Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2000
When this movie came out in the eighties, I dont think many people realized that it would become a classic film from that decade. Its not just a good vampire movie, its a good movie...period.
Jason patric and Corey Haim are brothers whos mother has moved them to be with their grandfather. Their new home is Santa Clara, otherwise known as the murder capital of the world. While there the older brother Michael (Patrick) meets a gang of teenagers who just happen to be vampires responsible for most of the murders. The younger brother Sam (Corey Haim) runs into a couple of self professed vampire killers. The fact that they are twelve doesnt douse their intensity. Michael appears to be on his way to becoming a vampire and the only way to stop it from happening is to kill the head vampire (The identity of which is revealed at the climax of the movie)
The movie flows nicely with a good script. The acting is good, the effects are good, the music is great. The humor throughout the movie adds some chuckles without forcing it. It all gels together into the best vampire movie I have ever seen. (My humble opinion).
The movie is one of my top ten favorites, but I was a little dissapointed with the DVD. There are very few extras, just a trailer and some production notes. Still worth adding to your DVD collection, but I have my fingers crossed for a collector's edition.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2004
When a single mother (Dianne Wiest) and her two kids (Jason Patric, Corey Haim) pack up and move from Phoenix to southern California, more specifically, Santa Carla, "the murder capital of the world," they have more than a little bit of adjusting to do. The two teens and their mother move in with their quirky but loveable grandfather (Barnard Hughes), who has an inkling that there is more to this town than meets the eye. At first, things seem different but manageable, until Sam meets the "Frog brothers" at the local comic book shop. They hand him a horror comic about vampires and tell him to think of it as a survival manual. Are these two merely kids with an over-active imagination, or is there some supernatural cause for this odd little coastal town's nickname?
When the older brother, Michael, goes into town for a live concert, he runs into a rather attractive woman named Star (Jami Gertz). Star introduces Michael to her friends, who just happen to be vampires, and they decide to invite Michael to be one of them. Unbeknownst to Michael, he drinks the blood of David (Kiefer Sutherland), the leader of a band of motorcycle riding teenage vampires, thus giving Michael this supernatural dark gift. However, he must make his first kill before becoming a true creature of the night. Only one thing can save Michael from an eternity of bloodsucking. The head vampire must be killed. But who is the head vampire, and can he be found before Michael gives in to temptation? Will Sam and his newfound friends be willing and able to help Michael before it's too late?
This film is a classic, light-hearted 80's foray into the horror genre, complete with horrible wardrobe, glam rock, goofy humor, and a stellar cast performing a great screenplay with a cohesive plot. There are indeed some great lines in this film that are quite memorable. The Frog brothers, in particular, serve as some cute comic relief. The effects and make-up are outstanding, and this is really noticeable in the final, knock-down, drag-out fight in the end of the movie. The cinematography is also really well done (for example, the aerial shots when the vampires are flying towards the house).
This movie is not meant to be taken very seriously, and it is certainly not Anne Rice or Bram Stoker by any means, but it is some great old-fashioned weekend entertainment. Overall this is a great movie that everyone who grew up in the 80's should definitely own. Moreover, it's a great addition to anyone's vampire or horror collection. If you can enjoy a light-hearted romp through vampire mythology, then definitely pick this film up!
A small downside to this DVD is that there are few extras. If you merely want a great movie at a low price, then pick up this DVD. Otherwise, there is a two-disc set coming out soon that should be worth checking out!
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2009
Flat out, the Blu-ray version of this classic movie is amazing, the picture and sound is as if this movie was just filmed. If you loved the movie back then, you will love it even more now....this is a no-brainer on blu-ray
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2000
As one of two teenage vampire movies released in 1987, (the other was the miserable "Near Dark")"The Lost Boys," is a hip, modern retelling of the vampire myth set in a Southern California setting. Brothers Michael (Patric) and Sam (Haim) are the newcomers to the small seaside town of Santa Clara, which is known as the murder capital of the world due to the mysterious disappearances of many town residents.
At the town's amusement park, Michael gets himself involved with a gang of vampires, who appear as normal street punks. Meanwhile Sam, meets the Frog Brothers, who run a comic book store at night, but are vampire hunters by day. After Michael himself becomes a vampire due to drinking the blood of a vampire, he is determined to find a way to save himself, the girl he loves, and his family from the impending danger that lurks them.
Directed by Joel Schumacher ("Batman Forever," "Batman & Robin," "Flatliners," etc.), the film's appeal to teenagers is due to its young cast, great soundtrack, and great, yet campy storyline. Dianne Wiest is excellent as Michael and Sam's mother, and Kiefer Sutherland in one of his first major roles is wicked as David, the leader of the gang.
Keep an eye out for a pre-"Bill & Ted's Excellent Adveture" Alex Winter as Marco, one of the vampires. This film also marked the first collaboration of the two Cories, Cory Haim & Cory Feldman, in a string of movies they made together in the 1980's ("License to Drive," "Dream A Little Dream," etc.) that capitalized on their teen-idol status. Reportedley, Jason Patric (who is Jackie Gleason's grandson) hates it when fans mention this movie as one of his best works, but the truth is it still remains one of the late 1980's cult classics.
If you like a funny, yet scary movie in the same tradition as "Scram," then check out this movie. It gave me many memories watching it on DVD as it did when I first saw it at the theater.
99 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 28, 2008
The Lost Boys is a movie that could only work in the 80s; while sometimes called a classic I don't think I would go that far, but it is a cult classic and one of the most entertaining films I have ever seen. While it is a horror movie there is nothing really scary here. And despite the R-rating it's a very light one at that. The Lost Boys is very much a product of it's time and a damn good one at that. I figured with the release of the sequel The Lost Boys: The Tribe due out this summer I might as well revisit this cult classic.

The screenplay was written by Janice Fischer, James Jeremias & Jeffrey Boam; apparently Fischer & Jeremias wrote the first draft and it was more of a kid's movie that features pre-teens. Richard Donner was the original director, but when production was delayed he dropped out, but stayed on as executive producer, Joel Schumacher was than hired and wanted to make the characters older and I assume that is where Jeffrey Boam comes in. The screenplay though is excellent; the characters are great and almost all of them get enough screen time that we get to know them. Obviously some characters will be more developed than others, but none of them are just simply there.

Director Joel Schumacher who often gets a lot of heat for his work on Batman Forever & Batman & Robin does a great job with The Lost Boys, due to the two Batman movies he's often called a hack and one of the worst filmmakers. Joel Schumacher isn't a great director, but he has made some really enjoyable movies sure he made some mistakes with his Batman movies and even he knows that. But with The Lost Boys he delivers one hell of a fun ride. His scenes are well paced and there really is never a boring moment at all. The comedy works well and the action scenes are extremely well-done and are a lot of fun. There isn't much suspense and tension, but that wasn't the point with this movie.

If anything The Lost Boys is best described as a comedy/fantasy type movie, but since it includes vampires killing people it will throw it into the horror genre. I think every kid and even adults have that fantasy of killing vampires or zombies and The Lost Boys very much plays up to that. The movie runs at 97-minutes and you'll never be bored there's always something happening to hold your interest in the movie.

What The Lost Boys is best known for now is being the very first movie to feature both Corey Haim and Corey Feldman AKA the two Corey's. After this movie they would work together several times before fading away by the end of the 80s; both Corey's work great together here. This is more of a Corey Haim movie since he plays the bigger part and he's really funny, but Feldman possibly steals the show as Edgar Frog along with Jason Newlander as Alan Frog. The Frog Brothers are played straight and serious, which makes it even funnier.

Before he was Jack Bauer, Kiefer Sutherland was David the evil vampire. I'm a huge fan of Sutherland and this is one of his very best roles. He doesn't always have a lot of dialogue, but he has a great presence on camera and makes for one of the coolest vampires to ever appear in a movie. The rest of the cast is also excellent; Jason Patric puts in a solid performance as Michael Emerson trying to fight his vampire urges.

The Lost Boys easily rates as one of the most fun filled movies of the 80s and one of the most fun period; there's never a slow moment The Lost Boys is always funny and a lot of fun. The DVD is excellent with some great features on the 2nd disc. I've seen The Lost Boys several times, but this is the first time I've seen it on DVD and I know there was a DVD out before, but the new one features a brand new HD transfer and the picture quality is excellent. If you own the original disc it's more than worth the double dip for the 2-disc set if not for the extras that at least for the transfer.
2121 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
While the film is/was an 80's vampire classic, it still is enjoyable to watch present day. This Blu Ray version is an improvement over the up-converted DVD release. Though some close-ups looked smeary or painted with no pores or lines on faces. Black levels are very good and audio is better than it had ever sounded on any previous release of the film which includes a Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround presentation.

Extras are carried over from the DVD but unfortunately are not in HD.

For fans of the film, this present Blu Ray is the way to go.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2010
BLU-RAY VERSION IS WORTH BUYING. I DON'T NEED TO TELL YOU ABOUT THE MOVIE, OTHERS ALREADY HAVE. BUT, NOT TOO MANY PEOPLE TELL YOU IF IT IS WORTH UPGRADING FROM YOUR REGULAR DVD TO BLU-RAY. THIS ONE IS WORTH IT. COLORS ARE STUNNING AND SOUNDS GREAT.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What is this? A Vampire movie staring teenagers from the 80's, featuring the two Coreys.....and it's good? Yes! This film had everything going against it and yet it went over well and has become a cult classic. I always liked this film, but it seems to have aged well with the exception of some generic 80's music and styles. The cast is very good and the tension and comedic overtones are well balanced in this new age vampire yarn. One of the best from the 80's horror archives. The 2 disc DVD edition has a nice DVD transfer and an excellent amount of extras for a film like this.
1515 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
i have seen this flik 200x easily!i remember when i 1st saw this with my cousin&we could'nt believe the special effects/story was good too.i love this film omg.they don't make these anymore!sad cory haim passed away&his career later on deserved better.this is one of his best flix ever too&jason patric too!this made them.jason should've gotten better roles aftr this but nothing big happened in my humble opinion.speed2 was kinda basic for jason lol.this movie must be seen!oldie but a true classic goodie.oh&don't leave out jamie gertz?OMG who didn't have a crush on her??lol she was sexy&amazing women.still love her.everyone held their own in this movie.so get it cheap here on amazon guys/grab some popcorn&turn the lites out!ALL OF YOUR LITES!&enjoy this in surround sound dolby etc!preferably with your gf/bf etcor frnds who love vampire flix too?!you won't be disappointed trust me.looks so good on blu-ray too!omg oh ps:crank up your stereo on the opening song!!that music just rocks!think i'll pop this sexy disc in my blu-ray player& lay back tonite lol get your blankie too!!&garlic too!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2004
I love "The Lost Boys". It is one of my favorite vampire films of all time. This is the one movie I can stomach watching both Coreys at the same time. Michael (Jason Patrick) and Sam (Corey Haim) moves to Santa Clara with their mother (Dianne Wiest). What they don't know is that Santa Clara is home to a bunch of blood-thirsty vampires. Sam meets up with a couple of vampire hunters one of them is Corey Feldman. Michael on the other hand hooks up with Kiefer Sutherland and his gang of blood-sucking vampires, and he really gets close to a young Jami Gertz. Yeah this movie has every cheesy stereotype about a vampire known to vampirekind but in a good cheesy kind of way. "The Lost Boys" is a comedic, horror film. Michael ends up getting tricked into the vampire lifestyle by Kiefer Sutherland. That was my favorite moment in the film when Michael was muching on what appeared to be Chinese food. The music for this movie is timeless. I especially love the Roger Daltrey song. I loved Bernard Herrman (of "The Gilmore Girls) and Kiefer Sutherland in their perspective roles. The special effects may be a bit on the dated side but I still find myself watching this movie around this time of year every year. It's camp classic in vampire mythology.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse