Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 16, 2014
***7/9/14 UPDATE***
A DVD version has been announced and will be released on November 4th 2014.

This would have been a 5-star release if it had new material we have not seen yet.
Previous DVD release set names are in parenthesis.

(BR) = Re-issue Blue-Ribbon titles

Disc 1 (Bugs Bunny cartoons unless noted)
Hiawatha's Rabbit Hunt (Oscar Animation Collection & a bonus on The Maltese Falcon) - Original titles have been restored!
Corny Concerto, A (spoof of Fantasia) (Gold 2)
Falling Hare (Gold 3)
Little Red Riding Rabbit (Gold 2)
Hair-Raising Hare (Gold 1)
Acrobatty Bunny (Gold 3)
Big Snooze, The w/ Elmer Fudd (Gold 2)
Hare Grows in Manhattan, A (Gold 3)
Easter Yeggs (Gold 3)
Slick Hare w/ Humphry Bogart (Gold 2)
Gorilla My Dreams (Gold 2)
High Diving Hare w/ Yosemite Sam (Gold 1)
Hillbilly Hare (Gold 3)
Bunny Hugged (Gold 2)
Operation: Rabbit w/ Wile E. Coyote, Genius (Gold 4)
Bully for Bugs (Gold 1)
Bugs and Thugs w/ Mugsy (Gold 1)
Knighty Knight Bugs w/Yosemite Sam (Gold 4)
Honey's Money (Yosemite Sam alone) ***New to Home Video***
Hep Cat, The (non Bugs) - the first color Looney Tune! (Gold 2)
Pigs in a Polka (The Three Little Pigs) (Gold 3)
Ham in a Role (Goofy Gophers) (Gold 6)
Dog Gone South (non Bugs) (Gold 6)
Bear for Punishment, A (The Three Bears) (Gold 2)
Steal Wool (Sam & Ralph) (Gold 3)

Disc 2
Porky Pig's Feat 1943 (B&W Porky & Daffy with Bugs Bunny cameo) (Golden 3)
Scrap Happy Daffy 1943 (B&W Daffy Duck) (Golden 5)
Plane Daffy 1944 (Daffy Duck & Hitler) (Gold 4)
Stupid Cupid, The 1944 (Daffy Duck) (BR) (Gold 4)
Draftee Daffy 1944 (Daffy Duck) (Gold 3)
Nasty Quacks 1945 (Daffy Duck) (Daffy Duck Frustrated Fowl)
Stupor Salesman, The 1947 (Daffy Duck) (Gold 5)
Wholly Smoke 1938 (B&W Porky Pig) (Gold 5)
Swooner Crooner 1944 (Porky Pig) (BR) (Oscar Animation Collection)
Life with Feathers 1945 (Sylvester) (BR) ***First time on DVD***
Canary Row 1949 (Syl & Tweety) (Golden 1)
Tree for Two 1951 (Syl & Tweety) ***First time on DVD***
Sandy Claws 1954 (Syl & Tweety) (Oscar Animation Collection)
Dog Pounded 1953 (Syl & Tweety) (BR but original credits) (Pepe Le Pew: Zee Best of Zee Best)
Satan's Waitin' 1953 (Syl & Tweety) (BR but original credits) (Golden 6)
Birds Anonymous 1957 (Syl & Tweety) (BR but original credits) (Golden 3)
Mouse and Garden 1959 (Sylvester) (Golden 4)
Pied Piper of Guadalupe, The 1961 (Sylvester) (Golden 4)
Gruesome Twosome, A 1945 (Tweety) (Golden 3) - original titles restored!
Guided Muscle 1955 (Road Runner) (Golden 2)
Beep Prepared 1961 (Road Runner) (Previously a bonus cartoon on the "Splendor in the Grass" DVD)
Walky Talky Hawky 1946 (Foghorn Leghorn) (BR) (Gold 3)
Rhapsody in Rivets (1941) (BR) (Oscar Animation Collection)
High Note 1959 (Oscar Animation Collection)
Nelly's Folly 1961 (Oscar Animation Collection)

26 audio commentaries
12 documentaries, including:
70-minute Mel Blanc Tribute: The Man Of A Thousand Voices
60-minute Drawn For Glory: Animation's Triumph At The Oscars
The Boys From Termite Terrace (1975)
An all-new doc, That's All Folks! Tales From Termite Terrace (Update: this documentary is only on the Blu-ray version)

Note: since the transfers made for the Golden Collections were already in Hi-definition (except volume 1), the improvement will only be seen on large screen HD-TVs and video projectors for those titles.
The NEW TO DVD titles show the most improvement over previous releases.
All have vibrant colors and crisp sound. Blu-ray audio is better than the compressed DVD audio so these do sound better.
9494 comments| 198 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2014
WB, If you wonder why these sets are not selling try releasing at least half new content on these sets. the list of actually great shorts that are still yet to be released is appalling. The cartoons look great on volume one and two. better than the golden collections. it's really a shame that we collectors keep having to shell out money for the same shorts every couple of years.

I never bought the Academy Award set so this will be a good chance for those, like me to collect the missing gems from that release but now in HD.
55 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
Before a review or critique of these cartoons can be made, the viewer of this material MUST grasp 2 facts about the material:
1) The content was NEVER intended for Children to be the main audience. A lot of (mis-directed) criticism has been thrown towards Warner Bros. for the violence and racial comedy in these cartoons. Although the cartoons are (mostly) appropriate for all ages, the original intended audience was the adult American movie goer. These cartoons were created to be shown at the movie theater, on the big screen, before the main show. it was in the 1940's, 50's & 60's considered to be part of an 'evenings entertainment" at the cinema.
2) To "whitewash" or to pretend that some of the material is obviously racially insensitive and abusive is to "whitewash" and ignore the reality of American culture of the time period when these films were created. America at that time was a racist and segregateonal society. This is an undisputable fact and any attempt to downplay or ignore this is an affront to the victims of the abuse.
Racism is wrong, has always been wrong,
But to act as if it has never existed in our culture is even more wrong, it's insulting.

With that out of the way, this wonderful collection of cartoons has to be among the greatest film treasures for ANY fan of comedy. If you are from my age group (mid-30's) then you will no doubt recall some of these cartoons from your Saturday mornings.
When I was young, these cartoons was hilarious. As an adult, the same cartoons are even more funny, and for all different reasons. The "gang from termite terrace" were some very funny and clever fellows, and it shows all through this collection.
The blue-ray HD quality of the films is AMAZING. Especially when you compare it side by side to the old TV Show quality. Breathtaking.

And did I mention that these cartoons are SOOOO FUNNY!!!! I am looking forward to sharing these treasures with my newborn son when the time is right, and hopefully, my grandchildren in the future.
In contrast to the garbage that is released as "comedy" in modern times, these cartoons are actually FUNNY and will make you LAUGH.
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 23, 2015
VIDEO:

“Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Vol. 3” arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33-1.78:1 encode. Colours are bright and bold with inky blacks. Contrasts and saturation are nicely vibrant. Details are excellent. Grain is preserved. The only issue is print damage, inherent to the source elements, but fortunately, not very distracting. Remember these are shorts that were made many years ago, and cannot be compared to current pristine standards from Pixar and Dreamworks. (4/5)

AUDIO:

“Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Vol. 3” again provided us with lossy 192kbps Dolby Digital Mono track, like the previous 2 volumes. The sound is clean and adequate. Because of the age of the source, lossless DTS soundtrack may not make that much difference, but would be nice to have, but at extra cost and time to Warner. (3.5/5)

CONTENT:

There are 50 shorts in 2 blu-ray discs.

Disc 1: (1) Hiawatha’s Rabbit Hunt, (2) A Corny Concerto, (3) Falling Hare, (4) Little Red Riding Rabbit, (5) Hair-Raising Hare, (6) Acrobatty Bunny, (7) The Big Snooze, (8) A Hare Grows in Manhattan, (9) Easter Yeggs, (10) Slick Hare, (11) Gorilla My Dreams, (12) High Diving Hare, (13) Hillbilly Hare, (14) Bunny Hugged, (15) Operation: Rabbit, (16) Bully For Bugs, (17) Bugs and Thugs, (18) Knighty Knight Bugs, (19) Honey’s Money, (20) The Hep Cat, (21) Pigs in a Polka, (22) A Ham in a Role, (23) Dog Gone South, (24) A Bear for Punishment, (25) Steal Wool. Plus bonus contents.

Disc 2: (1) Porky Pig’s Feat, (2) Scrap Happy Daffy, (3) Plane Daffy, (4) The Stupid Cupid, (5) Draftee Daffy, (6) Nasty Quacks, (7) The Stupor Salesman, (8) Wholly Smoke, (9) Swooner Crooner, (10) Life with Feathers, (11) Canary Row, (12) Tree For Two, (13) Sandy Claws, (14) Dog Pounded, (15) Satan’s Waitin’, (16) Birds Anonymous, (17) Mouse and Garden, (18) The Pied Piper of Guadalupe, (19) A Gruesome Twosome, (20) Guided Muscle, (21) Beep Prepared, (22) Walky Talky Hawky, (23) Rhapsody in Rivets, (24) High Note, (25) Nelly’s Folly. Plus bonus contents.

COMPARISON AMONG 3 VOLUMES:

Volume 1 is the best. Of course, I purchased the Limited Edition, coming with a huge box, even bigger than my “Lord of the Rings Extended Cut” box set. There is a hard cover 50-page book, housing 3 blu-ray discs. Other goodies include Limited Edition Collectibles and a Bugs Bunny glass. (5/5)

Volume 2 is next best, with 3 blu-ray discs in ordinary DVD case. There is a 28-page booklet, with lots of details and pictures. (4/5)

Volume 3 is the most ordinary, with 2 blu-ray discs, also in ordinary DVD case. There is a bare-bone 12-page booklet. The most outstanding aspect of Volume 3 is its persistent high price at $38.99 since its release in November 2014. So I waited, and waited and waited…and finally, there was a sudden price drop to $26.99 on August 9, 2015, which I purchased immediately. The price has now gone back up to $33.74. (3.5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember vividly that when I was a young kid, I always had the anticipation of any Looney Tunes cartoons before the Main Feature in local theatres, or on regular Saturday morning cartoons, and thoroughly enjoyed those shorts. All these 3 volumes certainly brought back many happy memories. Warner also stated that Volume 3 is the LAST volume to be released on blu-ray…”That’s All Folks!” Collect all 3 volumes and enjoy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
These are Looney Tunes so they are inherently great fun and the audiovisual quality of the cartoons is excellent. My only issue is that there are a lot of cartoons recycled from earlier collections.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
I have the Gold Collection, but it is missing some of our favorites. The Platinum Collection has them all. There doesn't seem to be any cartoons on TV on Saturday mornings anymore. My son (now and adult) and I like to get up early, grab some breakfast and watch cartoons, just like when I was a kid and got up before my parents. The quality of this is excellent. It has hours and hours of really great extras. It does not disappoint in any way. I recommend adding this PLATINUM collection on Blu-ray for every Looney Tunes aficionado.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2015
Tex Avery is my favorite animation producer! I like his time @ Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (after altercation {and very bitter dis-agreement} )with Warner Brothers' Animation Producer, Leon Schlesinger, on the closing scene of Tex Avery's newest idea of "air breaks" were used as
"The Heckling Hare" ended, led Tex to leave Warner Brothers & be a rival (@ M-G-M & a new friend to William Hanna & Joseph Barbera).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Picture and sound on the Blu-Rays are excellent. The rationale for including a particular cartoon on this collection appears to be (1) if it hasn't been included on the two previous Platinum Collection volumes; (2) if it was included in Jerry Beck's book from 2010 entitled "The 100 Greatest Looney Tunes Cartoons" (40 of these 50 are listed in Beck's book. Of course, so was "Coal Black and de Sebben Dwarfs"...); and/or (3) if it was an Oscar nominee or winner. "Knighty Knight Bugs" makes its Blu-Ray debut here, but it has appeared on 5 different previous DVD collections (if you count the 2 different WB Oscar collections separately). Still, these are great films worth owning; our friends at Warner Brothers continue to feel they're worth owning 3, 4, 5, 6 or more times! With over 400 Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies yet to see the official-release light of day in the DVD era, including the long-delayed (forever?) so-called Censored Eleven, one does wonder at the long-term strategy at work here.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Though I wish there was more variety decade-wise (more B&W shorts), this is nonetheless another great collection of classic Looney Tunes cartoons. If you're into Bob Clampett, Bugs Bunny, Tweety and Sylvester, Fank Tashlin, as well as Academy Award-nominated shorts, but DO NOT have the Golden Collections, this is an essential collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
If you yearn for the old days of cartoon characters entertaining children but also throwing in enough adult humor to entertain an older crowd you'll love these Looney Tune cartoons from years past. Still funnier than most stuff out today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse