The London Blitz Murders (Disaster Series) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The London Blitz Murders Mass Market Paperback – May 4, 2004


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.95 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley; Berkley Prime Crime Edition edition (May 4, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425198057
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425198056
  • Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 4.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,980,401 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Max Allan Collins is the New York Times bestselling author of Road to Perdition and multiple award-winning novels, screenplays, comic books, comic strips, trading cards, short stories, movie novelizations, and historical fiction. He has scripted the Dick Tracy comic strip, Batman comic books, and written tie-in novels based on the CSI, Bones, and Dark Angel TV series; collaborated with legendary mystery author Mickey Spillane; and authored numerous mystery novels including the Quarry, Nolan, Mallory, and the bestselling Nathan Heller historical thrillers. His additional Disaster series mystery novels include The Titanic Murders, The Hindenburg Murders, The Pearl Harbor Murders, The London Blitz Murders, and The War of the Worlds Murder. --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

More About the Author

Max Allan Collins is a New York Times bestselling author of original mysteries, a Shamus award winner and an experienced author of movie adaptions and tie-in novels. His graphic novel ROAD TO PERDITION was made into a major motion picture by Tom Hanks's production company, Playtone.

Customer Reviews

Jarring Americanisms and anachronistic viewpoints were too much for this reader.
Margaret Crawford
I found the setting very interesting, and the characters about whom I am fairly familiar.
C. Barth
The author did a great job of blending Agatha Christie into this historical mystery.
NLL

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful By Michael K. Smith TOP 500 REVIEWER on May 20, 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is a kind of fun little murder mystery (only 260 pages), set in London in February 1942, and featuring Agatha Christie Mallowan, doyen of mystery novel writers. But actually, the most interesting material is the setting and the recounting of day-to-day life on the British home front during the blackout -- though not actually during the "Blitz," the title notwithstanding. However, the mystery itself, as Collins narrates it -- it's based closely on a true series of sex murders -- is actually rather lightweight and completely twistless. The author, in fact, introduces the killer early on and makes the case against him halfway through. Like any good mystery reader, I immediately began watching for red herrings -- but there were none. And the identified character did, in fact, turn out to be the killer. There was almost no puzzle, either for the police or the reader. Collins seems also not to have given much thought to the quality of his writing this time out; as a longtime professional editor, I longed to take a blue pencil to his not infrequent awkwardnesses of expression, his frequent overuse of pet phrases (often in the same paragraph), and the jerky pacing of the background story. With a little work, this could have been a much more entertaining story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Lyn Reese on July 10, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Collin's character is Agatha Christie who, while helping the war effort by working by day in a hospital, links up with renowned pathologist Sir Bernard Spilsbury in his investigation into a series of Ripper-style murders committed under the cover of London's numerous blackouts. London's women, already strained and anxious because of the wartime inconveniences, are terrified. With every blackout, a murderer might be lurking in the darkened alleys or shelters to claim another victim.

Collins is careful to let us know where the lines between his fiction and Christie's factual life intersect, and points out that many of the characters in this novel were, in fact, real people. Information about wartime hazards and the ways Londoners adjusted to them is artfully described, giving readers a sense of life in England's "homefront" during these devastating years.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By C. Barth on October 1, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I found the setting very interesting, and the characters about whom I am fairly familiar. However the ease of reading and the flow was a little difficult and at times i found tedious. The book was great idea, but a little long winded on the theatrical descriptions which I'm not so interested in. It picked up at the end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Stargram on February 13, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
While I've read all of Dame Agatha's books and enjoyed them, I'm not sure she really made a good detective. I found it improbable that she would have access to the information and people that she did....in spite of her celebrity status. Not a bad story tho and a quick read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Prairie House on May 1, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Well, I know, an oxymoron, but Collins' device of combining a historical situation with a contemporary mystery writer is very well done. The reader gets both a feel for wartime London and one of the most published writers in the world. The other main characters are also well-drawn. The only reason I gave it four stars rather than five is that although possible motives the killer might have are referenced in the story, there's never any real explanation or even strong hints why the real killer did it.Well worth the time, though!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Dejan Ristanoviæ on July 10, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The book is based on real murders done by a new Jack the Ripper during WWII, in London. Agatha Christie appears in a book, helping police inspector and pathologist solve the crimes. The author did thorough research and mentioned a lot of Agatha's novels (no spoilers included!). There are also many details about her life.
The book is an interesting read for Agatha Christie fans, and it plots a nice picture of London in the days of the war, but if you expect a whodunit novel, you will be disappointed. I recognized the killer the moment he was introduced, the police suspected him from the beginning and, finally, he was the guilty one. No twist in the plot, and even the murderer's motive is not revealed (mass murderers don't have a motive?)
If you compare The London Blitz Murders with A.B.C. Murders (Agatha's novel about the mass murderer), you can see why Ms. Christie was one and only...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Kouji Onoue on December 11, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
It is another great historical mystery by Collins.It's for Fans of Christie and Mystery story Fan! Recommend!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
The perfect marriage of fact and fiction. Teaming up the real Agatha Christie Mallowan with the real pathologist, Sir Bernard Spilsbury, during the real time period of the London blitz, added an air of credence to the to the equally real Blackout Ripper murders. While Mrs. Mallowan was never in London during the blitz nor was she involved with these murders, author Max Allan Collins weaves a fascinating story with the seamless blending of fancy, artist's license, and historical events. This is an easy read, perfect for a rainy day in front of a fireplace in your most comfortable easy chair. I'm looking forward to reading my way through the other titles in Collins' "Disaster" series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?