Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2013
This is the best show on TV in my opinion and it seemed like forever between season 1 and season 2. Well written, perfectly cast, well acted, beautiful locations. A breath of fresh air with an actual plot and characters that are believable. We need more shows like this and more episodes per season of Longmire. You have to pay attention when you watch or you will miss parts of the story that give you insight into each characters past and why they do what they do. Episode 1 of season 2 "Unquiet Mind" is based on the book "Hell is Empty" by Craig Johnson. It was a good episode and Rob Taylor (Walt) was excellent in this episode but those tuning in for the first time or if you haven't read Craig's books it may have been a bit confusing as a lot was packed into 43 minutes and I think some of the story was lost. Might have been better if they did this over 2 episodes. Still well worth watching and looking forward to the rest of season 2. Worth buying the instant video to view episodes without commercials. Way to many commercials (17 mins) when you watch it on A&E.
44 comments|127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
There are no undead zombies. There are no bloodsucking vampires. This is an old school production, that is dazzling cool. Each episode is complete in itself. The cinematoghaphy creates a sublimeness that is contrasted with the edginess of the subject matter - crime and mystery. It is a character driven narrative with words and images that make the characters pop.
44 comments|142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Excellent adaptation to small screen from Craig Johnson novel HELL IS EMPTY. Scenes are well coordinated with outdoor locations and story sets.The actors really flesh out their characters and breath realism into the story line. Your rooting for your favourite story characters as the plot unfolds. Makes waiting seven more days for the next episode feel like the twelve months between seasons. WELL DONE!
11 comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
Thank you, A&E for a well written, well produced, superbly acted drama that takes the time for character development and doesn't rely on pyrotechnics and superficial tripe to try to boost ratings. Thank you Amazon for delivering it at a reasonable price to the dishless, cableless misfits who have long ago thrown overboard the 400 channels of overpriced, mostly unwatchable programming.
11 comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
The discs have not been released yet, however I watched the entire season on tv and I was blown away by the actors. I read the books and to actually get to see the actors playing the characters in the books is just terrific. I believe Robert Taylor does Walt justice and is every bit as fascinating as the character in the book. Lou Diamond Philips is just perfect for the role of Henry and gets his character dead on.

I have watched many crime dramas, but this is so different and much more entertaining. I could hard wait for a Monday night to roll around. Now I cannot wait for the actual season 2 to be released and for season 3 to start.
11 comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Longmire is one of those people you love to watch, he is tough as nails and when it comes to family he will break any rules to ensure safety as best he can. I assume we are going to find out more about the guy that killed his wife this season and that bit sounds interesting. The political side of this keeps you a bit on edge since you can never be sure where the deputy actually stands in this battle of wills and the random appearances of Gerald McRaney as the father of Branch Connelly. Then you add in Lou Diamond Phillips and you have the cast to make this a great hit. I know that Katee Sackhoff gets top billing in many articles but even though I enjoy her character here I was never much of a fan of her characters in Battlestar Galactica.

Bottom Line: This is a great show, great cast and should not be missed, it is my summertime fix when I want to watch Justified but can't :)
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Great scenery, story line, and character development. What more can you ask from a series? Robert Taylor is the penultimate cowboy/sheriff. Reserved and quiet yet with a temper that gets him in trouble occasionally, Walt is reeling from the loss of his wife and having to communicate with his daughter for the first time. Lou Diamond Phillips is perfect as Henry, it's a great part for him. His character is a great friend to Walt and as the series has been developing you continue to see just how good a friend he is.
I hope we get to see this series for a while!
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
Longmire is a great drama. Characters are well drawn and acting is good. Where it might be set has little relevance to me. Its a drama, not a documentary and I can easily accept it is fictional based on novels of fiction. When I want the "news" I watch CNN or another news program. Keep it up A & E. One of the better shows on TV. Only drawback is there's not enough of it!!
44 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Longmire is a little different than the cop shows I usually watch because it is set in the west. The sheriff is a cool character - very old fashioned but always sees connections and observations that others don't. His deputies are a motley crew ...one very tough and very attractive lady cop with her own story line, a very handsome male deputy, a newbie who is so nice you just love him, the sheriffs best friend who is a bar owner and Native American with his own very unique character, and the Sheriffs daughter. Although there is at least one murder a week, the story lines are a little fresher than the typical CSI type and Longmire's personal story is woven throughout. My son, who is a cop, likes this show because of the female deputy, and because he wishes he could be a sheriff in a small town like this!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
This character really cares about people - gives every one a chance to prove him/herself before he writes them off. He makes quick, but sound decisions and wastes no time "getting his job done." If young people were fed a steady diet of Longmire type characters instead of the psychopathic killing machines or mis-guided athletes become felons kids now emulate what a wonderful world it could be! We need more Longmire; on TV and in real life.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.