Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$12.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon March 22, 2011
This appears to be the second album for this brother/sister duo - Lee and Elaine Roy - based in Nashville and they've already gotten chart position with the lead off track "Coal Minin' Man", my second favorite track on the album. The honor for the "winner" is Track 2 - "That's What Makes it Love", co-written by Lee (who wrote or co-wrote 8 of the 11 tracks; Elaine is credited on two others.). He wrote this as a tribute to Ricky Skaggs and Skaggs returned the honor by singing backup, and bringing along The Whites as well. This could well be single # 2.

Elaine has a high-pitched voice and Lee's is best described as "reedy" but their harmonies mesh nicely on most of the tracks. The banjo is prominent on most tracks as well with lots of mandolin of course.

My only complaint on the album is becoming a common one these days with CD packaging. While the CD insert is 9x12 inches unfolded, the producers decide to use one side for a large color photo and then tried to squeeze the notes - including the lyrics to ALL the songs - on the other. The lyrics are barely readable in their miniscule font size but then the notes are printed even smaller! I couldn't find a magnifying glass so I gave up on these.

This is an entertaining album from group that is trying to break out of the standard bluegrass band mold. A few of these tracks (including those previously mentioned as well "Everything I Ever Wanted" should give them some more exposure.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2011
Lee and Elaine's voices are so wonderful together the musicians are the best. I listen to there music every day. Coal Minin' Man is sure to hit no.on on the Bluegrass and Country charts!! A well produced and engineered CD worth buying.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
The talented brother/sister duo Lee and Elaine Roy are fairly new faces on the bluegrass scene, but they keep good company. Their debut album on Rural Rhythm Records was recorded at Ricky Skaggs' studio, and it features guest musicians Mark Fain (bass), Justin Moses (banjo), Randy Kohrs (Dobro), Cody Kilby (guitar), Steve Brewster (drums on four tracks), and Andy Leftwich (fiddle, mandolin, bouzouki). Ricky Skaggs and The Whites (Sharon and Cheryl) provide passionate harmonies on "That's What Makes it Love," a fine song with a number of evocative messages covering sacrifice, family, trust and devotion. In support of this album's spring 2011 release, The Roys are currently performing widely with a separate touring band.

With their enchanting repertoire of new and exciting original material, The Roys cover a lot of bluegrass, country, and gospel ground. The galloping "Right Back At You" and "Lonesome Whistle" and "My Oh My How Time Flies" are sturdy bluegrass offerings that hit like an express train. Their alluring ballads also pull you into the significant meanings and statements of their lyrics. For example, Lee Roy was inspired to write "I Wonder What God's Thinking" after seeing a sad news report on television one Sunday morning. A motivational song for women chasing their dreams, Elaine Roy co-penned "Trailblazer," and that track is one of several crowning moments for her on the album. The couple writes many songs to honor, praise or acknowledge others. A tribute to coal miners opens the album, while "Everything I Ever Wanted" evolved into a respectful homage to mothers everywhere. The CD closes with "High Road" (written by Pete Sallis and Tia Sillers) to remind us that the high road is often the hard and winding road. While full of loneliness, doubt, hunger and questions, the high road is the right one to take.

Born in Massachusetts and raised in Canada, the duo now lives in Nashville. Both started singing and playing music at an early age, and their love of bluegrass and country music eventually led to their own wholesome, contemporary signature sound steeped in tradition. In 2009 and 2010, they won Inspirational Country Music Award for Duo of the Year. The CD is sure to turn some heads and launch them further into the spotlight. If this album is any indication, The Roys are poised and ready for the fame that will surely come as they touch and inspire people with their radiant music. (Joe Ross, Roseburg, Or.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2012
I heard the song TrailBlazer on the radio and had to buy the cd. Well I really loved all the songs on the cd and my very bestest favorite is The High Road. Never heard of the Roys before, but have become a fan. Thanks so much!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2011
This is a great CD by a brother & sister duo ! Great selection of songs with a great band playing with them. It touches on Bluegrass but if you listen to the words, lot of good music comes out ~
I would buy it again !
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
I bought this CD because this is "it" for me! Its country with bluegrass mixed in to it. Boy and girl...I love that! Harmonies. They are brother and sister. Unbelievable! Great CD!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
This cd is great!!!!!!!! It's a good blend of harmony and bluegrass--my new favorite cd!! If y ou like bluegrass you'll love these two.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
This was purchased as a gift for my husband. He was thrilled and LOVES it! He listens to it regularly as he relaxes in his chair.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
We heard this group on tv & liked them. We like bluegrass & country. They sound a lot like Allison Krauss.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
"ALL ABOARD" !!! The train is leaving the station on another musical journey.
This album has the feel and sound of being in a close and friendly club.
This was my second album of theirs and was not at all disappointed the way this one flows from start to finish.
The balance between vocals and instrumentation is spot on and makes for a better experience for the listener.
Their chemistry works for a natural feel and not over done.
Im looking forward to the next offering the Roys will come out with.
Give it a listen and experience what I say, I know you won't be disappointed !!!
Thank you Lee and Elaine for the your music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.