Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Constructive CD-ROM
I am a teacher who has used the CD-ROM from this course as well as the CD-ROM for the Cambridge TOEFL course, and have used the ones for Barrons and Kaplan as well. I haven't used any of the books from these four, so this review is for the CD-ROM only. By the way, it is standard practice in English as a Second Language texts, including TOEFL texts, that the audio CDs...
Published on October 1, 2008 by J Lee the Teacher

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Practice but How do I . . . ?
When I first began teaching history and political science at Boston-area universities, I took a specific interest in helping students learn how to write better. My reason was that even though I was not grading my students' work based on their English ability, most badly needed sound advice and rules to write by. It was not enough to tell them simply to write better or...
Published on May 21, 2012 by Dr. Robert Niebuhr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Constructive CD-ROM, October 1, 2008
This review is from: Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I am a teacher who has used the CD-ROM from this course as well as the CD-ROM for the Cambridge TOEFL course, and have used the ones for Barrons and Kaplan as well. I haven't used any of the books from these four, so this review is for the CD-ROM only. By the way, it is standard practice in English as a Second Language texts, including TOEFL texts, that the audio CDs for the book must be purchased separately, and for a high price, so this is not something unique to this set.

Of the four CD-ROM TOEFL practice texts I've used (Longman, Cambridge, Barrons, and Kaplan), I like the Longman CD-ROM the best, with Cambridge as a close second. First of all, I like the CD-ROM as a TOEFL practice format to begin with because it most closely resembles the real test. So my reviewing of this comes from the assumption that this is the best way to practice.

The Longman CD-ROM has two sections, a skills section and a practice test section. The skills section has all the parts of the test, but without timing, and with helpful hints you can view when needed. This is ideal for becoming familiar with the nature of the test--what it looks like, what the questions are like, and how to navigate through the test. After you are finished answering the questions, you can check your answers, and there are explanations to help you understand why the correct answer is correct. For the writing portion of the skills section, it takes more of an instructional nature than writing practice. You are given sample essays and asked questions to identify the different parts of the essays as ways to help you understand what is required for the essays on the test.

After you have gone through the skills section, there are practice tests you can try. They are set up as mini-tests so that you can work on them in pieces, as you have time. (The actual TOEFL lasts 4 to 4 1/2 hours, so being able to break it up for practicing is convenient.) The mini-tests, unlike the skills practice, are timed, just like the regular TOEFL, so you'll know how much time you have. There are 8 mini-tests for each of reading, listening, speaking, and writing. You can record your speaking and listen to the recording, and use a checklist to evaluate how you think you did. For the writing, you are given a screen to type on just like what's found on the actual test. Afterward, you use a checklist to review how you think you did on the writing.

Finally, there are two complete, timed practice tests that you can practice with.

Of the four companies' CD-ROMs (Longman, Cambridge, Barrons, and Kaplan), the Longman CD-ROM is the easiest to navigate through. I also think it has the most flexibility for practice and has the most helpful instruction. The material does seem to be a little easier than Cambridge, for example, but especially for someone new to the TOEFL iBT, Longman is a better place to start to become familiar with how the test works. For example, the Cambridge doesn't really have a skills practice section; it's all just timed practice tests, so it has less flexibility for learning, and it's not as easy to navigate for checking your answers. I have found the Barrons and Kaplan CD-ROMs to be totally unacceptable.

So, for someone who has never taken the TOEFL iBT, I definitely recommend the Longman CD-ROM. For someone who has but wants more practice, I think the Longman and Cambridge are both good, but the Longman software is easier to get around in, and the instruction is more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Practice but How do I . . . ?, May 21, 2012
This review is from: Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
When I first began teaching history and political science at Boston-area universities, I took a specific interest in helping students learn how to write better. My reason was that even though I was not grading my students' work based on their English ability, most badly needed sound advice and rules to write by. It was not enough to tell them simply to write better or pick up a copy of the Chicago Manual of Style or E.B. White's Elements of Style, both of which are fabulous guides to help improve writing. If I expected my students to write better I determined that I needed to show them directly what I meant and give them detailed feedback. Now that find myself teaching students how to pass the TOEFL iBT, I see the same problems cropping up with the materials available in preparation books.

First, I must say that the Longman Preparation Course by Deborah Philips--and the CD-based computer program, specifically--does a great job at giving the students a chance to practice and hone skills needed to score high on the TOEFL. It is generally well-written, accessible, and clear in its format and layout, thought, this reviewer finds it unfortunate that the answer key is a separate book. While the questions mirror those on the actual TOEFL written by ETS, the test writers have made some changes that negate some of the materials in this product. A few questions have changed slightly but after I teach my students the skills they need to master each question type using my own methods, I give them the Longman materials. Untimed skills sections, two complete tests, and eight mini-tests allow students the chance to practice, which is also something that certain other books do well, such as the Barron's TOEFL iBT by Pamela Sharpe. Nevertheless, practice will not make perfect if the authors do not sufficiently explain the needed skills to the student, especially those who might not be fully aware of the TOEFL format.

Another feature that I like about Philips's book is that she has highlighted sections that give the summary of what you think about or do regarding specific questions. These charts outline so-called "key information." An example is for the reading section, on the negative fact question (page 58):
How to identify the question: It is NOT stated / It is NOT mentioned / It is NOT discussed / It is NOT true / It is NOT
indicated / All of the following are true EXCEPT /
Where to find the answer: These answers are generally found in order in the passage, and the paragraph where the answer is
found is generally indicated in the question.
How to answer the question: 1. Choose a key word in the question.
2. Scan the appropriate place in the passage for the key word (or related idea).
3. Read the sentence that contains the key word carefully.
4. Look for the answers that are definitely true according to the passage.
Eliminate those answers.
5. Choose the answer that is not true or not discussed in the passage.

This information is helpful and is generally correct. But how do you choose the key word? How do you know which word is important? If you choose the incorrect key word, you will undoubtedly choose the wrong answer. Instead, the directions should explain to students that there are a series of steps to follow in order to answer these questions with accuracy. One need recognize the question type, understand what the question is asking, identify the key word, find the key word in the passage, read only the sentence with that key word and, if necessary, the sentence before or sentence after (but no more), and then employ a specific process of elimination. An example question looks like this:

According to the passage, the Democrats were supported by all of the following groups EXCEPT.
a. workers unhappy with the new industrial system
b. planters involved in international trade
c. rising entrepreneurs
d. individuals seeking to open the economy to newcomers

You would see an arrow in the passage that would point you to the paragraph in question and then see the words "Democrats" and "supported" as your keys. Your job is to go to that part of the passage marked by an arrow and match up the groups who supported Democrats. Eliminate those answers that do not fit.

The above example is just what I teach in my TOEFL iBT course, and I use the Longman book for good examples to help students reinforce these skills and then move on. As simple as that explanation is though, the Longman book does not outline the process like that and would leave a TOEFL newcomer in the dark. Let me reiterate and say that this is a good tool to help isolate a specific skill and allow students to master it before taking on further tasks. But, the Longman does not, in my opinion, serve to teach students as thoroughly as needed. To succeed, test-takers would need to couple the Longman book and software with a preparation course to fill in the gaps and explain things more thoroughly and to block out poor guidance, such as "Skim each passage," "Do not spend too much time reading the passages," and "Guess to complete the section before time is up" (page 8). The first instruction that I give to students is to skip the reading passage altogether and go directly to the question because it is unnecessary to read the passage at all and merely takes time away from answering the questions.

Overall, this book is a great companion to a TOEFL course but does not really stand alone on its own. Simply put, the TOEFL is not a normal test. It has rules and procedures that govern it and while the author does have a great understanding of the material, she does not differentiate to people why traditional studying methods will not work here. I like that she tells readers to "Dismiss the directions as soon as they come up," (page 8) as a time-saving method because if you prepare for the TOEFL you already know what to expect. But, it is not just to save some seconds so you can "Skim each passage." As I mentioned, reading the passages in the Reading Section at all will virtually destroy a student's chances at finishing within the time allotted. To reinforce this paradox, another example is how Philips correctly tells students that they need no background knowledge to score well yet takes this good advice no further. In fact, if students try to use information from their regular studies they will likely choose the wrong answer. So, while she has many good pieces of advice, great and numerous practice questions and tests, she fails to explain why this is unique and what a student should specifically do to succeed. Good luck with your TOEFL practice and be sure to search all available resources to you, including those online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just so so., October 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
i got this book in time. but there were not CDs with the book while the item was described as audio CDs required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The wrong book sent by you, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I ordered 2013 edition of Longman preparation course for the TOEFL test as you advertised. But I received 2007 edition which is very surpriseda and upsetting. You should tell me that if you carry 2007 edition only, you ought to tell me so, then i should not purchase it. The book you sent me can be returned, if you allow me. Robert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars return policy, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just make sure that you want it, because when you buy it its gonna cost you more then book itself to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longman TOEFL Prep Test Ibt, October 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good book. Audio CDs included and CD Rom as well, for the IBT part.
Worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good preparation course for the TOEFL iBT, October 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The "Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL iBT 2nd edition" is a very useful book for the teacher preparing students for the TOEFL exam. It takes students gradually from the early stages of their TOEFL preparation and helps them make fast progress by offering simple, practical advice that is easy to follow. It also offers a wealth of practice material for each skill as well as review exercises that help students consolidate what they 've learnt. The CD ROM offers practice which is different from that in the book and the audio CDs are an integral part of the course. In short, I recommend the book both to students and to teachers as I have enjoyed using it in the classroom and the feedback I get from my students is very positive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great audio CDs, June 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for a friend, she was really happy with the contents of the course, comes well packaged, it comes with a separate folder which holds the cds, and its all wrapped in thermo plastic. Highly recommended as preparation for the Listening part of the Toefl test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for learning the skills for TOEFL Te, May 4, 2010
By 
Chih-ping Wang (Kaohsiung City, Taiwan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book has lots of instructions of practical testing skills and practices. I can become more familiar with the process and question types of the TOEFL Test. For me, I think that it's one of the best books for preparing the TOEFL Test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Constructive CD-ROM, October 1, 2008
I reviewed the CD-ROM from this package at ISBN #0132056909, which has the same title as this one. The only difference between these two ISBNs, which Amazon doesn't make clear on this page, is that this ISBN does NOT have an answer key; 0132056909 includes an answer key. So if you want to have the answers, be sure to get 0132056909. It's about the same price.

For my full review, see this title at 0132056909, "Longman Preparation Course for the TOEFL(R) Test: iBT Student Book with CD-ROM and Answer Key (Audio CDs required) (2nd Edition) (Longman Preparation Course for the Toefl) (Paperback)."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.