Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Fun Camera
Take a break from digital photography. Let go of instant gratification. Embrace Lo-Fi photography!

This camera is a ton of fun. Load it up with cheap film from the closeout bin of your local camera shop. Snap away at anything at all. Double exposures, color-filled flashes, low-tech panoramics! Get your drugstore to process the film wrong (cross-process slide...
Published on July 23, 2007 by Steven W. Reeves

versus
51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised!!!
I have been wanting a Holga for a while and it may be a great camera, but I don't know because I can't use it yet!! I paid extra for shipping just so I could get it faster but lo and behold the kit does NOT come with film or batteries like it shows in the picture (I wish I had seen these other recent reviews before I bought it!). Now the batteries are no big deal, but...
Published on August 22, 2009 by Shannon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Fun Camera, July 23, 2007
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
Take a break from digital photography. Let go of instant gratification. Embrace Lo-Fi photography!

This camera is a ton of fun. Load it up with cheap film from the closeout bin of your local camera shop. Snap away at anything at all. Double exposures, color-filled flashes, low-tech panoramics! Get your drugstore to process the film wrong (cross-process slide film) You can't mess up the pictures. They're messed up by design!

This funky counter-culture camera takes great "grunge" pictures that are a thousand times more interesting than yet another round of boring snapshots of your friends sitting around the table at Chili's smiling over half-eaten plates of chicken tenders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny!, August 21, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
a friend of mine and i were talking about how much we wanted holgas but couldn't find them... so when i saw this on here i immediately bought two kits, one for me and one for her.
and YES IT COMES WITH THE CAMERA. i just wanted to say that. but the whole package is great! comes with film, batteries, a poster extolling the virtues of lomography, a mini-handbook for the camera itself, incredibly easy to use. and what i think really makes the package is the "HOLGA - life through a plastic lens" book, with Holga enthusiasts, experts and aficionados giving you tips and sharing their images. Such a charming book, breathtaking pictures, and inspiring because it shows you what this cheap little thing is capable of. and they also give you cool little tricks for modifying the camera and different effects you can get and so on. so... yeah.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographic Fun!, July 28, 2007
By 
Music Teacher "Erin" (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
I have really enjoyed this kit. Before I bought it I was interested in trying a Holga but I knew nothing about the kind of film it needed or how to use the camera. This kit came with everything I needed - even batteries and electrical tape!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised!!!, August 22, 2009
By 
Shannon (Louisville KY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
I have been wanting a Holga for a while and it may be a great camera, but I don't know because I can't use it yet!! I paid extra for shipping just so I could get it faster but lo and behold the kit does NOT come with film or batteries like it shows in the picture (I wish I had seen these other recent reviews before I bought it!). Now the batteries are no big deal, but having the film in the box would have been a big help. The book is not that great either IMO. It seems to be aimed more at people who already know how to use a Holga, and not a complete beginner's book like I was hoping for. Also, a good third of the book is taken up by a section containing quotes and bios from [...] users, which frankly I couldn't really care less about. There are lots of pictures and some cool tips, but not much "how-to" information. Luckily all of the how-to information can be found on the internet, but I feel a little cheated that I paid sixty bucks for a so-called "starter kit" that doesn't actually come with everything you need to get started, and does come with a book that if I had been able to look through in advance, I wouldn't have actually wanted. You may want to consider just buying the Holga itself, and not the kit. If you do buy the kit, make sure you order film as well if you want to be able to use it right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new experience in photography, July 19, 2007
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
This camera may be plastic but it's not meant for kids, the film is a little more difficult to load than a 35mm camera and is a little more fragile. But if you're interested in photography and you have never tried something different than a standard 35mm camera or a digital camera, this is a great product to buy. The book that comes with it includes work from other "lomographers" as well as tips and tricks on how to use your camera. The varied results are much more fun and interesting than a regular camera, and there are so many possibilities. It uses 120mm medium format film which you will need to purchase online or from a photo shop, worth the extra effort for the results if you're serious about photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars save yourself some money, August 25, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
I don't want to mislead anyone I love "the camera" but save yourself a lot of money and but just the camera. the name "starter kit" is very misleading! there is no film, no batteries but it comes with a very useless poster. again just buy the Lomographic Holga camera, go to YouTube type in Holga camera and have fun. JUST DON'T BUY THE STARTER KIT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product - Great Deal, November 15, 2007
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
This is a great starter-kit into the world of the Holga/Toy/Lomography. The kit has everything to get started, and the book included is some nice eye-candy to get some ideas as to what this plastic camera is capable of. It's also a lot cheaper here than in most retail stores you might find in the downtown area of your city...ie: rhymes with Gurban Routfitters..;)
Great buy, great deal.
Holgas rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Cool!, May 17, 2007
By 
Shawn "Idea-Coliseum" (Ogden, UT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
Very cool, and it takes GREAT pictures. The way things used to be done. Very MANUAL. The colored flash really does some awesome stuff on film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Lomography virgins, October 12, 2008
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
After reading the awesome reviews for this product, I decided to purchase one. It takes really cool, artsy pictures and the instructions were clear and helpful. Can't wait to take more pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, October 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lomographic Holga Starter Kit (Electronics)
This package is actually quite nice. There is one thing that I must disagree with however. It DOES NOT include film or batteries, as the pictures and description suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lomographic Holga Starter Kit
Used & New from: $35.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.