Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Blue October Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
5 star
69%
4 star
31%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 25, 2000
Using the Lord's Prayer as a starting point, Hauerwas and Willimon guide readers through major areas of Christian Ethics and thought in their trademark style. Readers familiar with the work of Hauerwas and Willimon will enjoy seeing their individual styles shine through occasionally, and the book reads like one of Willimon's sermons. It is important to understand that this is not a discussion of the Lord's Prayer for experienced Christians, but it can be good for people who have claimed but perhaps not actively thought about their faith.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
I did a sermon series on the Lord's Prayer and although I took smaller pieces at a time than Willimon and Hauerwas, I was able to get lots of thought provoking ideas to help me in developing my sermons. It isn't too scholarly sounding to read but reflects great scholarship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
Anyone who claims to be a good christian.Anyone trying to become a better christian needs to read & learn.We all can recite "The Prayer." Most know where it from & why.Willimom & Hauerwas give a whole new meaning.This book will open eyes,mind,& soul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
This is a really fine overview of the Lord's Prayer. It takes a prayer most of us have memorized and explains in detail what each verse is trying to teach us. It encouraged me while providing practical guidance on how to implement what I learned into my life.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Many recite the Lord's Prayer simply by rote without digging deeper into the meaning of each phrase.
This book, Lord Teach Us: The Lord's Prayer , examines each section of this familiar prayer told by Jesus to his disciples in response to their desire to have Him teach them to pray. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to discover what Jesus was talking about. A long time Christian, a new Christian or a non-Christian will all find new meaning of those familiar words frequently recited and known as "The Lord's Prayer." Personally, I believe it is a book to be read more than once.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
Rev. Anne Corbert of United Church in Windsor Ontario did a study on the Lord's prayer. This was one of the books she suggested reading. I bought two at a very reasonable price. The sellers sent exactly what was promised and the book has some interesting points so far. I am pleased overall with my purchases
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
It was the basis for a Lenten study and very helpful and satisfactory.Easy to accommodate to a class and meaningful in later spiritual life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Chosen as a BIble study at our church. Although not for a beginner, very insightful for a seasoned Christian. Very thought-provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Very enlightening. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.