Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful "relationship" movie
"Lola Versus" (87 min.) is the second feature film for real-life partners Daryl Wein (co-writer and director) and Zoe Lister Jones (co-writer and co-star), after the promising 2009 feature "Breaking Upwards". I caught "Lola Versus" just recently at the Esquire, the Cincinnati indie-movies theatre.

"Lola Versus" brings the story of Lola (played by Greta Gerwig),...
Published on June 27, 2012 by Paul Allaer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Actress Greta Gerwig makes this film worthwhile
My first experience watching Greta Gerwig was in a small movie from 2010 called "Greenberg." By my count she now has 6 films that have or will come out in 2012 including this one. Here she plays a 29 year old part time waitress trying to get her Ph.D. by explaining great literary pieces. Many will compare this "relationship" film to "Sex in the City" or Lena Dunham's...
Published on October 10, 2012 by M. Oleson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful "relationship" movie, June 27, 2012
This review is from: Lola Versus (DVD)
"Lola Versus" (87 min.) is the second feature film for real-life partners Daryl Wein (co-writer and director) and Zoe Lister Jones (co-writer and co-star), after the promising 2009 feature "Breaking Upwards". I caught "Lola Versus" just recently at the Esquire, the Cincinnati indie-movies theatre.

"Lola Versus" brings the story of Lola (played by Greta Gerwig), who is in a seemingly perfect relationship with boyfriend Like (played by Joel Kinnaman), as it is portrayed in the first 5 min. of the movie. In fact Luke proposes to Lola, who happily says yes. But alas, with only weeks before the wedding date, Luke breaks up with Lola. In the rest of the movie we see Lola struggling to cope with this devastating news, counting on her close friends to help her, including best girl pal Alice (played by Lister Jones) and best guy pal Henry (played by Hamish Linklater). It would ruin your viewing experience if I spelled out how it all unfolds, you'll just have to see it for yourself.

Several comments: first, the script is loosely based on the real life experience of Lister Jones and Wein breaking up for about a year and how Lister Jones coped as a newly single woman in her mid/late 20s. Second, I first noticed Greata Gerwig in "Greenberg" some 3-4 years ago, and in "Lola Versus" Gerwig again oozes charm (and talent) and she easily carries the movie on her shoulders. Her performance just transfixed me. Third, keep an eye out for Debra WInger and Bill Pullman as Lola's parents, in particular Pullman delivers some memorable lines. In all, I can't emphasize enough how charmed I was by the movie. This is way off the radar screenfrom your mainstream Hollywood fare. One of those "little movies that could", and then did. I was amazed when the end credits started rolling as I had no idea an hour and a half had come and gone. If you like a smart, engaging, delightful indie movie about "relationships", "Lola Versus" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Actress Greta Gerwig makes this film worthwhile, October 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: Lola Versus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My first experience watching Greta Gerwig was in a small movie from 2010 called "Greenberg." By my count she now has 6 films that have or will come out in 2012 including this one. Here she plays a 29 year old part time waitress trying to get her Ph.D. by explaining great literary pieces. Many will compare this "relationship" film to "Sex in the City" or Lena Dunham's "Tiny Furniture/Girls" and like those films/TV series, New York City is a central character.

The film opens with Lola about to get married to Luke (Joel Kinnaman, "Safe House"), a hunky dude she lives with. He gets cold feet a few weeks before the wedding, which is catastrophic for Lola. Propped up by her former hippie parents (Debra Winger and Bill Pullman) and a couple clichéd friends (co-writer Zoe Lister Jones and Hamish Linklater), the story follows Lola's attempt to regain her footing. She's confused and convinced that no one wants her, so begins a series of one night stands that includes her friend Henry (Linklater). I'm surprised she didn't try Alice (Jones). Now that would have been interesting.

After dipping her toe again with Luke and several all night drunken binges, Lola finally realizes she must confront her own self doubt before moving on. I don't mean to be a spoiler but the general story here is nothing new and nothing most haven't seen before. What is interesting is Greta Gerwig in her first lead performance. There's something about her. Her charisma, her quirky charm, her below-the-radar attractiveness that allows the brief (89 minutes) film to be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New Here, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Versus (Amazon Instant Video)
Pretty standard stuff, mid-20's "who am I, what is it all about, love, life....." Gerwig is wonderfully off center and odd and give a wonderful performance, but you have seen this film before. Perhaps it is a reinventioin of the tale for a younger generation. Worth seeing for $4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greta's Got Talent, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Versus (Amazon Instant Video)
This was an enjoyable film, showcasing Greta Gerwig's talent and offering up a story that seemed convoluted at times. There is little question of Ms. Gerwig's talent. She appears to be the quintessential Woody proscribed heroine. This was so much more than earlier appearance in 'Greenberg.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "HIGHLY-ENTERTAINING AND ENJOYABLE!", August 1, 2012
This review is from: Lola Versus (DVD)
A young woman is dumped by her soul-mate, just before her wedding day. Lola experiences the trauma of heartbreak, her age, and where her life is heading. After taking the advice from friends and family, she decides to venture out on her own healing journey. Emotional, intriguing, and entertaining throughout. Acting Performance Good, and a Great summer movie. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously have watched it a dozen times, September 15, 2014
This review is from: Lola Versus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is by far one of my most favorite movies. Yes, its not overly creative, but it is so relatable and wonderful that it doesn't matter. This a very honest depiction of a girl in her 20's dealing with life and figuring out who she is and what she wants. Its funny and witty and has some parts that are so funny that you will feel compelled to attempt to retell these parts to friends. I adore the cast so much more after seeing this film and would say that this has me waiting for more from Greta, Hamish and Zoe Lister Jones. (Zoe is hilarious in this movie!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cute and easy to relate to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and more true to life than other movies of this genre, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lola Versus (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed the witty portrayal of the main character, and how many of the scenes seemed to reflect more realistically (with slight exaggeration) how life ends up turning out than most movies in this genre. It was very funny and I liked watching Lola grow as a person. I would recommend this movie to anyone (but girls especially) who love to laugh at awkward moments and the crap that life throws at us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Mov\ie, March 30, 2014
This review is from: Lola Versus (Amazon Instant Video)
Wish there were more movies out there like it! Awesome movie. Love the characters. Recommend watching this movie.
Fyi a girl movie....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They're charging too much money for Greta's recent movies. This isn't different enough from all the others to warrant this high price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lola Versus
Lola Versus by Daryl Wein
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.