Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looking forward to the next one
a very good read.even though i didn't know what to expect, i liked the author so i gave it a shot. i really enjoyed the book. it kinda was like a sci-fi version of the a-team.
Published 21 months ago by Michael J. Scott

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read, has potential, but definitely needs work
Overall, the storyline in this book is good. It has tons of potential, but needs tons of polishing in order to rate a 4 or 5-star rating. I like the concept of the storyline; it's not your typical retired-military-fighting-the-establishment that you tend to find in sci-fi.

But why does this book only rate as a 3-star for me? Well, for starters, there's...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read, has potential, but definitely needs work, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
Overall, the storyline in this book is good. It has tons of potential, but needs tons of polishing in order to rate a 4 or 5-star rating. I like the concept of the storyline; it's not your typical retired-military-fighting-the-establishment that you tend to find in sci-fi.

But why does this book only rate as a 3-star for me? Well, for starters, there's little to no character development or backstory. The characters are entirely two-dimensional. The main character, the leader of this motly group of former military folks, is crafted like a whiny, petulant, and always irritated teenager. For that matter, pretty much everyone is this way--always getting mad, always irritated and, bluntly, bitchy. This leader, always getting mad at his "friends" is not a leader. A true leader realizes that mistakes happen, people won't always agree or do what he or she believes they should do. Real leaders acknowledge this and plan and/or adapt and overcome these issues. This leader in this story? Nope. At one point in the story, the leader, as the author tells it, realizes he has to learn to follow orders whether or not he likes it. Um hello? He's former military, everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, who's ever served in the military, be they the lowliest private or a 4-star (in rare instances 5-star) generals, have been subordinate to someone higher in rank themselves and have followed orders. It's as if, according to the author, this is an entirely new concept to this leader.

As for the military style tactics, the author obviously doesn't know one iota about tactics nor has he done any research on them. When the characters invade the home of a rival crime lord, the first guy in clears the room and then anchors the end of the rope so the others can rope into the room. Not bad so far. But the next person in, the second-in-command, gets in the room and clears the room again according to the author "...she raised the infrared scope of her rifle and began scanning the room. Russel would have already done this, but it couldn't hurt to do it again." Let's think about this...if the room had been occupied, Russel would have had to taken them out, causing at least SOME noise and then he'd have reported the contact immediately. Not only that, but after he'd cleared the room, he'd have reported the room as "clear" over their tacnet radios. And even in the instance where someone caught him unaware as he was holding the rope, would he sit there and NOT report that or give some indication, such as releasing the rope or whatnot, to inform his fellows, all the while letting the guards keep their guns on him? No. Any believable scenario would have him alerting his friends, firing on the guards or the guards raising an alarm. The book is rife with tactical inaccuracies.

As far as the abilities of this group goes, the leader, Aaron, is originally told his ability is being an empath. The author does not know what an empath is because nowhere in the story does he use any ability associated with being empathetic. Instead, the author adds in that he has the entire human knowledge base downloaded into his head. THAT'S his ability, and that's not being an empath.

Like virtually all self-published books, this one had it's share of grammatical and spelling errors. Not too bad, but definitely noticeable. This series has definite potential if the author spends some time fine-tuning the storyline and working on character development. Will I buy the next book in the series? Maybe. Would I recommend it? Probably not, unless the person doesn't mind a perpetually bitchy cast of characters and terrible military description and tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looking forward to the next one, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
a very good read.even though i didn't know what to expect, i liked the author so i gave it a shot. i really enjoyed the book. it kinda was like a sci-fi version of the a-team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Author unfamiliar with Sci-Fi terms, March 23, 2013
By 
Harmony "harmonize" (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
This author is unfamiliar with some basic Sci-Fi terms. For some reason he uses the word "cyborg" to describe the characters. Cyborg typically means a combination of orgainic and synthetic parts. Star Trek's the Borg with man/machine combined would be a good example. Instead the characters have what would be considered paranormal abilities i.e. mind reading, telekinetics, etc.

I also agree with another reviewer that the author was unfamiliar with military mindset. Aaron, the leader, was unfamiliar with taking orders, but fell into working for a crime lord way too easily. Should have skipped straight to the rescue job without a lot of the time wasted or found another transition job. Aaron also had anger issues, borderline PTSD, but didn't really reconize it or deal with it. The problem just sort of hangs there.

I still liked the book ok and will buy the next book, but the author needs an editor who is into military Sci-Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun quick read, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
Starts off so fast youre not sure whats going on, and the explanation of why is terse and wanting. Once you resolve yourself to just go with the flow, its a fast paced adventure that moves quickly from action to action. The writing is good but it does have a few, not quite cringe worthy novice passages. An enjoyable read and I'm looking forward to the continuing adventures of this newly formed crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good effort, but poorly edited, April 17, 2013
By 
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book of a (coming?) series, and does a good job of setting things up for what promises to be a lot of coming fun. Unfortunately, the editing was done by someone who doesn't understand English idioms and homophones. I had a lot of trouble getting over these problems and would have enjoyed the book much more had just a little more quality been invested in the editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
If you liked Firefly you will like this book. I is the same basic plot with some interesting twists. I liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a little bit of firefly, mixed with starwars, and a dash of starship troopers., March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
This independent author has another hit on his hands here. Heroes you can like, and a engaging plot. Worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot and when the story lines I enjoy dry up I try a few new ones. this was a good to great one. I enjoyed the start since this was a new beginning for the main characters. Will purchase book two to continue the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
A solid adventure/space opera that takes 5 ex-military personnel who have been used as labratory experiments in a military enhancement program, from an escape to new lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, February 6, 2014
By 
Steven J Oliphant (Middlebury, VT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Long Shot: A Remnant of the Commonwealth, Book One (Kindle Edition)
This is my first book by this author. I enjoyed it very much and I found the characters interesting and the plotline moved right along and kept my interest. I have already purchased the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.