Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
First, its a stunning bluray quality picture! This by far is the best live show picture quality I have ever seen. Like someone said you can read the mouth piece from the Big Man's sax.

Second, its a great show. Full Springsteen ahead! This by far in my opinion is the best live show Bruce and E street has released. Yes, Bruce's voice has become even more...
Published on June 23, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
27 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Incredibly Disappointing Of Two Great Years On The Road.
Almost anyone who's seen Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band between 2007 and 2009 would agree that it was their strongest period on the road since the River Tour. Defying the restrictions of time and age, and even after the death of a key band member (Danny Federici in April of 2008), Bruce and the E Street Band electrified the stage each and every time they went out...
Published on July 30, 2010 by Anthony Nasti


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, June 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
First, its a stunning bluray quality picture! This by far is the best live show picture quality I have ever seen. Like someone said you can read the mouth piece from the Big Man's sax.

Second, its a great show. Full Springsteen ahead! This by far in my opinion is the best live show Bruce and E street has released. Yes, Bruce's voice has become even more rasp, but come on, he's 60.

Third, this show captures the power as close as anything to being their in person.

Forth, the only negative.... Its obvious Bruce didnt like being so far away from the crowd. Thats not typical Bruce, he likes the crowd interaction and it was a long ways from the stage to the crowd at Hyde.

Final, if you have never seen Bruce and E street in person, spend the money and go see him. You see it in this DVD at 3 hours, and he plays that long at every show and puts forth all the effort you see in this DVD at every show.

No I dont work for Landu.... That comment is too funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boss at 60 - Unbelievable!, July 2, 2010
By 
Duane (Oshawa Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I'll start by saying that I was not a Springsteen fan per say before watching this. I have always enjoyed him, but I am a collector of dvd and blu ray concerts first and foremost. After watching this I have become a fan. I have the New York and Barcelona concerts, and while both are very good, this one knocks me over. Put on Rosalita and watch The Boss command the stage like no other.Pure,unbridled enthusiasm..Like a kid playing his guitar with his mates for the first time, and in great voice too. Reference quality picture, sound and direction only add to this killer disc. Phenomenal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, June 29, 2010
By 
dietermod (Akron, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
This is truly the first concert film to fully utilize the sonic and picture quality characteristics of BluRay. The picture and sound are as clear as anything I have ever seen and heard. I received this and the U2 360 BluRays on the same day. After watching this, I couldn't even sit through the U2 one, it was like going from a DVD to a VHS tape. Great set list, great performance, great picture, great sound. This is ample payback for the dull muddy sound of the Barcellona DVD. Thanks Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Calling & Springsteen is too., August 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bruce Springsteen & E St. Band performing In Hyde Park is the best Live show out to date.
The NY Live and Live from Spain DVD's are also great, but this show blows them away. If you're on the fence about buying this DVD "Just Do It Already".
You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alive in your living room!, July 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow! This is the the best Springsteen video release yet! Quality is superb and content is great! I've been a fan since '75 and saw him OPEN for Chicago Transit Authority in 1973 at Madison Square Garden, so I've seen dozen of shows from New York to Las Vegas to Cleveland to Philadelphia. Watching this is as close up as a fan get get without being on stage. Since he changed set lists at every show on the recent tour, this compilation has some fine versions of oldies and new ones.
If he includes the full concert version of the "Darkness" album when the anniversary set is released later this year, I'll be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bruce DVD so far, June 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first official DVD of an outdoor Springsteen show is by leaps and bounds the best Bruce DVD so far, bootleg or official. The outdoor setting and the gigantic Hyde Park crowd completely change the perspective on the show from any previous DVD. You can see deep, deep, deep into the crowd unlike the previous indoor show DVDs. And so many of Bruce's most loved songs tap into the summer evening vibe that this is the best setting they have ever had. To see Jungleland at dusk sent chills down my spine. There has been a bootleg in circulation of an outdoor show in Berlin from the TOL tour, taken from a German television network's feed, but this DVD's production values blow that one away. The picture quality, the number of shots, the number of cameras, the number of stage hands and staff, the number of songs, the covers of London Calling and Good Lovin - this is a the first show to capture the sprawling, wild, innocent magnificence of a Bruce Springsteen outdoor show. A very special treasure for Bruce fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another GREAT Springsteen concert, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At 60 years old, there is no equal to Bruce & the band when it comes to concert performance......even those pretenders at 1/2 his age cannot compete when it comes to a Live Concert performance. Clocking in at about 3 hours, the London Calling concert is (1) awesome (2) unbelievably CLEAR sound for outdoor concert (3) has great mix of fan favorite songs from the last 30 years. From opening note to last encore, Bruce does not let up, slow down, or take a break......it is non stop, wonderful, clear sounding, floor stomping music.

For fans that already have the Live in NYC or Barcelona concerts, this is a MUST for your collection, as this also includes super live versions of Outlaw Pete, Working on a Dream, Trapped, No Surrender, of course opening to a rocking London Calling, and haunting The River, plus 20+ other songs.

Bruce takes audience signs of songs and makes changes on the spot, which is pretty amazing. Touching scene was Bruce reaching out to what looked like a 6 year old, held up by the parent, and Bruce stretching the microphone out to the boy ( while being held up by other fans ) so that we can hear the kid sing " Waiting on a Sunny Day".....
Quite a scene, and, quite a concert.

Film and sound are top notch ( 5 stars ), and, ordering with Amazon had my baby in my player in 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was exhausted just from watching this DVD ...., July 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have a couple of other Springsteen DVD's , including the Barcelona Concert ,
which was very good but didn't set me on fire , and I was hesitant to buy another
live DVD & for some misplaced , preconceived reason , I didn't think the Hyde Park
concert would be that exciting , but I bought this DVD just to see him do Outlaw Pete live .

I knew from the opening song this DVD was going to be a cracker ,
by the end of the 1st disc I had to go and relax for a while ,
so involved did I become in the concert .

This is just a fantastic concert , visually , musically and technically .

I give it a solid 5 stars , go buy it , at the price its a bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest live band ever at the top of their game, July 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'll keep this relatively short and sweet because there's no lengthy thesis needed. Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band are the greatest live performers in the history of rock 'n roll, and this DVD shows why. The sweat, passion, sincerity and unbelievable energy these guys put out in every performance is captured in all its majestic glory with this DVD, as well as showing a Bruce concert in its entirety for the first time in a commercial release. When you see one of their shows, you are drained of every human emotion by the time it ends. And in a wonderful way. Thank you, guys, for putting this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, July 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a long time Springsteen fan, I've attended more than a few concerts, and own all of the released video's of his concerts. This one stands out from all the rest. Not only is it shot in high def, with high quality sound, I would challenge anyone to view the +/- 3 hours and note a single mistake; the band was playing at the highest level possible, and it's one of those events that makes it feel like you were there, from the comfort of your own living room. This is a must have DVD for any Springsteen fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-Ray]
London Calling: Live in Hyde Park [Blu-Ray] by Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (Blu-ray - 2010)
$29.98 $22.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.