Customer Reviews


596 Reviews
5 star:
 (436)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST VAMPIRE MOVIE EVER
When this movie came out in the eighties, I dont think many people realized that it would become a classic film from that decade. Its not just a good vampire movie, its a good movie...period.
Jason patric and Corey Haim are brothers whos mother has moved them to be with their grandfather. Their new home is Santa Clara, otherwise known as the murder capital of...
Published on September 9, 2000 by Gerard T. McGuire

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bloodsucking Fun and Big Hair
I don't think I was old enough to remember this film hitting cinemas, but I discovered it before I got too cynical and still have a deep affection for it. It combines horror, forbidden romance, comedy, and touches on issues of peer pressure, loss, divorce and the importance of sticking by your family (even if your brother is a vampire).
A mother (Dianne Wiest) and...
Published on May 26, 2004 by Sophie Earp-Fulton


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST VAMPIRE MOVIE EVER, September 9, 2000
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
When this movie came out in the eighties, I dont think many people realized that it would become a classic film from that decade. Its not just a good vampire movie, its a good movie...period.
Jason patric and Corey Haim are brothers whos mother has moved them to be with their grandfather. Their new home is Santa Clara, otherwise known as the murder capital of the world. While there the older brother Michael (Patrick) meets a gang of teenagers who just happen to be vampires responsible for most of the murders. The younger brother Sam (Corey Haim) runs into a couple of self professed vampire killers. The fact that they are twelve doesnt douse their intensity. Michael appears to be on his way to becoming a vampire and the only way to stop it from happening is to kill the head vampire (The identity of which is revealed at the climax of the movie)
The movie flows nicely with a good script. The acting is good, the effects are good, the music is great. The humor throughout the movie adds some chuckles without forcing it. It all gels together into the best vampire movie I have ever seen. (My humble opinion).
The movie is one of my top ten favorites, but I was a little dissapointed with the DVD. There are very few extras, just a trailer and some production notes. Still worth adding to your DVD collection, but I have my fingers crossed for a collector's edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thou Shall Not Kill, June 6, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
When a single mother (Dianne Wiest) and her two kids (Jason Patric, Corey Haim) pack up and move from Phoenix to southern California, more specifically, Santa Carla, "the murder capital of the world," they have more than a little bit of adjusting to do. The two teens and their mother move in with their quirky but loveable grandfather (Barnard Hughes), who has an inkling that there is more to this town than meets the eye. At first, things seem different but manageable, until Sam meets the "Frog brothers" at the local comic book shop. They hand him a horror comic about vampires and tell him to think of it as a survival manual. Are these two merely kids with an over-active imagination, or is there some supernatural cause for this odd little coastal town's nickname?
When the older brother, Michael, goes into town for a live concert, he runs into a rather attractive woman named Star (Jami Gertz). Star introduces Michael to her friends, who just happen to be vampires, and they decide to invite Michael to be one of them. Unbeknownst to Michael, he drinks the blood of David (Kiefer Sutherland), the leader of a band of motorcycle riding teenage vampires, thus giving Michael this supernatural dark gift. However, he must make his first kill before becoming a true creature of the night. Only one thing can save Michael from an eternity of bloodsucking. The head vampire must be killed. But who is the head vampire, and can he be found before Michael gives in to temptation? Will Sam and his newfound friends be willing and able to help Michael before it's too late?
This film is a classic, light-hearted 80's foray into the horror genre, complete with horrible wardrobe, glam rock, goofy humor, and a stellar cast performing a great screenplay with a cohesive plot. There are indeed some great lines in this film that are quite memorable. The Frog brothers, in particular, serve as some cute comic relief. The effects and make-up are outstanding, and this is really noticeable in the final, knock-down, drag-out fight in the end of the movie. The cinematography is also really well done (for example, the aerial shots when the vampires are flying towards the house).
This movie is not meant to be taken very seriously, and it is certainly not Anne Rice or Bram Stoker by any means, but it is some great old-fashioned weekend entertainment. Overall this is a great movie that everyone who grew up in the 80's should definitely own. Moreover, it's a great addition to anyone's vampire or horror collection. If you can enjoy a light-hearted romp through vampire mythology, then definitely pick this film up!
A small downside to this DVD is that there are few extras. If you merely want a great movie at a low price, then pick up this DVD. Otherwise, there is a two-disc set coming out soon that should be worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Lost Boys, September 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lost Boys [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Flat out, the Blu-ray version of this classic movie is amazing, the picture and sound is as if this movie was just filmed. If you loved the movie back then, you will love it even more now....this is a no-brainer on blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Ordinary Vampires, July 30, 2000
By 
Luis Hernandez (New York, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
As one of two teenage vampire movies released in 1987, (the other was the miserable "Near Dark")"The Lost Boys," is a hip, modern retelling of the vampire myth set in a Southern California setting. Brothers Michael (Patric) and Sam (Haim) are the newcomers to the small seaside town of Santa Clara, which is known as the murder capital of the world due to the mysterious disappearances of many town residents.
At the town's amusement park, Michael gets himself involved with a gang of vampires, who appear as normal street punks. Meanwhile Sam, meets the Frog Brothers, who run a comic book store at night, but are vampire hunters by day. After Michael himself becomes a vampire due to drinking the blood of a vampire, he is determined to find a way to save himself, the girl he loves, and his family from the impending danger that lurks them.
Directed by Joel Schumacher ("Batman Forever," "Batman & Robin," "Flatliners," etc.), the film's appeal to teenagers is due to its young cast, great soundtrack, and great, yet campy storyline. Dianne Wiest is excellent as Michael and Sam's mother, and Kiefer Sutherland in one of his first major roles is wicked as David, the leader of the gang.
Keep an eye out for a pre-"Bill & Ted's Excellent Adveture" Alex Winter as Marco, one of the vampires. This film also marked the first collaboration of the two Cories, Cory Haim & Cory Feldman, in a string of movies they made together in the 1980's ("License to Drive," "Dream A Little Dream," etc.) that capitalized on their teen-idol status. Reportedley, Jason Patric (who is Jackie Gleason's grandson) hates it when fans mention this movie as one of his best works, but the truth is it still remains one of the late 1980's cult classics.
If you like a funny, yet scary movie in the same tradition as "Scram," then check out this movie. It gave me many memories watching it on DVD as it did when I first saw it at the theater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frogg Fan, December 30, 2004
By 
I first saw this when I was fourteen and it completely blew me away. Great cinematography (Unforgettable opening sequence with the boardwalk and rollercoaster at night), hot actors and funny lines.

I recently watched the DVD version again and was expecting to cringe in embarrassment. Instead, it was still as entertaining as the first time I saw it, despite the dated clothes (but seeing that the 80's are back again, not that bad)and the greasy saxophonist (that was possibly the worse part of the movie).

The acting is still sharp and the vampire lore precisely identified and employed. It's amazing to think that Kiefer Sutherland and Jason Patric were only just 18 when they did this -- they've got incredible screen presence. I'm hoping for better things to come from these two.

Also, this movie only serves to show that teen movies then were pretty damn good. Today, that genre has just become so banal, with jokes veering left of the "beeatch" category without so much as a ha-ha (case in point, Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen). Also note how thin the acting has become (Hilary Duff??)Can Lizzie Maguire The Movie stand the test of time like Ferris Bueller or The Lost Boys? I think not.

What I also like about this movie is that they didn't compromise on the vampire lore. It's a copout for scriptwriters/writers to bend the rules and have their vamps withstand sunlight and garlic. it's much harder for them to work within the rules and still come up with something fresh which is something this movie has done. I suspect it's partly the reason why it was so successful.

Great, great stuff. This movie deserves a giant rave like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most stylish vampire flick in motion picture history!, March 19, 2003
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
Released in the decade of the commercial vampire (the 1980's welcomed in a slew of vampire flicks), The Lost Boys went brashly head to head at the box office with the introspective soul searching Near Dark, and emerged from the oh so brief skirmish with hardly a scratch, victorious by a wide and bloody margin. Whereas opinions differ on which of the two is the superior vampire tale, The Lost Boys's style, elegance and wit has never been questioned (or even challenged) and, like Near Dark, it has transcended box office success to become an all time cult classic, and rightfully so.
Taking a love of the old school vampire films and infusing them with an energy and passion that is undeniably modern, The Lost Boys spins a tale about teenage leather wearing, motorcycle riding vampires that cruise the beaches and boardwalks of the quiet coastal Californian town Santa Carla (a fictional town Santa Cruz stood in for). Drawn uncontrollably to the local siren Star (an illuminous Jami Gertz), new local Michael Emerson (Jason Patric) soon finds himself amongst the gang, at times sparring back and forth with the gang's charasmatic and self assured leader David (a brutal and blinding Kiefer Sutherland at his career defining best!) and others, dangling from railway lines, racing through the surf at lethal speeds and drinking from strange ornamental bottles.
Not long after, Michael begins to notice changes in himself, like his sudden irritation to sunlight, his ability to scold himself from freezing cold water (a scene from the first draft of the script, criminally omitted from the movie) and his new and frightening talent to defy the laws of gravity. While his younger brother Sam (Corey Haim) falls in with his own crowd, the monotone and serious (and all the more comical for it) Frog Brothers, (also involved with vampires from an entirely different standpoint), begins to sort the pieces of his own puzzle out, the two come together to fathom what indeed they are dealing with and whether the seemingly insurmountable odds can be overcome. Uniting against a common enemy, the brothers, Star and the Frogs, self confessed vampire killers, take on David and his gang with violent, surprisingly funny and at times, startling consequences.
One of the simplest and most accurate reasons for The Lost Boys's brilliance is the remarkable blend of film, music, horror, comedy and drama utilised by director Joel Schumacher. Cleverly enough, Schumacher realised that the key to the whole project was style and he drenches the film in it. From the 'distinctive' opening helicoptor crawl across the blue/black waters of the Californian ocean headed towards an inviting boardwalk, literally buzzing with 'life' to the silohettes of the bikes racing through fog shrouded forests, from the vibrancy and humour of the concert staged boardwalk to the disturbingly real and sickeningly violent infamous campfire scene (where the film really ups the ante), The Lost Boys is literally the most stylish and downright cool vampire flick in motion picture history.
The music, as much a character in the film as the mortal and immortal roles, compliments the on screen action with the accuracy of a narrator, editing the scenes together with a polish and finesse that is miserably lacking in Schumacher's later work. The violence, when it does happen, is shocking and sudden, clearly stating that though humour is near enough always present, 'these' vampires will not be satisfied with just the jugular. This is murder at it's most nonchalant, an inevitable vocation for vampires approached with all the enthusiasm and gusto a teenager could muster, and all the more disturbing for it. Performances are sterling from all involved, supporting the fantastic Sutherland with ease and the effects are handled with just the right amount of delicacy, never intruding or stifling the flow of the quick paced narrative.
The final result is a movie that could well be the best advertisement for vampirism the world has seen. Since viewing the film at the tender and highly influential age of twelve, I have since watched The Lost Boys more times than I have the courage to admit and it rightfully sits in my top five of the greatest movies ever made. If you are a vampire fan, then you should be staked through the heart if you haven't already experienced The Lost Boys. If you have, perfect isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most fun times you'll have watching a movie, April 28, 2008
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Lost Boys is a movie that could only work in the 80s; while sometimes called a classic I don't think I would go that far, but it is a cult classic and one of the most entertaining films I have ever seen. While it is a horror movie there is nothing really scary here. And despite the R-rating it's a very light one at that. The Lost Boys is very much a product of it's time and a damn good one at that. I figured with the release of the sequel The Lost Boys: The Tribe due out this summer I might as well revisit this cult classic.

The screenplay was written by Janice Fischer, James Jeremias & Jeffrey Boam; apparently Fischer & Jeremias wrote the first draft and it was more of a kid's movie that features pre-teens. Richard Donner was the original director, but when production was delayed he dropped out, but stayed on as executive producer, Joel Schumacher was than hired and wanted to make the characters older and I assume that is where Jeffrey Boam comes in. The screenplay though is excellent; the characters are great and almost all of them get enough screen time that we get to know them. Obviously some characters will be more developed than others, but none of them are just simply there.

Director Joel Schumacher who often gets a lot of heat for his work on Batman Forever & Batman & Robin does a great job with The Lost Boys, due to the two Batman movies he's often called a hack and one of the worst filmmakers. Joel Schumacher isn't a great director, but he has made some really enjoyable movies sure he made some mistakes with his Batman movies and even he knows that. But with The Lost Boys he delivers one hell of a fun ride. His scenes are well paced and there really is never a boring moment at all. The comedy works well and the action scenes are extremely well-done and are a lot of fun. There isn't much suspense and tension, but that wasn't the point with this movie.

If anything The Lost Boys is best described as a comedy/fantasy type movie, but since it includes vampires killing people it will throw it into the horror genre. I think every kid and even adults have that fantasy of killing vampires or zombies and The Lost Boys very much plays up to that. The movie runs at 97-minutes and you'll never be bored there's always something happening to hold your interest in the movie.

What The Lost Boys is best known for now is being the very first movie to feature both Corey Haim and Corey Feldman AKA the two Corey's. After this movie they would work together several times before fading away by the end of the 80s; both Corey's work great together here. This is more of a Corey Haim movie since he plays the bigger part and he's really funny, but Feldman possibly steals the show as Edgar Frog along with Jason Newlander as Alan Frog. The Frog Brothers are played straight and serious, which makes it even funnier.

Before he was Jack Bauer, Kiefer Sutherland was David the evil vampire. I'm a huge fan of Sutherland and this is one of his very best roles. He doesn't always have a lot of dialogue, but he has a great presence on camera and makes for one of the coolest vampires to ever appear in a movie. The rest of the cast is also excellent; Jason Patric puts in a solid performance as Michael Emerson trying to fight his vampire urges.

The Lost Boys easily rates as one of the most fun filled movies of the 80s and one of the most fun period; there's never a slow moment The Lost Boys is always funny and a lot of fun. The DVD is excellent with some great features on the 2nd disc. I've seen The Lost Boys several times, but this is the first time I've seen it on DVD and I know there was a DVD out before, but the new one features a brand new HD transfer and the picture quality is excellent. If you own the original disc it's more than worth the double dip for the 2-disc set if not for the extras that at least for the transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A SOLID VAMPIRE MOVIE FROM THE 80'S ! NICE 2 DISC DVD!, April 20, 2008
What is this? A Vampire movie staring teenagers from the 80's, featuring the two Coreys.....and it's good? Yes! This film had everything going against it and yet it went over well and has become a cult classic. I always liked this film, but it seems to have aged well with the exception of some generic 80's music and styles. The cast is very good and the tension and comedic overtones are well balanced in this new age vampire yarn. One of the best from the 80's horror archives. The 2 disc DVD edition has a nice DVD transfer and an excellent amount of extras for a film like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite vampire flicks, November 29, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
I love "The Lost Boys". It is one of my favorite vampire films of all time. This is the one movie I can stomach watching both Coreys at the same time. Michael (Jason Patrick) and Sam (Corey Haim) moves to Santa Clara with their mother (Dianne Wiest). What they don't know is that Santa Clara is home to a bunch of blood-thirsty vampires. Sam meets up with a couple of vampire hunters one of them is Corey Feldman. Michael on the other hand hooks up with Kiefer Sutherland and his gang of blood-sucking vampires, and he really gets close to a young Jami Gertz. Yeah this movie has every cheesy stereotype about a vampire known to vampirekind but in a good cheesy kind of way. "The Lost Boys" is a comedic, horror film. Michael ends up getting tricked into the vampire lifestyle by Kiefer Sutherland. That was my favorite moment in the film when Michael was muching on what appeared to be Chinese food. The music for this movie is timeless. I especially love the Roger Daltrey song. I loved Bernard Herrman (of "The Gilmore Girls) and Kiefer Sutherland in their perspective roles. The special effects may be a bit on the dated side but I still find myself watching this movie around this time of year every year. It's camp classic in vampire mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bloodsucking Fun and Big Hair, May 26, 2004
This review is from: The Lost Boys (DVD)
I don't think I was old enough to remember this film hitting cinemas, but I discovered it before I got too cynical and still have a deep affection for it. It combines horror, forbidden romance, comedy, and touches on issues of peer pressure, loss, divorce and the importance of sticking by your family (even if your brother is a vampire).
A mother (Dianne Wiest) and her two sons (Corey Haim and Jason Patric) move from Arizona to sunny Santa Carla and in with their formulaic "crazy granpa" (you know the type I'm talking about) as a result of divorce. The eldest son Michael (Patric) quickly falls in with the Wrong Crowd by accidentally moving in on Head Honcho's girl (the lovely Jami Gertz). Things take a turn for the worse when Michael discovers these aren't your average bike punks, but a gang of wild vampires. Indeed. It's all up to bratty little bro Sam (Haim) and his new allies the Frog Brothers to save the day, and stop his mother from getting too cosy with a new guy who doesn't just run an appliance store (a nice performance from Edward Herrmann who seems to pop up everywhere).
Kiefer Sutherland is a treat as David, leader of the biker vamps, I still marvel at how he can make a peroxide mullet look cool. He plays this role as a sort of seductive bully very well.
Corey Feldman (because 1 Corey is never enough) also puts in a nice turn as Edgar Frog, plus you'll spot Alexander Winter of Bill & Ted's fame as one of the gang.
It's better than any recent vampire movie, has a great 80's soundtrack (Cry Little Sister, you know you love it) and a greasy saxophone man in purple pants. It's fun, there are a couple of scares and a nice hint of splatter (the Surf Nazi attack is like something out of Peter Jackson's Bad Taste). I give the bare-bones DVD package 3, but the movie 4. And fear not, there will be a special edition very soon with retrospectives, making of and tons more stuff, keep eyes peeled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Lost Boys [Blu-ray]
The Lost Boys [Blu-ray] by Joel Schumacher (Blu-ray - 2008)
$14.97 $9.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.