Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must see
If you are really into Western movies you'll appreciate just sitting back and watching this movie.
Published on August 23, 2010 by P. Campbell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Western Fans Please Read....
This is a made for television western that is on par with many.....70's or 80's style television westerns. While not deplorable, it is far from what I was looking for, or expected given the high reviews here. There are some good performances. And some not so good. The story-line is interesting but not overly so. It does get better as the movie progresses...
Published on September 26, 2012 by Plank Spanker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must see, August 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
If you are really into Western movies you'll appreciate just sitting back and watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., October 16, 2009
By 
Litttle Mama (East Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
I like Lou D.P. and I think he gets better with every movie he does. Its is good to see good updated Westerns coming back to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, October 8, 2011
By 
Dave (North central Arkansas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
A great vengeance flick with a very satisfying ending. Great scenery and image quality.
Lou Diamond Phillips was good of course, but I thought Vincent Spano was the best actor. He made a very convincing bad guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Western Fans Please Read...., September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
This is a made for television western that is on par with many.....70's or 80's style television westerns. While not deplorable, it is far from what I was looking for, or expected given the high reviews here. There are some good performances. And some not so good. The story-line is interesting but not overly so. It does get better as the movie progresses.

Lou diamond Phillips does a good job in his role as Bobby Hattaway, decorated calvaryman. He retires and returns home to find his childhood friend Stu (Vincent Spano good performance) has turned into the classic greedy, corrupt, and power hungry monster without any conscience that is so common for this genre. As this becomes more evident throughout the film, conflict between the two escalates culminating in the showdown that is always necessary. Tom Schanley's character Mike Butler, an army bud of Bobby's, adds some needed color and turns in a very good performance, though small as it is. Timothy Bottoms as the sheriff gives a good performance as well.

Anyway, to me, this was not as good as is implied here, but better than the more critical reviews. It's worth watching and owning, cheap, say $5 including shipping and should be rated about 3.5 stars. If you ignore the high praises sung here, and do not expect a stellar western, and view it from that perspective, you will most likely enjoy this and watch it very infrequently as a change of pace. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standards, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
It really was not a "stand-out" Western, but I like the old genre of movie. I expected more action than I got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good western., August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
I like Lou Diamond Phillips movies, and have some of his other westerns, and feel this is a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
Good movie for the price; always liked Lou Diamond Phillips in Western movies. Good story line and good action, and it shows some of the truths of prejudice against Native Americans that occurred well into the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watching the person, October 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
I have stopped watching movies that everyone tells me are good. I am now watching the stars I enjoy seeing. I bought this because Lou Diamond Phillips was in it. For that reason I enjoyed it and so did my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done., July 22, 2014
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
Nicely done...BUT does anyone know if this was originally shown on the Lifetime channel? I ask because it is very similar to a western TV movie I caught up with recently that they produced starring Luke Perry called "The Pledge." In fact, ALL of Lifetime's westerns that I've seen are "revenge" westerns. Again, they're well done - but extremely predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Rider (DVD)
Great Item - Love It - Would recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lone Rider
Lone Rider by David S. Cass Sr. (DVD - 2008)
$7.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.