Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great
This game has amazing graphics and is really a lot of fun to play. So this is not a negative review, plus I have yet to use the Xbox live component, which I have heard is impressive. However, as far as the single player mode is concerned, the game is weak on a few fronts and you might want to rent it before buying

1.) The story is really crappy - lame...
Published on January 16, 2007 by J. Woodward

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressive graphics, sound... but kinda boring in all honesty...
You know, it's amazing that in this day and age, you can have a game with spectacular graphics and unbelievable surround sound and the game is just.... blah.

I mean, graphically Lost Planet is pretty nice. Beautiful, actually. There are some boss battles that are pretty astounding in how they are presented. There's one moment at the very beginning where a...
Published on March 1, 2007 by Terrence A.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressive graphics, sound... but kinda boring in all honesty..., March 1, 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You know, it's amazing that in this day and age, you can have a game with spectacular graphics and unbelievable surround sound and the game is just.... blah.

I mean, graphically Lost Planet is pretty nice. Beautiful, actually. There are some boss battles that are pretty astounding in how they are presented. There's one moment at the very beginning where a creature named Green Eye appears and the size of this thing is enough to make your jaw drop. There's also another moment when you're running across an open field getting chased by this monstrous worm thing that is an experience on its own. This is definitely a game that benefits from being played on an HDTV setup with surround sound.

But then the story kicks in and you can't deny that it makes very little sense, not to mention the fact that the hero of the story is really not an interesting character to begin with. The gameplay itself is a bit repetitive and really, the game just amounts to little more than eye and ear candy. Even when you're not on foot and riding around in the mechs, it just doesn't add up to any memorable experience.

The online portion of the game isn't enough to make you want to play it a lot, especially with games like Gears of War and Rainbow Six: Vegas out there. It's kind of stale and just not that interesting.

I'm really down the middle on this game. I'd say that it's worth a rental and then if you like it, get it. I wouldn't call this an outright purchase as it just didn't grab me the way I would've expected it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great, January 16, 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game has amazing graphics and is really a lot of fun to play. So this is not a negative review, plus I have yet to use the Xbox live component, which I have heard is impressive. However, as far as the single player mode is concerned, the game is weak on a few fronts and you might want to rent it before buying

1.) The story is really crappy - lame dialogue - pointless missions - and undeveloped characters. The developers were going for Sci-Fi action, but the storyline comes out as Anime. The characters are completely forgettable and in most cases annoying.

2.) The missions, and there are not too many of them, are simple and Boss-oriented. They all seem to follow the same formula - ascend corridor -> fight boss, climb ridge -> fight boss

3.) The game is not strategic or tactical like Gears of War or COD. This is a "run-and-gun" shooter -- that is there is not much "taking cover" or flanking and a lot of running around and circle strafing bosses.

So while this game is fun, you might want to rent for the 3 reasons above. Plus you could probably play through this game in a couple of nights. If you don't intend to use the multiplayer options (online only - no split screen) you might want to rent or pick it up used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost Planet is lost on me, February 2, 2008
By 
M. Nikic (South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
At the time of its release, Lost Planet was arguably the most hyped game from CAPCOM since Dead Rising blew the minds of many, myself included. While it boasts a load of potential it is ruined by a horribly fiddly control system.

Thrown into a cliched revenge story on a desolate ice-covered planet, we quickly learn the importance of a well thought-out control system. Sadly, this is what makes the game so painful; if it wasn't for the controls this game would have a lot going for it. The main problem is that the right analog stick controls your direction, but if you tap it quickly you spin quickly in that direction. So if you're facing one direction and tap down, you'll turn 180 degrees. What this means though, is if you're trying to aim at something and just want to adjust your site very slightly and you just tap the right stick, you're suddenly facing a completely different direction, which makes for VERY frustrating boss fights. And the control settings aren't modifiable! At least not the problematic ones anyway.

Most of the game involves action on foot or controlling mech warrior style machines called Vital Suits which are actually pretty cool. There are different types of machines to keep things interesting. Your character also possesses a Batman style grappling hook which is pretty cool but overall the gameplay really suffers due to the controls.

The graphics are very nice, with large, explorable environments with finely detailed snow and fog. The enemies vary in their quality but typically the bosses are very detailed. There are some very nice fire and lighting effects as well so overall the graphics are really very good.

But when it really comes down to it, the controls RUIN this game. It's probably even more disappointing because you can see the games potential as well. It's like when you meet a really hot girl and you start getting along with her great and then she says she has a boyfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Monsters - No Co-Op Play, March 31, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Lost Planet - Extreme Condition is a classic run-and-gun game set on a frozen planet. This isn't a game of stealth or strategy. You see, you shoot, you move on.

There is a plot here - but it's really best to ignore it. You, a young teen guy, are battling either ice monsters or other clans of pirates. Sometimes you fight both simultaneously. Missions in essence tell you - "go here, kill everything".

Part of the fun is that you get to fight both on foot and inside a mech, hopping in and out whenever the whim takes you. This gives you a nice variety of weapons to choose from. Now, I have to comment that for a space-age distant planet colony, these weapons seem pretty modern times. You would think they would have progressed to laser cannons and plasma rifles as their sole weapons by now. I do like the grapple hook, though. It gave a fun, Zelda-like aspect to many of the levels.

To add to the arcadey feel, your health naturally depletes over time and the only way to stay alive is to collect replenishing energy. Silly? Perhaps. But no more silly than most other arcade games and the reasons they give for you to collect objects.

What's really impressive here is the way that large enemies seem "massive". You really get the sense that these are giant, ponderous beasts with weight and heft. The designers did a good job with enemy design and boss battles. From the small, intricate flying beasties to the larger main enemies, each creature is enjoyable to fight. Speaking of Zelda, you even get Goron-like rolling rock monsters.

But, to diverge into the storyline for a brief moment, isn't it a bit troubling that man-kind has decided to land on a super-snowy (i.e. not ideal) planet - and when it found indigenous life there - decided that the appropriate action was therefore to wipe it all out? Surely if we're going to be on a hostile-environment planet anyway, we could find one without current inhabitants ...

I also wish they had in-home multiplayer. Playing online on XBox Live is all fine and good, but with the relatively short built in missions, I'd really like to play co-op with a friend against them, and crank it up to super hard. That would be a ton of fun. I love playing this type of game multiplayer co-op, and for them to not even have that as an option seems a great shame.

So a nice start - but I'd like to see a Lost Planet 2 with a better plotline, better weapons, and co-op play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice Pirates on Hoth, June 15, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I put Lost Planet: Extreme Condition on my wish list because it looked like Gears of War crossed with Robotech, featuring giant mecha and tiny soldiers battling huge monsters in a frozen environment. That's more or less what I got.

Our hero, Wayne Holden (modeled after Byung-hun Lee and voiced in English by Josh Keaton), loses his father to a giant Akrid known as Green Eye. When the archvillain of the game is chiefly known by the color his eyes, it's an indicator that perhaps the translation isn't perfect. Or to put it another way, we don't call Godzilla "Flaming Mouth."

Anyway, Wayne wakes up on the same frozen planet, rescued by the tasty purple-haired Luka (Christina Puccelli) and her aggravating little brother Rick (Justin Shenkarow). Rick's one of those characters who always wears goggles, as if they're surgically affixed to his face. He's a staple of anime, the energetic techie that tags along with the hot chick to make her more effective, since said hot chick doesn't seem to do a whole lot besides make poor fashion choices.

Yuri (Andrew Kishino), who looks like a villain, complete with narrow gaze and white hair, leads Luka and Rick. With Wayne joining their merry band, they're ready to go out into the frozen world and steal stuff.

They're Ice Pirates...sorry, I mean Snow Pirates. Well, not really - they're actually the Rebels to NEVEC's Empire, battling on Hoth...

Wait, this isn't the Empire Strikes Back?

Which review is this? Lost Planet? Oh yeah, right.

Sorry, sorry, my attention wandered from the convoluted plot. It involves Wayne losing his memory, a bit of time travel, a weird glowy thing attached to his arm that powers the mecha (sorry, VIRTUAL SUITS...can't the anime community agree on a standardized term for these bloody things?), some rivalry between Luka and some other mannish-sound woman, and another bad guy (we know he's bad because he wears glasses) who wants to take...over...THE WORLD! MUAAHAHAHAHA!

This is a mech game masquerading as a third-person shooter. Wayne plods along, even when there's no snow. He stumbles when he jumps. Fortunately, he has a grappling hook that fires from his wrist and never manages to dislocate his arm. I ended up shooting the grappling hook at a lot of stationary objects and dragging Wayne along like a slower, dumber version of Spider-Man.

The other challenge is that Wayne requires heat to live. Fortunately, the Akrid provide it, which really motivates Wayne to kill them however he can. There are also huge vats of energy lying around that are just waiting to be shot up. What doesn't make nearly as much sense is why Wayne has to power up his heat energy when he's indoors. Or in a volcano. Seriously.

The Akrid are beautiful to behold. They are all weird, squiggly bug-types, each unique and varied and most of all HUGE. Lost Planet revels in the size of the landscape, throwing giant worms and massive moths at you as you struggle with poor mini-Wayne to get to a mech. Once you're in a mech, the game becomes much more fun, because you can move faster than a snail's pace and blow things up much more effectively.

The human opponents, also in mechs and on foot, are annoying and suffer from the I MUST SHOUT SOMETHING BEFORE I DIE syndrome. Every time. When you kill a lot of these guys, the slogans and rallying cries get old. The Akrid bosses, who don't speak, make up for it.

In fact, the game is all about the bosses. Each is innovative, challenging, and terrible to behold. However, Lost Planet is a game of attrition; on the longer levels it carries over the energy you collected in the beginning. Since heat energy and damage are tied together, failing to get enough energy or taking too much damage in an earlier part of the game can make a boss battle impossible. I had to restart two levels from scratch until I got it right.

But Lost Planet is addicting. I played it on hard and all of the boss battles were very close. Two of the boss fights ended with Wayne going through two mecha, a handful of grenades and a missile launcher. Now THAT'S a fun game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Snow Day Game, March 8, 2007
By 
D. Pellegrino (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Lost Planet is beautiful. It was great to play through the single-player game just to explore the amazing levels. The bosses at the end of the levels really make this game stand out. The bosses are big and explosive. At normal difficulty I thought it was just right for providing a challenge without getting frustrated. All XBox-360 owners should get a chance to play though the single-player game during the winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rent.........if you are just that bored........, April 17, 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I got my xbox 360 not too long ago. I didn't have many games and I had heard that Lost Planet promised to be really good. Luckily, since I was too cheap to actually buy it, I rented it instead.

Let me begin by saying the graphics are great for this game. There are some very nice snow affects and explosions- two things you can never have enough of. The problem with the game is the game play.

I assumed that the game play and story line and storyline would be phenomenal. They weren't.

The game play was mediocre at best. You have a grappling hook, which is semi-cool, and you can control robots (I forgot what they call them in the game)n The problem is all this is done before- and done better.

The story is about as interesting as this review except a lot longer and much more tedious.

The game is decent enough if you are devoid of any other games or friends, although I do suggest you purchase F.E.A.R. or Oblivion for the 360. Both are excellent and worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, September 13, 2007
By 
currdawg (That place over there) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have to admit that I was very pleasantly surprised with this game. I have read all the negative reviews and I was very dubious about buying it, but since my wife got it for me and it only cost 20 bucks I figured it was worth popping it in for a spin. The story was slow getting you into the game and it is very jumpy and final fantasy esc in some of the mannerisms and dialogue, and it makes very little sense to this point.
Despite some poor directing with the voice actors and some plot issues, or lack of plot, the game is really fun. I don't mind the thermal energy thing, there are usually plenty of ways to fill up, and the in-game action so far has been really impressive. I just got done playing GOW and in some ways I think Lost Planet has it beat...in few ways, but some. The explosions are amazing, the graphics are impressive, and the creatures are incredibly fun to fight. It isn't realistic, but it is just dang fun to be blown thirty feet through the air and then get up firing at some giant ice dragon.
The game is not without its flaws but it is still a good game, especially for the price we paid. It is defiantly worth renting to see if you like it, or buy it cheap. Maybe with the exception of individuals who can't stand games that are timed or where you have to collect things, I usually don't like those types myself, but this one doesn't bother me. Whatever you do, don't buy it if your in the mood for a good, engaging plot with quality voice acting, you wont find it here...or I would have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a Third Person Shooter, March 13, 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I don't really like TPS (Third Person Shooters) as much as FPS (First Person Shooters) and mecha doesn't thrill me (I hated Mechassault) but this one does a pretty decent job.

PROS:

- excellent graphics, good environments, snow, smoke, etc

- some fantastic fire fights

- multitudes of enemies and bosses all with there own behaviors and characteristics gradually introduced to you throughout the game

- tons of work put into the cut-scenes (as much as a half-hour or an hour or so - almost like a mini-movie) and you can thankfully bypass them!

- decent amount of weapon variety with there own characteristics; you can also detach mecha weapons and drag them around

- decent length to the game

- although a TPS, you can zoom in with many weapons to make it appear as if you're in an FPS (although certain actions like reloading will throw you back into TPS).

- vehicles - the game shines here. It's a mecha game (they call it a V-suit) so you get a lot of different things to operate. Big boss anime-style mecha toward the end.

- decent button/stick configurations (although no exact mapping)

- never had to consult the internet because of some glitch or something I was required to do that wasn't intuitive.

CONS:

- No save anywhere (though for the most part you will not need it)

- the entire game bends on you collecting thermal energy (like collecting health packs or armor) or you die, but there is so much of it laying around that it never affects game play. There is no dire urgency to collect it much of the time. Plus, collecting 100 bits of it scattered all over the battlefield is rather annoying. Why not have the game require you to collect 1 pool of the stuff every so often.

- camera isn't always cooperative. your view will occasionally go off into a place you didn't want it to.

- main protagonist character acting leaves much to be desired. Plus he's a bit of a puss and never hits on any of the hot anime chicks in the cut-scenes. 10 million cut scenes and he never even gets to first base.

I'm going to place the story/plot somewhere in the middle even though I didn't really get into it. They put a lot of effort into it (you can tell with all the cut-scenes) and it's a little unfair to criticize games for bad or non-stories (Doom3 didn't need one). Overall a good combo of mecha/TPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great game, January 16, 2007
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The bottom line is this: this game is worth renting, but not buying.

Graphics

The graphics are good and live up to the "next gen." hype. Despite being set on an ice planet, the game manages to throw in different enviroments so you're not constantly walking around in white snow and ice.

Gameplay

Overall, this is very solid. The game is played from an over-the-shoulder perspective, similar to Gears of War (albeit from a zoomed out perspective). The weapons and reloading are fairly intuitive; and like most new games, you can only carry two weapons at a time. Now, it wouldn't be a Japanese sci-fi game if it didn't have mechs; and this game has plenty of those. They're integrated fairly well, and there is plenty of varity in mech types. The last mech, however, is a ridiculous flying machine that attacks with lazer swords - great for japanime fans; not so much for everyone else. The singleplayer campaign is pretty linear. You move from point A to point B with little variety; but that doesn't make it dull. The bosses in this game are a great throw-back to games of the 80's when bosses were big, hard to beat, and usually involve some hidden weakness.

Story

This is where the game loses a lot of points. The story is poorly told, and just plain stupid. The cutscenes are generally pretty silly, and you'll enjoy the game more if you skip through them. I won't spoil anything, but I've seen this is a common complaint - the story is worse than something you see on weekday afternoon cartoons.

Online play

Online supports up to 16 players at a time and has 4 game modes: Elimination (every man for himself), Team Elimination, Post grab (control different areas); and Fugitive which is the only unique game, pitting the host against everyone else. The online play is fun, and there are enough achivements to keep people playing for a while. But after a while, it feels repetitive and a little frustrating. It also fails to separate out language zones, so you may be stuck on a team with French and Japanese - try to coordinate anything then!

This game was a fun renter, and the campaign mode is long enough that it should keep you occupied over the weekend. The online play is fun, but after a few hours, the novelty wears off. Avoid the story in this game at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Xbox 360
$19.99 $15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.