Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
Price:$15.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 27, 2011
"Lola" is a lot of fun, and intriguing double-helixed threaded relationships. I had a chance to view both DVDs on the market now. This Lola from Mr. Bongo in the UK, which I own, tends to be available at less cost. The other, from Wellspring / FoxLorber in the US ], has light extras. This Bongo Lola is coded for Region 9, which is an all-region world-wide. In New York I play it on my TV, my computer and my portable with no problem. Wellspring's Lola is Region 1 [US/Canada].

Both Lolas are taken from the 2000 restoration supervised by Jacques Demy's widow, filmmaker Agnès Varda. Of that restoration, Terrence Rafferty in the New York Times wrote, "Thanks to his diligent widow, the evidence of Jacques Demy's brilliant beginnings survives, rescued from obscurity and decay. It's wonderful, in this grim time, to know that "Lola" and "Bay of Angels" are back to stay, and miraculous that they look so bright and clear and young. We're seeing them now as they should be seen, in the full glory of their transience."

This Bongo Lola's subtitles are in large white type; Wellspring's are in bold yellow, and so easier to see. This Lola has no extras; Wellspring's has a clip, about ten minutes, from Agnes Varda's 2003 film The World of Jacques Demy, and also a 1961 trailer of Lola. The primary weblink included is to an article on Demy in the magazine Senses of Cinema com. It is out of date yet it may have been to a nice Lola appreciation by Darragh O'Donoghue in Issue 54, but likely was a good essay on Demy by Caroline E. Layde from Issue 26.

As an afternote, I've never found Anouk Aimee to be sensual and especially so in what passes for sexy in the 1960's, but she is incredibly sensuous, and Lola is indeed compelling.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2010
Lola is a beautiful French film that has a level of sophistication that one rarely sees in cinema. This story falls into the categories of drama and romance, but it has a magical quantity to it that truly makes it special. Its magic is sure to charm you.

The movie revolves around a cabaret dancer named Cecile, who is better known by her stage name Lola. A couple of guys express some interest in her, but they are not quite what she is looking for. An American sailor named Frankie enjoys spending time with her, but he is very casual about their relationship. Lola also happens to bump into her childhood friend named Roland. They knew each other before the war (WWII) and he is more than a little eager to be with her. Finding out which way her heart will go is all part of the fun (and there is more to the story than just this). Both Roland and Frankie meet a young girl and her mother. There are some parallels between Lola and the young girl. The symmetry between them is unmistakable.

At first glance it may seem that the story is a bit chaotic, as there is so much going on. But at the story progresses, one sees that the characters of the story move like a tango. With the departure of one, sees the arrival of another. Nearly every detail and character is important to the story.

Lola is Jacques Demy's first feature film. Although there are about two-dozen films called "Lola," this 1961 classic is original and unforgettable. It is a delightful film that is sure to appeal to those who enjoy world cinema.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
Mr Bongo's edition of "Lola" is mislabeled as "All Regions". It is not compatible with Region I (US and Canada). I was sent three different copies, none of which worked with my DVD player. I finally was able to purchase a used copy from a different source that worked. I have suggested that Amazon place a disclaimed on the Mr Bongo version of the film to denote its incompatibility.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2012
My next four reviews continue my Nouvelle Vague preference, but this time with (Paris) Rive gauche (Left Bank of the Seine River) productions: After Demy's Lola his wife Agnès Varda's Cléo (1962), Resnais' La guerre est finie (1966), and finally Chris Marker and other short films by the Rive gauche auteurs Varda and Resnais. Lola, produced by Georges de Beauregard and Carlo Ponti, is dedicated to Max Ophüls (1902-57), another auteur before its Nouvelle Vague time, written and directed by Jacques Demy. Camera, in black and white, is by Raoul Coutard, one of the leading Nouvelle Vague cameramen of early and later Godard, Truffaut and others. Original music is by Michel Legrand. Script girl is Truffaut's regular Suzanne Schiffman.

Anouk Aimée, main actress of the title role, had already played in Le Rideau cramoisi (1952) and Les Mauvaises Rencontres (1955), both by Alexandre Astruc, Les Amants de Montparnasse (1957) by Jacques Becker, La tête contre les murs (1958) by Georges Franju, La Dolce Vita (1960) by Fellini, and then, after Lola, in his 8½ (1962), and, most famously, in Un homme et une femme (1966) and Viva la vie (1983), both by Claude Lelouch - and many more. Though Lola did poorly at the box office at the time, it certainly established Anouk Aimée and Jacques Demy as leading figures, and introduced Corinne Marchand, later Varda's Cléo, in a small but significant side role as a dancer.

Somewhat in contrast to so many internationally known names, Lola, a true romance, plays in the provincial port town of Nantes, South of Brittany, but with US Navy ships calling in at neighbouring Cherbourg. The people living in Nantes, like some US Navy crew, are very well chosen and, despite the lack of big actor names (except for Lola) give a credible and plausible background to the story. France, it should be recalled, came out of World War II in 1944 but subsequently fought two colonial wars: Indochina and Algeria. After losing the war in Indochina in 1954, the even fiercer Algerian War started the same year. Due to the large number of European settlers, Algeria was particularly problematic. General de Gaulle's re-accession to power in 1958 in the middle of the crisis ultimately led to the independence of Algeria with the 1962 Evian Accords.

Likewise, the Treaty of Rome, the international agreement that led to the founding of the European Economic Community, came into effect on 1 January 1958. It is a generally accepted view today that the origin of modern economic France starts with that event. So much of the real world of Lola still deals with the immediate past, the three wars still omnipresent, and many adjustment problems ahead. It should only be another ten years to May 1968, which triggered Gaullism without de Gaulle. Nantes, around 1960, seems free of major changes, though some people leave for Paris or overseas. But that is the exception rather than the rule.

So a society in transition, with the old as ballast and not much new in sight, the political instability cause and effect of lacking directions. Near the existentialist philosophy of the time, but at a much more pedestrian level, stagnant waters. While topic-wise a very set melodrama, the cinematographic treatment is light, using many mirrors, glass and stairs, dynamic, bursting with life. The happy ending fits well, with a tear in the eye of all, and it remains an absolute mystery why Lola, when it first came out, did so poorly at the box office: I hold as equal to Chabrol's, Godard's, and Truffaut's first movies!

52-17/1/2012
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2011
I remember thinking when I first got this, "It's probably just another boring foreign film". I couldn't have been more wrong! This story was surprisingly easy to like. A real sense of sweetness and nostalgia permeates the entire production. Demy would later produce more dazzling works, but would never surpass the effortless perfection of this simple black & white film...one is not just watching a story, but living life itself here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2011
Lola is an elegant example of French New Wave filmmaking from the early 1960's. Start with the opening scene showing how Demy influenced photographers Gary Winogrand and Robert Frank (with the white convertible and the American sailors). Or perhaps they influenced him. I've seen this movie three times and I've loved it every time. Anouk Aimee is like a combination of Marilyn Monroe, Cyd Charisse and herself. Lola is kind and sensuous. Also Elina Labourdette from Bresson's Les dames du Bois de Boulogne as the bourgeosis mother worried about her daughter. Startingly frank in how it deals with sexuality, in comparison to American movies of this time period. Watching this movie you can see how the Nouvelle Vague influenced American film directors in the 1970s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
We were sent this DVD which would not play. The replacement DVD also was defective. Beware - the product, although not advertised, may not be suitable for the USA region. If it is suitable, these may be part of a defective batch. (LOLA, directed by Jacques Demy)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
This is a great movie and I wanted to have my own copy, but this DVD is NOT all region friendly, am sending it back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
Sympa ce petit film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.