Loki's Wolves (The Blackwell Pages) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.00
  • Save: $3.22 (19%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by CWJBOOKS
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: exlibrary hardcover book in mylar jacket with light wear, shows some light reader wear throughout ,all the usual library marks and stamps.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Loki's Wolves (The Blackwell Pages) Hardcover


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$13.78
$9.15 $4.92 $50.00

Frequently Bought Together

Loki's Wolves (The Blackwell Pages) + Odin's Ravens (The Blackwell Pages)
Price for both: $29.08

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Spot Loves His Mom
Interested in Mother's Day Books for Children?
Explore the Children's Mother's Day store featuring children's books that celebrate mothers here.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 7
  • Series: The Blackwell Pages (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition (May 7, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 031620496X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316204965
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.6 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (54 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #76,108 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Norse mythology intrudes on the modern world as Ragnarök (the apocalyptic battle between gods and monsters) approaches, but no gods are left alive to fight for the world’s survival. Now their descendants, including three middle-school kids from South Dakota, must challenge the monsters in the final battle. Chosen to represent Thor’s clan, 13-year-old Matt joins classmates Fen and Laurie, descendants of Loki. After consulting the Norns and the Valkyries, they search for the other young god counterparts as well as magical weapons. The third-person narrative looks at each main character’s strengths and insecurities as they attempt to work together. Comparisons with Rick Riordan’s novels based on Greek, Roman, and Egyptian mythology are inevitable, but this series aims at a somewhat younger audience and features characters who are, at least so far, considerably more human than godlike and more anxious than cocky. While setting up the series takes time, there’s plenty of action to quicken the pace. The first volume in the Blackwell Pages series will please many fans of mythology-based adventures. Grades 4-6. --Carolyn Phelan

Review

Praise for Loki's Wolves:

"Norse mythology brought to life with engaging contemporary characters and future volumes that promise explosive action; ideal for Percy Jackson fans who want to branch out."
Kirkus Reviews

This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens's Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan's modern-day twists on ancient myth.
Publishers Weekly

"Loki's Wolves brings Norse mythology to the modern world...The background and explanation of the legends are clear and a natural fit to the story and dialogue, bringing life to lesser-known Norse mythology...Recommended for those who enjoyed Rick Riordan's 'Percy Jackson and the Olympians' series."—School Library Journal

"This smart, fast-paced, action-packed novel...offers readers a solid adventure story that still manages not to skimp on character...An excellent what-to-read-next for Percy Jackson fans, this novel will also please young readers of Marvel's Thor and myth-lovers already familiar with Norse lore..."—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Fierce adventure, lightening pace, furious action, and original, engaging characters. I was hooked from the first hammer swing."
Eoin Colfer, New York Times bestselling author ofArtemis Fowl


"Loki's Wolves has everything--a fast-paced, exciting plot, endearing and honest characters, Norse mythology with a contemporary twist, and plenty of heart. I can't wait to find out what happens to Matt, Laurie, and Fen!"
Ally Condie, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Matched

"These authors are no strangers to weaving a compelling tale. Once the story moves past the background, the plot picks up quickly and the adventure doesn't disappoint."—Library Media Connection

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Highly recommended for adventurous Middle-Graders and Adults alike!
Miss Bonnie
The writing was more or less easy to read, but at times it bludgeoned me with how the characters were feeling.
Merle
It ends on a cliffhanger, and I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
christie

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By KidsReads on July 24, 2013
Format: Hardcover
The seemingly quiet town of Blackwell, South Dakota just happens to be home to modern-day descendants of some of the most powerful gods in Norse legends: Thor, Loki and many of their crafty and mysterious friends. Thirteen-year-old Matt Thorsen knew he was Thor's descendant --- he kept a hammer pendant hung around his neck just in case he needed it --- but he didn't like the fact that he also happened to be the son of the town sheriff. This meant that he had to be on his best behavior and begrudgingly do what was right even though that inexplicably often lead to all sorts of trouble.

As much as Matt tried to avoid the trouble, it seemed to follow him wherever he went, and this proved true when he stumbled upon cousins Fen and Laurie Brekke trying to steal a shield from the town's long ship. To make matters worse, Fen just happens to be the descendant of Loki, one of Thor's closest friends and yet worse enemies in the folk legends. So naturally, despite their attempts to do otherwise, Matt and Fen got into a bit of a fight, which left neither side happy or unhurt. Normally Matt and Fen wouldn't think anything of one of their somewhat routine fights, but they couldn't be prepared for what would happen next.

During Vetrarblot, the feast of the fall harvest, strange things start happening. There are rumors among the town council that Ragnarok, or the end of the world in which the gods face off against monsters and a new ice age is born, is beginning. To this end, the town council chooses a hero to rise up against the monsters: Matt Thorsen! Matt is in shock and doesn't know what to do.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Mother/Gamer/Writer on May 9, 2013
Format: Hardcover
Originally Reviewed At: Mother/Gamer/Writer
Rating: 5 Controllers
Reviewer: Me

Norse Mythology is not dead! And thanks to Marr and Armstrong, kids can be reintroduced to some amazing gods and fascinating characters in Loki's Wolves. This novel is perfect for Middle Graders and Teen readers who love to explore unique worlds and can't get enough of non-stop action.

In the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, where news travels fast because everyone knows the ins and outs of everyone else, lives a young Matt Thorsen. Youngest brother in the Thorsen bunch, son of a sheriff, and direct descendent of Thor himself. Because of who he is and his famous ancestor, Matt struggles everyday to find an identity all his own. He's not interested in being a carbon copy of his brothers nor does he like living in the shadow of his father. Yet he isn't quite so sure he wants to be entirely different either. After the Seer names him as the Blackwell Champion to fight during Ragnarok, Matt must soon decide if he truly is a leader and if he can create his own destiny by staying alive.

Loki's Wolves is something FIERCE. I would have never dreamed a Middle Grade read would fascinate me so much or keep me up into the wee hours of the night scouring pages. It's been a while since I've read a book like this (as I try not to compare books to other books). With its fresh original take on gods often overlooked, I enjoyed every minute of the chaotic action. I'm pretty sure I'll never look at Mount Rushmore the same way again.

Matt is a complicated character. Heck each character is a complicated character. Layered beneath what they present on the outside, is a lot of inner struggle to find themselves and not be hindered - good or bad - by their respective families stigmas.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales.

Quick & Dirty: This is the story of three children who have been chosen to save the world. The book is full of Norse mythology including gods and horrible monsters. This book is a must read.

Opening Sentence: Matt walked through the center of Blackwell, gym bag in hand, jacket thrown over his shoulder.

The Review:

This story is mostly about three children named Matt, Fen, and Laurie who are from a small town in South Dakota, called Blackwell. The story is told in all three of the characters' voices. These children are special because they are descendants and champions of the long-dead gods Thor and Loki. Matt, Laurie and Fen must work together to find the other children who are champions of other gods, find objects with magical properties and save the world from Ragnarok. Ragnarok is what the Norse called the apocalypse. During their travels they meet many creatures, good and bad from the old myths including trolls and valkyries.

Matt Thorsen is the main character of our story. He is a descendant and champion of the god Thor. The Thorsen's all have the power of Thor's hammer but Matt's is much more powerful. Matt has the power to sense when something bad is close by, such as trolls. He is thirteen years old and the youngest child in his family. As such, his parents think that he should be just like his older brothers, but he is nothing like them, so he feels like a disappointment to his parents. While most of the members of the Thorsen family play football, Matt would rather be wrestling or boxing, which comes in very handy when he is chosen as Thor's champion. I liked Matt, he was not like most kids his age but maybe that was because he was the son of a sheriff.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa5cbd978)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?