Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.30 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Long Gone Before Daylight
 
See larger image
 

Long Gone Before Daylight [CD+DVD]

CardigansAudio CD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (91 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 11 Songs, 2004 $9.49  
Audio CD, Import, 2003 $20.95  
Audio CD, CD+DVD, 2004 --  
Vinyl --  

Amazon's Cardigans Store

Music

Image of album by Cardigans

Photos

Image of Cardigans
Visit Amazon's Cardigans Store
for 53 albums, 5 photos, discussions, and more.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 25, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: CD+DVD
  • Label: Koch Records
  • ASIN: B00020HALU
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (91 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #150,601 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Communication
2. You're The storm
3. A Good Horse
4. And Then You Kissed Me
5. Couldn't Care Less
6. Please Sister
7. For What It's Worth
8. Lead Me Into The Night
9. Live and Learn
10. Feathers And Down
11. 03.45: No Sleep
12. Hold Me (Mini Version)
13. If There is a Chance
14. For The Boys

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Long Gone Before Daylight marks a shift in theme for the Cardigans. Their last album, 1998's Gran Turismo, was a masterpiece. With Peter Svensson's quirky, driving, ultra-modern pop backing Nina Persson's icy dissections of doomed relationships, it was a Love Album informed more by Bret Easton Ellis than any high romance. So catchy, so cool, and so incredibly bleak--exceptional, intelligent pop in the tradition of Soft Cell and ABC. Long Gone Before Daylight, then, comes as something of a shock when the opening "Communication" and "You're the Storm"--both lush and beautiful pop--find Persson struggling for love then, come the Doors-like "And Then You Kissed Me," actually finding it. Real love, too--not the fascinatingly twisted variety of before. It's a terrible shame, for love reduces the Cardigans to the level of other musicians. But then, unpredictable devils, they hit you with "Couldn't Care Less," as Persson loses it all again, in the following "Please Sister" begging for advice, succor, anything. And now you realize; it's a pop-rock opera, the tale of one heart's tortuous and tortured journey through the mill. And it's superb. Persson, the finest pop lyricist working today, is on peak form while the band's back-to-roots grand piano and grander acoustic guitars provide an appropriately magnificent backing. --Dominic Wills

Product Description

NEW Combo BLUWAVS CD and FLAC FILE

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their masterpiece January 14, 2005
Format:Audio CD
The Cardigans hit the big time a few years back with the song 'Lovefool' from Baz Luhrmann's 'Romeo And Juliet' film.

This was after they had released one album 'Life' which was very kitsch and sixties in sound.Their second album 'First Band On The Moon' was also very kitsch and retro but it showed a dark side to the Cardigans on songs such as 'Been It' and a bizarre reinterpretation of Black Sabbath's 'Iron Man'.

Next album 'Gran Turismo' yielded the hits 'Erase/Rewind' and 'Favourite Game' both modern pop masterpieces but overall the album was disappointing as it tried too hard to be the opposite of the first two albums.Too many synthesisers -not enough soul.

Nina Persson (the stunning lead singer with the lovely voice) took a long break after Gran Turismo to explore other forms of music and released the album 'A Camp' under the same moniker.Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse was heavily involved and the album was very lo-fi/alt country with a very weird 'ghostly' quality to it.It was an excellent album as it really showcased the power of Nina Persson's voice on slower numbers that were now devoid of kitsch orchestration or synthesisers.

The Cardigans went into the studio to record their latest album and Peter Svennson was not happy with the results and shelved the whole album.He felt that the new album had been rushed.

Instead the band regrouped for a major rethink and the result was 'Long Gone Before Daylight'.It was the best decision that Svennson ever made.When the album was released it clearly showed a major maturity in the songwriting and also the songs did justice to Nina Persson's wonderful voice.

The album doesn't really have a bad track to speak of.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonley at the Top August 6, 2004
Format:Audio CD
With 'Long Gone Before Daylight" Sweden's Cardigans have finally made a mature, intimate, and dark album. It's hard to say why they chose the pedestrian country-rock backing that they did, but you know what? It works and it works well. Perhaps by stripping their songs of the usual quirky keyboards and extraneous instrumentation they finally found their biggest stregnth- the lyrics and vocals of front woman Nina Persson. On these songs she doesn't sing with the 'I've seen it all' weariness typical of most country tunes. She sings it with a mixture of tenderness, knowingness, and innocence- even lyrics with a darker undertow, such as the "blue, blue black and blue" bridge of "Then You Kissed Me", easily the album's best track. Elsewhere, she tells her doomed lover "c'mon let's drown" in the quiet, haunting "Feathers and Down."

Thus far, many critics have slammed this for being too produced or too bland. Sure, this album is more produced than their previous works, but that certainly does not take away from the stregnth of the songs or the arrangements. And yes, this record may sound derivitave upon first listen, but what the Cardigans have done is made confessional pop songs that actually require your attention. Their sound was always thus- they have never been (and probably never will be) sonic innovators. As 'Long Gone Before Daylight' proves, they have a gift for writing little songs that you'll surely remember long after the fact.

It seems that the Cardigans have great things on the horizon- and what a lonely one it is.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Been Too Long August 1, 2004
By Cherra
Format:Audio CD
I absolutely love this album. I'm a long time Cardigans fan and I had been anxiously awaiting another album ever since Gran Turismo. I really didn't know what to expect from this one, since The Cardigans have developed somewhat of a reputation for changing styles. From the kitsch-pop sound of Emmerdale/Life and First Band on the Moon...to the dark, cold, electronic sounds of Gran Turismo...and now Long Gone Before Daylight.

It's so beautifully done. Their sound has changed in every way...the instruments are more organic, and Nina Persson's voice has gone from the syrupy sweet, high pitched thing we heard on Lovefool to something much deeper and sexier, reminiscent of a lounge singer. The lyrics are even more impressive than the sound. Nina really pours her heart into this one...from the vividly descriptive "You're the Storm", to the hauntingly fantastic "Couldn't Care Less" and "Feathers & Down".

This album is amazing from start to finish. You'll love it more and more each time you listen to it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year 2003 April 30, 2004
Format:Audio CD
I first really noticed The Cardigans one day in my car. I found a channel playing a song, which I thought must be a new Sheryl Crow single. I was very surprised when the DJ announced that it was The Cardigans. I don't remember which song it was, but I knew I had to buy one of their CD's to check out a whole album. At the time the only Cardigan song I knew was "My Favorite Game", and I had thought they were a pure light-weight pop-act.
I chose to buy "Long Before Daylight", and I could not have made a better choice. Great songs, great playing, great productions, fine lyrics and a terrific versatile singer in Nina Persson. This band had really matured since "My Favorite Game". Anyone who likes Sheryl Crow will like this album too.
Opening with the ballad "Communication" the high standards are set right from the start. The up-beat "You're the Storm" is equally strong.
"A Good Horse" could have been the song I mistook for Sheryl Crow.
"The acoustic "And Then You Kissed Me" is simply beautiful - a song that would also suit Lisa Ekdahl.
The airy "Couldn't Care Less" is my least favourite on the album - maybe it needs some more time.
"Please Sister" is another highlight - a little like Roxette; when they're at their best!
The hit-single "For What it's Worth" is simply a catchy pop-tune; and a great one of its kind.
The hymnal quiet ballad "Lead Me into the Night" is another beautiful melody.
The melodic pop-rocker "Live and Learn" is just irresistible. One of my present favourites!
The final two tracks are both lyrically very moving. "Feathers and Downs" is a magnificent ballad. The final track "03.45: No Sleep" is a very logical choice for closing the album; describing strong feelings that may come to you on a sleepless night. Mellow and still very catchy - a highlight!
This album must be "The Album of the Year 2003"!! At least I'll give it my vote!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately Mundane
This album just does not hold my interest or inspire me. I'm a big fan of the Cardigans and Long Gone Before Daylight has a great title and wonderful cover art, but the music is a... Read more
Published 2 months ago by snow47
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of these came with a bonus DVD
FYI, look for the CD+DVD version. This may have been just for the initial copies pressed. The bonus DVD has 3 videos, 3 live performances and an exclusive interview.
Published 3 months ago by Interzone_Records
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cardigans....
I was a major fan of The Cardigans, but honestly, they weren't so great after Gran Turismo. I liked the majority of that album, but post that, I just wasn't a fan. Read more
Published 14 months ago by SpencerO
5.0 out of 5 stars ITS AN INCREIBLE DISC I LOVE IT THEY HAVE A REALY A SPECIAL MIND TO...
ITS AN INCREIBLE DISC I LOVE IT THEY HAVE A REALY A SPECIAL MIND TO CREATE A COMPLETE EMOTION MUSIC
Published 15 months ago by Leopoldo
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites record ever.
I heard this record in 2003 when was released, but on MP3, and I promise to myself that someday I will buy it, and 7 years later... I just did. Read more
Published on December 22, 2011 by Cesar Garcia
5.0 out of 5 stars It gets better and better
The Cardigans aer just like the Beatles starting out with happy jaunty pop songs and evolved into a band that released album after album that got more and more sophisticated. Read more
Published on July 17, 2011 by Ronin
5.0 out of 5 stars A new direction
But a good one.
I was kinda scared of buying this one after hearing the samples because of their new sound. Read more
Published on January 29, 2010 by E. Manzanarez
5.0 out of 5 stars great album
I happened to here your'e the storm from this cd online, its a great tune so i orderd the cd. I was not disappointed.It has six or seven strong tracks. Read more
Published on October 17, 2008 by muzik lover
5.0 out of 5 stars They just do not make albums like this
You could only dream of making an album this good.

One of The Cardigans best skills is re-invention. On this album they became the perfect band with the perfect album. Read more
Published on June 10, 2007 by J. Spice
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most perfect pop album of all time.
I don't usually write reviews, but this album is so outstanding that I couldn't hold back. Some complain that Long Gone Before Daylight doesn't sound like the Cardigans they are... Read more
Published on March 21, 2007 by Dr. St.Clair
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xa4694d5c)

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category