Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rewarding Read
Ken Hodgson has penned a splendid and authentic look at one of the early west's most controversial and fascinating characters, Alfred Packer. Hodgson has a genius for catching the time and place, and for peering into the mind of a man who was accused of killing and eating his partners. This book is a very rewarding read.
Published on May 11, 2001 by Richard S. Wheeler

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute nonsense.
It was my own fault....looking for a book about Packer, but didn't see that this book is FICTION. Why anyone would want to read a fictional portrayal of a real person, I can't say (On the other hand, that would be the ONLY way to make George Bush II seem intelligent).

I actually read three chapters before I realized this was crap. It did surprise me that a...
Published on October 21, 2012 by Harry Truman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rewarding Read, May 11, 2001
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
Ken Hodgson has penned a splendid and authentic look at one of the early west's most controversial and fascinating characters, Alfred Packer. Hodgson has a genius for catching the time and place, and for peering into the mind of a man who was accused of killing and eating his partners. This book is a very rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Survivor:The fascinating story of Al Packer's life, April 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
Al Packer had an interesting life once he left home. His search led across the prairie,across the sea,from the Florida swamps to the Colorado gold rush. Once he found gold life became a series of misadventures and a host of unbelievable yet true events that illuminate the times from 1860 to 1910.
Ken Hodgson is a western writer who writes a book you won't be able to put down without extreme anticipation. As they say: Truth is stranger than fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guy you Love to Hate, July 19, 2011
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Paperback)
I grew up in the South and I knew a few weasels like Alfred Packer. He's the kind of good ole boy who'll come across as friendly and even charming. But if you start hanging with him, sooner or later, you'll probably get shafted because underneath the smooth exterior is a heart made out of cold gray steel. Packer would sell your soul for a dollar if it would come out to his advantage. And this guy actually lived and breathed. On the other hand, I've met some of the finest people I've ever known in the South--salt of the earth. But God deliver us from the Alfred Packers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How much is fiction, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book but wonder how much is fiction. After a little research
I discovered Al Packard joined the army when he was 20 yrs old not 14. He was discharged for suffering from epilepsy, not blowing 2 fingers off. Also there is no record of him ever going to sea. So I question the authenticity of the manuscript that the author found.Still a good read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute nonsense., October 21, 2012
By 
Harry Truman (Union County, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
It was my own fault....looking for a book about Packer, but didn't see that this book is FICTION. Why anyone would want to read a fictional portrayal of a real person, I can't say (On the other hand, that would be the ONLY way to make George Bush II seem intelligent).

I actually read three chapters before I realized this was crap. It did surprise me that a mountain man from the 1800's could write so well, but I kept reading.

Then I read Packer's claim that he had sailed on the Mary Celeste. AHA! THEN I turned the book around to see that it was all make believe. Yes, it was my fault. That said, if you enjoy untrue crap about real people, buy this book. If you think the tabloids report real news, you'll love this book.

My point is, I believe a "Forest Gump"-type story would be entertaining, IF the protagonist was an obvious fictional character. Since there is so little good information out there about Packer, why waste time writing a completely fictional account? Because he was a "bad" guy? What would the reviews be like for a fictional portrayal of Abraham Lincoln as a child molester? Or Martin Luther King as a wife beater? Or Mother Theresa as a prostitute?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder with a dash of cannibalism, December 16, 2014
By 
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
This was suspenseful, with a pretty good use of the unreliable narrator. Worth a read if you're into Wild West murder stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and Exciting Read!, September 15, 2004
By 
C. Popp (St. Charles, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Paperback)
This is a quick read, because the book grabs your attention from the first page and is very hard to put down until the very end. I don't know whether Alferd Packer is telling the truth, but the story is very interesting nonetheless. I loved this book and recommended it to several people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trying Life, July 22, 2003
By 
Max Inman (holland, mi. U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
Alferd Packer a survivior of the high lonesome did what was necessary to live. This story is very well done and leaves the reader somewhat in shock at the very end. Poor Al Packer can not win even in death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, August 13, 2001
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
Couldn't put it down! Mr. Hodgson truly takes his readers on a marvelous trek through the trials and tribulations of Al Packer. Mr. Packer, a little known character of the old west was a man of many ups and downs. His life will give you greater respect for your own, you can't help but think, "what else can go wrong?" Enjoyed it so well, I can't wait for "Hard Bounty" to come out. Keep up the great work, Ken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting history, February 12, 2001
By 
billy marginot (marfa, texas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lone Survivor (Mass Market Paperback)
this is a little known and facinating story, well written and spellbinding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lone Survivor
Lone Survivor by Ken Hodgson (Mass Market Paperback - February 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.