Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost Book of the Bible
This book features many of the books that never made the bible. It's quite interesting and translated in a way that makes it easy to understand. The 1st & 2nd books of Adam & Eve are quite interesting to say the least. You get to see what happened after they were kicked out of the Garden of Eden. Plus, the Book of Jasher is very interesting. It's like Genesis only with...
Published on November 24, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version is messed up
Up to Section Three the book is excellent, but beginning at that point, the text is grayed out and inpossible to read. It's there but almost the same color as the background.
Published on March 18, 2011 by Terrell


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost Book of the Bible, November 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
This book features many of the books that never made the bible. It's quite interesting and translated in a way that makes it easy to understand. The 1st & 2nd books of Adam & Eve are quite interesting to say the least. You get to see what happened after they were kicked out of the Garden of Eden. Plus, the Book of Jasher is very interesting. It's like Genesis only with more details. The stories of Noah's ark and Cain's murder of Abel are explained with more details and information. You'll find out exactly how Cain murdered his brother Abel. Oh, and Acts chapter 29 is revealed. The only reason why I gave this book 4 stars instead of five is because it failed to include the "Gospel of the Infancy of Jesus Christ" which depicts Jesus' childhood. Other than that, this is a great book and I do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning was the Earth and Christian living, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
Excellent research and study. A fascinating discovery of antiquity as a prologue to the Old and New Testaments. A small glimpse, as God allows His mysteries to reveal a rough draft of "In the Beginning." These lost books give us a peek at the characters before they were characters. Before JC and the boys, if you will, but straight from God. The author puts together an alarming amount of material together. Too much I gather, in fact I believe it might be ready for a leather edition or even a break down into volumes because it is a very heavy (physically) book. The print or text is rather small, one will need reading glasses. This printing needs to open up like the Bible. So publishers we need to work on the binding. It does not open flat like the Bible for reading and studying. There are a lot of WOW! moments. That is Holy Spirit revelations. It does bring a smile to your face and to some of us a tear (joy) as well. It is interesting, provocative, with more psalms and proverbs to dwell on and sincerely moving and spiritually inspirational. Devotionally appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version is messed up, March 18, 2011
By 
Terrell (LOVES PARK, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Up to Section Three the book is excellent, but beginning at that point, the text is grayed out and inpossible to read. It's there but almost the same color as the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle readers, beware!, March 6, 2011
This is an awesome selection of books, each of them prefaced with very useful information. Sadly, the kindle edition has a TOC, but it isn't hyperlinked. The reader has to create his own notes to guide him through a very big book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost Books of the Bible: the Great Rejected Texts, July 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
This book has everything in it that I needed for my research. Those were Books of Eli and Jasher, so the others were an added benefit. The introduction tells about each book and where it is referenced in the Holy Bible, except for the ones on Adam and Eve. This book was a surprise and explained how it came about, which is really based on Jewish 'folklore'. Penned around the 3rd century, AD, it gives one pause to take every word as total truth, but quite interesting. I am happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, April 18, 2013
By 
SELDAB (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
This is the 2nd Joseph Lumpkin Book that I have purchased and I LOVE IT. It is a great one volume on the most popular books that were left out of the bible. His information and notes are very helpful in describing the ancient texts, how they were found, why they weren't included in the Bible, and etc. I would highly recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding read, September 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is amazing to consider that the early church had a massive collection of documents that they considered scripture before the Council of Hippo. And the entire protestant faith has never even considered re-discovering the documents to determine if the Catholic church has left certain books out (Enoch, Jubilees) only to hide certain issues from history.

Just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UPDATED ... BUT STILL LACKING, September 12, 2013
By 
Robert Steven Thomas (author, researcher, retired executive) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
Not enough people are aware of the 18 or so books that were once a part of the early Bible, but were deleted between approximately 400 BC - 300 AD. There is a lot more to the history of the Bible than is commonly understood. The reason most of these books were eliminated is because they contained "too much" information and contradicted many of the dogmatic positions taken later by the Temple Sadducee Rabbis and later still, Catholic church fathers. As an example: In the Book of "Adam & Eve in Eden," after Adam & Eve were expelled from Eden by God, they encountered and interacted with other humans living in the lands surrounding Eden. If Adam & Eve were the first two humans, who were these other people? (Can't you just hear a fundamentalist preacher tackle that question ... ROFL !!!! ) Comparing this book to the other sources on the apocryphal books I have read, Lumpkin did a fair to middlin job of transliteration. Problem is the author has no imagination, sticks to the same time-worn versions of these stories and does not have the courage to consider what they actually represent, specifically why they were deleted and how they impact the true history of monotheism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get his newer book which has everything in this book plus some added material for the same price., August 4, 2014
By 
Kristie (Packer Land) - See all my reviews
The only reason for the negative review is that you should buy his other book and not this one. The author has basically the SAME book titled "The Encyclopedia of Lost and Rejected Scriptures" which is newer, has added material and for the same price. If you compare the two side by side you will see it is word for word the same book. If your going to get this book get the newer book for the same price with the added chapters. Not a lot of extra material - but if your going to buy this book get the newer one for the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts (Paperback)
I actually bought 2 of these. I got one as a gift for someone else and when it came in I liked it so much I had to get my self one. IT is very interesting reading. However, the print is small so it makes it slow going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts
Lost Books of the Bible: The Great Rejected Texts by Joseph Lumpkin (Paperback - August 12, 2011)
$35.99 $31.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.