Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, even for older people
I bought this for my child, but realized it was excellent, even for an adult. Some books can use terminology that is not always understood to a "newbie". This breaks it down in an elementary fashion, but was straight forward and not confusing at all...for the beginner at any age.
Published on June 25, 2006 by Amazon Junkie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking Beyond
It was interesting, but it did not captivate me.
Published 1 month ago by Baby Cakes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, even for older people, June 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my child, but realized it was excellent, even for an adult. Some books can use terminology that is not always understood to a "newbie". This breaks it down in an elementary fashion, but was straight forward and not confusing at all...for the beginner at any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction for Anyone, August 30, 2008
I bought this book for my 15-year-old son who is entering the 10th grade. I wanted something that would explain spiritual concepts that aren't taught elsewhere. This book does just that.

The layout and information will keep a teen interested. I would recommend this book to any adult or teen wanting to know how our spirituality and everyday lives impact and effect the other.

James Praugh knows what he is talking about and he knows how to explain the information. More reading and studying will eventually be needed, but as a starting point, this book is an excellent introduction for anyone.

I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I give it to my clients, July 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looking Beyond : A Teen's Guide to the Spiritual World (Paperback)
I am a Special education High School teacher, a hypnotherapist, Past Life Regressionist and like James Van Praagh, a psychic/medium. I have been asked by many parents and clients about their children and the subject of psychic abilities. I have found that many children are frightened by their innate abilities and so shut down or "vale over" denying their abilities. Often, I have heard them describe what most of us adults call "a gift" as a curse. James Van Praagh has written a very child friendly book, explaining a deep, complex and sometimes frightening subject in a very interesting way. If you have a child who shows interest in the field of Metaphysics, this is a good book to give them and you can gain good insight from it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this for my teenage daughter whose father had recently passed away. She still carries it with her to read at her leisure. A great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my teen son..., January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent, thoughtful book. If I were an adult just looking for answers, and a simple " Why?, What?.. Why Me???" start to the Who that we are... I would not hesitate to pick up this book as a primer. My 16 yr old is liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT A GREAT GIFT...!, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I BOUGHT ONE FOR A GIFT FOR A TEEN, AND ONE FOR MY SELF...! EXCELLENT READ...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplified, summerized version to learn about spiriturity even for an adult!, July 18, 2012
By 
Kay M (Winfield, KS) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book by mistake, thinking that this is for adults but turned out it is a teen's guide. I was going to give it away to a school library, but then decided to read through it. Alas, it is very simplified and summarized book on spirituality without any extra stuff! I've read many spiritual books, including the author's books, but I enjoyed this easy-read book and I'm an adult. I think this is great for any parents for teenager, then to recommend them to read it. This book teaches a teen value, morale, and trust, all generally good subject. Of course if you are open to spirituality, that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for young folks, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An introduction to understanding the 'greater spiritual world' of life. Some type formats were difficult to read but those sections are not necessary to glean the information from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Looking Beyond, October 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was interesting, but it did not captivate me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this author.... Never disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Looking Beyond : A Teen's Guide to the Spiritual World
Looking Beyond : A Teen's Guide to the Spiritual World by James Van Praagh (Paperback - October 14, 2003)
Used & New from: $2.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.