Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes rule. Features, meh.
First of all, please don't skip this show because it's a "rip-off of clasic cartoons," made by "crackpot weirdos," or any other of the "creative" names some people think up for this show . It's worth the watch for those who've never seen it, and should only be disliked by people who honestly watched the show and didn't like it.

I am a big fan of this show...
Published on March 25, 2007

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of WB's worst efforts.
Loony Tunes have ventured (at least) twice into the future. The first time was with the brilliantly funny "Duck Dodgers". The latter time was with this ... um ... effort. "Loonatics Unleashed" isn't without merit, and might be considered a good product were it not that it isn't up to Warner Brothers quality. WB cartoons are noted for their cheeky humor, appealing at...
Published on April 11, 2007 by R. C. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodes rule. Features, meh., March 25, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
First of all, please don't skip this show because it's a "rip-off of clasic cartoons," made by "crackpot weirdos," or any other of the "creative" names some people think up for this show . It's worth the watch for those who've never seen it, and should only be disliked by people who honestly watched the show and didn't like it.

I am a big fan of this show. While Ace (descendant of Bugs) and Slam (descendant of the Tasmanian Devil) are not always my favorite of the bunch, Duck (descendant of Daffy) is always there to put in great laugh. Tech (decendant of Wile E.) and Rev (decendant of the roadrunner)'s relationship is not only hilarious both together and seperatley at times, but it proves that WB still has a taste for irony. Jessica DiCico does the voice of Lexi (descendant of Lola Bunny). All the characters can be humorous throughout the show, and some are well developed. I find the episodes to be very entertaining, and I plan to buy the season 2 DVDs when they come out.

I was, however dissapointed that there were no subtitles/better bonus features. The game was alright, but character bios and/or cast interviews and/or commentary would have been preffered.

If you are buying this DVD to study the show's creation, artists, or in depth characters, don't buy this DVD. But if you are a Loonatics Unleashed fan or would like to begin watching the show, this is the DVD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun-filled despite flaws, February 6, 2007
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
The previous reviewer has obviously not seen the show, or at least very little of it. The DVD is the first 13 episodes in what has started out as a controversial show. Naturally, some haters (some who may not even glanced at an episode) will appear to spew a rant.

The premise revolves around 6 descendants of the Looney Tunes: Ace Bunny, Danger Duck, Tech E. Coyote, Lexi Bunny, Rev Runner and Slam Tasmanian. Each were given superpowers due to a cosmic collision which unleashed some strange radiation (that's as good an explanation as anything else I've seen in comics). They now fight crime as a team against super powered villains while getting debriefed by their their holographic Synergy-esqe boss, Zadavia.

Given that this is the first season, many of earliest episodes are a bit weak as the show was just getting its legs. The robot alien vikings from another dimension? Probably the weirdest foes to date. Not to mention that Ace had the annoying habit of parroting his anscestor's quotes, a trait that I found cringeworthy on more than one occassion.

However, the show has its good moments. Tech E. Coyote is not the poor inventor whose creations backfire on him despite the laws of physics, and he actually proves himself as a "Suuupa Geeeenius!" Danger Duck also provides some genuine laughs as comedy relief where Ace's quips fail.

The middle to end of the season is where the show starts picking up and turning out really enjoyable episodes. "Comet Comet" for example shows a brief origins story for the team members of their lives right before the meteor hit as well as gives a glipse at a supervillain that they will come across in the season finale 2-parter "Acmegeddon". "Menace of Mastermind" is definitely one to watch as it introduces a villain that can actually match the Loonatics' resident genius in terms of intelligence and innovation.

Overall, Loonatics is a show that is fairly decent and something that will probably entertain most kids and teens who give it a shot. Considering that this is only the first season, it has some flaws to be ironed out, but that shouldn't stop you from enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of WB's worst efforts., April 11, 2007
By 
R. C. Walker "catu11us" (Encinitas CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Loony Tunes have ventured (at least) twice into the future. The first time was with the brilliantly funny "Duck Dodgers". The latter time was with this ... um ... effort. "Loonatics Unleashed" isn't without merit, and might be considered a good product were it not that it isn't up to Warner Brothers quality. WB cartoons are noted for their cheeky humor, appealing at least as much to adults as to children. These pedestrian superhero episodes, on the other hand, cannot fail to convince adults to pass them up.

The premise of the series is that 6 ordinary individuals (2 bunnies, a Tasmanian devil, a duck, a roadrunner, and a coyote) live on the "city-planet" of Acmetropolis and acquire super powers when a meteor strikes the planet in 2772. What's confusing is that the titles section features these individuals with a count-up to 2772 from the 21st Century. Cute, but frelling stupid.

In each episode, the super sextet - amid mildly amusing but essentially banal banter - fight various super villains. For the most part, these are types that appear in every mediocre superhero adventure series and even some of the better ones. Like many mediocre superhero series, this one takes its villains far too seriously for the context. And of course these guys are the only characters that laugh - the usual evil laugh, of course. Why is it that villains in predictable superhero adventures always - ALWAYS - laugh evilly at every opportunity? Animated material of this sort seems to leave laughter exclusively in the province of villains and (occasionally) their henchpeople and/or henchthings.

In point of fact, the makers of this series missed their best bets right from the get-go. The superpowers of the characters are sometimes based on their previous normal abilities, but sometimes not. The problem here is that we don't see enough WB looniness. Lexi and Ace have fairly ordinary biologically generated energy weapons and have virtually no personality traits one could describe as "Bugs-like". What we have here is basically the silly and drekish "Teen Titans", including its overly "modern" animation "look", but with animals. Feh.

The other misstep by the program's creators is (or are) the villains. As noted before, these are not terribly imaginative and do the evil-laugh bit excessively. Amazingly, the writers totally missed the obvious technique of making villains from stock WB characters as well as the protagonists. Adding to the fun could have been, say, Jupiter Sam - as well as The Fudd, still hunting wabbits - as well as Tech E. Coyote converted into a really neurotic villain - and so on. Ah, the sadness of missed opportunities....

Sadly, this whole production has gone into too much overtime (that is, a 2nd season). Nevertheless, we can rejoice that there's something new out there for the 14-going-on-9 crowd. The rest of us can hope for a 3rd season of Duck Dodgers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a substitute for anything else, March 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
obviously it will draw comparisons to various Looney Tunes characters (Bugs & Lola Bunny, Wil E Coyote, Roadrunner, Daffy Duck and Taz) and rightly so. But it isnt a substitute or a fill in for those cartoons or characters. It stands on its own and its own right. With all the Loonatics having different powers (like eye beams, psychic/brain blast, superspeed, teleportation, regeneration and the like). Its not supposed to be about or compared to the Looney Tunes characters that we already know they were based on. There are even references to the earlier characters like villian to Tech E Coyote that he's wily or Wil E for Wil E Coyote and other to Ace Bunny.

So with that being said Loonatic Unleashed is a pretty decent cartoon in its own right with different villians that plague Acmetropolis the city where the Loonatics live. They got their powers from a meteor crashing into the city and so did some of the villians that the team runs across throughout this 13 episode first season. Which ends with a two parter and a rather good storyline with the Loonatics, the different villians they've come across and their boss (who has a family secret or two of her own as well).

It isnt meant to be Looney Tunes 2.0 or some other new fangled update. Loonatics Unleashed is a solid show in its own right and will only get better. Mix the various characteristics of your hereos (Danger Duck being as self-absorbed and clueless as his earlier ancestor Daffy Duck). It will draw comparisons and similarities, but its mostly paying respect to a show that is and always will be a classic.

Loonatics Unleashed is worthy of being watched and enjoyed by kids and adults alike minus all the mindless violence and other things detract from other shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loonatics Unleashed Fan, October 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
If you ask me about my opinion about this product... I Will say that it's a must have collection of Loonatics Unleashed for any young generation to have... It's awsome and I love it as well, for someone who's a kid at heart myself...

I know cause, I have both seasons Of Loonatics Unleashed DVD's myself and I wishe that they could continue with the 3rd Season if there will be one yet or maybe out there right now, but hasen't come out into the DVD' yet...

If it will I already know that I will get the 3rd Season one as well...

Sincerely
Viola V. Sg...
10-24-07 Wed
@ 10:00am
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it deserves another chance, August 29, 2013
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I've been watching the series on YouTube and So far i like it alot. i think the reason why people was attacking it cause the felt like it was going to replace the origanl loony tunes but it wasnt, its like a branch on the Loony Tunes tree and people got upset over it. and BTW its amazing that all the sudden that people looking at this series again. this series need another chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 11, 2013
By 
S.H (PERRY, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Came sooner than expected and kids love it. So glad it was as cheap as it was. Love it and will gladly purchase from this company again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching Loonatics Unleashed when it was on t.v. Having the Looney Tunes characters in an updated/sci-fy/superhero setting is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, love it, love it!, February 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
My title says it all. Great story, funny, and it give an old and new school feel all at once. A must for any loony toons fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ironman, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season (DVD)
Thanks for sendin it as soon as possible! I love the cartoon just wish they would make more episodes! And that it got here as fast as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season
Loonatics Unleashed - The Complete First Season by Charlie Schlatter (DVD - 2007)
$19.98 $11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.