Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A supernatural universe for ADULTS with an awesome heroine - continues
This Canadian television show about a supernatural world (the Fae) that exists in secrecy among humans is so different from the typical fantasy TV show that it grabbed my attention immediately. It incorporates mythologies and cultural folklores; however, they are the "Lost Girl" version of myths and legends. It has characters, action, and escapades that are enthralling...
Published on November 17, 2012 by Deevah

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 dropped the ball halfway through
First of all, let me say that I really liked season ONE of "Lost Girl". It's like Buffy the Vampire Slayer on steroids....and with WAY more condoms. The whole "succubus" idea is very sexy and clever, and Dyson is smokin' hot in an unusual way. Kenzi is the real star of the show as far as I'm concerned. What a doll. I was into season two until somewhere in the middle of...
Published 16 months ago by Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A supernatural universe for ADULTS with an awesome heroine - continues, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
This Canadian television show about a supernatural world (the Fae) that exists in secrecy among humans is so different from the typical fantasy TV show that it grabbed my attention immediately. It incorporates mythologies and cultural folklores; however, they are the "Lost Girl" version of myths and legends. It has characters, action, and escapades that are enthralling and entertaining. The creator and producers have described the series as a supernatural crime drama with light comedy and it definitely lives up to their description.

The protagonist of Lost Girl is Bo (Anna Silk), a bisexual succubus that was adopted and raised by human parents. A succubus is a creature that must feed on the "chi" (the life force) of humans and Fae to survive; and when injured absorbs the chi and energy created during sexual encounters to heal. Being the modern version of the mythical succubus, Bo feeding or healing from either a male or female is irrelevant because it's all sexual healing to her. Bo accidentally killed her high school boyfriend by draining his chi during her first sexual encounter and it was after this incident that her parents told her she had been adopted. Thereafter, Bo fled from home and everything she had known, living a friendless existence, accumulating a history of chi-drained bodies; moving from city to city and creating a new identity each time.

Bo saves a human woman, Kenzi (Ksenia Solo), from a rapist by draining his chi and when she realizes what Bo did for her, the two become instant friends (with Kenzi as Bo's streets-smart sidekick). This kill brings the heretofore unknown Bo to the attention of the local Fae clans. The Fae are powerful supernatural beings that have existed in secrecy among humans since the beginning of civilization, despising and using them for their own benefit. Their world is divided into two clans, the Light and Dark, with the Dark being the most evil and criminally-inclined of the two; however, although the Light Fae are more diplomatic, both sides use humans as slaves, servants, and food. Bo is abducted by two Fae police detectives and brought to the Light Fae leader, The Ash, for interrogation. It is here that Bo discovers that she is not the only one who is `different'. It is also here that she meets her future romantic lovers, the wolf-shifter and police detective, Dyson (Kris Holden-Ried); and Lauren (Zoie Palmer), the human physician & scientist obligated to serve The Ash. When the Ash orders Lauren (Dr. Lewis) to examine Bo and determine what kind of Fae she is, Bo is told by Lauren that she is a succubus and that, if she wanted to, she could learn to control her chi-feeding power and sexual drive. Each clan wants Bo to align herself with one or the other, but after being forced to defend herself in a contest trial, Bo refuses to abandon her ties to humanity and determines to search for the truth about her origins and who she really is. Rounding the cast of central characters are Trick (Richard Howland), owner and bartender of the local Fae tavern, "The Dal Riata"; and Hale (K.C. Collins), a siren & police detective working alongside Dyson. Minor characters include The Morrigan (Emmanuelle Vaugier), vengeful leader of the Dark Fae with an instant dislike of Bo; and Vex, a mesmer serving as the henchman for The Morrigan, and a darling of the Dark Fae Elders.

The women of Lost Girl are strong, resourceful, and live their lives on their own terms. The interpersonal relationships between men and women are equal in status in spite of their differences. Compared to the sex scenes involving Dyson, the first lovemaking scene between Bo and Lauren may seem tame, but it is nevertheless intense. (Fact: The pilot for the show later became Episode 8 of Season 1, and contains the initial lesbian love scene between Bo and Lauren. Regardless of what naysayers may say, from the outset the relationship with Lauren was intended to be as essential to Bo's emotional evolution as her relationship with Dyson.)

Along with the creatures, adventures, rolls in the hay, cleavage, and Bo's intrepid journey to find her place in the world with the family she creates along the way, Lost Girl is very much about a sex-positive universe where sexual orientation is not judged. The core nature of Fae and humans, and their interconnections, are not affected by any one of them being bisexual, heterosexual, or homosexual.

Lost Girl is produced by Prodigy Pictures for Canada's Showcase TV network and broadcast by the Syfy TV network in the United States, United Kingdom (UK and Ireland), and Australia. The DVD & Blu-ray contain the unedited episodes as shown on Canadian television (Season 1 has 13 episodes; Season 2 has 22 episodes; Season 3 has 13 episodes). Episodes running time: 44 minutes.

Lost Girl is rated TV-MA (Mature Audiences Only) LSV (Language, Sex, Violence) and may be unsuitable for those younger than 17 years of age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, October 5, 2012
By 
324B21 (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
In season 2 we find Bo having to handle her abilities - particularly her healing - on her own, now that her lover Dyson can no longer feel love for her - or anyone else. This plot device allowed Bo to become her own person and grow as a woman and as a Fae whose destiny is still unknown. Meanwhile, as the cover art implies, it also allowed Bo to explore the other vortex of the love triangle; she fell deeply in love with human lover Lauren.

Ksenia Solo continues to be magnificent as Kenzi and even though Dyson's broodiness caused some intense eye-rolling, Kris Holden-Ried shined as Kenzi in the classic body switching episode. The Trick revelation late in the season is bound to forever strengthen his bond with Bo and Anna Silk and Zoie Palmer's chemistry continues to be unmatched. The Lost Girl cast is, without a doubt, the highlight of this show.

The season suffered a lot from a late back 9 order but was still enjoyable overall. With Bo struggling with the darkness within her, Kenzi having a lot on her plate as she deals with her "gift" from The Norn, Dyson having his love back and Lauren sacrificing her freedom to be with Bo, season 3 is definitely looking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bo continues to get her freak on, Kenzi finally shows some skin and then there is The Garuda!, August 28, 2012
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
VERY MINOR SPOILERS:

For some reason when I recite the title for my review I think of the theme song from the 70's sitcom "Maude"!

FYI, "The Garuda" is a flame spewing winged demon

With Dyson having made his proverbial deal with the devil and Lauren reunited with her old flame, Bo finds comfort in the arms of a Dark Fae and sometimes said Dark Fae +1!

What made season 1 great is repeated in season 2 with some added complexity, as Bo learns more about herself.
Not to say that there has been any noticeable reduction of minutes highlighting Ms. Silk's impressive cleavage. Also, Kenzi sans the leather, in a form fitting evening gown has the effect of equaling Bo in the redirection of blood flow equation!

I watched the entire series in 3-sittings and am happy to know that there will be a season 3. My highest recco for SyFy/Fantasy type programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, February 19, 2013
Great canadian tv series. Story is original and well-written, actors and costumes are simply amazing.
Lots of sexual scenes, but always with very good taste. You will not see any inappropriate body part in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is so beautiful..., February 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
And it shows so well on DVD!
I started watching this on SyFy when it first came on, and liked it so much that I decided to get the first two seasons on DVD. There are a lot of very watchable extras on the set, and a few extended scenes vs. TV. I would have to say that my personal favorite is Kensi, she adds a quirkiness to the show and is a fantastic side kick to Anna Silk.
The DVD set is well packaged and has good extras, although I would like to see a little more. Overall a great set well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 dropped the ball halfway through, August 11, 2013
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
First of all, let me say that I really liked season ONE of "Lost Girl". It's like Buffy the Vampire Slayer on steroids....and with WAY more condoms. The whole "succubus" idea is very sexy and clever, and Dyson is smokin' hot in an unusual way. Kenzi is the real star of the show as far as I'm concerned. What a doll. I was into season two until somewhere in the middle of the season, and then the episodes kept getting cheesier every week. For me, the series stopped being sensual, entertaining and kinda edgy, and just started being downright LAME. I don't know if I'm going to be able to give season three a chance when it comes to DVD, because season two was such a let-down for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome show but product quality is lacking, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the series ;
but the sound quality is very low, and they do not load like proper bluerays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still in love with the fae!, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
see my review for season 1

**** POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT ****

More than ever Lost Girl is the show to watch. I love sci-fi and fantasy and this show is right up my alley.

The actors, the characters, the scripts, and plots are growing and maturing. And I don't even have to look for subtext when it's main text!!

A provocative, sexy, and daring TV show that will make you wonder why there isn't more out there like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, sexy series with great characters, March 22, 2013
By 
Ellen N. Moscoe (Vancouver, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is like eating potato chips. You can never stop with just one episode. It's too much fun. What trouble will Bo get into next? Who are we currently rooting for in her love life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy for grown ups, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Girl: Season 2 (DVD)
This is a great show. It's Buffy for grown ups with with an edge of Trueblood. It has a sense of fun, lots of amazing characters, great 'I'm a chick and I know how to defend myself' fight scenes, great writing, and a really talented cast. You totally get swept up in the Fae world, which is just like ours only so much better.
I love that gender preference is not even discussed, people just are what they are. Nobody ever has to 'come out'.
Oh and it's really hot, as is the cast ... and Bo and Lauren get my vote for hottest couple ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost Girl: Season 2
Lost Girl: Season 2 by Lee Rose (DVD - 2012)
$64.98 $24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.