Customer Reviews


318 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but editing issues made it 3.5 stars....
The premise behind this book was cute. The story was enjoyable, but the horrible mispellings and typos become distracting at times. It was less than a dollar, so if you can overlook the grammar errors, it is a good book to read on a lazy day. Story is about Mandy who owns and runs a small bed and breakfast off the coast of California. She really doesn't get out too...
Published on June 23, 2011 by Hopeless

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb story, bad editing
The main character comes across as so clueless for someone who owns her own business and for her age (I'm assuming at least in her 30s). It's a really stupid story and there are so many spelling errors it's distracting to read. There are also tons of words that are hyphenated when they aren't split. I also would like my 99 cents back.
Published on July 1, 2011 by T. Mcnulty


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but editing issues made it 3.5 stars...., June 23, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
The premise behind this book was cute. The story was enjoyable, but the horrible mispellings and typos become distracting at times. It was less than a dollar, so if you can overlook the grammar errors, it is a good book to read on a lazy day. Story is about Mandy who owns and runs a small bed and breakfast off the coast of California. She really doesn't get out too much or do much of anything except work on her business. She especially avoided men, ever since her last boyfriend decided to marry her best friend instead.

One day, her sister dares her to respond to a personal ad on the Yukon Man magazine. Mandy is never one to refuse a dare so she does. Soon, she actually discovers that Jack, her pen pal, was someone she was interested in and looked forward to reading his letters. They corresponded for months and Mandy was beginning to have feelings for Jack. One day, a very attractive man shows up at the bed and breakfast looking for a place to stay. Adam was so handsome, sexy and from the Yukon area. She wondered if he knew her friend Jack, but he denied knowing him. Adam came down to "investigate" for Jack and find out more about Mandy. He wanted to see if she was good enough for his best friend or only interested in money Jack claimed to have. When Adam saw Mandy for the first time, he was completely mesmerized by her. He couldn't believe how beautiful she was. He knew she was smart, funny and caring from her letters, he was after all, the one answering them for Jack.

Adam stays and helps Mandy out, but every time they are together, their attraction is out of control. They are both torn about their feelings and emotions and the reality of their situation: she is afraid of getting hurt and he does not want a commitment and there was his friend Jack. Things get more complicated when Jack enters the picture and Adam finds himself torn between his friend and the woman he wanted for himself.

Book becomes a bit frustrating at times, but overall it was cute, a bit emotional and "dramatic". For less than a dollar, it was not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb story, bad editing, July 1, 2011
By 
T. Mcnulty (Diamond Beach) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
The main character comes across as so clueless for someone who owns her own business and for her age (I'm assuming at least in her 30s). It's a really stupid story and there are so many spelling errors it's distracting to read. There are also tons of words that are hyphenated when they aren't split. I also would like my 99 cents back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars outdated, ridiculous and poorly written, July 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
VERY outdated plot. Poorly written with countless typos. A good read for only those interested in repetitive dribble. Would not recommend this book to other readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan, April 20, 2011
I've been a fan of Carol Grace's work for a while now and she never disappoints! She is genuinely funny and builds great sexual tension, an unbeatable combination. I strongly recommend LONELY MILLIONAIRE and all of her terrific reads...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Boring, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
I've always had a hankering to run a bed and breakfast, so the teasers for this book intrigued me as did the Cyrano de Bergerac thread with the hero writing letters to the heroine on behalf of his friend

I read 37% of this book (thanks Kindle for the statistical information) and gave up. The heroine is a complete ditz who can't remember what services she has advertised for her b&b, and the hero spends most of his time slobbering over her from afar. The dialogue is minimal and stilted, and what passes for a plot is a series of stereotypical scenes that are completely forgettable. The formatting is catch-as-catch-can, with margins jumping all over the place.

I can't remember how much I paid for this gem, but if it was $.99 it was too much. I deleted it from my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy and sassy!, April 18, 2011
In this wonderful twist on unexpected romance, Carol Grace has created marvelously appealing and memorable characters who are caught by suprise by love. The fast-paced wit and tempting dialogue made this into a first-rate page-turner and the hero is absolutely to die for! It's the perfect romantic escape and an unbeatable vacation read. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, August 31, 2011
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
Sorry. I don't like to leave negative reviews but this book is not so great. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone-even though it is free. It is not well written and there are a lot of typos. I am doing my best to finish it but it is really tough to get through. Really disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible proofreading and editing., June 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
This is the worst editing I have ever seen. Spelling errors on every page, hyphenated words that shouldn't be hyphenated. The story would have been much better if it weren't for all the errors. I can't even imagine a publisher allowing this to go through. What a total waste of $.99. Thankfully it wasn't more. I like another person commented, feel that Amazon should refund the money then pull this book from their listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Millionaire, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
I admit I haven't read much of the story yet. The typing errors are the most aggravating I've ever experienced. Aren't books edited before being released? Wrong words are inserted two to three times per page at times, in addition to inappropriate use of hyphenated words. These things are like fingernails on a chalkboard. I'd like my $.99 back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story? Hard to tell., June 23, 2011
This review is from: Lonely Billionaire (Kindle Edition)
Possibly a cute story, but the formatting and copy editing errors definitely detracted. I'm so glad I read the sample and didn't waste .99 on the whole book. Having published a book on the Kindle, I know how it's done. This author needs to take more pride in her finished product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c4af5a0)

This product

Lonely Billionaire
Lonely Billionaire by Carol Grace
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.