Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ironically, Orphuls Manipulates Montes' Image to Condemn the Exploitation of Her Image.
"Lola Montes" was German director Max Orphuls' first film in color, first in Cinemascope, and his last film. Due to its terrible reception in Paris in 1955, the film was re-cut twice -once by Orphuls and once by the producers- in attempts to make it more palatable to audiences. It was the most expensive European film ever made when it was released, so it was a notable...
Published on March 1, 2010 by mirasreviews

versus
26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Print
I can hardly believe how bad the quality of the Fox-Lorber DVD version of this film is. I have the privilege of access to a local University library with an extensive laserdisc and DVD collection, so I was able to see both this DVD version and the criterion collection's out of print laserdisc edition of this film. The difference between the quality of the dated...
Published on December 8, 2002 by Sebastian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lola Montes, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Montes (DVD)
This movie is listed in Danny Peary's cult movie book. I try to watch alot of the movies he writes about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a restored version is on the way!, December 8, 2009
By 
Cody K. (Jamokidence, Rhode Island, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Montes (DVD)
Enough's been said here about this love-it-or-hate-it Ophuls opus (I'm in the love-it camp). All we've had to look at for years have been washed out prints in repertory cinemas and the washed-out Fox-Lorber DVD, soon to be forgotten. Criterion is releasing the restored 'Lola Montes' on February 16th, 2010 on both DVD and blu-ray. I've seen some clips of the restoration and the colors once again look as ravishing as they were originally meant to be. Several minutes of missing footage have been restored, and there will be lots of extras:

* New, restored high-definition digital transfer (with uncompressed stereo soundtrack on the Blu-ray edition)
* Audio commentary featuring Max Ophuls scholar Susan White
* "Max Ophuls ou le plaisir de tourner," a 1965 episode of the French television program Cinéastes de notre temps, featuring interviews with many of Ophuls's collaborators
* Max by Marcel, a new documentary by Marcel Ophuls about his father and the making of Lola Montès
* Silent footage of actress Martine Carol demonstrating the various glamorous hairstyles in Lola Montès
* Theatrical rerelease trailer from Rialto Pictures
* New and improved English subtitle translation
* PLUS: A booklet featuring an essay by film critic Gary Giddins

For those who love this film, I do believe this is what we've been waiting for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Lola Wants..., October 21, 2012
This film needs an excellent reproduction and this is it.
The last of Ophuls' films, Lola Montes is fitting. The music, by Georges Auric, is wonderful and grabs the viewer from the beginning. The camera never stops snooping around, as always, and the colors are simply magnificent. This was filmed in the wide screen process and the director's ingenious ways of dealing with it are worth the view alone.
The film is arranged by the four seasons, and not chronologically, which gives it an unexpected depth. The color scenes are virtuosic to say the very least, with the opening starting with autumn and the end of her affair with Franz Liszt. Ophuls had the grass painted in autumnal hues! The circus which reappears throughout the film is a daring combination of colors, again worth the view alone.
Martine Carol is supremely beautiful but a rather shallow actress and has been criticized by all and sundry, but her acting style actually fits her role to perfection. Despite the title, this is not a film about Lola Montes but about her lovers. She simply reacts to them. This deserves to be seen in the best condition possible and here it is.

Curtis Stotlar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, May 16, 2012
By 
75uk Lola Montès by Max Ophüls (1955, 115')

Maximillian Oppenheimer (1902 Saarbrücken-1957 Hamburg,) -- known as Max Ophüls -- was an influential German-born, first theatre (Berlin, before 1931), then film director who worked in Germany (1931-33), France (1933-40), the United States (1947-50), and France again (1950-57). He made nearly 30 films altogether, those from the last period being especially noted: La Ronde (1950), Le Plaisir (1952), (The Earrings of) Madame de... (1953) and Lola Montès (1955).

With Martine Carol in the lead, Lola Montès would be the last film directed by Ophüls before his death of a heart attack in 1957. As originally shown in France in 1955, the audience sees the events of Lola Montès (1821-1861) life through the use of flashbacks. Male leads are Will Quadflieg as Franz Liszt, Oskar Werner as a revolutionary student in the Munich of 1848, and Anton Walbrook as Ludwig I, King of Bavaria, whose courtesan and mistress she was and who in real life made her Countess of Landsfeld.

Considered one of the most beautiful women in film, Martine Carol (1920-1967) (Les amants de Vérone (1949), Beauties of the Night (1952), Lucrèce Borgia (1953), Nana (1955) and many others) was frequently cast as an elegant blonde seductress. During the late 1940s and early 1950s, she was the leading sex symbol and a top box office draw of French cinema, even seen as the French Marilyn Monroe. One of her most famous roles was exactly as title character in Lola Montès, a role which necessitated dark hair. By the late 1950s, roles for Carol had become fewer, partly due to newcomer Brigitte Bardot.

Lola Montès tells her life story as Irish actress and dancer, which also took her to Australia, in flashbacks in a circus in the United States, where befriended ringmaster Peter Ustinov masterfully leads her through her life. The use of the technique was criticized upon its release and the movie did poorly at the box office. In response, the producers re-cut the film and shortened it in favor of a more chronological storyline, against the director's wishes. Eventually, two progressively restored versions again closer to the original were presented at the New York Film Festivals in 1963 and 1968.

There was initial criticism of packing too much beauty and too little brains in the lead, but it seems once more that Ophüls knew how to balance it with Peter Ustinov's commenting role and Georges Auric's music. Ophüls, over Renoir to Melville to Demy, has always had his admirers among literally all film top maker camps, perhaps not least because his females act rather than talk their roles. Ophüls' artistic touch never seems to leave him, hence the universal admiration for the talents of a man between times and places. Great!

75us - 17/5/2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, but..., November 27, 2010
Beautiful to look at, fine old style film-making. One drawback for me: way too much of Ustinov yelling loudly in French. For me this is too dominant and detracts from the beauty and excellent movement of the Circus scenes. I do not regret the purchase, but I do mute some of Ustinov's endless shouting at times when watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great restauration, March 8, 2009
By 
Dirk De Bruyne "Dirk" (Schoten, Belgique Belgique) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lola Montes (DVD)
I saw the newly restaured print yesterday in Antwerp, on a big screen in the filmmuseum and it is certainly worth it, the colors are indeed very vivid and it was an unique chance to see this in the original cinemascope...I understand that this restauration is going to come out on dvd later this year..;and although that is not quite the same as seeing it in the cinema I can only recommend viewing it if you get the chance..;for me it was not quite the great masterpiece I had expected, the story is a little too coy, the lead actress a little too undercooled and although the script keeps announcing the famous scandals of Lola the action is too subdued and stilted to warrant more than a mild yawn in these slightly more demanding days. This woman ends up a freak show and I understand the criticisms on the heartlessness of fame and a public ambiguous morality but in the end this is the story of a 19th century gold digger who got what she deserved and even a little more...so this is a film of style over substance, beautiful colors, composition and camera work..lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Movie, December 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an awesome movie that my parents had the honor of being cast in minor roles. I loved the costumes and the color was vibrant.Lola Montes (The Criterion Collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shame, but not a waste., May 9, 2006
This review is from: Lola Montes (DVD)
Being unfamiliar with the criterion laserdisc print of this film, I can't really comment on the quality of this FOX LORBER edition. I can imagine that the colors could be a little more vibrant, as this edition did seem a little "washed out". But since its the only print available right now on DVD (region 1 anyways), I find it satisfactory (otherwise I would give this film a rating of 5 stars).
For those nitwits that don't find the character played by the exquisite Martine Carol fleshed out enough...Pay closer attention.. if youre looking for history rather than fiction..ummm, go die. This truly is one of the most remarkable films of all time. The subject matter, while set in the 19th century, is handled as (post?)modern as anything out right now. This is a story of a figure whose (vulgar?) exploits and scandals could only be tamed (at the hands of men and the status quo) by being reduced to a SPECTACLE (how true of ANY revolution!!!!!! ).
Buy the fox lorber print ...its cheap enough. theres so much to be gained by this film.
theres a haphazard review. hope it was helpful.

p.s. Martine Carol is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a Max Ophüls classic, April 26, 2010
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.

Lola Montès is the final film directed by Max Ophüls that he lived to see completed.

The film is loosely based on the life of cabaret dancer, Lola Montez, (played by Martine Carol) and her affairs with well known people of her time.

Many elements of the film were lost for decades but later recovered and this DVD edition includes the restored footage and scenes that were originally cut from the US release due to censorship at the time.

The DVD edition is two discs. Disc one contains the film with optional audio commentary by Ophüls scholar, Susan White, and the theatrical trailer

Disc two contains a 1965 French television special about Max Ophüls, a documentary about Max Ophüls, by his son, Marcel, and silent footage of hairstyle tests of title role actress, Martine Carol.

This is an excellent release and with a stunning Technicolor picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola the Great!, January 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Montes (DVD)
Wow! This is just a great, subtle film by a master of pathos and regret. I enjoyed every nuamced minute and was impressed by the perfectness of the product and the faithfulness of the seller in terms of shipping and propriety of the product. Kudos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lola Montes (The Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]
$39.95 $21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.