Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Plight of Lolita
Slave to Entertainment is a documentary about the marine mammal industry. Most notably, Lolita, an orca who languishes in a tank that is too small for her at the Miami Seaquarium.

Lolita was captured 39 years ago on August 8, 1970. Not only was she captured that day, five others orcas were also captured and five were killed. Four of those killed were babies who...
Published on August 9, 2009 by Carole

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lolita slave to entertainment
it may be good that they show the truth about lolita but seaworld san diego, seaworld orlando and seaworld san antonio have nothing to do with it. the only people that are to blame are those of miami seaquarium. seaworld is not a bad facility. miami seaquarium on the other hand is one of the worst around
Published on October 31, 2011 by shadowlightmew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Plight of Lolita, August 9, 2009
By 
Carole (Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lolita: Slave to Entertainment (DVD)
Slave to Entertainment is a documentary about the marine mammal industry. Most notably, Lolita, an orca who languishes in a tank that is too small for her at the Miami Seaquarium.

Lolita was captured 39 years ago on August 8, 1970. Not only was she captured that day, five others orcas were also captured and five were killed. Four of those killed were babies who were trying desperately to get back to their mothers. They repeatedly pushed up against the net, where their mothers waited on the other side. But they were not successful and drowned. People often ask why they didn't just jump over, but since they had never encountered a net before, they had no idea that if they jumped over, they would be free.

In order to hide their heinous deed, those responsible for the deaths had the bellies of the dead orcas slit, filled with rocks, and weighted with chains and anchors. They were taken out to sea in the dark of night and sunk to keep their deaths from coming to the attention of the public. However, this did not work. Three of the carcasses washed up on the shore of Whidbey Island during the month of November, 1970. The other ended up in a fisherman's net. The fisherman left the dead orca on the beach behind the house of a reporter for the Seattle Times.

Six years later, a judge reviewed the evidence against Sea World, who was in charge of the capture team. Sea World was banned from capturing Orcas in the state of Washington, but it was too late for those captured. They had already been sold to aquariums around the world. Of these, only Lolita is still alive. Howard Garrett of Orca Network said, "It in simply her remarkable spirit that has kept her alive this long."

Slave to Entertainment is an excellent film and one everyone should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting!, March 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lolita: Slave to Entertainment (DVD)
I say very interesting because who knew what went on behind closed doors. Its a massive shame that the contents of thid DVD have not been broadcast on TV. More people need to see it or how are we going to educate people and stop them visiting these places? 'Fall from Freedom' is also a great DVD to watch if this subject interests you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see video!, September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always loved orcas, especially since the Keiko saga. Not having educated myself on their strong family bonds and their cruel confinement, I too thought that those that are kept and made to perform several shows a day, the same act, over and over for a bit of fish at the 3 SeaWorld parks and the joke of a park at Miami where happy!! It wasn't until I read Death At SeaWorld by David Kirby and watched this sad video that I begain to change my mind and have become involved in helping to release these magnificant animals back to the wild - where they belong. Poor "Lolita" has been at that miserable park for 40 YEARS, 30 BY HERSELF!!! I could go on and on, but you will see for yourself how sad her confinement is - she needs help for all of us, even if in some small way. Send e-mails to your all your contacts asking them to contact their contacts and maybe, just maybe someone with some clout can do the right thing for this animal who has no voice and who has given so much of her life to the Hertz family. She is still a viable female orca, who could produce young in the wild - they can live 80-90 yrs....she could help repopulate the depleated numbers in the wild. Please watch this video - it will touch your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film on the marine mammal entertainment industry, July 8, 2008
By 
Karen Dawn "DawnWatch.com" (Pacific Palisades, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lolita: Slave to Entertainment (DVD)
"Lolita: Slave to Entertainment" is without doubt one of the finest documentaries on animal issues. It is fun to watch, and full of fascinating interviews with folks such as Ric O'Barry, once Flipper's trainer, and now a dolphin rescuer. And it delivers some shocking information about the marine mammal industry. This is a fantastic film to watch with your family and friends who wonder why you won't go visit marine mammal parks with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very important message in this movie..., January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie (I watched it through instant streaming) has vital information about the horrible ways that we have treated (and continue to treat) marine mammals in captivity. From the beginning, it explains the brutal ways that mammals like Lolita and the many "Shamu" whales have been captured. I am an avid fan of marine mammals and read much about them and their bioligy. But a lot of the information presented here, specifically about Orcas, was new to me.

I encourage you to watch it and prepare to be saddened and shocked. Get angry...and then get motivated to do something about the horrors you see here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving true story about a whale, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lolita: Slave to Entertainment (DVD)
This story really touched my heart as I listened to what happened to Lolita. I do what I can to help captured whales but I wish more people would also. This whale needs to be set free and we need more people to know and help out. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must see for all lovers of the oceans and their inhabitants, April 9, 2011
This review is from: Lolita: Slave to Entertainment (DVD)
This documentary uncovers the real world of life in captivity for these beautiful, intelligent animals- the magnificent Orcas. It is similar to The Cove in that some of it is upsetting, but it will open you eyes and inspire you to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLAVE they are, SLAVE they should never be!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Such a sad look at how sea mammals are treated in captivity. Orcas are so much smarter than we think! THe name of the movie suits this movie, SLAVE they are, SLAVE they should never be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great expose on the greed of marine parks., November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is such an influential film exposing the sad greed behind organizations that keep Killer Whales in captivity for profit under the guise of education. Very revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking., August 31, 2013
By 
kelly Copeland (Olympia, WA 98501) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lolita deserves everyone's attention and she must be released back to her home in Puget Sound! I cannot believe this facility is still open with it's outdated codes and dilapidated state. How horribly cruel to keep Lolita in a tiny pool and in solitary captivity for decades!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lolita: Slave to Entertainment
Lolita: Slave to Entertainment by Timothy Gorski (DVD - 2008)
$20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.