Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different
some may view this as a typical british gangster movie and if that's a turn off don't bother watching it. don't watch it for the supposed romance between kiera knightley and colin farrel. don't watch it because most people seem to hate it. watch it for the difference in language. nothing is a shock in this movie but it's well paced and provides a transport from reality...
Published on April 4, 2012 by tiffanymorgan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For once the critics were correct
It seems to me they left out the plot to this movie. Most of the characters are cardboard, things happen that are meant to "ironic" but which really were just the directory/writer trying to write themselves out of corner. The ending was very unsatisfying, and came on like they had forgotten about it and then realized they were almost out of film. You'd think that with the...
Published 20 months ago by David S. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars different, April 4, 2012
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
some may view this as a typical british gangster movie and if that's a turn off don't bother watching it. don't watch it for the supposed romance between kiera knightley and colin farrel. don't watch it because most people seem to hate it. watch it for the difference in language. nothing is a shock in this movie but it's well paced and provides a transport from reality for a little over an hour. isn't that what movies are for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangster Flick Is A Blast, May 11, 2012
By 
David Baldwin (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
Brian DePalma was considered a master plagiarist by many. It's with little irony that "London Boulevard" reminds you of DePalma's "Carlito's Way". Director William Monahan also references Martin Scorsese which also ironically Monahan wrote the Oscar winning script for "The Departed" which was a reimagining of the Hong Kong crime thriller "Infernal Affairs". The question you ask yourself is Monahan's effort more than the sum of it's influences? The answer to me is a resounding yes. Similarities to other films cannot be denied but when done right you call it a homage. Monahan introduces enough unique fluorishes and twists to elevate it above mere copycat status. Colin Farrell is magnetic and macho as the recently released con who wants to go straight in a world that keeps pulling him into a life of crime. Ray Winstone adds another indelible portrait to his personal rogues gallery as a sadistic crime boss. David Thewlis nearly steals the show as the foppish manager of Keira Knightley's papparazzi stalked movie starlet. The film kept me rapt and invigorated throughout. For those who would dismiss "London Boulevard" as derivative I ask you to consider Bogart, Cagney, and Edward G. They were gangster archetypes who didn't play the same character twice. "London Boulevard" is a variation of the British gangster tradition that includes "Get Carter", "The Long Good Friday", "Mona Lisa" and "Sexy Beast'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For once the critics were correct, December 27, 2012
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
It seems to me they left out the plot to this movie. Most of the characters are cardboard, things happen that are meant to "ironic" but which really were just the directory/writer trying to write themselves out of corner. The ending was very unsatisfying, and came on like they had forgotten about it and then realized they were almost out of film. You'd think that with the people involved it could have been interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Boulevard [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Despite the sleek look and neo noir aspirations, this movie is nothing more than the old 40's John Garfield chesnut about the guy who's out of jail and decides to go straight but "destiny" has other plans. Well, nothing works. The filmmaker can't seem to make up his mind about Redemption, Vendetta or Romance. So the whole thing curdles way before its predictable ending (you know the "doomed hero" is going to be done in by that teen punk he decides not to kill - I guess this is called Dramatic Irony 101). None of the characters, except for the always charismatic Farrell, are people we care about or root for. The villain is so mean it's beyond caricature - he belongs in an Austin Powers flik. The look of the film is polished as all get-up but adds to the emptiness of the material, and the Yardbird tunes, classic as they are, are used for no apparent reason - is the story supposed to take place in the 60's, does the leading man collect old rock ditties? Kiera Knightley, usually a superb actress and always a stunning presence, is stuck with a thankless part of a wimpy character with no interesting lines of dialogue to say. She seems to fall for Colin Farrell not just because he's the leading man and such an irresistible hunk, but also because, next to the David Thewlis character (her protector from the paparazzi), he looks like he bathes at least once a day - maybe he learned that in prison. There are a lot of subordinate characters and quasi-subplots that seem to be there simply as filler - certainly none of them advance the plot any. Which brings me to this: it is always a danger when writers (or stars) decide to direct their own material with no one there to keep their feet on terra firma. This particular writer-director seems to fall into that category. A shame, as Farrell, Knightley and Thewlis deserve better. The Blu-Ray disk is absolutely gorgeous to look at and the sound recording is crisp, but some of you might be offended (or bored) by the overuse of the F word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If only it stayed with the book, November 23, 2012
By 
John Bowes (Oxford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
Great start. And then they changed the original in major ways. Some great bad guys. Strong and gritty performances. Colin's character is a gem. If only they stayed with the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Action and Unexpected Ending!, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Colin Farrel is superb in one of the best movies I have seen this year and have never heard of!

This movie has good action, acting and is totally unpredictable, which is rare in movies today. Also the soundtrack is fantastic, good classic and emo/brit pop. I would say this is a must see for any Pulp Fiction or overall action movie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This could have been good, July 25, 2013
By 
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
What a shame. This could have been a good movie. Keira and Colin do a great job on what they had, there are a lot of actors that you will recognize as well and they play their parts well too. A weak story line, and just too much profanity. I understand the developing of the "mood" with the language used, but it was over the top for me.

You might want to rent this one before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding !!, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Boulevard [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great film! Should go along the lines of Layercake and Drive. Keira Knightley and Farrell are great and the supporting cast is also amazing. If you are a film buff and like "cult or indie" flicks, this is a MUST OWN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London Boulevard with colin farrell, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Boulevard (DVD)
Very violent. Great acting. Well concieved story line. Very violent. Liked the cinematogrophy. The filming had a very real feeling for me, watching it anyway. Having never been a gangster I feel that this movie captures what I imagine life might be like for a gangster who hits the edge. Very violent. Shocking plot twists keep you on your toes the whole way through, and yet there are many gentle scenes that depict a tender relationship between the main character and his protective charge. Very violent. Liked it alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad...Not Great...A little better than Average, August 9, 2012
By 
AZCards (Glendale AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Boulevard [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This flick is alright, I thought it would be better, Cast does a good job...not 100% sure what I didn't like about it...
Guess when I get these London crime movies I'm expecting "LOCK, STOCK", "SNATCH", or "ROCKNROLLA", or even "LAYER CAKE"...those I really enjoy, so I guess my expectations are just too high going in...this is not bad, not great, a little better than average but one thing is for sure....LONDON BLVD can't hold a candle to those Guy Ritchie flicks or even LAYER CAKE in my opinion, so to give 5 stars is just WAY too much. 3 and 1/2 stars for me!
So if u like those other four films a lot that I mentioned earlier, you'll probably be disappointed with this one...but this is as good or better than another one I kind of enjoyed, IN BRUGES. Definitely entertaining enough to watch again though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

London Boulevard [Blu-ray]
London Boulevard [Blu-ray] by William Monahan (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.99 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.