Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think this works better as a coffee table book
I bought this book for my nephews and niece (ages 11, 9 and 4) who came to visit this summer. I was so excited at purchase! The incredibly clever scenes take hours to comb through, and you really view a lot of these objects differently after seeing the book. (Buildings made of fig newtons; thumbtack glassware at the soda fountain; an upside-down iron as a...
Published on August 25, 1998

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch
Beware, all the pictures in this book have already been published in different cover, an earlier edition. If you think it is a new book of Steiner's work, it isn't, so don't get suckered.
Published on March 15, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think this works better as a coffee table book, August 25, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my nephews and niece (ages 11, 9 and 4) who came to visit this summer. I was so excited at purchase! The incredibly clever scenes take hours to comb through, and you really view a lot of these objects differently after seeing the book. (Buildings made of fig newtons; thumbtack glassware at the soda fountain; an upside-down iron as a boat.)
However the actual children were a bit blown away. They looked at it and were interested, however many of the objects used were things they'd simply never seen and so couldn't pick out. What 4-year-old can tell that a bunch of tulips is really pistachios on sticks? Even the 11-year-old had never seen a flour sifter and therefore wasn't impressed by the sifter/water tower.
On the other hand, their mother (age 34) and my boyfriend (age 33) spent as many hours as I did on this book and are still delighted with it.
I personally collect beautiful children's books as a cost-effective alternative to coffee-table books. For my purposes, Look-Alikes is absolutely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waaaay better than 'Where's Waldo"!, June 12, 2000
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
The pictures in this book are just stunning, and so clever. I've had this book for a year now (we keep it in our bathroom) and I've still not found everything!
Each photograph is magnificent, and well taken, while the collages - for want of a better name - are really ingenious. Some objects take forever to find - the peanut pony tail, the mushroom car tires, and some are perfectly obvious, though you'd never have considered that a disposable razor could look like a vacuum cleaner. It's beautiful to look at and fun to explore. If only Steiner had left it at that and not tried to write poetry to go with it. The rhymes are unbelievably inane and stilted and take away from rather than add to the book.
This edition may actually be too difficult for children, as many adults seem to have trouble finding all the objects. "Look-Alikes Jr." came out soon afterwards and is much simpler, though just as much fun; much more suited to the under 12's and the less patient!
This book will last so long and provide so much enjoyment that it's well worth buying for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Do not buy if you don't have a few hours to spend!, January 23, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
Look-Alikes and Look-Alikes Jr. were show-stoppers at my house this Christmas. Poring over the pictures is an absolutely great activity that everyone, all ages, can join. The only problem we had is that there wasn't room for everyone to look at the book at the same time.
Something she doesn't say in the book but does reveal on the CD-Rom: these are photographs of actual dioramas, not photo- or Photoshop-collages. Amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Alikes, February 28, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
This is a book that has been entertaining to all family members from the age of 9 to 78 years of age. Each person who picks it up cannot bear to part with it. The colors and photo layouts of each page are filled with warmth and depth. Even without close scrutiny the immediate "feel" of the photos is that you are glimpsing into a moment of time long gone. There is an "old world" feel to the pictures. Upon closer review you are repeatedly amazed at how your eye first deceived you. Absolute creative genius is what makes this book one to purchase-for any age. Especially wonderful for those who love puzzles and DETAIL. No detail is left out and no detail is left to its own nature. A twist on reality that delights you with every turn of every page. A must buy for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just too much fun for your eyes!, December 29, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. My ten year old son loved it! He spent hours looking at all the pictures and trying to figure out how they were made. You can see something new in each incredible picture every time you look at it! Our school library has ordered several copies. The creativity in this book is just too much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look-Alikes are awesome!, July 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
Welcome to a land where the more you look, the more you see. Teddy bears made from peanuts, chairs from pretzels, dresses from balloons. Entire scenes like a coffee pot train, a station roofed by badminton raquets, a harbor made from...everything! This artist's imagination gives your eyes & your ability to discern what it is you are seeing a real, awesome workout. What a gift this book will make!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, can't wait for a sequel!, March 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
I purchased this book 4 days ago and my 3 children (5, 9 and 11) haven't put it down. They keep finding more and more look a likes everytime they open the book. It's brought them closer together also by sharing with eachother what they found. I'm hoping Joan Steiner will write a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly interesting for kids and adults alike!, September 19, 2002
By 
Catherine S. Vodrey (East Liverpool, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
Joan Steiner's "Look-Alikes" is endlessly interesting for kids and adults alike. This self-taught artist employs everyday items--tea bags, Fig Newtons, miniature hair combs, matches, tissues, strips of licorice, graham crackers, torn-up sponges, pencils, and so much more--to create the most astonishingly lifelike scenes.
You can see everything from a port city with boats arriving to a soda shop to a candy store to a classroom, each filled to brimming with trinkets and everyday articles of every kind, each employed as something other than what it really is (Fig Newtons as seat cushions, for example). The result is utterly fascinating. You will spend hours looking through the book--you may even, as I have, try to hide it from your kids so YOU can finish looking at it! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch, March 15, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look-Alikes: The More You Look, the More You See! (Hardcover)
Beware, all the pictures in this book have already been published in different cover, an earlier edition. If you think it is a new book of Steiner's work, it isn't, so don't get suckered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is too much fun!, December 24, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Look-Alikes (Hardcover)
All three of my children love this book. It's fun to sit with your child and look at the creative way things around your house are used to make a picture. This is one of the most creative books I've seen for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Look-Alikes: The More You Look, the More You See!
Look-Alikes: The More You Look, the More You See! by Joan Steiner (Hardcover - October 17, 2003)
$16.00 $12.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.