Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Central Europe
This is just what I ordered, good condition, notes from previous owner will be helpful on trip to Central Europe.
Published on November 27, 2009 by William B. Davis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Guide, but there really isn't anything else
There aren't too many guides out there specific to Central Europe. The book was helpful for general reference but, lacked any good detail for traveling. The maps were somewhat helpful, but always seemed to be just limited enough so it didn't show where you wanted to go. The book is great for the tourist that doesn't want to get away from touristy places. If you want...
Published on December 6, 2004 by K. Conner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Guide, but there really isn't anything else, December 6, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Central Europe (Paperback)
There aren't too many guides out there specific to Central Europe. The book was helpful for general reference but, lacked any good detail for traveling. The maps were somewhat helpful, but always seemed to be just limited enough so it didn't show where you wanted to go. The book is great for the tourist that doesn't want to get away from touristy places. If you want to go local this book is not helpful. And what is it about travel books? When are they going to make a travel book that you can seperate out the sections you want? If you don't want to carry around some 10 lb brick of a book and only the sections you need. I know the technology is out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Central Europe: Stretched Too Thin, September 20, 2006
By 
Craig S. Harwood (Medfield, Massachusetts, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Naturally, because of the number of countries this book covers, it is far less detailed about any one country than Lonely Planet guides covering single countries or a smaller number of countries. Still, for my purposes--a 15-day motorcoach tour including Frankfurt, Berlin, Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna, and Prague, with just a day and a half or so in each city--it proved adequate. Few people will have room enough in their carry-on or checked luggage to carry a book for each country visited during such a tour, so one is stuck with a single multi-country guidebook.

I don't understand why Lonely Planet included Switzerland and Slovenia in this book. If one is traveling to Krakow or Prague, one usually doesn't travel to Switzerland during the same trip.

My basis for comparison was the Lonely Planet guide to Belgium. Belgium's a small country and the guidebook covered just Belgium, so the editors had room for all kinds of fascinating descriptions and inset articles providing detail, such as several articles about beer styles, breweries, and top pubs, battlegrounds, and the scatalogical nicknames Belgians have for people of other cities. That was the best guidebook I've ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unstatisfied, September 11, 2005
My boyfriendand I travel a lot, and we usually take a lonely planet along with us.

The Central europe one, we've only used it for the Check Republic. It was alright but we think that the tips you usually get in this guide seemed to be missing. For the basics is fine, but we weren't totally satisfied with it. We understand that is not only about one country, that includes other's as well and the information is shortened, but anyway,it was of help only to a point.

We hope this information is of help for you,

kind regards

Lucila Lauda and Ulrik Bechtold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Older than expected, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it was advertised as USED, I didn't expect it to be such an old edition, It is a 2005 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Central Europe, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is just what I ordered, good condition, notes from previous owner will be helpful on trip to Central Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel Guide, August 15, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought Lonely Planet's Central Europe guide. Good and fast service. Will use same supplier in future if needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lonely Planet Central Europe
Lonely Planet Central Europe by Jeanne Oliver (Paperback - Jan. 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.