Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$26.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

154 of 163 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 10, 2012
Quick reference for "NEW TO DVD" titles, all but "Porky's Hare Hunt" and "The Lion's Busy" have been previously released on Laserdisc and VHS.
Disc 1 "What Makes Daffy Duck", "Birdy and the Beast", "Home Tweet Home" (edited version previously on Saturday Morning Cartoons DVD), "The High and the Flighty".
Disc 2 "Porky's Hare Hunt", "Hare-um Scare-um", "Presto-Chango", "The Lion's Busy", "Strife With Father", "A Horsefly Fleas".
Disc 3 TEX AVERY MGM CARTOONS COME TO BLU-RAY (although in STANDARD DEFINITION)!!!! But sorry DVD fans, they will not be in the DVD version.

Since Hi-Defenition transfers were created when restoring the Looney Tunes cartoons for the Golden Collection DVDs it is easy for WBHV to re-issue these on Blu-ray. This doesn't mean that no further restoration work was done, it only means that most are the same film transfers. It will not be like comparing the old Laserdisc & VHS tapes to the Golden collection DVDs. However they will have better resolution than the DVDs so an improvement will be seen.
The "New to DVD" titles will show the most improvement.

Disc #1 = 1) English, 2) Espanol, 3) Deutsch, (Not all cartoons have all audio options)
Disc #2 = 1) English, 2) Espanol
Disc #3 = English only

Disc #1 = 1) English, 2) Francais, 3) Deutsch (Bonus Features also have Espanol subtitles)
Disc #2 = 1) English, 2) Francais (Bonus Features also have Deutch and Espanol subtitles)
Disc #3 = 1) English, 2) Deutsch, 3) Espanol- Castellano, 4) Espanol- Latino

NOTE: The booklet has some errors about what bonus material is on which disc. Here is the correct contents of each disc:

DISC 1 = about 200 minutes of cartoons (3.3 hours) + Blu-ray has 52 minutes of bonus material.
A WILD HARE (1940) - Bugs Bunny & Elmer Fudd (the first cartoon to have Bugs' personality associated with the rabbit).
BUCKAROO BUGS (1944) - Bugs Bunny
LONG-HAIRED HARE (1949) - Bugs Bunny
ALI BABA BUNNY (1957) - Bugs Bunny & Daffy Duck
SHOW BIZ BUGS (1957) - Bugs Bunny & Daffy Duck
THE WISE QUACKING DUCK (1943) - Daffy Duck
WHAT MAKES DAFFY DUCK? (1948) - Daffy Duck
BOOK REVUE (1946) - Daffy Duck
DEDUCE, YOU SAY (1956) - Daffy Duck as Dorlock Homes & Porky Pig as Watkins
PORKY IN WACKYLAND (1938) (B&W) - Porky Pig
YOU OUGHT TO BE IN PICTURES (1940) (B&W) - Daffy Duck & Porky Pig
PORKY IN EGYPT (1938) (B&W) - Porky Pig
BACK ALLEY OPROAR (1948) - Sylvester
LITTLE RED RODENT HOOD (1952) - Sylvester
CANNED FEUD (1951) - Sylvester
GIFT WRAPPED (1952) - Tweety & Sylvester
BIRDY AND THE BEAST (1944) - Tweety & Sylvester
HOME, TWEET HOME (1950) - Tweety & Sylvester
GOING! GOING! GOSH! (1952) - Roadrunner & Coyote
ZIPPING ALONG (1953) - Roadrunner & Coyote
SCENT-IMENTAL ROMEO (1951) - Pepe Le Pew
THE FOGHORN LEGHORN (1948) - Foghorn Leghorn
THE HIGH AND THE FLIGHTY (1956) - Foghorn Leghorn & Daffy Duck
TABASCO ROAD (1957) - Speedy Gonzalas
MEXICALI SHMOES (1959) - Speedy Gonzalas
The Blu-ray disc #1 has bonus featurettes from past DVD sets, commentaries by animation experts and alternative audio tracks.
1) The Man From Wackyland: The Art of Bob Clampett - 21 minutes (SD)
2) Bosko, Buddy and the best of Black and White - historians examine the vintage B&W WB cartoons - 10 minutes (SD)
3) Leon Schlessinger: The Merrie Cartoon Mogul - 21 minutes (SD_

DISC 2 (This disc presents collections of 'mini-series' as well as a special favorite selected by cartoon fans in an online poll) - about 212 minutes of cartoons (3.5 hours) + Blu-ray has 40 minutes of Bonus Material.
WABBIT TWOUBLE (1941) - Bugs Bunny & Elmer Fudd (voted on-line as a fan favorite)
RABBIT FIRE (1951) - Bugs & Daffy in the first of the "pronoun trouble" trilogy.
RABBIT SEASONING (1952) - Bugs & Daffy in the second of the "pronoun trouble" trilogy.
DUCK! RABBIT, DUCK! (1953) Bugs & Daffy in the third of the "pronoun trouble" trilogy.
DRIP-ALONG DAFFY (1951) - Daffy Duck & Porky Pig western parody.
MY LITTLE DUCKAROO (1954) - Daffy Duck & Porky Pig western parody.
BARBARY-COAST BUNNY (1956) - Bugs Bunny & Nasty Canasta
TORTOISE BEATS HARE (1941) - Bugs Bunny & Cecil Turtle, first in hare & turtle trilogy
TORTOISE WINS BY A HARE (1943) - Bugs Bunny & Cecil Turtle, second in hare & turtle trilogy
RABBIT TRANSIT (1947) - Bugs Bunny & Cecil Turtle, third in hare & turtle trilogy
PORKY'S HARE HUNT (1938) (B&W) - Porky Pig and a white rabbit (forerunner to Bugs Bunny).
HARE-UM SCARE-UM (1939) - A hunter & rabbit, forerunners to Elmer Fudd & Bugs Bunny.
PREST-O CHANGE-O (1939) - two dogs are heckled by a magic white rabbit (forerunner to Bugs Bunny).
ELMER'S CANDID CAMERA (1940) - Elmer Fudd hunts a gray rabbit that is not quite yet Bugs Bunny.
BUGS BUNNY GETS THE BOID (1942) - Bugs Bunny & Beaky Buzzard
THE BASHFUL BUZZARD (1945) - Beaky Buzzard
THE LION'S BUSY (1950) - Beaky Buzzard
STRIFE WITH FATHER (1950) - Beaky Buzzard
AN ITCH IN TIME (1943) - Elmer Fudd
A HORSEFLY FLEAS (1948) - the flea from An Itch In Time
HOLLYWOOD STEPS OUT (1941) - Hollywood characters
PAGE MISS GLORY (1936) - an art deco one-shot cartoon.
ROCKET-BYE BABY (1956) - a sci-fi one-shot.
RUSSIAN RHAPSODY (1944) - wartime themed musical.
DOUGH RAY ME-OW (1948) - Louie the Parrot & Heathcliff the housecat
The Blu-ray disc #2 has bonus featurettes from past DVD sets, commentaries by animation experts and alternative audio tracks.
1) Forever Befuddled - a look at the 'career' of Elmer Fudd - 4 minutes (booklet indicates this is on disc #1, but it is on #2). (SD)
2) A Hunting We Will Go - Chuck Jones' Wabbit Season Twilogy - 10 minutes. (SD)
3) Looney Tunes Go Hollywood - a look at the Hollywood star caricatures that appear in the WB cartoons - 10 minutes. (SD)
4) A Conversation With Tex Avery - a rare filmed interview with Tex Avery at the WB cartoon studio - 7 minutes. (SD)
5) Looney Tunes Go To War - a look at the patriotic roll that the WB cartoon characters took during the war - 10 minutes. (SD)

DISC 3 - Bonus Content totaling 432 minutes, or 7 hours and 12 minutes on one disc!- (Included in the Blu-ray version ONLY, although almost all are in Standard Definition.) Most are re-issues from past DVD sets.

King-Size Comedy: Tex Avery and the Looney Tunes Revolution - a new 42 minute documentary focusing on Tex at Warner Brothers, with some MGM cartoons. (Some interviews are in HD, most clips are SD.)
Includes interviews with Chuck Jones, Friz Freling, Bill Plimpton, Will Friedwald, and historians Leonard Maltin, Jerry Beck, Mark Kausler, & Eric Goldberg.
NOTE: the booklet claims this is on disc #1, but it is really located on disc #3.

Tex Avery, the King of Cartoons - a 1988 vintage 50 minute documentary from Turner Broadcasting giving a more thorough overview of the life and career of Tex Avery, balancing the WB & MGM years more evenly. **There is quite a bit of duplication between the two documentaries. ** If you want to watch just one of these documentaries, this is the better one to watch. (SD)
Includes interviews with Chuck Jones, June Foray, & Preston Blair.

Friz on Film - a 55 minute 2006 documentary for Warner Home Video. Friz tells the story of the origins of Bugs, Speedy, Tweety & Sylvester. (SD).
Includes interviews with June Foray, LT animator Art Leonardi, Leonard Maltin

ToonHeads: The Lost Cartoons - A 54 minute Cartoon Network special from 2008 that includes some early cartoons rarely seen today like the "Spooney Melodies" series and gag reels. (SD).
Includes almost complete versions of these cartoons, some of which appear elsewhere on disc #3:
1) Bosko the Talk-Ink Kid
2) Crying for the Carolines - Spooney Melodies
3) Lady Play Your Mandolin
4) Any Bonds Today - Bugs, Elmer & Porky (Black-faced segment has been censored out!).
5) Spies - Private Snafu
6) The Return of Mr. Hook
7) Animation sequence from "Two Guys From Texas" - Bugs Bunny.
8) Animation sequence from "My Dream Is Yours" - Bugs Bunny.
9) So Much For So Little (Educational Cartoon)
10) Orange Blossoms For Violet (Live Action Animal Comedy) - clips only
11) Drafty, Isn't It? - Ralph Philips
12) A collection of rare TV Commercials promoted by Bugs and the gang. Tang,
13) Philbert TV pilot clips.
14) Adventures of the Roadrunner TV pilot clips.

Real American Zero: The Adventures of Private Snafu - a 9 minute 2007 "Behind The Toones" documentary for Warner Home Video (SD).
Includes interviews with LT Ink & Painter Martha Sigall and historians Jerry Beck, Mark Kausler, & Eric Goldberg.

The World of Leon Schlesinger 2008 - 49 minutes with Introduction by Jerry Beck & Martha Sigall (SD)
1) Bosko The Talk-Ink Kid (B&W)
2) Sinkin' In The Bathtub - Bosko Looney Tune (B&W)
3) Crying For The Carolines - rare surviving Spooney Melodies (B&W)
4) Its Got Me Again - Merrie Melodies (B&W)
5) Haunted Gold title sequence (B&W)
6) Schlesinger Productions Christmas Party (with optional commentary by LT Ink & Painter Martha Sigall and Jerry Beck) (B&W)

Friz at MGM - The Captain and the Kids Cartoons - 44 minutes (STANDARD DEFINITION and UN-RESTORED)
1) Poultry Pirates (B&W)
2) A Day At The Beach (B&W)
3) The Captain's Christmas
4) Seal Skinners (B&W)
5) Mama's New Hat (B&W)

The Best of the Rest of Tex (MGM Tex Avery Cartoons!) - 84 minutes - NOTE: although on Blu-ray only, these are STANDARD DEFINITION and UN-RESTORED (you will notice the difference).
1) Blitz Wolf (1942)
2) Red Hot Riding Hood (1943)
3) Screwball Squirrel (1944)
4) Swing Shift Cinderella (1945)
5) King-Size Canary (1947)
6) Bad Luck Blackie (1949)
7) Senor Droopy (1949)
8) Wags to Riches (1949)
9) Symphony in Slang (1951)
10) Magical Maestro (1952)
11) Rock-a-Bye Bear (1952)

Private Snafu - 34 minutes (B&W) (SD)
1) Coming!!SNAFU
2) Gripes
3) Spies
4) The Goldbrick
5) The Home Front
6) Rumors
7) Snafuperman
8) Censored

Mr. Hook - 11 minutes (B&W) (SD)
1) The Good Egg
2) The Return of Mr. Hook
3) Tokyo Woes
3737 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
149 of 175 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2012
Who's in charge of these ? Is it you, Jerry Beck, as we were lead to believe? And if so, how about fulfilling your promises and opening the vault? And treating them in a manner that befits their classic status?
I love "Looney Tunes" and I love my Blu-ray and I DON'T MIND paying again for these classics to be remastered so I can see them in 1080p. It's awesome! But to take one of the greatest (if not THE greatest) cartoons of all time, "Red Hot Riding Hood" and slap out on the bonus disc in a standard VHS copy is insulting to me and all the other fans out there. Actually NONE of the content on disc three is in HD so it's NOT a Blu-ray! It's a DVD!
Look, I understand the realities of marketing and customer demand; You can't put all Bugs or Daffy on one set because no one (or very few) would buy Porky or Sylvester. You can't put them in chronological order because the average consumer wouldn't buy the black and whites. I don't expect you to remaster all the documentaries or featurettes BUT the cartoons themselves? There's no excuse except a money grab.
The packaging that Volume two comes in doesn't even match the first one! It's completely different.
I honestly don't understand the WB's complete indifference to the Looney Tunes collections and the Looney Tunes collector. It's a rabid fan base. And as proven time and again there is quite a market for deluxe sets. Why not issue deluxe collector's versions? the Complete Tex Avery!! The Complete Chuck Jones!! The Complete One Shots and Minis! Hell, Just do The Warner Bros and the complete MGM! To big? break 'em down! Complete Looney Tunes 1930-1942, Complete Merrie Melodies 1931-1942.....
All cartoons ReMastered??In 1080p? You'd make a fortune and the fans would be happy.
Unlike how they feel now.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
52 of 62 people found the following review helpful
on August 22, 2012
Not only this will be the first time the post-1935 black and white Looney Tunes will be on Blu Ray but also 10 shorts will be new-to-DVD all remastard on this release:

with its original opening titles restored - **
with its original opening ringss restored - ***

*What Makes Daffy Duck? (1948, Art Davis) Hilarious
*Birdy and the Beast (1944, Bob Clampett)
*Home, Tweet Home (1950, Friz Freleng)** Funny
*The High and the Flighty (1955, Robert McKimson)
*Porky's Hare Hunt (1938, Ben Hardaway) My favorite
*Hare-um Scare-um (1939, Ben Hardaway and Cal Dalton) This version will have its original ending remastard back to the cartoon.
*Prest-O Change-O (1939, Chuck Jones) My personal favorite
*The Lion's Busy (1950, Friz Freleng)** Hilarious
*Strife with Father (1950, Robert McKimson)** Funny
*A Horsefly Fleas (1947, Robert McKimson)

Note: the previous released cartoon "Canned Feud" is remastard with its original opening ringss unlike LTGC Vol. 1 which had the Blue Ribbon reissue version.

And 11 Tex Avery directed MGM shorts will also be on this release, but only on Blu Ray and they're not remastard unfortunately:
*Blitz Wolf (1942)
*Red Hot Riding Hood (1943)
*Screwball Squirrel (1944)
*Swing Shift Cinderella (1945)
*King-Size Canary (1947) Funny
*Bad Luck Blackie (1949)
*Señor Droopy (1949)
*Wags to Riches (1949)
*Symphony in Slang (1951) Hilarious
*Magical Maestro (1952) Hilarious
*Rock-a-Bye Bear (1952) My favorite

I only recommend this for those new-to-DVD and Blu Ray cartoona. And it's only for those who want to have the previous release shorts from the Golden Collections and Super Stars on Blu Ray in HD instead.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2012
I ordered this item because of the Tex Avery MGM cartoons included in it. Wow! "Red Hot Riding Hood," "Swingshift Cinderella" et al on Blu-ray! Sharp, brilliant high definition! Imagine my disappointment when the product arrived, I loaded up the disc containing said MGM Avery treasures, and it looked like I was watching them on VHS. Thanks for making it clear, Product Information, that these Avery cartoons are in "standard definition" (though they look even worse, with those intermittent comb-like parallel black lines that appear occasionally in the image in certain digital videos). My excitement face-planted to disappointment just like that.

Caveat emptor... suckers!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2014
Before a review or critique of these cartoons can be made, the viewer of this material MUST grasp 2 facts about the material:
1) The content was NEVER intended for Children to be the main audience. A lot of (mis-directed) criticism has been thrown towards Warner Bros. for the violence and racial comedy in these cartoons. Although the cartoons are (mostly) appropriate for all ages, the original intended audience was the adult American movie goer. These cartoons were created to be shown at the movie theater, on the big screen, before the main show. it was in the 1940's, 50's & 60's considered to be part of an 'evenings entertainment" at the cinema.
2) To "whitewash" or to pretend that some of the material is obviously racially insensitive and abusive is to "whitewash" and ignore the reality of American culture of the time period when these films were created. America at that time was a racist and segregateonal society. This is an undisputable fact and any attempt to downplay or ignore this is an affront to the victims of the abuse.
Racism is wrong, has always been wrong,
But to act as if it has never existed in our culture is even more wrong, it's insulting.

With that out of the way, this wonderful collection of cartoons has to be among the greatest film treasures for ANY fan of comedy. If you are from my age group (mid-30's) then you will no doubt recall some of these cartoons from your Saturday mornings.
When I was young, these cartoons was hilarious. As an adult, the same cartoons are even more funny, and for all different reasons. The "gang from termite terrace" were some very funny and clever fellows, and it shows all through this collection.
The blue-ray HD quality of the films is AMAZING. Especially when you compare it side by side to the old TV Show quality. Breathtaking.

And did I mention that these cartoons are SOOOO FUNNY!!!! I am looking forward to sharing these treasures with my newborn son when the time is right, and hopefully, my grandchildren in the future.
In contrast to the garbage that is released as "comedy" in modern times, these cartoons are actually FUNNY and will make you LAUGH.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2014
This is a bit of a mixed bag - typical Looney Tunes (Bugs, Daffy, Elmer, etc.) - and then some pretty awesome, somewhat obscure cartoons. There are three or four black-and-white 30's cartoons, early Bugs Bunny, and best of all Tex Avery's "Hollywood Steps Out". For me, there were many new cartoons that I had never seen before. All of this only makes me want to go in for the Golden Collection... I'm planning on Saturday morning cartoons forever!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 26, 2014
No contents listing. No dates other than the MCM... date on each title screen. Cartoons not sequenced by date. Cartoons not sequenced by character. Some cropping of frames seems to have been imposed. Worst of all, in the DVD version of this set, I get interlacing artifacts in every cartoon when I watch them on a computer monitor. Interlacing is not visible on Platinum Collection Vol. 3, so why is it marring every cartoon in Vol. 2?

The video quality is good, and the cartoons themselves are masterpieces. The production is appalling.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on October 16, 2012
Warner Home Video insists on packing these blurays like sausages... Full of recycled supplement filler from previous DVD sets. But with this one, they hit a new low. A large chunk of the cartoons on this set (everything labelled as "bonus material") isn't in 1080p. It's standard def. All those great MGM Tex Avery cartoons? Yep. They just shoved a DVD on a bluray disk and tried to slip it by you.

Here is a clue for Warner Home Video... Why would a cartoon fan buy this set? Odds are, he already has all the DVD sets... He's buying it for HI DEF CARTOONS. We don't need hour upon hour of repurposed mumbling commentary and rah rah cheerleader animation historians telling us how GREAT! everything is. We want HI DEF CARTOONS. We ESPECIALLY don't want cartoons in DVD quality as some sort of booby prize "bonus".

If Warner gave us what we want, and lots of it, they would get five stars. But the filler on this set that they charged me for and I don't want cuts that in half- 2 1/2 stars, rounded down for the stupidity of whoever decided that bluray customers want blurays filled with DVDs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2015
In 2012, the DVD AND Blu-ray versions of volume 2 of the Looney Tunes Platinum Collection came out at the same time, in time for Christmas! This volume contains 10 shorts never before on DVD, authorized at least, in the case of The Lion's Busy (and Prest-O Change-O) being in the Public Domain, only here the former has its original opening and ending credits reinstated! It's a shame the DVDs never came with 3rd discs full of bonuses, since the Blu-ray version contains 11 shorts from MGM directed by Tex Avery himself. Even with such solid-gold goodies in it, volume 2 never sold too well on either format, causing the WB to run out of moo-lah to restore any more Looney Tunes shorts that haven't been on DVD before, after volume 3 and the Hippety Hopper Super Stars DVD. All 3 volumes in the Platinum Collection contain 50 shorts apiece, all restored and remastered in HD, each with a handful of shorts never before on DVD. Heaven knows why it didn't sell too good; it contains Bugs Bunny's prototype period, including the completely uncut version of Hare-um Scare-um, right down to its original extended ending cut out for theatres (the staff thought that ending was too similar to that of Daffy Duck and Egghead, so that's why it never surfaced until here in 2012)! Like I keep saying with classic Disneytoon DVDs, just be thankful for what you have (it WAS close to Thanksgiving when I typed this)! Sadly, with volume 3, "That's All, Folks!", unless the WB and Jerry Beck reconsider what they said about running out of dough for more Looney Tunes shorts never before on DVD. Luckily, it had no effect on other classic toons being remastered, like Tom and Jerry's Gene Deitch era, the Peanuts gang's non-holiday Emmy-nominated/-winning specials, and the whole series of Atom Ant and Secret Squirrel for their 50th anniversaries!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2015
After seeing the pros and cons of this set, and after buying a $70 Blu-Ray/DVD player, I decided to buy this set, not only for the Tex Avery cartoons, but for some of the other cartoons that I didn't already have. While the cartoons on Discs 1 and 2 are perfectly clean, don't expect any shorts on Disc 3 to be remastered. The Captain and The Kids cartoons look somewhat restored, but some of the Tex Avery shorts look like they were either Turner broadcasting prints or simply remastered from the master elements (THERE IS A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN REMASTERED AND RESTORED. Remastered is when a new copy of the cartoon is made, whereas restored is where the image and sound are painstakingly cleaned up.) Not only that, but the Mr. Hook cartoons, as well as Friz On Film look like they were taken off VHS (If they were the only versions available, I understand.) Nevertheless, I will say that even if it is expensive, having the Tex Avery cartoons on Blu-Ray (although in SD and not in HD) as special features is (to an extent) better than not having them at all, unless you want to settle for the MGM/UA VHS and LaserDisc releases.

As for the Looney Tunes cartoons on the first 2 discs, you know how good they are.
Disc 1 has most of the stars we know and love: Bugs, Daffy, Porky, Tweety and Sylvester, Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote. Some of the iconic cartoons include: A Wild Hare, Buckaroo Bugs, Book Revue, Porky In Wackyland, You Ought To Be In Pictures, as well as Academy Award Winners Tabasco Road and Mexicali Shmoes.
Disc 2 includes the entire Bugs and Daffy Hunting Trilogy in chronological order, as well as the complete Nasty Canasta, Bugs and Cecil, Beaky Buzzard, and A. Flea, as well as the early Bugs Bunny prototypes and select one-shots that represent certain eras of the studio's history: Hollywood Steps Out (reflecting the many Hollywood film and celebrity parodies), Page Miss Glory (representing the many music-driven Merrie Melodies, and a stand-out for its Great Gatsby-esque art deco), Rocket-Bye Baby (one of many Chuck Jones greats, this one set in the space age), and Russian Rhapsody (an amazing example of the many Warner wartime shorts).
Disc 3 (ONLY on Blu-Ray) is nothing but special features and bonus cartoons that will most likely appeal to cartoon buffs. In addition to documentaries surrounding Tex Avery, Friz Freleng, and Private Snafu, there is also ToonHeads: The Lost Cartoons (with rare cartoons, commercials, and feature film animated sequences), some early black-and white Looney Tunes, hilarious behind-the-scenes footage of the Warner Bros. studio staff "at work", as well as Private Snafu cartoons (made exclusively for the Army), Mr. Hook cartoons (made exclusively for the Navy), 5 Captain and The Kids cartoons (Friz Freleng's MGM cartoons from the late 30's), and last but not least, although in SD, a selection of TEX AVERY'S MGM CARTOONS, INCLUDING BLITZ WOLF, RED HOT RIDING HOOD (regarded by many, including myself, as the best cartoon ever made), SCREWBALL SQUIRREL, AND KING-SIZE CANARY!!!!!

Again, the 4 star rating was due to poor copies of Private Snafu and Mr. Hook, but like the headline says, this has a little bit of everything for the animation aficionado.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.