Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it blink-182 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 9, 2001
Movie soundtracks are often a bit of a letdown. You see a movie, enjoy it, rush out to get the soundtrack, and basically end up with a lot of substandard pop tunes and instrumentals that fall flat without the movie to back them up. Lost Highway stands defiantly against that trend. This is a rare soundtrack that can actually stand separate from the film that spawned it. With its collection of dark, industrial-tinged songs and compositions, the Lost Highway Sountrack actually stands alone as a work of art while also transporting the listener back into the strange and disturbing world created by David Lynch's fascinating head trip of a film. David Bowie's "I'm Deranged" is the perfect song to kick off the soundtrack and establishes the addictively apocalyptic feel that permeates the rest of the CD. At first alternating between the explosive, end-of-the-world vibe of The Smashing Pumpkins and especially's Trent Reznor's "Perfect Drug," the CD eventually leads more and more into a Hellish dreamworld scored by Marilyn Manson (whose cover of "I Put A Spell On You" proves that there actually is talent behind all the artifice) and Rammstien (proving that the German language is one of the most threatening sounds out there -- as well as that not all Germans love David Hasselhoff). Lou Reed's cover of "That Magic Moment" is probably the highlight of the CD, showing how a visionary musical artist can both celebrate and recreate a song at the same time but I'm also partial to Barry Adamson's instrumentals -- which, much like Lynch's film, somehow manages to be humorously campy and deadly serious at the same time. Beyond all the pointless analyzing, what it all comes down to is this -- The Lost Highway Soundtrack is the perfect CD for anyone who wants their musical collection to leave them exhausted, exhilarated, struggling for breath. In short, its amazing.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 9, 2002
Say what you will about David Lynch's Lost Highway film, but the soundtrack is bar none amazing. With Lynch serving as executive producer, we get Mr. Trent Reznor producing one of the finest soundtracks ever put together. The soundtrack opens with David Bowie performing "I'm Deranged" (which the film's credits opened up to), and while it may sound a little techno (compliments to Brian Eno), it is still Bowie, and this song helps to forever cement him as the king of cool. NIN's "Perfect Drug" fits the tone of the film like a glove, just try to resist the urge to sing along with the catchy chorus. The Smashing Pumpkins' mournful-esque "Eye", which may be one of they're best songs. Lou Reed's rendition of "This Magic Moment" is a tad disturbing, while Marilyn Manson contributes "Apple of Sodom" and an excellent rendition of Screaming Jay Hawkins' "I Put a Spell On You", and we also get a few selections from Rammstein as well, all of which are sandwiched between orchestral compositions from Angelo Badalamenti. All in all, the Lost Highway soundtrack is one of the best soundtracks I have ever come across, and this is a must have for Nine Inch Nails fans or fans of the film itself.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2003
Most film soundtracks these days are either classical scores with a handful of recurring themes, or collections of radio hits (some of which don't even appear in the affiliated movie!). Alongside these 'typical' film soundtracks, Lost Highway is a real breath of fresh air.
Trent Reznor (of Nine Inch Nails) takes on a similar role that he had on the soundtrack to Oliver Stone's 'Natural Born Killers' - he is the album producer, but also adds snippets from the movie, and makes the tracks seamlessly flow together. In both cases, the album becomes not necessarily a companion to the film anymore, but rather almost a work of art in itself.
The music itself on the Lost Highway soundtrack is amazing and varied. David Lynch has always made excellent choices for his soundtracks, and this is no exception. The album starts and ends with different edits of David Bowie's 'I'm Deranged', one of the most beautiful pieces I have heard from him in a long while. In between these two bookends, though, anything goes, from heavy/industrial rock (Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, Rammstein) to latin jazz (Antonio Carlos Jobim) to pop/rock (Smashing Pumpkins, Lou Reed). Of course there are also more 'soundtracky' pieces from Barry Adamson, Trent Reznor and Lynch's 'resident composer' Angelo Badalamenti.
The highlights for me are Bowie, Badalamenti and Adamson, but special mention to Rammstein for that low menacing voice, it fits the scene in the film so perfectly. And Nine Inch Nails' 'The Perfect Drug' is an excellent song also.
If you've seen the movie and noticed the music, I probably don't need to convince you, but whether you've seen the movie or not, I assure you this album is well worth a listen.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2000
In the world of soundtrack production, Trent Reznor has done it again. Lost Highway is the best soundtrack I've ever heard, and probably the best I'll ever hear. It manages to both fit the movie perfectly and be very pleasing to listen to.
This soundtrack is best described as a mixture of Jazz and Industrial, and will most definitely appeal to fans of both worlds. I initially bought Lost Highway for The Perfect Drug alone, but when I listened to it straight through, I was awed by the amazing collection of music styles it brought forth. The various songs by Jazz musician Angelo Badalamenti really caught my ear.
I'll admit, Jazz isn't my thing, but I didn't mind it here at all. Nine Inch Nails is really the heart and soul of this soundtrack however. The original version of "The Perfect Drug" is here in its entirety, and it remains one of the greatest songs ever written to this day. "Driver Down", another one of Trent's masterpieces, is also an excellent song. Marilyn Manson also makes an appearance on this album with two of his best songs, "I Put A Spell On You" from Smells Like Children, and "Apple Of Sodom", which can only be found here.
Smashing Pumpkins and Rammstein also contribute to this soundtrack very well. While the only artists I really care about on Lost Highway are Nine Inch Nails and Marilyn Manson, that didn't stop me from enjoying the rest of the music on here. This is a masterpiece in its own right, another groundbreaking work by Trent Reznor. I'm not a big fan of soundtracks...I pretty much loathe them. But Lost Highway will remain in my library for a very, very long time.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2000
No, really. You get the better part of 75 minutes for your hard-earned cash and by-and-large, the LOST HIGHWAY soundtrack deserves it. I've been listening to it - minus track listings - for the better part of a week and hopefully, this will be a little less-biased than the "OOH, Nine Inch Nails ROCK! Whatever Trent Reznor does HAS has to be good!" comments of below... not all, but some. In fairness, The Perfect Drug is good enough - a bit poppy, but with a great opening riff (shame about the chorus). 'I'm Derranged' was what really made me sit up and clap, as did hearing "This Magic Moment' sandwiched in after the Mr. Eddy Theme.
The score is very noir, but a little patchy - Baldametti's (sic) music never has any central theme to it, but goes instead with little orchestral slices here and there. Great background music when you're reading Raymond Chandler novels.
The Manson and Rammstein tracks are fun, but forgettable (think the joke BESERKER song from Clerks and you'll be on the right track). 'I Put A Spell On You' is brilliantly amusing, though - play it directly after a Billie Holliday version and you'll be smiling for the rest of the day.
Hands down, after a week of SOLID listening (I commute a lot), Something Wicked This Way Comes by Adamson is the only thing I start putting LOST HIGHWAY specially on for. A terrific summer track - very smooth, very slick. The soundtrack is worth almost every penny - BUY IT, YOU FIENDS...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2001
The music from the film LOST HIGHWAY is great! David Lynch (who directed the peculiar flick) is widely known for being close to fanatical about the sound mixing and music used in his films, and it shows that this score is the result of a perfectionist gone to work. The album (and the film) starts off with David Bowie's ultra cool song, I'M DERANGED (which is like a cross between Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails), taken from his CD, OUTSIDE (another recommendation there). Trent Reznor (who produced this album) and his band, Nine Inch Nails, are present with their song, THE PERFECT DRUG. Rammstein (who contributes with a great version of HIERATE MICH (I no longer listen to the original) and their "theme song" RAMMSTEIN) and goth-rocker Marilyn Manson (with APPLE OF SODOM and I PUT A SPELL ON YOU) both made their fame thanks to this CD. Lou Reed is present with the smooth sounding THIS MAGIC MOMENT (which has a great opening guitar play). And THE SMASHING PUMPKINS are also on this CD (with their song EYE). What more can you ask for? Plus you also get the great composer Angelo Badalamenti (who score all of David Lynch's films) and his jazz songs. It's simply a great CD! If you're into alternative music and like the bands which I've mentioned, then there's really no reason why you shouldn't get a kick out of this CD.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2005
Yes, this an extraordinary CD, but Marilyn Manson, Nine Inch Nails, Trent Reznor (the singer of Nine Inch Nails), and The Smashing Pumpkins is what really makes it worth its price. There is a RARE non-album track by Marilyn Manson called "Apple Of Sodom." It is definitely the best song on the entire CD. I am crazy about it! Also, another good one is Manson's "I Put A Spell On You," which is from his 1995 unusual release, Smells Like Children. Nine Inch Nails made a great song called "The Perfect Dr*g", which is a non-album just like "Apple Of Sodom." Trent Reznor made an usual song, and I don't quite understand it, but it's worth giving it a try. The Smashing Pumpkins' song "One" is very good and I suggest it for you TSM fans! I'm not sure if it's non-album or not, but I wouldn't be surprised. There is also other good ones like "I'm Deranged (Edit)" by David Bowie. This is good for those who are into the darker genre. For those who are interested, there is also an R-rated film called The Lost Highway. If it weren't for the tracks I have mentioned above, it wouldn't be worth it. I imagine this is a cult favorite. Anyway it sure is one of MY favorites!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2001
A brilliant collage of music-
Track for track, this soundtrack paints an atmosphere like no other. Starting (and Ending) with my favourite David Bowie song "I'm Deranged", it combines so many different kinds of music, yet each track has it's own place, and they work together so well.
Jazz, Rock, Industrial- all come together with balance and forethought. Reznor, Bowie, and Manson give the album a darker feel, but are balanced by Badalamenti and the other artists. A listening experience unmatched by any other album
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
This is an EXCELLENT combination of music. So many songs on here make you so emotional, even though they're all of different styles. Lou Reed's "This Magic Moment" is simply amazing, as is "The Perfect Drug" by NIN and "Eye" by the Smashing Pumpkins. David Bowie's "Deranged" is amazing as well. I never heard any of these songs before until I saw the movie. After I saw the movie, I knew I needed the soundtrack. Very glad I bought it, for an AMAZING price of $2.99 (shipping included). Best way to spend $3 :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
From reading the reviews, I see many people are upset that This Mortal Coil's cover of "Song to the Siren" is missing from the soundtrack, and are angry at Trent Reznor for omitting it. The lack of inclusion of this track is not actually the doing of Reznor or of the record company . . . the original producer of the song asked that it not be included on the CD.

David Lynch had tried to use this song back in 1986 for "Blue Velvet," but the royalties were too expensive, partly because the song's producer (Ivo Watts-Russell) was hesitant to license the track for commercial use outside of his record label. Apparently the song was special to him and he was reluctant to see it exploited by being used in movie soundtracks, which is understandable. He relented for "Lost Highway" and allowed the song to be featured in the actual movie, but was not willing to license it for use on the soundtrack album. It was originally meant to be included, but apparently it just wasn't in the cards.

This is a great album, and barring a little bit of Angelo Badalamenti and Barry Adamson's fantastic score, almost every piece of music from the film is included (albeit some of the pop/rock selections are edited for time and stylistic purposes). If you desperately want "Song to the Siren," it is available on This Mortal Coil's album "It'll End in Tears," a wonderful CD in its own right.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.