Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Long Metal Shoe Horn 18" Stainless Steel by Tacco
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$11.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 4, 2013
Exactly what I wanted. It is worth the extra few dollars to get thin metal that will not break! Will buy another soon. Update: It easily bent when I was having trouble getting a shoe on. Not a big deal except for the crinkled look. Lesson learned is to keep the correct vertical angle of the horn and do not force the foot down into it expecting it to slide out of the way, because it won't move, instead it will bend.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
My wife as an orthodic called an ALO. It goes inside her shoe and then up the back of her leg to just below the knee. Her foot goes into the orthodic.
It would be virtually impossible for her to get her shoe on without this shoehorn. It is narrow, long, and very heavy duty. Virtually anyone who has trouble bending to gt a shoe on their foot would benefit from this item. It does the job it is intended to do, should last forever, and is reasonably priced.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
It bends very easily when putting on boots. It should have been made from a "spring tempered" stainless steel. The stainless steel is soft.
It should work fine for shoes, The length is just right to use sitting down. It is well made and appears to be chrome plated. It certainly will never rust.
It came promptly and nicely packaged.
The manufacturer got everything right except for the soft steel.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
As a recently joined member of the disabled, I needed a long shoehorn to make dressing myself easier. I ordered this item, and it seems to be okay-ish. The business end has a series of VERY sharp metal burrs left over from the stamping process - something that I will be able to correct, since I have a complete metal shop at my disposal, but should not have to do - this should have been caught in quality control.

This could prove to be injurious to someone who has lessened sensation in their feet, or who does not check this item before using it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
This is for a person who has partial paralysis in the left arm and leg and wears a leg brace, this helps her get her left boot on with ease, works great, it's made of stiff metal and does not flex.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
I got this shoe horn for my boyfriend for Christmas.
He is VERY HAPPY with it!
What sets this shoe horn apart from others is that this full-length shoe horn is SOLID steel and does not have an articulating spring (supposedly to help get the shoe one).
The shoe horns with springs are useless to my friend because he really has to work to get his high-arched feet into his shoes/boots.
With this shoe horn, it's sort of like a straight shot for the heel of the foot to slide into the shoe/boot.
Therefore, if you're looking for a simple, great shoehorn, this is the one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
I had been given a shoe horn very similar to this one but plastic by my foot Dr.
It was great but snapped one day. This one works as well or better and is bullet proof.
If you have issues putting on shoes you want this shoe horn. I may buy another as a trave / backup.
Very good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
Purchased this for my spouse who absolutely loves it. Due to hip & knee replacement he has so much difficulty getting his shoes on. He's tried the shorter ones but the man is too tall. Still couldn't reach with them. So this metal (so much better than plastic~from hospital) is great. He will get a lot of use for this assistive device. Just as described. Highly recommend to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
This product is great for 99% of all users who may need fast insertion of a foot into most any kind of shoe or boot. Unlike some primarily senior assistive long shoehorns, this one is not so long as to be annoying if you are seated or squatting or built of just plain compact stature. The ultra long ones are nice till you try to store, hang, or use them except standing bolt upright. The smaller 8" jobs are usually made of feeble plastics or thin imported wood and crack after you step down seriously one time. This one is a generally unbreakable steel unit that's curved in two directions so it fits easily underfoot, and it's polished off enough so that it slides without snagging the shoe liner or your socks. The top corner is bent over so you can hang it over some slender bar (less than 1" diameter) or any edge of less than about 3/4" thickness. There is a 3/16" hole punched through the top lip so you can string it up to spare laces or rubber band etc. and have the shoehorn handy always. This product is an excellent design and value. My only comment for improvement might be to add some rubbery coating over the top 3" of the shoehorn to make it more friendly feeling in the hand. But this would not make the device function any better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
Works very well for putting on my boots. It bent the first time I used it, but it's still functional. It could be sturdier.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.