Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Guidebooks For Paris
I cannot hold myself back, this is the best guidebook to Paris I have ever read, bar none. I lived in Paris for almost two years, I've visited the city dozens of times, and my most recent visit was just last year. I have seen and read more guidebooks to this city than anybody has a right to look at. Flat out, there is no better guide to Paris than this book. It cuts...
Published 14 months ago by Daniel G. Lebryk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frommer's Guide Is A Far Better Guide to Paris
"Lonely Planet Discover Paris" simply pales in comparison to Frommer's Frommer's Paris 2012 (Frommer's Color Complete). I found Lonely Planet so superficial that I would not recommend as a primary or sole guide, and would hesitate to recommend it even as a second or third guide backing up other travel guides.

Lonely Planet Paris is an incomplete guide which is...
Published 13 months ago by alost


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Guidebooks For Paris, May 7, 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I cannot hold myself back, this is the best guidebook to Paris I have ever read, bar none. I lived in Paris for almost two years, I've visited the city dozens of times, and my most recent visit was just last year. I have seen and read more guidebooks to this city than anybody has a right to look at. Flat out, there is no better guide to Paris than this book. It cuts across every type of tourist; rich or poor, urban, suburban, or country; young or old; single or married - name the extremes of a demographic and Lonely Planet has it covered.

Normally I despise everything Lonely Planet. I have read too many of their guidebooks and been disappointed with the approach that everything has to be cheap, if it costs any money don't include it in the guidebook even if it is the best thing in the world to do. My guidebook leaning is more toward Frommer's and Fodor's.

Not with this Discover Paris by Lonely Planet. What I love about this guide, it is the best of all the things to do in Paris. It focuses on walking tours that hit exactly the right mix of things for everybody. The standard tourist attractions are included, the out of the way places, and the work a day Paris. If a person followed just one of the walking itineraries in this book, they would get a fantastic authentic flavor of Paris.

The thing that so many guidebooks try to do, include everything for everybody, from the hotels to stay at to all the cultural nuances an American might want to know. The books end up thick and heavy. They also end up 50% useless once you arrive in the city. After all, you made all the hotel reservations before you left for the city, right? So why do you need 75 pages of hotel recommendations? Exactly. Lonely Planet relegated hotels to the back of the book and only listed the critical few across price ranges. What they did include on every walking tour, where to eat! Yes, when you are walking around in a city, food is very important. They make great recommendations for authentic French food in this fabulous city.

Each of the walking tours is centered on some key site. They include the appropriate tourist location and how to navigate visiting these over visited, crowded places. In essence, they tell you how to avoid the crowds or be so well prepared that the crowds don't matter. They include some of the best itineraries I've ever seen - exactly the routes I have taken when I tour the city, how to maximize entertainment or good things to do, with a minimum of effort. These routes have amazing variety and capture the flavor of that particular area. Then they drop these lovely little gems along the way. Places most guidebooks never mention. Places that are part of the magic, the reason for visiting a foreign city. Places where you can discover something new, unexpected, and you'll never see in the United States.

My normal review of Paris Guidebooks includes about six more paragraphs of the additional things the book doesn't mention, that might be helpful. I've read this book cover to cover, I have nothing to add. The book covers what you need to know to enjoy this incredible city.

I love one particular page in this book; it talks about how to get inspired for Paris before you leave. There are three or four examples of Music, books, films, and websites that are exactly the things to get you in the mood for visiting Paris. Take the advice, they are fabulous recommendations.

Normally maps are a problem with Paris guidebooks. Yes they have the standard tear out folded up shortened map of Paris (every guidebook has almost exactly this map), with which you can get royally lost. Where Lonely Planet scores in the map arena - the walking tours are mapped out clearly in each section. All the streets for that area are on these detailed maps. It is much harder to get lost with these maps. I would recommend adding a laminated map to the book - it is simply easier to carry the laminated version: Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France.

Last year I thought I found the ultimate guidebook to Paris - Cool Paris by teNeuse publishing. That book is still uber cool, and there are some great places in that book (Cool Paris) including some amazing hotels. But Lonely Planet just advanced the game one step further with this book.

I could gush forever about this book. The pictures are beautiful. The layout is practical (although I don't like all the page number cross referencing). The size is just on the large end of pocket able (the teNeuse book is about the size of a CD case and two thick, this book is about 25% taller and three thick). The places I love are listed in here. This book feels like home to me. I will stop.

Please take my word for it; this is an outstanding guidebook to Paris. I think it caters to all tastes. It certainly does an excellent job describing an incredible city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Travel Guide, April 24, 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is really great guidebook, with all the essentials, and more. I have Paris as #1 on my bucket list, so have seen and bought other guidebooks. This one is the winner, and the one I'll be taking with me. It's so readable, the larger maps are within each section (Paris is divided into 8 sections) for easy reference. Aside from these 8 sections, they have 3 "Day Trips," to Versailles, Disneyland, and Giverny, Monet's house and garden.

I really like the "Neighborhood Walks," which map out a leisurely pace (about an hour a mile) through the best sights...tack on an additional hour for me...I'd be hitting the cafes and restaurants! One of the final sections is "Paris in Focus," which gives you a smattering of history, food and wine, shopping, etc. , and then there's the essential "Survival Guide," where there's a list of the pros and cons of staying in a hotel in various districts, as well as a minimal list of hotels (this is probably better found on the internet, but it gives you an idea of prices vs. amenities vs. location), and all the other things you need to know, like transport, business hours, etc. There is also a basic language page ("bon-zhoor") and a nice pull-out map at the end.

I'm a big fan of the DK Eyewitness Travel books, and have the one on Paris. The one thing that makes them a problem is the weight. Lonely Planet's Discover Paris is several ounces lighter, ¾ of the thickness, and almost an inch shorter. There are things that are not as "in depth" (there are 9 pages on the Louvre in DK, 6 in Lonely Planet for instance) but much of what you will need once you get there will be included. Since I travel with only a carry-on bag, weight is an issue with me. If you're going to invest in going to Paris, I'd say read DK before you leave, take Lonely Planet with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Travel Guide For Paris, May 8, 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Discover Paris by Lonely Planet may not be as big and fat as some other guides devoted specifically to the City of Love, but what it offers and covers easily makes this a must-have when you visit. This is by no means the only guide I have read, perused, and used but it is the best. After a Welcome to Paris and a Highlights Map (very useful), Lonely Planet offers their list of 25 top experiences and I must say, having visited Paris a few times, that their list is very good. Almost all of the 25 are featured one per page, with a page number listed next to the attraction name indicating where more in-depth information is available. And, some of the 25 experiences are general things, such as Parisian Cafes where they offer a handful of their selections to try.

The Top Days in Paris section offers their suggestions for 4 different days and what can easily be done during those days. While everyone may not agree with the specific ideas, they do cover a very nice variety of attractions, as well as suggestions for lunch and dinner. I may have to go to Paris just to try these. There is also a short Month By Month 2-page chapter where highlights are provided, such as the obvious Bastille Day in July.

One then gets into the meat of the guide with the detailed area breakdown chapters. The first is Eiffel Tower and La Defense. Here you are provided with highlights, a detailed map of the area, showing the walking route and where their suggested stops are located, including many places to dine, smaller museums and attractions of interest, and more. This is repeated in the other chapters, covering: Champs-Elysees & Grands Boulevards; Louvre & Les Halles; Montmarte & Northern Paris; Le Marais & Bastille; The Islands; Latin Quarter; and, St-Germain, Les Invalides & Montparnasse. Each of the areas include: highlights; walking tour; family travel; food & wine; architecture, art; drinking & night life; and, shopping.

At the end, it even includes a "survival guide," such as Sleeping (where accommodation types are spelled out and numerous places are listed - including why and why not to stay there) and Transport (where several modes are discussed). Add to that, Lonely Planet includes a very nice pull-out map of the city that includes a transit map, full street index and the top sights. All in all, a very comprehensive, yet compact guide to Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the better guides about Paris ..., July 3, 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a marvelous guide of Paris in which you truly can experience the best without a lot of filler. Somehow Lonely Planet has plucked the best of the city and placed it in these pages for our perusal. Naturally if you find something of high interest, you can head to the Internet for more information. The book is liberally sprinkled with photographs, maps, and numerous informative sidebars. One of the most interesting things is when individual building such as the Louvre or Versailles are laid out from an aerial-like vantage point and labeled with photographs and additional information about specific rooms and/or floors.

There are things off the beaten path to be discovered in these pages as well as the usual fare one goes to find in Paris. There are the eerie and somewhat macabre catacombs (Les Catacombes), but also things such as the "unsung" museums of Paris. I was just in Paris last fall, but would have loved to have this guidebook in hand. Not to say that I didn't have a good time, but this book would have enhanced my enjoyment tremendously with a bit of extra spice.

The short brisk paragraphs gave me everything I wanted to know without going overboard. The fore edge of the book is color-coded for quick reference. The book is small enough to put in a backpack or purse, but not so heavy that it is a burden to tote along. Undoubtedly, this is one of the better guides of Paris I'd run across.

CONTENTS:

Welcome to Paris
Highlights Map
Paris' Top 25 Experiences
Top Days in Paris
Month by Month
What's New
Get Inspired
Need to Know

EIFFEL TOWER & LA DEFENSE

Highlights
Walking tour
Eiffel Tower
Sight
Eating

CHAMPS-ELYSEES & GRANDS BOULEVARDS

Highlights
Walking Tour
Arc de Triomphe
Sights
Eating
Entertainment
Shopping

LOUVRE & LES HALLES

Highlights
Walking tour
The Louvre
Centre Pompidou
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Entertainment
Shopping
Sports & Activities

MONTMARTRE & NORTHERN PARIS

Highlights
Walking tour
Sacre-Coeur
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Entertainment
Shopping

LE MARAIS & BASTILLE

Highlights
Walking tour
Cimetiere du Pere Lachaise
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Entertainment
Shopping
Sports & Activities

THE ISLANDS

Highlights
Walking tour
Notre Dame
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Shopping

LATIN QUARTER

Highlights
Walking tour
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Entertainment
Shopping

ST-GERMAIN, LES INVALIDES & MONTPARNASSE

Highlights
Walking tour
Musee d'Orsay
Jardin du Luxembourg
Sights
Eating Drinking & Nightlife
Entertainment
Shopping
Sports & Activities

DAY TRIPS

Paris Today
History
Famiy Travel
Food & Wine
Architecture
Art
Drinking & Nightlife
Shopping
Sleeping
Transport
Directory

Language
Behind the Scenes
Index
Map Legend
Our Writers (Catherine Le Nevez, Christopher Pitts, Nicola Williams)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frommer's Guide Is A Far Better Guide to Paris, June 2, 2013
By 
alost (Mid-Atlantic, East Coast US) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Lonely Planet Discover Paris" simply pales in comparison to Frommer's Frommer's Paris 2012 (Frommer's Color Complete). I found Lonely Planet so superficial that I would not recommend as a primary or sole guide, and would hesitate to recommend it even as a second or third guide backing up other travel guides.

Lonely Planet Paris is an incomplete guide which is lacking in many regards. It is far less in-depth than Frommer's, which, in contrast, is thorough and comprehensive. Frommer's is 30% longer just by page-count alone, but it is actually even longer as it has smaller font and a layout that provides more content. Frommer's is not just longer, it simply offers far more information of relevance to travelers to Paris - not just guidance regarding the sites, but historical insight and practical guidance. Moreover, Frommer's is only slightly heavier despite the extra length.

The presentation and layout of information with Frommer's is superior. The information is presented in a logical fashion. Lonely Planet presents areas in a manner that is not as clear and convenient.

Even the Lonely Planet fold-out map included at the back of the book is lacking. It does not have street names on all the streets. The Metro stop are marked on the map in pale grey that is so faint that is disappears into the greyish-brown background color of the map. The Metro stops should be marked in a bright, readily seen color like blue so as to enable one to look at an area and quickly see the closest Metro stop. The Metro map on the back of the city map as to be so small as to be of virtually no use without a magnifying glass. The Frommer's map has none of these deficiencies - it has more detail and easily seen Metro stops.

Lonely Planet seems to tell half the story on many items. As just one example, in providing information about buying a tourist Metro pass good for several days, Lonely Planet mentions that the tickets are sold to cover zones within Paris, but it does not tell you what areas of Paris these zones cover. Frommer's provides this information.

Frommer's even starts by giving the reader a strong geographic sense of Paris, with an intro to left bank and right bank and the snail-shell like, spiraling layout of the arrondissements, along with a recommendation to stay in the first eight arrondissements if you wish to be central located. Lonely Planet doesn't.

There are countless other examples, but too many to set forth here. As noted above, I found Lonely Planet so superficial that I would not recommend as a primary guide for any traveller to Paris and I would hesitate to recommend it even as a second or third guide backing up other travel guides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide book, May 19, 2013
By 
Tracie "tracieknits" (Saratoga Springs, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I think this guide book is an improvement over last year's guide book. And I thought last year's book was pretty good.

The biggest improvement is the addition of many wonderful neighborhood walks. I think these are crucial to enjoying Paris and soaking in her charms.

Cons, if I have to list them:
-you absolutely need a proper phrase book. This has the shortest phrase section of any tour book I've seen. It's only 1 page.
-Only three potential day trips listed. Why not Chartres, Auvers sur Oise, Fontainebleu or so many others?
-The tear-out map is very thin paper. Other publishers make theirs out of a more durable paper that is rip and stain-proof.
-I'm a bit surprised to see overpriced tourist traps such as the Moulin Rouge recommended

It's not a very complete guide, but it's a nice taste of Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emphasis on dining, nightlife and shopping, May 3, 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This Lonely Planet guide would be great for travelers wishing to experience shopping, trendy restaurants and night life in Paris. The art and architecture unique to Paris is described, but seems to be dominated by photos of food and lists of restaurants. While In Paris, we found excellent restaurants wherever we happened to be walking at mealtime. The DK Eyewitness travel guide seems to have a superior index as well as an incredible number of photos of art and architecture (including the wonderful Marly horse statues in the Louvre, and the Statue of Liberty in the Seine River) not found in Lonely Planet. The layout of the Eyewitness guide was quite helpful in planning our visit, and our experiences were what we expected - a perfect visit! The travelers expectations should dictate what guide they use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Found it useless, sadly., July 7, 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I expected much more of a guide to the main Paris attractions, especially from Lonely Planet. I was relying on it for info about visiting the Eiffel Tower, and could just as well have used an article in an inflight magazine. Prebuying tickets is recommended, but the guide doesn't mention you have to do this weeks in advance. You are advised that queues can be over an hour long in high season. While technically correct, it's also true that ticker queues can easily be over three hours even in preseason. Weirdly, the guide also fails to mention that once in the tower you can expect to wait an hour to ascend the floors, and a further hour to descend. This is just the kind of info I'd like from a city guide, and just the sort of info missing from this one. Further omissions meant we ditched it halfway through our trip, and used just the map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guía útil, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Es una guía completa con buenas recomendaciones para recorrer Paris y aprovechar al máximo el tiempo, los mapas off line fueron útiles en mi visita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars getting around Paris, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
highlighted sights briefly and succinctly so you weren't spending hours reading; gave excellent food reviews, metro stop details, portable, not too big and cumbersome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Discover Paris (Travel Guide) by Nicola Williams (Paperback - March 1, 2013)
$21.99 $15.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.