Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVR, cameras not reliably manufactured
I ordered the LH314 Edge Series DVR with 2 LW21100 wireless cameras. It was very easy to place and pair the cameras. However, as stated with other reviews, the cameras are not consistently manufactured. Only 1 of my 2 cameras worked. They both were sending a signal nicely at first, but then one camera kept blacking out more and more frequently until now there is no...
Published on September 3, 2012 by Amanda V.

versus
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time and money
This product seemed great but hooking it up and actually getting it to function properly was (and still is) a nightmare. Cameras flash on and off, I constantly have to reset them, had to order $400 more in extended antennas which will hopefully help but remains to be seen. Customer Services is ABSOLUTELY THE WORST IN THE WORLD!!!! If you want help with product, you have...
Published on October 30, 2012 by Sherry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time and money, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product seemed great but hooking it up and actually getting it to function properly was (and still is) a nightmare. Cameras flash on and off, I constantly have to reset them, had to order $400 more in extended antennas which will hopefully help but remains to be seen. Customer Services is ABSOLUTELY THE WORST IN THE WORLD!!!! If you want help with product, you have to call and leave a message. They tell you they will get back to you within 2 hours. 2 hours later you receive an emial that says they are addressing your concerns and will get back to you and they never do. You can't actually speak to someone to get help!!! VERY VERY FRUSTRATING. I have been trying to set my system up for 3 months to assure that myself and my daughter are safe and we still can't get help. Called in an electronics expert to help and he can't even get the system functioning properly. He had same problem with customer NON-support! My advice, spend the extra money and get a better system unless you have hours and days and weeks and months to spend on this product and amazing patience and no job because you will have to stay home waiting for customer support to call you, which will never happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVR, cameras not reliably manufactured, September 3, 2012
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
I ordered the LH314 Edge Series DVR with 2 LW21100 wireless cameras. It was very easy to place and pair the cameras. However, as stated with other reviews, the cameras are not consistently manufactured. Only 1 of my 2 cameras worked. They both were sending a signal nicely at first, but then one camera kept blacking out more and more frequently until now there is no signal at all. I switched the cameras to see if it was just bad placement, but it didn't help. I have an e-mail in to [...], so hopefully, they will come through and send me a new camera without too much hassle. The night vision is good, but I am going to order a LW2220 to see if the night vision is better (the LW2220 also has audio, unlike the LW2110 cameras). The DVR is works great with straight forward navigation. I was able to download recorded sessions easily onto a USB drive - very convenient. I spent over 4 hours trying to get the DDNS setup (ie, being about to see the cameras on my computer and iPhone). OK, yes, I should have read the manual, and once I did I was able to complete all the steps. But it still didn't work. It turns out that there is one very easy (but critical step) where you must add DVR's IP and lorexddns.net addresses in your IE browser (tools -> compatability view settings). This was not mentioned anywhere in the paperwork that came with the equipment. I stumbled across it when digging through the Lorex website. To complete the DDNS setup, you MUST know your DVR's IP and MAC address (they tell you how to find thes); route's model number, IP, username and password (they don't tell you how to find these - I had to call my internet vendor). You must then do something call Port Forwarding. This is very complicated, but Lorex includes an Auto Port Forward Wizard that does it well (if you have all of the above information). Unfortunately, the instructions are not clear when they say to enter your username and password, because by that time in the installation you have 3 different usernames and passwords (router, DDNS, and DVR). I just kept trying all three at each step until one worked. More often then not, they were wanting the DVR username and password. Overall, I am glad I bought the system and it will serve my purposes well. There are no annual fees associated with this system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wireless camera dont reallly work, August 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
One of the wireless cameras did not record because it couldn't get a strong signal. this camera was placed only 40 feet (living room) from the DVR (in the office).
The customer service is on the east coast from 8am to five pm which is not good for PST customers. I had to call twice, the first day I got up at 5 am and was 5th in line, when it finally got to my turn i was hung up on. the second time i opted to leave my phone number when i reached 2nd in line and was called back two hours later! luckily i called back when i didn't hear from anyone after 30 minutes had gone by.
This product requires some pretty advance skills when it comes to setting up the website, it would be great if they could improve their customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We got burned by Lorex, January 3, 2013
By 
We purchased a wireless camera system from Lorex in January of 2012 and less than a year after purchase the video recorder box is no longer working. The company is not available by phone and tech support is giving us the run around. After a very long wait on the phone, I talked to a rep who took basic information and told me a tech support person would call me back today. Later this evening I discovered an e-mail from Lorex support:
Thank you for contacting Lorex Support. I am actively working to resolve this issue and will keep you apprised via email regarding the progress. If you have any additional information you would like to provide, please contact me via email, using the Incident Number in the subject line. You can also visit our support website for FAQ, manuals and troubleshooting tips under the following URL.
[...]

Support never even talked to me to find out what the problem is, so I know they are not working on it as indicated in the e-mail and they did not call me as promised. I also noticed on the website that my warranty information had been altered. I registered our purchase date as 1/28/12 which is correct, but noted that it had been subsequently changed to 1/1/12 which would mean our warranty had expired, which it hasn't. I don't think the company is ethical and would not recommend purchasing anything from Lorex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Lorex system is complete garbage, October 8, 2012
You get what you pay for...complete garbage. 4 cameras with a horrible frame rate. 0 visibility on facial identification when infrared is enabled. You literally need for someone to put their face within 2 feet of the camera and hold still to be able to identify them. If you buy these cameras for night surveillance, you will not be happy nor will it be admitted as evidence if a crime occurs. On top of that the cameras just stop transmitting for no reason on every day that ends in 'y'. The screens go black and it says 'Connecting' until you unplug the physical camera power source. Wait. Then plug it back in, run to the DVR to see if it's now displaying. If not, repeat the process. If you plan to mount these cameras in hard to reach locations you will spend 1 hour per week resetting them. On my 4 camera system, I am looking at the screen right now. 2 cameras are working, 2 are not. I now get to run downstairs, again, unplug them, plug them in, run upstairs and hope they decided to resume transmitting. This system sucks...

***UPDATE 2/8/13***
One of 4 cameras has stopped working. I am on the East coast and it is currently 27F outside however the temperature has fluctuated up to ~50F over the past days since it has stopped working. Hopefully this is a temp. related issue and the camera will begin working again. As I reported previously, these cameras will randomly stop working and the screen will say Connecting on it with a black window. In the past I would disconnect power to the camera and receiving antenna and it would come back. Sometimes this process requires multiple "resets" as stated and different combinations of resetting the receiving antenna vs. transmitting camera in different stages. I just wasted another 25 minutes trying this exercise of futility. I will contact the manufacturer however based on the HORRIBLE experiences with them before I don't have any hope of getting this fixed. I am going to rip this craptastic system out and replace it with a hard-wired closed circuit system with a MTBF higher than 10,000 hours.

***UPDATE 2/14/13***
The ticket on Lorex's support site, what a joke, has been escalated since 2/11/13. I have heard NOTHING from these people. I doubt anyone even works in support. I am researching options to return these garbage cameras because I am at my wits end. WORST COMPANY EVER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Customer servicce is a joke, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
DDNS is hard to set up and when I contacted tech support for help I was on hold for an hour.
I STILL have not been able to talk to anyone about the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works well, January 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
very easy to install, and easy to use. warranty is fantastic. others just need to take necessary steps before complaining about not being able to set it up properly....You need to ensure you have the proper type of router, or just go spend the additional $50 to get the right router with port forwarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still trying to make it work, December 26, 2012
By 
TheDenimExchange (9409 US Highway 19 Suite 709A Port Richey Fl 34668) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
I purchased this system several weeks ago, I have been on tech support to India for at least 6 hours at this point and still cannot view these security cameras over the internet. I would not suggest buying this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wireless doesn't always work, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
Lorex should warn potential customers that if one camera's signal must penetrate aluminum siding at a distance of less than 50', chances are it's not going to work--it happened to me and has caused additional expense of hard-wiring another camera to the system. And technical support (if you can reach them) was less than stellar. I'll look elsewhere for future purchases. They should warn customers what might NOT work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorex LH114501C2WB 4 Channel Security DVR with 2 Digital Wireless Cameras (Electronics)
This was the worst wireless system. It did not work at first, finally got the cameras to work on the TV. The wireless connection would not set up properly, had to call tech support. Waited 40 minutes decided to let them call me back. When they called it seemed like this was normal procedure, this is not a plug and play unit. Finally got it to work with my Iphone only to have it stop working a week later. Never would work with Ipad1 or the Blackberry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.