Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the fairy tale theme.............
Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe is Book 2 in the Royal House of Shadows by Harlequin Nocturne ~ a series of 4 books by some awesome authors filled with Paranormal creatures & suspense.

The series is built around the Royal Kingdom of Elden, and it's ruling family ~ in each book we get the story of one of the children, who were magically cast out into their...
Published on September 21, 2011 by Kindle Customer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lord of Rage, book 2
First, I would recommend reading this series, Royal House of Shadows, in order. This is a series that's building on each book, and while you could read this as a stand alone, it has elements that are important to the overall storyline and those seem to be building up to combine with the other sibling's tales in the final book. Breena finds herself alone in a forest, no...
Published on September 15, 2011 by Jess


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lord of Rage, book 2, September 15, 2011
First, I would recommend reading this series, Royal House of Shadows, in order. This is a series that's building on each book, and while you could read this as a stand alone, it has elements that are important to the overall storyline and those seem to be building up to combine with the other sibling's tales in the final book. Breena finds herself alone in a forest, no idea where she is, or how she got there. She's hungry, tired and when she finds a cabin in the middle of nowhere, she goes in and finds food and a bed and instantly falls asleep. (Goldilocks, anyone?)

Osborn is raising his brothers alone after seeing his family and all his people killed. Osborn is a berserker - he has the spirit of ber within him. The ways of his people were really quiet simple. When the male comes of age he goes on a quest. Either kill the bear hunting him and become one with the bear's spirit. Or, the bear kills the male and takes on the spirit of the man. Osborn succeeded and now with his bear's pelt, he's a true warrior. And he's Breena's warrior, who she met long ago in her dreams, as a dream walker.

The cabin Breena finds is Osborn's and he's not thrilled with her being there. They recognize each other from their shared dreams, but he's convinced that she only wants the Osborn from her dreams and not the man he truly is. Breena's just trying to figure out what happened to her home. She's slowly gaining back memories, and in the safety of Osborn's arms, she's able to dream of the night her parents were killed and realizes who her enemy is and she wants vengeance. Her goal is to get back to her people and lead them, as is her birth right, to reclaim their home. To do that, she needs her warrior to train her.

The relationship was really about Osborn letting himself trust what was happening between he and Breena. He was so sure that she only wanted him in her dreams and that she was meant to be with a more "refined" man, but Breena wasn't the same woman she was at the start of the story. She was every part the warrior princess she turned into and she became that way because of Osborn. I love a tortured hero and Osborn had a hard time letting go of his painful past and seeing what could be with Breena. He struggled with wanting her, all the while believing that he couldn't really have her, and Breena wore him down.

**********
Her imagination played with the idea of taking off at a run. He'd chase. He'd catch her. She'd be helpless against his strength. And while he'd threatened her with death a moment ago, she knew that was the last thing he wanted to do to her. He did want to do things to her. Forbidden deeds.
**********

Their relationship had a slow buildup, but it worked. Breena needed to train, and Osborn needed to realize that what was happening between them was real, and not just the dreams playing with their emotions. I loved the added bit with Osborn's younger brothers. They were so sweet and hungry for any information or stories Osborn would give them about their people and their past. They also liked having Breena around and "wanted to keep her." It was nice to see Osborn become more open with his brothers as the book went along, no doubt due to Breena's influence.

I overall enjoyed this story very much. It's a fast read, a little on the shorter side, but it set up Breena and Osborn for the final showdown with the Blood Sorcerer. Now we're left waiting, along with Breena, for her brothers to make their way to her.

Blog rating: 3/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the fairy tale theme............., September 21, 2011
By 
Kindle Customer "Mimmi" (RADCLIFF, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe is Book 2 in the Royal House of Shadows by Harlequin Nocturne ~ a series of 4 books by some awesome authors filled with Paranormal creatures & suspense.

The series is built around the Royal Kingdom of Elden, and it's ruling family ~ in each book we get the story of one of the children, who were magically cast out into their papanormal world by their parents when their kingdom was under attack from the Evil Blood Sorcerer ~ as a last act, each parent sent magical spells upon their 4 children ~ one was casting them away from the castle under attack to safety, and the other was an urge for vengeance upon their attackers.

In Lord of Rage by Jill Monroe we meet the one daughter of the Royal Kingdom of Elden ~ Princess Breena. Breena has magical powers ~ but like her mother, she won't come into her true powers until she meets her true mate, her love. But she's always been able to put herself into dreams ~ and the dreams she's been having are of a warrior ~ HER Warrior. When she finds herself cast out into the far lands, in a forest deep and dark and almost totally deserted, she's starving, thirsty, and scared she'll die out here alone ~ until she finds the cottage. She can't believe her luck ~ and when Osborn, the last of the Ursan Warriors, finds her sleeping in his bed, he's first thrilled, then suspicious...for her being there can only be a bad thing.

Osborn, a true Ursan Warrior ~ one who, when wearing his Barnhaut (bear skin), can become the most fearsome of warriors ~ a true berserker, has lived his life since his early teen years for two things ~ to protect and raise his two younger brothers, and to have revenge on the Kingdom of Elden, whom he believes massacred all of his people so many years ago. He doesn't at first know who Breena is, but he knows she's no commonly bred woman, and that she's brought trouble to him and his brothers. So quickly Osborn is looking for a way to get rid of Breena ~ she's a woman, he can't just kill her, so he has to find her a place to go ~ that is, if he can resist the temptation she presents to him. And if she'd just stay away from him and out of his dreams...........and Breena is on a mission to get back to Elden, to see if her brothers survived, and what is being done to take the kingdom back....and she needs HER warriors help.

I loved this book ~ started out with a Goldilocks and The Three Bears twist that just tickled me, and I found myself really falling for Osborn, feeling his pain and devotion to his brother and his people ~ and really rooting for Breena to find a way around the rough shell he's surrounded himself with. Breena is a young, isolated young woman who finds herself having to learn many things about the world quickly ~ and I like the way Ms. Monroe handled this, and made me truly like and believe in Breena.

More things are revealed in the overall plot line that the Blood Sorcerer has laid for Elden...and I can't wait to pick up Book 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, November 7, 2011
This review is from: Lord of Rage (Royal House of Shadows Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I like this tale of Goldilocks and the Three Bears much better than the original. There is a lot of fun in finding out what really happens after the girl is discovered sleeping in the bed than I could have imagined. Once again, Ms. Monroe entertains and thrills readers with her wit, clever writing and yummy heroes.

In this case, Goldilocks is Breena, the only princess of Elden. My favorite thing about her character is her growth. In the beginning she's a dutiful daughter but the author gave hints that there's more of an adventurous spirit trapped inside her. Good thing too because by a desperate act of magic, Breena was tossed to safety, away from all the horror and death. She might have been physically safe but the heroine discovered that her emotions and feelings were far from secure because she ended up meeting Osborn. Through him, and with him, she discovered more about the woman she really is and who she wants to be.

Osborn is a fascinating man. He's a guy who needs saving and redemption. He's done what he's had to do in order to survive and protect the family he has left. He's taken the role so seriously, that he's buried deep all his own dreams and hopes and desires. He figures at this point, he's not worthy of them and isn't entitled to anything but vengeance. It made me want him to have his happily ever after. Ms. Monroe wrote with such feeling that his pain and yearning jumped off of the page. I cared for what happens to him. Osborn is a man who is due some happiness in his life. Even a reason to laugh out loud.

Watching Osborn and Breena fall in love was fun. So many challenges thwarted them and so many secrets needed to be revealed before they could realize their true destiny. And the author was quite clever. Just when I thought all would be well, Ms. Monroe surprised me with a clever twist that infused the story with a dramatic burst of action and heroics. A few loose ends get solved and a new destiny is forged. It was exciting storytelling.

Another fascinating aspect of this book is the sensual build-up. The author has Osborn and Breena each taking turns at seducing the other, and each scene grows hotter and hotter until I thought I'd burst if they didn't finally experience the ultimate loving fireworks. Ms. Monroe did not disappoint. It was romantic, sexy and the part with the pelt left me fanning myself. I like Breena's sense of physical adventure.

Lord of Rage is the second installment to the Royal House of Shadowsi series and it rocks. It also is a perfect standalone. There is no reason for a first time reader to wonder if they'll get lost in the story arc. The tale is totally about Osborn and Breena and how they come together, fall in love, and when joined, become stronger than they thought possible. I was thoroughly entertained and Breena's unique dilemma kept me glued to the pages. I didn't stop reading until I'd turned the last page. The happily ever after was romantic and it fit with the characters' needs. It also whetted my appetite for the next installment in the series.

Lord of Rage is sexy, delightful and has a great emotional punch that's a knock-out. Fans of Ms. Monroe are in for another treat and readers of paranormal romances will find what they're looking for - fun, chills, thrills and a growly good romance.

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just being honest...ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lord of Rage (Royal House of Shadows Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A play on Goldilocks and the Three Bears. In this case, Goldilocks is Breena, the only princess of Elden. She is thrown into the arms of a berserker - Bear. Hot, yet ahhhhh so boring....Started out pretty good. The writing was fluid and had meat on its bones. Then things just got super cheesy. Once you had the heroine and the hero interact in real time it was odd and childish. They both fumbled around one another like 12 year olds. So yeah - the first 3 chapters - not bad, after that boo...hiss - and totally boring. Waste of cash. Not a page turner and the erotica was lacking big-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great addition to the series that it was written for. I loved finding out what all the characters went through to get to where they needed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read them all and loved them!, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lord of Rage (Royal House of Shadows Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Read all the related books and loved them. Takes you there. One book built on the next even though different authors were involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, October 13, 2011
Princess Breena dreams of having a fairly tale love in her life with a warrior that haunts her dreams nightly. What she doesn't count on is being ripped from her home when it is attacked. Now Breena has to find a way to survive the world that she has always been protected from and to find a way to get home and conquer the one that has taken her world and people over. Wandering and trying to find a safe place she comes across a cottage in the middle of a forest that just might offer her all that she is looking for and some things that she didn't know she needed.

Osborn was a warrior and mercenary that gave up that life to live quietly in the forest with the simple pleasures he has there. Until the day Breena comes into his life and turns everything upside down and makes Osborn remember all that he is missing by cutting off the world around him. Now Osborn is going to have to decide if he wants to really start living again and give his princess the happy ever after she is looking for or doom them both to a life that is anything but happy.

Breena is determined that she isn't going to be a helpless princess anymore and the only one that can teach her what she needs to know is Osborn now if she can just convince him of that. If Osborn wants to give his princess everything he feels she deserve he is going to have to help her learn to survive and fight the evil that is stalking her. Soon Osborn and Breena find that they only hope they have of surviving is go it together. They are also learning that the future they thought they wanted isn't necessarily the one that is best one for them or now that they have met the one they truly do want. If they are to have a future together though they are going to have to find a way to conquer the evil that has taken over the land of Elden, Breena's home.

This brings the fairy tale Goldilocks and the Three Bears to life in a way that isn't the same fairy tale from childhood. The twist on this one makes the fairy tale fresh and will have the reader believing they are reading it for the very first time. This is the second story in a series of four books and while it can be read as a stand alone book it is greatly enhanced by reading the first book first. Readers won't be disappointed in the series up to date and will be eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, better than book 1!, September 20, 2011
Lord of Rage is part 2 in the four-part author collaboration of the Royal House of Shadows series. It was written by Jill Monroe and this is my first experience with Monroe. I have heard of her, but never read anything from her. But from this book, I truly believe I should read more from her. She doesn't write a lot of PNR but after reading this, she really should. Lord of Rage is a great installment to this great, growing series.

Lord of Rage is about a princess named Breena from Elden who is from a family with very special powers, except hers. All she can do is enter dreams. But one recurring dream involves a sexy warrior that she can't stay away from. But the day comes when her castle is under attack by the Blood Sorcerer and she was lucky enough to escape before she too was either slaved or killed. She is running for her life for days until she ends up in an "empty" cabin with food and a bed. But things get a little crowded when that home happens to belong to three brothers, one of which is the warrior she has been dreaming of that she didn't believe was real.

The warrior, Osborn, is not just any warrior, but a berserker. In fact, he and his younger brothers are the last of their kind after his entire village was slaughtered years ago. He looks after his brothers and keeps them safe and wishes to take out his anger on the kingdom that has annihilated his home; Elden, or so he thinks. When he sees Breena and sees she is in fact real, he believes she is there to use him as a mercenary and he is sick of being used as a mercenary.

I enjoyed the characters. I loved that Breena was this princess pampered and trapped and luxury and with Osborn, we see that she is stubborn and a fighter. I loved Osborn. He was tough as nails and scary. I loved that as much as his head told him not to trust her, she is nothing but trouble, he trusts his heart instead. A little cheesy coming from me, but no less true. I loved Osborn's little brothers Bernt and Torben. I know Breena's and Nicholas's remaining two siblings, Dayn and Micah, will have their stories told in the rest of the series. But I would love to see something with Bernt and Torben. Seeing how they didn't have much of a childhood since it was taken from them and how they are only now being taught to be warriors because of Breena's persuading Osborn, I want to see how they will turn out.

Now I know you guys know that book 1, Lord of the Vampires by Gena Showalter, was good, but not a favorite for me. I must say, I liked this one better. There was a focus and I didn't feel like I was left out. I had a real connection with the story and the characters. This book was full of revelations and change. The characters were so stuck in their ways, but by meeting each other, they all learned that what they knew and what they were used is what held them back.

I would recommend this to PNR fans or just any fans of romance. It did take this book a little while until it got some interaction with one of the more main villains, but it we did, I was so happy. This book was great from beginning to end. You will get hooked very quickly with this story and its characters. Lord of Rage is a great sequel and I can't wait to get my hands on Lord of the Wolfyn (book 3) by Jessica Andersen. Thank you so much Netgalley for these so far. Nonetheless, check this out, you'll be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love a good berserker, September 20, 2011
By 
It's no secret that Lord of the Vampires didn't exactly light my fire. But I am so glad I didn't give up on the series, because I enjoyed this installment so much more.

If you're unfamiliar with the Royal House of Shadows books, the basic premise is that a Blood Sorcerer has attacked the royal family of magical land of Elden. He killed the king and queen but before he could attack their children, the royals used their powers to spirit the princes and princess away. The queen imprinted on them each a will to survive, while the king instilled in them the need for vengeance.

The princess, Breena, has always had the power to walk in the dreams of others. And for some time, she has been sharing her dreams with a mysterious warrior. When her parents' magic sends her away from home, she is drawn to the man who she comes to know as Obsorn. She doesn't remember everything that happened right away, but she remembers Osborn. What she doesn't know is that he is the last of the Berserkers. His people were killed off a decade ago and he's been caring for his younger brothers, the only other survivors from his village. Osborn thinks the people of Elden planned the bloody attack... so you know it's not going to be good once he finds out where he dream woman is from.

Anyway, Breena manages to convince Osborn to train her in battle. But every moment they are alone together, neither can deny the rising heat between them. Can Obsorn teach Breena what she needs to know to reclaim her lands? Will he still burn for her once he finds out who she really is? Could berserkers be any sexier? Meow.

This was my first book by Jill Monroe and I'd be happy to read from her again. The writing was clear; the dialogue good; the sex was hot. The only thing I would have changed if I could would have been a bigger climax at the end, but I guess that won't come until the end of the series. I'm also wondering about the time discrepancies among the different installments. Hopefully, that will be addressed as well. 4 stars.

P.S. The book was a take on Goldilocks and the Three Bears, which made me wonder if Lord of the Vampires was supposed to be a play on any particular fairy tale. I looked it up and it was supposed to be a take on Alice in Wonderland. I had no idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Bears...LOVE it!, September 20, 2011
My Review:
First, just let me say "Yay!!" My faith in this series is restored. This was such a fun read. All four books in this series are based around the four children of the Elden Royal Family who were dispersed when the kingdom was attacked and the King & Queen murdered. Each novel is written by a different author and they each base their story loosely around one of the fairy tales. It's a brilliant premise. You can read more about the entire series HERE. This book was based upon the Goldilocks & the Three Bears fairy tale.

Taking a twist on Goldilocks and the Three Bears was just brilliant. And OMG, I love those bears. I loved Osborn, the hero and Berserker (his people channel the bear spirit when in battle) in this story, but I really loved his two younger brothers, Bernt & Torben, too. When Osborn became a Berserker at age 15, he and his father returned to their home to find it being attacked. His entire race was destroyed by Vampires and the rising of the sun is the only thing that saved him. His younger brothers who were only 4 and 5 at the time, were told to hide in a cave by their mother when the attack came and it saved their lives. From that point on, it was just the three of them simply trying to survive. Osborn had to take on such a responsibility at age 15, it molded him into a very strict, stern man without much use for fun. He is very hard on his younger brothers and none of them travel much or see other people very often, so you can imagine their surprise when they find a blonde beauty in their bed.

Breena was the Princess from the kingdom of Elden, although she is only remembering bits and pieces from what happened the night that she escaped. She can only keep two thoughts forefront in her mind, "Survive & Avenge." When she stumbles upon the cabin, she has been wandering the forest for 2 days and is starving and exhausted and confused.

There are 4 basic characters in this story throughout 95% of the book and I loved all 4 of them.
1. Breena is strong and courageous. She hasn't trained to be anything more than a Princess, quiet and meek, managing the household. But she jumps right in with the 3 brothers doing whatever she needs to do without a complaint. She pushes Osborn although he can be a frightening guy. She never lets it show when she is intimidated or cowed by him. She always stiffens her backbone and goes on. She's determined and NOTHING is going to stand in her way and I LOVED that about her. She is one kick-ass chick!!

2. Osborn lost his entire family and had to take on the responsibility for 2 young boys at the age of 15. He had to do a lot of really unpleasant things to keep them sheltered, fed, and clothed. He's a warrior and he's a protector. This is the guy that you want to have on your side when you go into a fight and Breena realizes that right away. He is also trying to shelter his brothers although they are getting old enough to start to make their own decisions. He is domineering and gruff, but he loves his brothers and is trying to only do what is right for them.

3. The brothers, Bernt & Torben. OMG, these two cracked me up. They are teenagers at the time that the book takes place and like any teenage boys when faced with a pretty girl, they want to keep her. You can tell that life with Osborn hasn't been easy for them and I loved the alliance that they quickly forged with Breena against his autocratic ways.

Just a really fabulous book. I can't even imagine where the next two books in the series are going to go and how in the world that the four stories are going to come together. I definitely look forward to reading them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.