Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$9.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
Jeff Lynne's true appreciation of classic songs is probably well known and I've enjoyed some of his renditions on previous albums, but the interpretations he delivers on Long Wave plus the pristine sound quality really blew me away.

Frankly, I ordered the album despite what appeared to be a somewhat cheesy playlist because I love Jeff's work and wouldn't miss a rare Jeff Lynne release of any sort. Honestly, the inclusion of "Love is a Many Splendored Thing" left me thinking I'd just skip that track when I came to it, but I did listen to it and I'm better off for it. Jeff nailed it and I apologize unreservedly for thinking I wouldn't enjoy it. But then, he nailed all the songs on the album and most are true gems.

Nothing ground breaking here, just a top pro giving his take on some great songs. And with Jeff Lynne these songs are in good hands.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
If you love ELO, Jeff Lynne and the old classic standards, you can't help but enjoy this album.

Not a clunker or fill material on this album, but here are the standout tracks:

1. Running Scared: Roy Orbison would be proud.
2. Smile: Not hard to do when listing to this song.
3. At Last: Rich and lovely orchestration.
4. Beyond the Sea: This version is as good as the Carnival cruise commercial version. It makes me want to travel to the beach.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2012
Jeff Lynne delivered a 1-2 punch this month with Mr Blue Sky: The Very Best, his collection of Electric Light Orchestra remakes, and this, his first solo album since 1990's excellent Armchair Theatre. To say that this dedicated ELO/Jeff Lynne fan was disappointed would be an understatement. Over the years I've come to expect much from Lynne whether it was another in the string of solid ELO albums released between 1972 and 1986 or his numerous production gigs for George Harrison, Tom Petty, Paul McCartney, Julianna Raye, and `90s super-group The Traveling Wilburys (of which Lynne was a member). For me the ELO remakes on "Mr. Blue Sky" may benefit slightly from advances in recording technology but none of the one-man band performances measure up to the originals and "Long Wave" just doesn't measure up to "Armchair Theatre" or the majority of Lynne's post-ELO production outings.

On this effort Lynne turns to some of his musical roots: classic standards which his parents listened to during his youth and several early rock classics. Lynne had covered two standards on 1990s "Armchair Theatre" - "Stormy Weather" and "September Song" - and each was given a rich, detailed arrangement and production. "Stormy Weather" even boasted a nice string chart with real strings. On "Long Wave" more than half of the songs could be classified as standards and while the collection starts out with the stunning cover of "She" (those harmonies brought a big smile to this face), the production style gets stale fairly quickly as there is little variety in terms of the arrangements for "If I Loved You", "Smile", "Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered", and "Love is a Many Splendored Thing". It's similar to the style used for the standards on "Armchair" but without the attention to detail that made those two tracks so enjoyable. Also the two tracks on "Armchair" were surrounded by a variety of styles and approaches, a variety which is sadly lacking on "Long Wave". I also am beginning to side with those folks who have long criticized Jeff's piece-meal approach to recording/playing drums. It is getting old and on several tracks ("If I Loved You" being the worst offender), the drums sound like they're just plodding along. I think many of these tracks would have benefitted had Jeff called in one of the many drummers he's worked with in the past: perhaps Wilbury's drummer Jim Keltner or Ringo Starr who even performed on Jeff's last "ELO" outing: Zoom.

There are also the early rock tracks - some, such as "So Sad", are better than others BUT I wish Jeff had gone a bit deeper on all of them to make them his own. "Running Scared" is a fairly straight cover of fellow-Wilbury Roy Orbinson's classic single. The arrangement very closely resembles that of Orbison's and I feel it would have been a stronger tribute to Roy if Jeff had brought something more of himself to the recording. The cover of Chuck Berry's "Let It Rock" is the only number on this release where Jeff really opens things up (everything else is slow or mid-tempo) but at less than 2 minutes you feel it has hardly begun before it abruptly ends. Jeff Lynne is the man who arranged a 7+ minute version of Berry's "Roll Over Beethoven" in the early `70s and he couldn't stretch this one out to even two minutes? No, we don't need a 7-minute version but wouldn't it have been nice to get a Richard Tandy piano solo or Jeff on an extended guitar solo?

And, of course, my last complaint is the strings. I know Jeff grew tired of strings during the final years of ELO BUT if you're going to include strings in the arrangement at least use real strings. Synth-strings sound thin and cheesy and take away from the quality of the recording. Several of these numbers might have benefitted from the rich, warm, and organic sound of real strings.

Bottom line? None of it is bad. In fact "She", "So Sad", "At Last", and a few others make the outing a must-hear for ELO/Jeff Lynne fans. But the lack of variety in terms of song-style, production, and arrangements makes this 27 minute CD seem much longer than it actually is. As a Jeff Lynne/ELO completest this collection will remain in my collection and get pulled out on occassion, however it is not one of those ELO/Lynne recordings that I couldn't stop listening to for weeks and weeks upon initial release. I'm hopeful that his new collection of originals (rumored for release in 2013) will mark a return to form.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2012
Simply put, this is greatness by an incredible gifted MUSICIAN. It is very unfortuneate that creativity of this caliber does not exsist any longer. What a relief it is to experience something new in music that can stir the soul, you just can't listen to radio any more without being bombarded by a load of mindless drible! Really can't understand why anyone would give this a poor review, oh well if you don't get it it's your loss. Thanks Jeff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
Jeff Lynne proves that nostalgia doesn't always have to be cheesy and manipulative. This album will make Rod Stewart think twice before doing another one of those ill-advised American Songbook "products". I won't go on too much, but give this record a listen. You'll hear a gifted artist paying a heartfelt, loving tribute to the songs that helped nurture him,before rock and roll totally took over.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Unlike Rod Stewart's never ending great American Songbook drivel and even Sir Paul's horrible retro jazz standard disaster...Jeff Lynne challenges the late great Harry Nilsson who's Little Touch of Schmilsson in the Night was so far ahead of its time in concept and execution that it still stands head and shoulders above the rest.

For me the beauty of this project besides the obvious very eclectic song choice is the fact that Mr Lynne chose to treat these tunes as though they were ELO songs in his production and performance and so they become fresh to my ears and an absolute delight. The problem with Macca is that he chose to use seasoned Jazz and Pop support and really just ad his voice to well worn sounding arrangements and frankly his voice pales in comparison to the Jazz and Pop greats that came before him. Mr Lynne treats these standards with love and his normal ELO flair and they just bring joy and smiles. I can't pick a favorite they are all splendid in their own way and if I may say so he does the impossible for me on "Love Is A Many Splendid Thing" which is to make a song I've never liked...quite a fun romp. With nods to Richard Rogers, The Everly Brothers, Roy Orbison , Chuck Berry, Bobby Darin and even Charlie Chaplin...this is going to be an evergreen in my substantial collection..

HIGHLY recommended.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2012
Yes, the songs are short, as is the whole album. Both are certainly disappointing. Then again, Armchair Theatre couldn't have been more than 35 or 37 minutes; maybe it's just his preferred style.

This is same old Jeff Lynne crooning above well-crafted musical arrangements. After waiting 22 years since Armchair Theatre for another Jeff Lynne solo album, I am enjoying this album. "She" is one of the most beautiful songs I have heard in a while.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2012
This album is everything that McCartney's Kisses On The Bottom isn't, that is, tuneful & engaging & a very suitable take on some old classics. Nice balance of polished arrangements & performances without being too sterile or lifeless. An excellent addition to a magnificent catalogue, I don't think too many people would be disappointed with this. Re the short running time: apparently the Japanese version contains an extra track which is a version of an old Del Shannon number.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Jeff Lynne is best known as the co-founder, leader, composer, and producer of Electric Light Orchestra, but he was also a Traveling Wilbury with Bob Dylan, George Harrison, Roy Orbison, and Tom Petty. He's a talented and well-respected musician, writing, arranging, singing, and playing most of the instruments (guitars, bass, keyboards, drums) on his solo releases, the last of which, "Armchair Theatre," came out long ago in 1980. And he's produced albums for the individual Wilburys as well as Dave Edmunds, Del Shannon, Brian Wilson, and more.

Props aside, this restrospective tribute to Lynne's 1950s childhood in Birmingham, England, when he tuned in to popular music on his father's long wave radio, is unfortunately less than rewarding. It's a lackluster collection of covers that's not varied enough to deserve many replays and that's too short to deserve 10 of your hard-earned dollars. The music is competently executed, Lynne is in good voice, and the songs he's chosen are chestnuts of long standing, so the strength of the material isn't the problem. But there are at least three critical failures that keep me from recommending "Long Wave."

The first drawback is a lethargic pace. Nearly all of the tracks have the same tempo, a plodding meter that robs the album of momentum. Second is the issue of brevity, since the ten cuts clock in at a mere 24 minutes, and the final "bonus" track brings the whole program to just over 27 minutes, which is not much more than an EP's worth of music. This seems a waste, not to mention a poor value, when you consider that 80 minutes can fit on a CD. My third complaint is that most of the songs have been given the ELO treatment, which some fans may never tire of, but which had me begging for a little variety after several tracks.

My favorite tune is the first one: a loving rendition of Charles Aznavour's "She," which is not so frequently performed. It's followed by two similarly slow, sentimental songs, "If I Loved You" from the Rogers and Hammerstein musical "Carousel," and "So Sad (to Watch Good Love Go Bad)" by the Everly Brothers. Don Covay's "Mercy, Mercy" is mercifully a bit more uptempo, but it's been more distinctively covered by the Stones, the Wailers, Wilson Pickett, and others.

The Roy Orbison aria "Running Scared," pretty much a carbon copy of the original, is succeeded by another Broadway show tune: "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered" from the Rodgers and Hart musical "Pal Joey." It's played far too slowly, as is Charlie Chaplin's "Smile," which is given an odd, loping rhythm that would better suit a cowboy ballad. Two sluggish numbers ensue: "At Last," closely identified with the late great Etta James, to whom Lynne simply can't compare, and "Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing," from the 1955 movie of the same name. The Four Aces took this schmaltzy song to number one on the charts.

On track 10, Lynne finally revs the engine for Chuck Berry's "Let It Rock," but it lacks the raw energy of the original. Bobby Darin's "Beyond the Sea" wraps up the album with an ELO-style guitar solo. Alas, despite the inclusion of some classic melodies, "Long Wave" is a pleasant but forgettable exercise in nostalgia (as is the other CD that Lynne is releasing this year, "Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra," which contains one-man-band remakes of the group's hits). If you feel like reminiscing, go for it, but there are far worthier musical discoveries to be made.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2012
Right upfront I'll say that I'm with many people who say they would have preferred a newly penned Jeff/ELO album. Having said that, this album is solid. Jeff really makes these songs his own and in many cases where I didn't know the original, he makes me believe that he wrote the song. I'm enjoying listening to Long Wave right along side the Mr. Blue Sky album of newly recording ELO classics. Where Long Wave falls down slightly is that many of the songs are at the same slower pace and could use some more rockers. Also at a length of 27 minutes, the album is too short. I'm not a believer that we need to make albums 70-80 minutes to take advantage of a cd's capacity, but I do feel that the right length is somewhere between 30-40 minutes and that this length is condusive to repeat listening.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Zoom by E.L.O. (Audio CD - 2013)

Armchair Theatre
Armchair Theatre by Jeff Lynne (Audio CD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.