Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Took Forever, But Was Worth The Wait...
Mondo Macabro unleashes yet another rare entry in the pantheon of perversity from the demented mind and elder statesman of Eurosleaze extraordinaire, Jess Franco, and the results are noteworthy to all Francophiles and Eurotrash enthusiasts alike. For the first time on dvd, we're treated to a 'lost' gem from the early 70's, probably Jess's most prolific period of...
Published on March 19, 2011 by 4-Legged Defender

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lorna, oh Lorna
An average but equally notable title from Jesus Franco. This film will titilate your senses as well it will mess with your head. A person may find relief in knowing that their parents are not like this or humility in that they are?! Like most of Franco's films Lorna panders to erotic sensuality. The violence in this movie is kind of down played by its weirdness. God...
Published 10 months ago by TheycallmeBruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Took Forever, But Was Worth The Wait..., March 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
Mondo Macabro unleashes yet another rare entry in the pantheon of perversity from the demented mind and elder statesman of Eurosleaze extraordinaire, Jess Franco, and the results are noteworthy to all Francophiles and Eurotrash enthusiasts alike. For the first time on dvd, we're treated to a 'lost' gem from the early 70's, probably Jess's most prolific period of filmmaking, and certainly ranking high among those films worth watching.

A French film from 1973, with only a few folks seeing it upon its initial release, the original print was lost or destroyed. It was later recut into a porno flick back in the early 80's by its producer, and most of the cut scenes were never recovered. This restoration utilizes three different 35mm sources and four different audio sources and, seeing as how it's been cobbled and sewn together much like Frankenstein's monster, the finished film quality is quite remarkable all around. It must have truly been a labor of love by Mondo Pete and Co., and a round of applause is well-deserved. Granted, there are an inordinate amount of jumpy edits and disjointed scenes, but this is a quality inherent in all Franco flicks, some more than others, but this time we can give him the benefit of the doubt and blame someone or something else... personally, I was impressed with the results.

Being a noted jazz aficionado, the directorial credits again go to Clifford Brown, the legendary trumpet player who frequently worked with drum wizard Max Roach, though we all know Jess helmed the camera, wrote the script (probably on his palm), edited and appears as the doctor in a mental ward, among other chores in this film. The widescreen ratio seems correct, and its languages are English audio or French with English subtitles. I viewed it in French w/ English subs, and aside from some occasional hiss, the sound was near perfect for a film of its age and history.

The title's a bit misleading, as there's no exorcist or exorcism anywhere to be found (see 'Exorcism' from 1974 on the Synapse label for Franco's take on that genre), this one's another Faustian pact tale or a perverse retelling of 'The Devil and Daniel Webster'. Patrick, a down-on-his-luck businessman, had an affair with a woman, Lorna, who was also a Succubus eighteen years ago, who enabled him to gain wealth, a happy family and prosperity. As it turns out, she reappears now to collect a debt in the form of his daughter, Linda (Franco's muse, Lina Romay), on her eighteenth birthday, while the family's vacationing at a casino resort. When Patrick unequivocally states that he will not relinquish his daughter to her, Lorna infects his wife (Jacqueline Laurent, who also appears in 'Sinner', another great, recent Mondo release) with the worst case of crabs you could ever imagine. It would be heresy to divulge more about that one. Patrick has to stop Lorna before she destroys his family and himself, and time has just about run out.

Now, on to the good stuff - the sleaze quotient's been cranked up to a Spinal Tap '11' everywhere - Lina Romay looks about as attractive as I've ever seen her (this was made around the time of 'Female Vampire'), and if you were her gynecologist you couldn't see more of her, Jacqueline Laurent is a fine specimen of middle-aged splendor (before the term MILF was coined) and looks fabulous writhing around a bed nude, and Pamela Stanford would be fine if she didn't have some bizarre transvestite eye-makeup on to make her look 'occult-like', but her form is not easily forgotten. Franco friend and regular Howard Vernon makes his usual cameo (doesn't this guy own a mirror or a comb?) that is easily forgotten seeing as he doesn't speak a word. Back to the naughty bits - there's gratuitously abundant full-frontal female flesh on parade, plenty of clam-shucking and box lunches to be had, more bush than the African Serengeti, and the afore-mentioned vaginal 'Attack of the Crab Monsters'. (Roger Corman would be proud).

As usual, we can always count on MM to heap loads of extras our way - this time out there's an 'About the Film' featurette, a cast and crew bio, 'Fear and Desire' on Franco, writer Stephen Thrower comments on 'Lorna', deleted and extended scenes, an interview with Gerard Kikoine on working with Franco (but it's the same one that's used on 'Sinner: Diary of a Nymphomaniac') and the extended 'More from Mondo Macabro' trailers that never get old. Kudos to these folks for delivering the goods to an eagerly-waiting audience yet again.

This is another example of what Jess does best - feverish, erotic delirium that's barely coherent but hauntingly mesmerizing to the Nth degree. God Bless him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime Franco Fare - Beautifully Presented, April 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
For fans of quirky Spanish director Jess Franco, this new release by Mondo Macabro of his early 70's film 'Lorna The Exorcist' is pure gold! A preamble to the film speaks of the impressive effort that was apparently made to track down and reassemble (from 4 seperate 35mm prints) the most complete version of the film ever made available for home viewing. The DVD authors appologize for some of the imperfections in the transfer due to the multiple sources used, but the overall quality of the presentation is actually excellent. It is noted that there were originally two versions of the film - one as cut by Franco and another that inserted extra footage of stronger sexual content from other movies by the Producer! It's not totally clear which version this is - but, regardless, the film is awash in full female nudity, hot sapphic love scenes, and ample examples of Franco's penchant for zooming in on the pubic bush.

As has been noted - the plot doesn't really feature any exorcism action - it is actually more Faustian in nature. A 'down on his luck' business man meets a mysterious woman (Lorna) at a casino and she sort of magically increases his fortunes in life, alluding to her dark master, and exacts a promise from him in return for her benificent services - that he produce a female child that will be turned over to Lorna when she becomes an adult The action of the movie starts as the daughter is about to celebrate her 18th birthday and Lorna puts in an appearance to collect her due. Much to the consternation of the father Lorna seduces the young girl - leading to numerous hot scenes of lesbian sex until the 'startling' conclusion. The women in the film are all very attractive but a stand-out treat is the casting of Franco's muse and life partner, Lina Romay, in one of her first roles - as the smouldering, blossoming daughter. This movie showcases Romay at the peak of her youthful beauty and it's easy to see why Franco went ga-ga over her! The movie also features some pretty cool modern architecture (apparently another of Franco's passions) in background settings and there is a typically Franco-esque inventive and hip musical score throughout.

Franco's films are sort of an acquired taste - they have their awkwardnesses and slow spots that can be a little annoying, but generally deliver nicely in the gratuitous sexploitation department. Lorna The Exorcist is thanks, perhaps, to the Producer's inserts) one of the most explicit of the Franco offerings available to date. The disk includes a goodly helping of 'extras' as well - commentaries and informative featurettes. All in all a great package - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deranged Franco at his best. Not for the neophyte, though., October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
In the sick, sick world of Franco an uncut version of this film was the holy grail for almost three decades. Every since the review in Phil Hardy's excellent The Encyclopedia of Horror Movies it has been high on the list of Francophiles everywhere. For years we had to make do with hacked-up gray-market bootlegs. Now, finally, here it is in all its crazed, hypnotic, uncut glory thanks to Mondo Macabro. I should mention this film is not for the Franco beginner (if you are new to Jess Franco's crazy filmmaking world I would suggest titles like "Venus in Furs" or "The Diabolical Dr. Z" or maybe even one of his Soledad Miranda efforts like "Vampire Lesbos"). Franco is an acquired taste --and definitely not for everybody. His use of the zoom lens and non-linear story telling (often maddening in his lesser works) somehow gels in "Lorna The Exorcist" to create a lyrical and disturbing world that will stick with you for days. To my mind, it is his twisted masterpiece; a film unlike any other. I won't describe the plot (others already have in these reviews) just 'cause words can't do justice to the feel and mood of this amazing flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest piece of sleaze I've seen in quite some time, June 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
This is one of Jess Franco's best films. I have watched about 35 to 40 of his films over the years and Lorna is right in the top 5 next to Venus In Furs and Vampyros Lesbos. I'm not going to give the plot away, but I will say that Mondo Macabro presents one of their finest restorations to date with this disc. I highly recommend this film to lovers of sleaze and twisted psychological horror. A sexy, mind bending tour through the World of Franco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic EPIC erotic horror film!!!!!!, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
This film is more than just another erotic horror film. Jess Franco made this film into a work of fine art. This film does contain XXX rated adult film material, but is filmed into one spooky horror film. This film does bring the wild side of world cinema to Mondo Macabro. If you buy this film also purchase Vampiros Lesbos and Sinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franco's Most Disturbing Masterpiece, September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
Mondo Macabro has released the definitive Jess Franco opus 'LORNA THE EXCORCIST' aka 'LES POSSEDEES DU DIABLE'-1974, a smattering of eroticism, perversely disturbing images and subtle terror. You've read the other reviews included here and there is really not a hell of alot to add, but I just had to rave about the mesmerizing guitar score by Andre Benichou which lingers in the brain long after the movie goes to black; Pamela Stanford and Jacqueline Laurent's excellent ensemble acting and the incredible performance by Lina Romay , Franco's eternal companion who elevates the film to feats of surrealism unheard of for films of that period. Directing under the pseudonym of Clifford Brown, 'LORNA' arrives after his incredible psycho film 'EXORCISME'-1974 which would be remade(or continued) as 'THE SADIST OF NOTRE DAME'-1979 and before his forays into the Porn genre. This film is Franco at his most disturbing causing sexual encounters to become ugly sequences of incest and depravity, architectural landscapes becoming booby traps for our protagonists actually culminating in a lingering death scene involving Jacqueline Laurents which brings the sexual disease of having crabs to a new level. Be warned, if you have never seen a Franco film, begin elsewhere for this is his culmination of every photoplay he had created thus far and gives a taste of what was to come. Mondo Macabro releases the film in a definitive transfer utilizing different footage from past prints to erect its most complete version yet. The extras include an optional French track with English subtitles or English dubbing; Two seperate interviews with writer Stephen Thrower; an interview with French director Gerard Kikoine who worked with Franco and trailers for other Mondo releases. Recommended to all Franco fans, this is the entree which we have been waiting to digest and for the rest of my years on this Earth, I will always remember the scream of Lina Romay at the climax of the film, her harrowing descent into insanity which Franco's camera lingers on for at least two hackle-raising minutes and shows what an underrated actress she always was and is to this day. It is a truly terrifying experience and a perfect coda to this disturbing nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lorna, oh Lorna, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
An average but equally notable title from Jesus Franco. This film will titilate your senses as well it will mess with your head. A person may find relief in knowing that their parents are not like this or humility in that they are?! Like most of Franco's films Lorna panders to erotic sensuality. The violence in this movie is kind of down played by its weirdness. God help us all. I will say no more. Viva Jesus Franco films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well, It kind of stuck in my mind., June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
There's a lot of pros and cons to this movie depending on what the viewer will let slide. I haven't seen many Franco movies - but I did watch Venus in Furs (which I really, really dug) and Eugenie de Sade, which I also thought was good. But I admit, I'm a visual artist so a lot of things - like the locations, the aesthetics of the time (the great decor and fashions) and the cinematography end up holding the movie together for me more than most people! I DO like the cinematography, the NO-SET/on location shooting and all of Franco's close-ups and zooming. It's a really strange film. It's not successful as pornography OR Horror. You certainly wouldn't need a movie like this to get your rocks off when you have the internet today. It certainly isn't a scary movie or bloody movie. Yet it's content is so singularly perverse, it stuck in my mind for a couple of weeks after. It's really quite WITCHY and it's mix of carpet to carpet nudity with faustian bargains and incest thrown in really makes for something cancerous and unpleasant. What's odd about it, is that the movie is so natural - ZERO special effects, ZERO pretensions - that it actually seems like it's happening in real life. I love the horror genre and I didn't do myself wrong by seeing something that really just walks the fringes of it, but was so perpetually weird in it's unfolding that it actually seemed more disturbing and horrific than half the movies in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Want one? Buy Mine, January 17, 2013
By 
Timothy Ramzyk (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lorna The Exorcist (DVD)
(SPOILERS) A penniless French Businessman makes a Faustian pack with Lorna, a drag-queen-like succubus with a taste for incest. Under Lorna's terms he will become fabulously wealthy if he first copulates with her, then runs home to his wife, and through the magic of sloppy seconds impregnates her with what will actually be Lorna's child. Years later, upon occasion of his daughter's 18th birthday, Lorna comes out of the drywall to sexually claim/possess her offspring. This occurs through an elaborate blood ritual in which Lorna deflowers her "spiritual daughter" with a grubby looking dildo.

LORNA represents one of the semi-pornographic free-form "psychedelic" fantasy films that would begin to comprise a lot of Jess Franco's output through the 70s. Most of these films remained either heavily censored or unreleased in the US until small DVD labels and curious fans acquired a taste for this forbidden fruit.

I'm starting to find that these films seldom live up to the promises that Franco-files who willingly turn a blind eye to any standard for quality extend to them. It's not that I reject all of Franco's later efforts, nor that I'm against his free-form style of filmmaking. The problem is that the more the late Lina Romay's crotch became the centerpiece of his films, the less attention he payed to anything else. Indeed, to be blunt, LORNA is little more than wall-to-wall carpet. Just as with MACUMBA SEXUAL and the X cut of FEMALE VAMPIRE, LORNA uncomfortably straddles the line between dark fantasy, and crappy porn - not successfully realizing either.

It would be one thing if Franco's vision were so radical that he never even sought to capture any conventional dramatic moments in LORNA, but he does. Which leads me to believe that it's not shackles of convention that Franco is shedding here, but the burden of actually caring if he's pulled it off. Truly, one of the few things that even got me all the way through this film was some interesting locales, an enjoyable score, and wondering what in the hell was going on with Lorna's eyeshadow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lorna The Exorcist
Lorna The Exorcist by Jess Franco (DVD - 2011)
$29.95 $22.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.