Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark my words, The Chariot will become the next Botch or Dillenger Esc Plan
This album rules. I mean, completely owns. 5/5 stars. I have been a long time The Chariot fan but I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into when I picked up Long Live. Although much of the "Christian" heavy music scene has fallen out of favor with me in recent years, Long Live is definitely my album of the year.

The musicianship of Long Live is amazing...
Published on February 9, 2011 by James Hershey

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars chaotic, discordant music
There are certain bands that, by their very nature, provoke a strong reaction. People either love them or hate them - there is no middle ground. If you like chaotic, discordant music, then keep on reading.

Josh Scogin was originally in Norma Jean, but left in 2003 and reappeared in The Chariot. They have since released `Everything Is Alive, Everything Is...
Published on February 6, 2012 by P J Willoughby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark my words, The Chariot will become the next Botch or Dillenger Esc Plan, February 9, 2011
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
This album rules. I mean, completely owns. 5/5 stars. I have been a long time The Chariot fan but I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into when I picked up Long Live. Although much of the "Christian" heavy music scene has fallen out of favor with me in recent years, Long Live is definitely my album of the year.

The musicianship of Long Live is amazing. Years of constant lineup changes has "weeded out" the members that don't belong creating the tightest lineup that the band has had yet. The guitar work is much more technical and melodic as well as just flat-out heavy. This album shows a definite punk rock influence musically with some bizarre Rage Against The Machine-inspired riffs thrown in there for good measure. There are a couple of pretty straightforward breakdowns that overstay their welcome but for the most part the musicianship is sweet. Also, as always, they incorporate some interesting instruments and samples that will totally catch you off guard, but I don't want to spoil it for you. At times strangely beautiful, always abrasive, and always immense, The Chariot approach songwriting with a level of impulsiveness and creativity unheard of elsewhere in the hardcore scene. The album art also reminds me of the old-school d.i.y. punk aesthetic (which I love).

Josh Scogin's vocals are great. After a decade of screaming, Josh's voice is now much more refined that back in the days when he was in that-band-that-shall-not-be-named. His voice has a really good tone and is much more high-end then on previous albums. Manic, passionate, and always unpredictable, Josh pours his heart and soul into every word. Lyrically, the writing is on par for a The Chariot album. This is by no means a bad thing. On this album Josh ties in several lyrical themes from other albums which i feel creates a sense of continuity. Although at times a bit too esoteric for my taste, it still remains some of the best songwriting of Josh Scogin's career.

Bottom line: The Chariot rules, and with Long Live, they have once again proven that they can transcend the stigma of being labeled Christian Metalcore. The Chariot is definitely in the same league as "secular" bands such as Botch, Converge, and The Dillinger Escape Plan and I wouldn't be surprised if future generations of Hardcore kids will look back on Long Live as a "gamechanger". Where others may dismiss it as self-congratulatory b.s., I see Long Live as a glimpse of a future musical revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing...yet again., December 19, 2010
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
The Chariot is the Rocky Horror Picture Show or Clockwork Orange of heavy music. dark, intense, creative and complicated. they are absolutely a cult band. not everyone will enjoy, understand or appreciate them. their ideas are abstract. they're lyrics are unconventional. they're instrumentals are chaotic yet somewhat simple. whatever genre of heavy music you listen to, they do not fit into. and their personal identities are of no importance as they change members with every release.

But...they know all of these things and thrive off of them. they know exactly who they are and what they are capable of. and this cd proves that they are capable of pure insanity...structured with complicated time signatures, a mixture of complex riffs and odd chord combinations, josh scogin's heartfelt deep and unconventional lyrics delivered through intense screams, and little intricacies that decorate every record with a unique touch that they obviously spent time creating.

with Long Live the chaos continues and only gets more chaotic as they up the anti with a more refined grasp on concepts that they only dabbled in on Wars. they have definitely evolved since Everything, and they have left The Fiancee to be its own fantastic piece (as it should be) and have graduated to a new sound that is pretty much Wars turned up about 10 notches.

bottom line, this cd owns like all of their others. The Fiancee is my fav but i honestly think they are all equal to each other. all are intense, layered with intricate musicianship, and capable of pulling more emotions out of you than anything this heavy should. if you don't like The Chariot, congrats, you are part of about 90% of the population who doesn't. but if you appreciate what they do, then you know how talented they truly are. Long Live simply enforces that talent. with 4 solid albums, 1 solid ep, and a live performance that is rivaled by no other...The Chariot is top tier. they transcend genres. they are not a rock band. they are not a christian band. they are not a metal band. they are not a hardcore band. they are not a punk band. they are simply...a great band...and they continue to surprise me with consistency that everyone wants to see from whoever their favorite bands are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Good... Almost Can't Believe HOW Good, December 4, 2010
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
With "Long Live" this band has proven that they are through and through, brilliant, honest musicians. The lyrics are beautiful, the performance is inspired and the songs themselves are absolute gems. I'd say this album falls more in line with "Wars and Rumors of Wars" but is actually more melodic than anything "The Chariot" has released yet. Bits definitely remind me of Norma Jean's "Bless the Martyr, Kiss the Child" but... this is just more catchy as a whole.

The craziest thing about this album is that it's actually CHALLENGING in all of the right ways. It takes serious focus to stay on track with these guys... but when you're all on the same page, it's like an out of body experience. The fact that the language is clean, arresting and diverse is another credit to the creative ability of excellent Christian musicians. My final thoughts? This is one of the top 5 albums of 2010, and an absolute must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swing low sweet chariot, February 13, 2011
This review is from: Long Live (MP3 Music)
if you have even a slight interest in these guys, do yourself a favor and indulge in some raw, thrashy, southern goodness that is The Chariot. what a breath of fresh air this album is for a dying genre of music. it will completely satisfy that urge that Norma Jean and Vanna have let you down with, with their most recent releases. the Chariot have recorded this album raw and live, much like their initial release, and yes, you can expect an in-your-face delivery by Josh Scogin and co. I specifically like the raw feel of this whole album that doesnt stretch to impress or get away from what makes the Chariot great. It just sounds meaningful and has the most humble of approaches in my opinion. give Long Live a shot, and be prepared for a fun ride that truly will not disappoint. Atlanta will rejoice in union :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Experience., November 23, 2010
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
Finally released and definitely worth the wait. They seem to improve with each release, this time incorporating everything from a harp solo to faint signs of an electronic element that they seemed to so defiantly avoid in the past. They're just doing everything right. A ray of sunshine in a cloudy sky.

"We can't step away from the ocean just because the waves are thick. On we press."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is fantastic, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
I don't know why I didn't get this album when it first came out. But, I didn't, and I missed out. This album is one of my favorites from The Chariot. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Band, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Live (MP3 Music)
This is seriously my favorite band. I have been listening to this album alone for two weeks straight. yup yup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what!, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Long Live (MP3 Music)
This record is so good I actually laughed in amazement! Super-original use of samples and hand clap type rhythms. Do yourself a favor, save the money you were going to spend on every other download or CD this year and pick up Long Live. You don't need anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars chaotic, discordant music, February 6, 2012
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
There are certain bands that, by their very nature, provoke a strong reaction. People either love them or hate them - there is no middle ground. If you like chaotic, discordant music, then keep on reading.

Josh Scogin was originally in Norma Jean, but left in 2003 and reappeared in The Chariot. They have since released `Everything Is Alive, Everything Is Breathing, Nothing Is Dead And Nothing Is Bleeding' (2005), `The Fiancée' (2007), `Wars And Rumors Of Wars' (2009) and `Long Live' (Nov 2010). The line-up has also seen numerous changes and now consists of Josh Scogin (lead vocals), Stephen Harrison (guitar & backup vocals), Jon Terrey (guitar & backup vocals), Jon "KC Wolf" Kindler (bass & backup vocals) and David Kennedy (drums).

There is nothing like making an opening statement, The Chariot make theirs through ear-bleedingly loud feedback and maniacal screaming "Disappointed, I know you are". The feedback continues into `The Audience'.

`Calvin Makenzie' settles down into a more conventional song structure, only to throw in a curve ball ending with intersections of a 1950's show-tune about Atlanta. Whereas `The City' wears its heart on its sleeve with "May the history book read of all of our names / be it blood / be it ink / but at least we were free / This only but a fraction of what I got to say / It must be said / If I leave this earth tonight may it be said that I spoke my peace / I spoke with the wrath of His grace / Calm rose / Come violent wind / Oh we stand hand in hand and we walk without fear / THIS IS A REVOLUTION!" before dying back into clear vocal harmonies.

There are plenty of time changes in `The Earth'. It starts out hell-for-leather, throws in slow doomy riffing, back to hardcore clanging and then shredding in the final seconds. All their ideas are combined within the eclectic `David De La Hoz'. It starts in typical Chariot style before pulling back for some prophetic redneck ranting by Dan Smith of Listener. The crushing riffs and screamed/screeched vocal return before making way for angelic female vocals, piano, glockenspiel, accordion and their piece-de-resistance, harp by Timbre Cierpke.

The sheer brilliance of `David De La Hoz' overshadows the next couple of tracks. Finally, there is `The King' with its drumstick count-in. It sounds as if it was recorded live, rather than having each instrument separately tracked and then mixed together. Halfway through the instruments pull back leaving a long percussive section, before shortly overwhelming it with guitar and a long fade-out of electronic hum. I was expecting something more epic and it seems to end with a whimper (rather than a bang).

Their divisive style has been felt in their ratings which, on several sites, have gradually declined with each successive release. Whether this 30 minute album reverses the trend remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Of course it's great, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Live the Chariot (Audio CD)
It's The Chariot. Of course it's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Long Live
Long Live by The Chariot
Buy MP3 Album$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.