20: "Barbarians at the Planet"
21: "The House of Luthor"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERMAN PLEASE!!!!!, September 2, 2003
By A Customer
I have watched Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman since it's second season on ABC. I stumbled upon it one night and totally fell in love with the show. Since the show was cancelled after it's fourth season, I have followed the show from TNT to then TBS and now they don't have any shows scheduled for September. I LOVE THIS SHOW!! Every other show is coming out on DVD and I think that Lois and Clark deserve to be on DVD also so that it doesn't just completely disappear leaving fans like me missing the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Superman television series for my generation, November 13, 2004
Christopher Reeves was an excellent big screen Superman because he played the classic role, but this primetime 90's series was the first to really focus on a Clark-centric storyline. Even the 'soapy' portions of this series cannot tarnish this all-around excellent product which viewers receive.

Dean Cain is an excellent actor who can easily pull a 'brooding' look while also sounding intelligent (duh, Cain actually went to Princeton!). Building on the "Lois's" of the past, Teri Hatcher is an independent and assertive career woman (think a female version of Woodward and Bernstein rolled together) who still senses that she is missing something from her 'successful' life---Mr. very right!

While she eventually does find out her coworker's secret, she is annoyed by his frequent disappearances and 'strange' behavior during this season.

Also unlike before, Clark himself now is supposed to look very hot to the viewers. Gone are the days of the bookish 'nerd' who characterized earlier film, radio, and comic versions of the Kansas farm boy with a very special secret. In those versions, Superman was held up as the ideal, but women were not supposed to lust after Clark. This Clark is both brains and brawn, the latter is shown off very nicely in his spandex-like 'Superman' outfit.

Thankfully, that costume appears to be mostly Cain's real body instead of some over pumped Hollywood prop!

You can tell that ABC..etc really spent a lot of time, money, and thought putting together this series because the sets look very detailed.

We don't have to put up with annoying inconsistencies which have insisted that Ma and Pa Kent are capable of driving from Smallville into Metropolis (which is supposed to be New York City!) in a single day--minus the Superman Express. Even during the all-critical first season (with a different Jimmy instead of Justin Whalin who would have this part during later seasons) the show genuinely draws viewers in.

Even if this release does not have any extras, it will be nice to own a series which managed to 'update' the Superman saga without throwing in absurdities. Clark's parents (played by Eddie George and K Callahan) are open-minded people, but they were ultimately small-town country farmers who only want the best for their son.

Since rumors suggest that this series finally will be released, do yourself a favor. Skip Smallville and fly towards Lois and Clark. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WANTED! Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman DVD, July 26, 2004
By 
Kina (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
Seeing previews of Teri Hatcher's and Dean Cain's new fall shows reminded me that I miss "Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman" and it must absolutely be made available on DVD for fans of the show!

Teri and Dean had such wonderful chemistry together and Dean was the perfect actor to play kind, loyal, somewhat nerdy Clark (but who still looked HOT in those glasses) and had the body to play Superman. I loved their verbal banter especially in the early seasons when she barely gave Clark the time of day...and I remember their first date. SIGH...what wonderful memories!

I agree with some of the other reviews posted here...there are some ridiculous shows that have been marketed into a DVD set...if those can be produced into DVD, then Lois & Clark certain can!

The DVD may even gain a new following with the popularity of Smallville and action films such as Spiderman2. Teri and Dean certainly have more chemistry with each other than Tobey and Kirsten...sorry.

To the producers, marketers, and all those involved with this would-be project--PLEASE, PLEASE listen to the fans and put together a DVD set of this wonderful show!!!

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lois & Clark: Metropolis And ABC's Dynamic Duo!, June 5, 2005
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tune in at ground zero for one of television's greatest TV romances with Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete First Season! Developed by Deborah Joy Levine ("Dawson's Creek") and a brilliant staff of series writers including Thania St. John ("Roswell"), Lois & Clark takes the Man of Steel on his most exciting and challenging adventure of all - rivalry & romance (and later marriage) with Lois Lane!

Lois & Clark was easily one of my must-see, must-tape-commercial-free shows back during its first-run on ABC. Updated with a 90s sensibility, Lois & Clark brilliantly re-examined Superman through his relationship with Lois Lane, which evolved naturally during the course of the show's 4-year series run. The writing, performances, action and effects were always consistently effective. However, the main reason I faithfully tuned in to the show was for the interplay between Lois & Clark. The idea of Superman struggling thru relationship issues, like any other guy, while still doing the "superhero thing" was very appealing. Just look at the Spider-Man films for clear proof. No matter how weak some of the villains may have been regarded, the writers gave them just enough "menace" to justify Lois & Clark's investigative attention as the reporters sorted thru their personal stuff while in the process of "getting the story." Their chemistry & banter, like that of David Addison & Maddie Hayes in "Moonlighting" (another ABC hit and also available on DVD), are what viewers fondly remember most about the show.

Teri Hatcher ("Desperate Housewives") & Dean Cain ("Ripley's Believe It, Or Not!") star as the unbelievably "real" title characters. They not only look great as Lois & Clark, they simply are great. Dean Cain pulls off a decent Superman with easily the best build of his predecessors and an even cooler Clark Kent, who sports great suits and designer eye-frames, making him more appealing to women. Teri Hatcher, who recently won a Golden Globe for Best Actress in Desperate Housewives, clearly should've received an Emmy for her performance in Lois & Clark. Hatcher really BECOMES Lois Lane in this show - encompassing her beauty, intelligence, independence, tenacity and heart with incredible talent. Though, some viewers & critics did initially mock the sound of her voice and her progressive thinness as the show went on. However, Hatcher's beauty and sex appeal were never questioned as TV Guide once proclaimed her as "The Sexiest Woman in Cyberspace" (most downloaded), dethroning then-reigning queen Cindy Margolis.

I'd be remiss to not mention John Shea ("Mutant X") as the charasmatic yet deadly Lex Luthor. His exceptional performance rates up there with Murder One's Richard Cross and Alias' Arvin Sloane as standout TV baddie. The rest of the supporting cast are a delight as well including Lane Smith ("V") as Elvis-lovin' Daily Planet editor-in-chief Perry White; Michael Landes & Tracy Scoggins as photographer Jimmy Olsen & columnist Cat Grant, respectively - both only appearing in this season one set; and of course Eddie Jones & K Callan as Jonathan & Martha Kent. I loved those cute scenes like where they first meet Lois: Martha leads Lois out of the room to freshen up, looks back at Clark and Jonathan and silently mouths to Clark "I love her!" to which Clark dismisses her with a playful "get outta here" wave. I also liked how the writers addressed common Superman issues such as "the glasses" in the pilot where Clark (wearing the final suit) is checking himself in a mirror when Martha, looking on, quips "Well one thing's for sure, no one's going to be looking at your face." An embarrassed Clark snaps "Mom!" Martha retorts "Well, they don't call them 'tights' for nothing." Great stuff.

Lois & Clark - The Complete First Season is a 1034 min. 6-disc set, which features all 21 episodes in full frame (1.33:1) picture, and stereo sound. The super extras include: "From Rivals to Romance" series retrospective, visual effects featurette, Dean Cain Pilot commentary, original pilot presentation and one bonus DVD containing "Crusade," the season 4 premiere of Smallville, the other popular Superman-related show, which no doubt influenced the release of this Lois & Clark DVD. So don't "skip Smallville and fly to Lois & Clark" as another reviewer advised, but instead add it to your Superman collection along with Smallville. Treat yourself to one of the most anticipated TV DVD releases this side of "Roswell!"

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have DVD Collection, September 5, 2003
By 
Dale Adams (Fort Lauderdale, FL) - See all my reviews
I've been a Superman collector for 20 years; I know there are many of us out there who buy anything "Superman", books, magazines, coffee cups, movies, and episodes of television shows. There was no show I waited more anxiously for its debut than "Lois & Clark, the New Adventures of Superman" and the new "Smallville". I want to have the entire DVD collection of "Lois & Clark"; even today I watch the show on reruns whenever they are on. I love Dean Cain and buy everything he is in and tape everything else. There is no more perfect Lois Lane than Teri Hatcher. I especially liked the fact that Clark and his parents still had a relationship and were a very close family. Please, please, please put it out on DVD so that Superman fans everywhere will be able to have this collection in their own homes to watch whenever they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Show Ever, November 21, 2003
I have watched this show since i was ten years old. I fell in love with it. I think many people can see part of themselves in different characters and it also shows that communication in very important in any relationship, which all people should know. I really want this released on dvd! I would definitely buy it without any hesitation! This was one of the best shows ever and I can't wait till I own the series! I know many people are waiting for it! Lois and Clark is an amazing show. Even if you didn't watch it you should buy it. It teaches so much and made me beleive very stongly in love. Lois and Clark talks about many different subjects and is humorous yet romantic. It shows just how powerful love can be and how important the people you love really are. I recommend this show to anyone and hope everyone gets to see it sometime in their life. Buy it! It is worth the time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been unavailable for far too long, August 18, 2003
By 
Every two bit show on the air nowadays is brought out on DVD. But in their rush to make some more money out of bad shows corporate executives forget one thing, they could make even more money bringing out top rated shows that are no longer running. Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman of is just such a show. From the very first episode I was hooked on the superhero action with a wink this show provides. Where some tv shows made for children lose appeal when those children have grown up, Lios and Clark keeps interresting in it's use of humor and by not taking itself all to seriously.
This show deserves to be brought out on DVD. As does the still large fan base deserve the reward for all their patience in waiting for so long until it finally is available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, August 25, 2004
By 
A year ago I rediscovered Lois and Clark on TBS after not having seen an episode for 7 years. Ten years older and wiser, to my surprise, I have more appreciation and respect for this show. I fell in love with it all over again. Lois and Clark definitely stood the test of time. IMHO, this is by far the best treatment of the Superman myth. This series had its own brand of charm, which reels you in, and makes you come back for more even after it has long been gone.

Never have I seen or most probably will ever see a better portrayal of Clark Kent and Lois Lane. Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher made these comic book heroes come alive with their characterization and extraordinary chemistry. Not to forget, a very talented supporting cast and creative writers adding up to a great series.

Unfortunately, TBS stopped airing after a week of watching the reruns. Add to that, and to my utter disappointment, it hasn't been released on DVD. I have since gotten VHS copies of the series from a fellow fan but it's slowly and steadily deteriorating from repeated viewing. Lois and Clark is a show deserving to be on DVD. I don't mind waiting as long as we are assured of a DVD befitting a timeless gem such as Lois & Clark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.