Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2010
From the moment I first laid eyes on this watch four years ago, I became fascinated by it. At the time, my knowledge of watches, watchmaking, movements and brands was limited, and it was amazing to me that anyone had figured out how to construct a mechanical device capable of providing all these features at once. Intuitively, the watch represented something about human ingenuity - what can't human beings make if they apply their intellect to solving a problem? I mean, this watch didn't have a battery! It was powered by the movement of your wrist, and could somehow give you an indication of the day, date, month, hours, minutes, was a stop-watch, and gave you the phases of the moon. That's more than most quartz or battery operated watches ever do.

Since that time, I've done a considerable amount of research, mostly through the internet and a number of excellent sites dedicated to watches and watchmaking, and have come to understand a considerable bit more about automatic movements etc. And of course, I came to realize that "complications" such as seen in this model are relatively commonplace in the automatic watchmaking industry, and that the movement inside this beautiful little marvel is actually an old, almost unremarkable chronograph movement that is also quite ubiquitous. I mean, almost every brand uses some version of it and it's not all that complicated as movements go... So I know what you're thinking. You're thinking, "ah, he realized it wasn't all the special after all and decided to move on."

And you'd be wrong. This is a beautiful watch, and the fact that the base movement of the piece is based on the widely used and somewhat unglamourous ETA 7750 valjoux movement only increases my appreciation for the little miracle. This movement is everywhere because it's robust, reliable, and pretty good value for money. Nearly every Luxury Swiss brand has a model employing this movement, meaning that you can find it in watches costing from ten thousand US to less than a thousand. Allegedly designed in 1974, the other good news about this remarkable little workhorse is that it's wide availability means that you will likely always be able to find parts to repair it should your own timepiece need repair at some point in the distant future. But it's such a robust little soldier it's probably unlikely.

This particular model is by Longines, which is probably considered a "mid-range" luxury Swiss brand. These lables mean little to me, as I tend to buy whatever watches appeal to me on some emotonal level, irrespective of the "prestige" third parties might associate with it. Longines itself is a brand I do like however, due to the fact that I associate it with understated class. The watch is from Longines' Master Collection, and is a beautiful round case of 40 mm stainless steel with saphire crystal at the top and also at the back, through which you can observe some of the operations of the miraculous little engine that drives all the information available on the face of the piece.

From pictures, someone might be tempted to think the dial is too busy, with too many numbers and too much information, and that it would be difficult to read the time. It's amazing how pictures can mislead. This watch is absolutely clear to read on the wrist and takes no longer than any other piece to understand. The beautiful blue steel sword hands are perfectly balanced and nearly all are at the right length, although the minute hand could have been extended by a milimeter or two for aesthetic reasons. The watch case is perfectly round and very polished stainless steel, with a slightly domed saphire crystal that provides amazing clarity and little reflection. The dial of the watch is a study in intricacy, with what Longines calls a "barleycorn" pattern, but which looks like rows and rows of waves connected back to back. Together with the contrast of the sub-dials for the chronograph and other functions, the dial is a striking work of art that represents a perfect balance between the need to convey information and beautiful watch design.

The watch is fully automatic, meaning that it is powered by the movement of the wrist, but like most automatics, should be wound 30-40 times before being worn for the first time or if allowed to wind down for a while. All the functions are powered in this way, so that the day, date, phases of the moon, chronograph (stop-watch for Americans), 24hr and month functions all turn on and depend on the energy stored up in the escapment (the heart of the watch - an incredibly thin wire-coil, wound inside the watch that powers the movement). Bottom line, once you wind the watch and put it on and wear it, everything works automatically without having to think about it.

The chronograph measures time in increments of seconds, minutes, and hours. The chronograph second hand is located at the center of the watch while the main second hand for the time is located at the sub-dial at 9 o'clock. The watch has a 24hr indicator, meaning that the watch indicates whether it is 10am or 22pm. The day and month indicators are in the sub-dial located at 12 o'clock and are easy to read, while the date is indicated by a hand on the watch with a quarter moon at the end of it. The hands of the watch are all a highly polished, beautiful blue steel which are very striking in light. Despite its many functions, the watch is easy to set and can be ready to go out of the box in under five minutes.

This watch is the perfect weight and size. At 40mm, this watch will fit most men except the truly dimunitive in stature, and has a decent height. It will fit perfectly under a sleeve collar, but is robust enough in profile to give the impression of being both classic and sporting all at once, which is the purpose of a chronograph like this. (You wear a chrono for a sportive, slightly more energetic effect, but the lines of the watch itself can be very rugged, or rather classic and understated as with this piece.)

Although offered with a stainless steel bracelet, the best version of this watch is on the brown alligator strap with luxury triple folding clasp, as pictured. The advantages are two-fold. First, on the bracelet, the watch will be somewhat heavier, though not difficult by any means for people who are used to wearing quality watches on bracelets. But from an aesthetic point of view, the strap is just also far more beatiful, giving the watch that extra degree of refinement a serious or executive timepiece should have. On the brown strap, the watch is perfect for business attire and looks at home in the conference room or office. I think a steel bracelet is a waste of time with this to be honest.

As I hinted at above, the movement itself is quite impressive, with deadly accuracy and an admirably stubborn resistance to variations in performance due to overnight positioning. (The accuracy of many automatic watches is often affected by the position in which they are laid to rest at night. Depending on whether a watch is placed on its side, crown-up or down, or face down or face up, it can speed up or slow down noticeably.) Despite being placed in several different positions, my own model showed little actual variation in accuracy.

If I have any minor complaints about the watch, it is that Longines did not see it fit to include any superluminova (the cool usually green, blue or white stuff on watch hands and faces that glows at night) on the hands or indices. This means that the watch isn't always the best suited piece for use at night, although this is not a major problem in practical terms. But it is also probably a little impractical to have it. Something would have had to have been sacrificed, and the dial of the watch is quite beautiful as is. The alligator leather used for the strap is actually slightly stiff, and may take some getting used to if the wearer is used to softer leather. It took a few days for the strap to properly "hug" my wrist. However this is actually a plus for the model, since the tougher, stronger leather will mean that the strap will last a little longer than the porous, soft leather found in other models.

I love this watch. When I first saw it four years ago, I did not buy it as I became fascinated by other models that drew me away from it before I could purchase. As time went on, I tried to ignore it and told myself other pieces held more interest, but on every occasion I would pass a Longines dealer, I would find myself at the window, staring, staring, or actually walking in, asking to try it on. And that's how you know a watch will be a keeper; you see it and it takes your fancy, and you try to forget it, but you can't. Years pass, and some mystical bond between you and machine strengthens, and it calls out to you plaintively from the display cases of bemused dealers. After several years, I knew I genuinely liked it, and knew I had to buy it at last. Since I got it a month ago, I've worn nothing else since. If you like watches, want a classic swiss automatic with great features, a robust movement from a great luxury brand that isn't too ostentatious and will also paradoxically provide some real value for money, this is the watch for you.
1010 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
I purchased a Longines Master Collection men's watch in 2007. Since then, the watch stopped working four times because dirt is getting in the mechanism because of a defective cover or seal design. The watch stopped working in 2010 and required about $400 repair because "dust and dirt had collected in the mechanism and needed cleaning". The watch stopped to work for the same reason in 2011 and 2012 again, and required each time repairs costing around $400. When it stopped to work again in Nov 2013, i contacted Swatch Group (Longines' parent company), sent the watch to them for inspection, and suggested that the watch is obviously defective, that something must be wrong with the design of the cover or the seal allowing dust or dirt to get in the mechanism requiring expensive repairs once a year. In response, Swatch Group sent me a bill totaling $438.00, failing to even mention that dirt had again collected in the watch mechanism. When i protested in writing, Swatch Group offered a 15% discount on the repair bill, still not acknowledging the defective seal or cover. In essence, Swatch Group has refused to take responsibility for a defective product.
44 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2011
If you are looking for a watch that looks like a million, but costs thousands. Has about as many complications that you can fit into 40.0 mm, can wear with Jeans or a Suit, then this is the watch. It is easy to use. Figuring out the Moon phase is easy. It is really a beauty, better than the internet pics on Amazon. I love these new leather straps with the deployment buckle. Leather will last longer and will look much better. Keeps as accurate a time as most automatic Longines, which is pretty darn good (no! not an Omeaga!) but I have a passion for Longines, they make really great watches, both in design and mechanics. I give this watch a 5. Buy it! You won't be dissapointed! Lots going on in a 40mm space but can still see the time, day, month and date! And chronograph to boot! Now that's a watch!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
Please excuse this review being a slight variation of the watch on which other reveiwers have commented. As a modest watch collector, I found this Longines chrono with date and moonphase, 40mm stainless steel with gold accents and bracelet to be the perfect blend of looks, sportiness and luxury in a watch. Longines has become a favorite of mine, because this and the Dolce Vita chrono with date quartz model I have are simply stunning in workmanship, intricate detail and design. Please do a search on L26735787 Longines for pictures and info from Longines' website.

Like one of the reviewers who inspired me to purchase this watch, I found I could not take my mind off of it; so I kept coming back, doing more research on the ETA (2550, I believe) movement and history. The more I looked at it on various websites, the more I thought this should be mine. Then there was the decision on how to actually purchase it - nearly took a chance of an on-line purchase, when I decided to look into authentic Longines dealers in my area - and found one on the Longines website. When I called locally, I was pleased to actually cut a deal on the phone at 20% off list - state taxes were imposed, but the final cost was only about $300 more than best price that I could get on-line. But this way there was an official Longines warranty, a local jewelry establishment, a person who presented the watch to me (it was beautifully packaged), and I therefore felt a bit more secure and pleased with the purchase process and knowledge of guaranteed authenticity and newness.

As for the watch itself, the other reviewers are absolutely correct in their assessment of "complications galore." It is not too complicated, however, to actually set and wear - of course, telling the time with it is extremely simple. The stop watch capability and chronograph are at the ready with just a push of a button. The day, month and date are perfectly readable. It is so very much the embodiment of precision.

The blue hands on a white background offer superb contrast and good looks. The gold accents of this particular model make this Longines look spectacular, both for dress and every day casual wear! I certainly am appreciating its beauty and functionality. Among my Rolex's and Omega's and Longines', this one has become a top favorite of mine. For certain, it would be a favorite for anyone or any watch collector.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
I bought this watch at a local dealer and have had it for more than 2 years - and it's been holding up great.

1) I've been using it throughout the days, and have not even been taking it off for sports (mostly running)... it's never been inaccurate, other than the couple seconds off at the end of a day or two - but that's to be expected from any automatic
2) It's a very tasteful watch - if you like Longines, this is a classic to go for. The combination of colours - blue hands, silverish/white face and brown leather strap makes it easily combinable with many shirts. The watch looks good as a dress watch (well, it really is a dress watch), and goes well with cuffed shirts due to it's relatively small size. However, it is thicker than lets say your Tag Heuer Calibre 6, so if you wear tight shirts around the wrist, go with a slightly flatter watch.. personally it never bothered me, I just can tell due to the complications it offers (in comparison to e.g. the beforementioned Tag, which is a rather simplistic automatic) it is a thicker watch. Being a dress watch it also looks good with your casual clothes.. however, maybe not with a dirty sweater, as it is really a nice looking watch :)
3) The glass is of course sapphire and despite my (ab)use over the 2 years it never gotten a scratch and looks just like new - and I bumped in all sort of walls, and even dropped it a few times -- case also holds up excellently.
4) The mechanics in the back are beautiful - and, if we want to stick to comparisons with e.g. the Tag mentioned above - move really with the slightest move, i.e. wind up much quicker and more efficient... really beautiful to spin

Would give it 6 out of 5 if it were possible :)
M
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
This is a great watch, the dial is a bit bussy and kind of hard to see if your eye sight is not 20/20. I had been looking for the moon face feature for a while now. It is a fancy watch and a fantastic brand, sturdy, accurate and dependable. I enjoy them so much I own 3 Longines.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
The movement is a Valjoux 7151. Any watch with that triple date configuration (month and day in two windows near top and hand pointing toward date) and chronograph uses the 7751, although most watch companies redesignate the movement with their own caliber number. This is very common. Huge numbers of Swiss watches use ETA movements, including Rolex for earlier versions of current models, and discontinued. ETA is owned by the Swatch group and the flow of ETA movements and parts to non-Swatch makers has slowed. Thus Selita, a Swiss watch movement company which makes clones of ETA movements, ETA having lost their patents years ago.

Only problem with the watch is the instructions do not state how to use the same counterclockwise movement of the stem in
position 2 to adjust both month and day. If you can't figure it out, do a Bing search for reviews of the watch, and one of them explains how.

As I said, many use the 7751 for similar watches. Maurice Lacroix and Wempe spring to mind. The ML instructions are similarly lacking the above referenced instruction.

All the positive reviews said it all. I first got the watch with the SS band and switched to the leather, not for weight, but looks. Interestingly, once all watches had leather bands, even Rolex. Metal bands were only made for deep sea divers, but they obviously caught on with the general public. Look at Rolex;: until recently (w/5 leather band Day-Date in 2014), ALL Rolex bands were metal, a great way to drive up the price.

In a recent comparison by a Swiss watch movement guru he found the Rolex 3150 movement (used in almost all their watches) to an ETA movement which is the basis of the 7151. He found them to be equivalent in terms of accuracy and sturdiness. Remember that Rolex makes Officially Certified Chronometers (accurate watches; not stop watches); certified by COSC, a Swiss govt. agency. Thus the 7751 is, de facto, an officially certified movement.

Why not go for certification? EACH watch has to be independentally tested. This costs big $$$, sort of like THX certification of home theater equipment, although THX does not test every unit. Many pieces of equipment easily meet THX standards, but the makers are unwilling to pay THX its fees. Same with COSC certification of watch movements and individual watches. To answer your question, yes, a small percentage of Rolex flunk each year. Rather than trying to correct the deficiency of the watch, Rolex destroys them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
Ive had this watch for about a week after drooling over it for about 6 months. Like other reviewers I would purchase a timepiece like this from and authorised dealer rather than the grey market on-line. I was very tempted to purchase a cut price version from the internet but lucky I didn't because I think its important to have a Longines warranty.

The pictures dont do this watch justice it is a lovely time piece you wont be disappointed with it. This watch is just as good in every way as a $20,000 Patek but at a fraction of the price.

I have had no problems with this watch and it keeps amazing time, the only problem I seem to have had is I cant stop looking at this watch even at traffic lights with people blowing the horn at me. if you are looking at a $2-3K watch you really cant go past this one.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Always wanted to own a Longines and was excited when I picked up my L2.673.4.78.5 at a international airport duty free 4 months ago (Authentic, paid full price, have a certificate of warranty and serial number) Wore it a couple of times but found that the watch stops if I do not wear it for more than 12 hours. Am disappointed and will call Longines to return the watch.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.